126 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Bottom

Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V52!, The Orange Legion

gjtan
post Apr 17 2011, 12:14 AM

301 posts

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Apr 17 2011, 12:09 AM)
the kit lens in the photo lol
ah....the it's a small plastic camera....it's a dummy sweat.gif
evilhomura89
post Apr 17 2011, 12:21 AM

5,886 posts

QUOTE(gjtan @ Apr 17 2011, 12:14 AM)
ah....the it's a small plastic camera....it's a dummy  sweat.gif
oh i see, LOL!!
zstan
post Apr 17 2011, 12:37 AM

15,856 posts

Some photos shot on friday night during my visit to KL tower. Really pushed my lens and body to the limit. C&C welcome smile.gif

The tower and the moon. by zstan, on Flickr
Exposure 0.125 sec (1/8)
Aperture f/2.8
Focal Length 17 mm
ISO Speed 400
Exposure Bias -1 EV

KL Tower in Pink! by zstan, on Flickr
Exposure 0.3
Aperture f/2.8
Focal Length 17 mm
ISO Speed 800
Exposure Bias +0.7 EV

KLCC from another view by zstan, on Flickr

Forgotten to tune back the WB while taking this random shot but i like the bluish glow effect of the building!

Camera Sony DSLR-A300
Exposure 0.5
Aperture f/2.8
Focal Length 30 mm
ISO Speed 800

Interior of the restaurant by zstan, on Flickr

Camera Sony DSLR-A300
Exposure 0.067 sec (1/15)
Aperture f/2.8
Focal Length 17 mm
ISO Speed 400

As you can see, most of the shots are shot wide open and at high ISO. Pictures appear much more sharper after calibration!

Spaghetti with 3 different sauces. by zstan, on Flickr

Peppermint ice cream by zstan, on Flickr

Bokehlicious KL city by zstan, on Flickr

smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif

porkchop
post Apr 17 2011, 01:29 AM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

i like ice cream shot...

woo my turn go shoot pc fair girls tomorrow...hopefully can join some others or got others join me kakakaka

edit: dun call me.... i maybe going around 1130am onwards cos now just back from energizer night run... smile.gif

This post has been edited by porkchop: Apr 17 2011, 02:33 AM
TSalbnok
post Apr 17 2011, 01:30 AM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

fansoption: Don't forget the A-mount to M4/3 adapter! biggrin.gif

Seriously though, I like their 9-18mm F4.0-5.6. Tiniest ultra-wide angle lens ever!

zstan: Whoa, interesting - never seen the KL Tower look so bloaty before!
loyatttt
post Apr 17 2011, 03:22 AM

177 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Apr 16 2011, 03:44 PM)
loyatttt:

Hey, you gotta tell us what you expect, so we can tell you whether it meets your expectations or not.

I can tell you a Lamborghini Murcielago is a GREAT car, but I don't know you're looking for a 4 seater, so it's not so great is it?

I've had an A900 for 2.5 years now. I shoot low-light musical performances without using flash, events, weddings and street photography.

It has no problems with artificial light, and no problems with flourescent light.

There are no banding issues with the A900.

The outer focus points are sensitive in low light provided you give them a point of contrast e.g. an eye. Just don't expect it to focus on a plain wall. Coincidentally though, the A900's center AF point has FIVE sensors and is one of the few that can focus on a plain wall in low light.

In comparison the Nikons max out at 2 sensors per focus point (cross sensor) and the Canons max out at 3 (cross sensor + F2.8 sensor). The A700, A850 and A900 have dual cross sensors and a F2.8 sensor in the center.

In short, the center AF point is dead reliable and fast no matter where you are. However the outer points are all single line sensors, and single line sensors only detect detail in one orientation. So you can focus on a flag pole using a horizontal line sensor, but a vertical line sensor will not lock focus on this flag pole. Unless you turn your camera sideways. wink.gif

This is inherent to all line sensors in all cameras - it's not a Sony thing. A smart thing that the older Alphas had, was to have diagonal line sensors. biggrin.gif

Dynamic range and color on the A900 is fantastic. Of course, dynamic range relies on you relying on Sony's idea of metering. In high contrast situations, Alphas will prefer to underexpose so that it keeps the detail and color on the highlights.

The downside of this is that when you underexpose, and you increase exposure in Photoshop or any RAW editing software, is that the gain is increased and thus you get noise.

So, faced with a giant lamppost behind somebody's head, you can choose to screw the lightbulb and just press the AEL button on the person. So the person is correctly exposed, no noise, but the lightbulb is saturated in white.

Color is also fantastic - you get a lot more color tones especially in faces compared to Nikon (which has less color in order to achieve less apparent noise - that's why all these high ISO shots have faces that are one shade of brown) and Canon (which mutes the reds and greens, hence the duller look).

The other thing I love is the button layout and ergonomics. The A900 is operable using the right hand and the buttons are all there, even on the vertical grip. Heck the joystick is there in full size, on the grip. The vertical grip feels the same as the camera grip - on other brands, the vertical grip is shaped like a brick and has very few buttons. So you have to relearn your button layout and know that you cannot access all functions when using the vertical grip. This is not an issue at all on the A700/A850/A900 vertical grips.

jimlim007: If you can't wait pick up a cheap A33 and you get fast video AF right now.
wow...thanks for the info...especially the focusing right under artificial light...seem the focus system almost like the 5d2...

I will research more on this camera and judging from ur reply I think its really a great camera but I find not much ppl using it which is weird...about the dr izit better than the pentax k5?...some great shot from ur collection using this cam would be great...thanks again for the info

Added on April 17, 2011, 3:29 am
QUOTE(ieR @ Apr 16 2011, 12:06 PM)
loyattttt: hi, welcome, sorry bout the rudeness of some people here. it just.... erm, i have no idea why also hahaha. well review sometimes are a little bias or something exaggerate... but i will stick to the main point/question.

but a little about me first, i do not work under sony, but i got a small privileged to able to play with some of their camera for a period of time to understand them. i own other camera system too.

bout the AF system, yes, sony A900/850 is very reliable, as much as D700. for the canon system, (i hope no canon fanboy lurking here) even 7D sophisticated AF module has inconsistency compare to older Alpha A550 (base on some comparison review, again, review might be bias, but it was the first time i ever saw a review that 'side' alpha then canon... funny). i do not want to go into too technical, but (i hope u are not that lazy) you could head over to youtube, and find video on A900 vs 5DmkII AF test. it was surprisingly the A900 can lock better in many condition compare to 5D2. another point is that, the A900 has extra 10 hidden af assist point to help the 9 main af point.

as for noise, if u are concern, during that era, it wasnt the best, but with 24mp, after u size down to 50% (still a 12mp photo) the noise is much less notice-able and comparable to D700 12mp photo.

Added on April 16, 2011, 12:06 pmits better if u can provide us with more specific point or question smile.gif tq
ya...I think "some people" gila gila one....

and its true I have the 7d and its does miss focus stupidly under fluorescent however under sun light the focus system is very fast and accurate....but I do think nikon focusing system is more reliable gonna try some sony dslr when I get the chances thanks for the info...

This post has been edited by loyatttt: Apr 17 2011, 03:29 AM
fansoption
post Apr 17 2011, 10:13 AM

3,065 posts

I like the #7

Added on April 17, 2011, 10:14 am
QUOTE(albnok @ Apr 17 2011, 01:30 AM)
fansoption: Don't forget the A-mount to M4/3 adapter! biggrin.gif

Seriously though, I like their 9-18mm F4.0-5.6. Tiniest ultra-wide angle lens ever!

Where can get A-Mount to m4/3 adapter? Really can work?

Added on April 17, 2011, 10:16 am
QUOTE(ieR @ Apr 17 2011, 12:00 AM)
75300*, 70300 is G lens and its rm2999.
of all three, i but 55-200 for rm450, then buy a raynox for uber macro.

fansoption: 70300 is G lens bohhhh tongue.gif hey, the other kitty lens for gf2, how long? 12mm to? it looks as big as nex also...
14-42mm f3.5-5.6 and pancake is 14mm F2.5

This post has been edited by fansoption: Apr 17 2011, 10:16 AM
zstan
post Apr 17 2011, 10:51 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(porkchop @ Apr 17 2011, 01:29 AM)
i like ice cream shot...

QUOTE(albnok @ Apr 17 2011, 01:30 AM)

QUOTE(fansoption @ Apr 17 2011, 10:13 AM)

I like the #7

thanks~ biggrin.gif
chiahau
post Apr 17 2011, 11:18 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

TT today at PC fair

Should be starting from 11 to unknown LOL..

Contact me, or porkchop or Albert or others who are there 2 set up TT lol.

My number - Maxis 017- enam enam lapan lapan satu tujuh dua

I'll reach around 1 something.
freddy manson
post Apr 17 2011, 12:40 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

just sharing a few shots..
very lazy lately

- from facebook

ahpingko
post Apr 17 2011, 12:50 PM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

today got nice sky and sunshine..bobo portrait session~

DSC08622 by WeiQiPhotography, on Flickr

DSC08657 by WeiQiPhotography, on Flickr
(this using wireless flash to fill the face)
67zai
post Apr 17 2011, 03:14 PM

581 posts

Guys, if you were to choose a lens for walkaround or street shooting, 1750f2.8 vs 16105f3.5-5.6, which one u prefer?

evilhomura89
post Apr 17 2011, 03:23 PM

5,886 posts

QUOTE(67zai @ Apr 17 2011, 03:14 PM)
Guys, if you were to choose a lens for walkaround or street shooting, 1750f2.8 vs 16105f3.5-5.6, which one u prefer?
i think i'll go for 16105 for the extra zoom
it's stealthier n u get a tighter cropping when u try to isolate a subject from its surrounding when it comes to street shooting

This post has been edited by evilhomura89: Apr 17 2011, 03:24 PM
zstan
post Apr 17 2011, 03:23 PM

15,856 posts

Depends on what body are you using and what kind of shots you want to achieve..

for me and my a300.. 1750 definitely... biggrin.gif
Mikeshashimi
post Apr 17 2011, 03:41 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

for me i'd take 16-105... coz i dont shoot in low light as much as ill shoot at 105mm. biggrin.gif
8tvt
post Apr 17 2011, 05:19 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

i chose 17-50 coz for indoor also..
further than that.. tele lens..

for daylight sure 16-105 easier..
but still tele lens for bokeh..
ieR
post Apr 17 2011, 06:27 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

67zai: 30mm macro. tongue.gif

seriously, u asking us what "we" prefer. not what you prefer tongue.gif

street should not involve stage, so 1750 for evening/night street! and its uber sharp(er then 16-105)
porkchop
post Apr 17 2011, 07:05 PM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

67zai, I used to have both 1750 and 16-105, but i love the 16-105 cos its wider and longer and lighter.....additionally it focus speed is acceptable....if need indoor, I have flash so nothing to worry at all..
Newbieeeeee
post Apr 17 2011, 07:27 PM

:)
1,286 posts

Hahaha! I did SOOOOOO MUCH research on this 2. I ended up with the 16105. Simple.

What body are you using? Max ISO at least 6400?
Yes- 16105
No- 1750

You have a flash?
Yes - 16105
No- 1750

After buying my 16105, i still feel that sometimes 105 is not enough for me. Wondering how to survive with 1750.

hazril
post Apr 17 2011, 07:41 PM

.: This Is Brazil! :.
3,070 posts

QUOTE(Newbieeeeee @ Apr 17 2011, 07:27 PM)
Hahaha! I did SOOOOOO MUCH research on this 2. I ended up with the 16105. Simple.

What body are you using? Max ISO at least 6400?
Yes- 16105
No- 1750

You have a flash?
Yes - 16105
No- 1750

After buying my 16105, i still feel that sometimes 105 is not enough for me. Wondering how to survive with 1750.
answering your question still cannot decide...max iso not 6400 but have flash...how?

126 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Top

0.0894sec    0.87    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 02:05 PM