wanna ask you guys, what is your reason to choose sony dslr? just wanna understand better....
This post has been edited by CyaNide27: Apr 18 2011, 12:55 AM
Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V52!, The Orange Legion
Apr 18 2011, 12:53 AM
83 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
hi, i'm considering on sony dslr (but not excluding other brands), am still new and learning about photography.... not planning to become professional or what, just want to take better pictures....
wanna ask you guys, what is your reason to choose sony dslr? just wanna understand better.... This post has been edited by CyaNide27: Apr 18 2011, 12:55 AM |
Apr 18 2011, 01:10 AM
6,075 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: 3.1553587,101.7135668 |
helo ppl, its been some time i was active here
Apr 18 2011, 01:17 AM
15,856 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Zion |
QUOTE(CyaNide27 @ Apr 18 2011, 12:53 AM) hi, i'm considering on sony dslr (but not excluding other brands), am still new and learning about photography.... not planning to become professional or what, just want to take better pictures.... because sony is more valued for money. for the same amount of money, i can get a body and 2 lenses.wanna ask you guys, what is your reason to choose sony dslr? just wanna understand better.... |
Apr 18 2011, 01:24 AM
6,633 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: www.kelvinchiew.com |
i choose sony because
1. all my prime lenses have antishake built-in (SSS) 2. the lenses (not all) are noticably slightly cheaper end of day its not the gear that create the photo, its the person using the gear..... |
Apr 18 2011, 03:53 AM
4,956 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
freddymanson: Long time no see! Nice light on #1 and #2.
ahpingko: Niiice 30mm! I can see the flash. 8tvt: #1 does it for me but not #2. Ksano: Nice, though you could do a gradient mask to add contrast to the light trails. loyatttt: None of the Alphas have had issues with flourescent lights. Pentax did some real good now - their dynamic range is superb, surpassing the A900! I've always had a soft spot for their handling and menus since the K10D. However they are too far deep in APS-C investments. http://www.dxomark.com/index.php/Camera-Se...brand3%29/Canon I've also included your 7D (unless you meant the Konica Minolta 7D?) But then hey, these numbers may not be as relevant to you as handling, operation, support and/or lens choice. As of late I've been processing my pictures with more near-whites and near-blacks - so I have not been using the full strength of its dynamic range. Here are some pictures which are chosen for the sake of technical discussion: ![]() Carl Zeiss 135mm F1.8 at F1.8 on the A900. ![]() Same as above, at F1.8. Take a good look at the different color tones on his face. ![]() Again at F1.8. ![]() 24mm F3.5 on the A900, if I remember correctly. You can tell from the scene that normally the people would be in deep shadow. I could've pulled the shadows more but decided to leave it there. ![]() Another 24mm shot, cropped to a square. Again, I could've put in more fill light... but that would make it not look like the sun was shining behind them. ![]() With the aid of 2 wireless flashes. Around 70-100mm if I remember correctly. ![]() I think this was the Opteka 85mm F1.4. It's got this look that I really like... not as mild as the Tamrons and just as contrasty as the Zeiss lenses, minus the micro-contrast. ![]() Sigma 30mm F1.4 on the A900. You may also notice that throughout, that Alphas are tuned to pick up more colors (especially so in ambient light) - you get more greens and stronger reds. Like you have a leaf next to a branch, and the branch has a tinge of green in the picture. This tinge is notably missing from the Nikons. ![]() This is from the Minolta 24-50mm F4, a classic Minolta gem. But yeah, I like them Minolta and Carl Zeiss lenses too although they have very different personalities. And some Sigmas - I love the way the 30mm F1.4 and 50mm F1.4 renders. The 85mm F1.4 has some icky bokeh though. This post has been edited by albnok: Apr 18 2011, 03:56 AM |
Apr 18 2011, 05:06 AM
1,358 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
QUOTE(CyaNide27 @ Apr 18 2011, 12:53 AM) hi, i'm considering on sony dslr (but not excluding other brands), am still new and learning about photography.... not planning to become professional or what, just want to take better pictures.... although i might be get flamed, but, simple reason, i dislike to be majority.. C brand and N brand are common seen in any occasion. wanna ask you guys, what is your reason to choose sony dslr? just wanna understand better.... why sony? » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « sony have few advantage: 1) in-body focus motor (others only available at higher end model) 2) in-body stabilization (no need spend extra for in-lens stabilization) 3) off-body flash trigger using pop-up (others only available at higher end model) 4) inherit from konica-minolta 5) sony is generous when come to after-sales (during valid warranty) and so on...... |
Apr 18 2011, 08:55 AM
2,816 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(albnok @ Apr 18 2011, 03:53 AM) ahpingko: Niiice 30mm! I can see the flash. hahaha...my finally get the feel of using external flash!..F42 also damn awesome already for me..QUOTE(hiansitt @ Apr 18 2011, 05:06 AM) although i might be get flamed, but, simple reason, i dislike to be majority.. C brand and N brand are common seen in any occasion. yea...i just got a new F42 out from warranty.. why sony? » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « sony have few advantage: 1) in-body focus motor (others only available at higher end model) 2) in-body stabilization (no need spend extra for in-lens stabilization) 3) off-body flash trigger using pop-up (others only available at higher end model) 4) inherit from konica-minolta 5) sony is generous when come to after-sales (during valid warranty) and so on...... |
Apr 18 2011, 10:57 AM
Thanks for the replies.... The reasons sony is top in the list is coz its cheaper compared to the other 2, i'm not planning to earn money out of photopraphy lol
Apr 18 2011, 11:12 AM
3,928 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Incheon, Korea.. currently in Miri, Soviet Sarawak |
Comparing 1750 to 16105 is like comparing tokina 1116 to sal1118... One is short and bright, one is long and dark.
Fansoption: don't compare.... If you compare more... Later you regret... Nex sensor memang better. No doubt. Just learn to love it...at least gf2 got ISO hotshoe. Added on April 18, 2011, 11:17 am QUOTE(CyaNide27 @ Apr 18 2011, 10:57 AM) Thanks for the replies.... The reasons sony is top in the list is coz its cheaper compared to the other 2, i'm not planning to earn money out of photopraphy lol If you are worried bout investment, the I can say, with Sony, you'll get the same thing from nikon at fraction of its value since nikon uses same sensor. Not to mention cheaper flash, lens (if you plan to get some) and still benefit from in body stabilization.Another advise, get it soon. Shortage is hitting soon. Due to the current situation in Japan. Added on April 18, 2011, 1:46 pmOMG, tianya came out with filter with both b+w and hoya name in it! how misleading... Tianya Xs-Pro1.... =.= This post has been edited by ieR: Apr 18 2011, 01:46 PM |
Apr 18 2011, 02:58 PM
I came across some terms which i tried to google but dont understand all those technical explanation, wonder if anyone can simplify the meaning for me.... What is HDR? What is a filter?
Apr 18 2011, 03:42 PM
2,540 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: KL |
QUOTE(CyaNide27 @ Apr 18 2011, 02:58 PM) I came across some terms which i tried to google but dont understand all those technical explanation, wonder if anyone can simplify the meaning for me.... What is HDR? What is a filter? HDR is high dynamic range. Look up 'high dynamic range' and you will understand better.A filter is a piece of glass that we put in front of a lens. Typically you will find a UV (ultra violet) filter in front of lenses people use. The UV filter is mainly for protection of the lens rather than cutting out UV as it is much cheaper to replace a filter that gets scratched rather than the lens itself. Other filters that are common: CPL - circular polarizer ND - neutral density |
Apr 18 2011, 04:04 PM
3,065 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(porkchop @ Apr 18 2011, 12:33 AM) i only upload tomorrow la..just finish my self portrait with new hair cut... hahaha albnok : saw me so i ask him still got who come porkchop but dunno where you go so dun see you there loh. I not using red purply gf2 leh!fansoption, u din come say hi to us?? didnt u see albnok with us too?? edit: is it the red purply GF2?? it was eye catching though...but couldn't recognise u This post has been edited by fansoption: Apr 18 2011, 04:06 PM |
Apr 18 2011, 04:17 PM
3,928 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Incheon, Korea.. currently in Miri, Soviet Sarawak |
QUOTE(CyaNide27 @ Apr 18 2011, 02:58 PM) I came across some terms which i tried to google but dont understand all those technical explanation, wonder if anyone can simplify the meaning for me.... What is HDR? What is a filter? HDR is a type of photography. Where usually it takes 2 or more photo and merge them to archive really special 'light' control. Just Google for HDR photo.Filter, a physical one is to protect you lens, round thing screw infront of the lens Filter, a digital one is a editing method. But I guess you are talking bout the top one. http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1836505 can read more here. |
Apr 18 2011, 05:11 PM
1,286 posts Joined: Aug 2010 From: Home |
QUOTE(67zai @ Apr 18 2011, 12:11 AM) wa alot replies. xD haha. thanks for all the feedbacks yo ! ok now im using sony a550, have no flash yet, and i got 55-200 sam ad, which i think is good enough to be a paparazi LOL Why not abv 3200? whats wrong with bumping yr iso? ytd was the first time i used 12800. so now im looking for a uber sharp low light lens like 1750 f2.8 yo, somehow i like 16-105 for its focal length so that i dont have to switch to 55-200 so often.. ahh so troublesome yo.. and newbieee, i have iso up to 6400 or 12800 if im not mistaken, however i dont use above 3200 lol.. xD anyway sifus, thanks for all the feedbacks. guess i ll go for tammy atm ~ wanna feel why FF users like 2470 f2.8 so much xD |
Apr 18 2011, 05:13 PM
14,082 posts Joined: Aug 2009 From: Malaysia |
Sony Malaysia's Sales Department sucks.....
Wasted my 1 hour in my life. Thanks.... |
Apr 18 2011, 05:13 PM
QUOTE(~SS~ @ Apr 17 2011, 11:39 PM) Hohoho. Good choice bro. Congratulations. Added on April 18, 2011, 5:45 pmPics from Sg Dara, Tanjung Malim and Durian Orchard. C&C please ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() This post has been edited by Newbieeeeee: Apr 18 2011, 05:46 PM |
Apr 18 2011, 06:30 PM
381 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
QUOTE(Newbieeeeee @ Apr 18 2011, 05:13 PM) Hohoho. Good choice bro. Congratulations. Hmm...just my 2 centAdded on April 18, 2011, 5:45 pmPics from Sg Dara, Tanjung Malim and Durian Orchard. C&C please » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « I find that your photos do not give me any objective. What's the photo purpose? The object?You want us to look at the rambutan or the durian? *I feel the 1st pic a bit awkward. If you look carefully, the pic been chopped to 6/4 portion vertically along the right hand stone |
Apr 18 2011, 06:42 PM
QUOTE(iamKiet @ Apr 18 2011, 06:30 PM) Hmm...just my 2 cent umm 1st is sg dara. 2nd and 3rd is slow shutter but cant go slow because no ND + so sunny. 4th one is what we collected from the orchard. I find that your photos do not give me any objective. What's the photo purpose? The object?You want us to look at the rambutan or the durian? *I feel the 1st pic a bit awkward. If you look carefully, the pic been chopped to 6/4 portion vertically along the right hand stone |
Apr 18 2011, 06:59 PM
2,546 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: Cyberjaya |
pics from PC fair (friday).
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « after play with a friend's Sigma 30mm f1.4 (nikon), i suddenly got urge to get one. Really nice can close up for potrait and wide enuf for group/family pic. like when dining at restaurant, for sure 50mm cant get u group/family pic |
Apr 18 2011, 07:35 PM
3,065 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Look Geng! DMC-GF1 + ALPHA LENS to M4/3 MOUNT ADAPTER + Sonnar T* 135mm F1.8 ZA
![]() |
| Change to: | 0.0319sec
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 06:11 PM |