140 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Bottom

Asus N53SN review, and discussion

jusjus88
post Apr 19 2011, 10:35 AM

đøƝד ѿӧᶉᶉẙ , ḃᴇ Ĥåρρў
1,173 posts

QUOTE(reevephon @ Apr 19 2011, 09:52 AM)
Hopefully your laptop will be fine.
I'm sure it'll be good. lol.

See, thing is that, when we pay such a huge amount for a trusted brand, we tend to have very, very high expectations. When that happens, we tend to point out the slightest fault in N53SN and make it sound so bad.

But actually, when you think of it, do your N53SN :

-Overheat on your palms when you stress it?
-Optical disc tray doesnt budge?
-Some keys feels hard and clickety?
-BSoD on your without any reasons?
-Any of your ports aren't working?
-Thin lines of stripes on your LCD?
-Your speaker totally/partly busted?
-Scratches/dents on the frames?
-GPU failing?

...to name a few.

If say, you have 1 , and only 1 problem. Be thankful.
wewanwang
post Apr 19 2011, 10:51 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(jusjus88 @ Apr 18 2011, 10:12 PM)
lol i just came back from lowyat.  smile.gif

Tell you all something funny.  biggrin.gif

I went to PC3 to change the laptop because I was saying my speaker got the distorted sound right?   hmm.gif

I drove all the way there then the guy said no stock..lmao.  shakehead.gif

He said ALL N53SN series (esp those who bought during pc fair) have to wait 2 weeks if you want 1-to-1 swap.  shocking.gif

So guys, just sharing my experience. You better don't go there and be turned down like I did. I was screaming at the counter.  vmad.gif

I think I can live with my speakers la...since the sifu Trance4eva says it is normal ... Just dont see too loud lo.  cool.gif

p/s: You gets better notify PC3 if you want 1-to-1 claim. They will put you in 'waiting list'.
Thanks for posting the info here. I just think of go to PC3 just now.

I bought the N53S with upgrading to 8GB ram at PC fair tat day...having the same issues like sound distortion, machine running slow, machine hang (few times already) while surfing net, lots of junk softwares installed, etc.

But after I reformat and reinstall (not from recovery mode thot, fresh install from my own CD), install the necessary drivers, then everything seem to be fine now...just tat I still cannot get rid of the lousy speaker. Will give PC3/Asus a call asking them to solve this.

Added on April 19, 2011, 11:03 am
QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Apr 18 2011, 08:13 PM)
I wonder if can change speakers.... hmm.gif  hmm.gif  since there are distortion in sound which is very obvious....
Ya, mine also the same...very obvious the sound distortion. Sonic master I never heard of this brand before but the sales person told me it can compete with JBL or Dolgy sweat.gif

This post has been edited by wewanwang: Apr 19 2011, 11:03 AM
christcwl9
post Apr 19 2011, 11:08 AM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(reevephon @ Apr 19 2011, 09:52 AM)
Hopefully your laptop will be fine.
Thx biggrin.gif

QUOTE(jusjus88 @ Apr 19 2011, 10:35 AM)
I'm sure it'll be good. lol.

See, thing is that, when we pay such a huge amount for a trusted brand, we tend to have very, very high expectations. When that happens, we tend to point out the slightest fault in N53SN and make it sound so bad.

But actually, when you think of it, do your N53SN :

-Overheat on your palms when you stress it?
-Optical disc tray doesnt budge?
-Some keys feels hard and clickety?
-BSoD on your without any reasons?
-Any of your ports aren't working?
-Thin lines of stripes on your LCD?
-Your speaker totally/partly busted?
-Scratches/dents on the frames?
-GPU failing?

...to name a few.

If say, you have 1 , and only 1 problem. Be thankful.
I have fautly or even spoilt HDMI port .. system slow .. damn it , u call this an i7 ? Gonna reformat using my own cd and see whether things be better or not ...

QUOTE(wewanwang @ Apr 19 2011, 10:51 AM)

I bought the N53S with upgrading to 8GB ram at PC fair tat day...having the same issues like sound distortion, machine running slow, machine hang (few times already) while surfing net, lots of junk softwares installed, etc.

But after I reformat and reinstall (not from recovery mode thot, fresh install from my own CD), install the necessary drivers, then everything seem to be fine now...just tat I still cannot get rid of the lousy speaker. Will give PC3/Asus a call asking them to solve this.

Added on April 19, 2011, 11:03 am

Ya, mine also the same...very obvious the sound distortion. Sonic master I never heard of this brand before but the sales person told me it can compete with JBL or Dolgy  sweat.gif
U sure can buddy ?
jusjus88
post Apr 19 2011, 11:09 AM

đøƝד ѿӧᶉᶉẙ , ḃᴇ Ĥåρρў
1,173 posts

Yes..the bloatwares are rubbish IMO. Out of the 20 bloatwares (imaging, imaging and MORE imaging), i find a few useful; namely the Wireless Console, Fastboot, e-driver, SonicMaster, NuancePDF etc.

My runnning processes fell from 93 to 67 when i deleted around 15 of them bloatwares. Gosh..

But Fastboot is commendable. Not too shabby.
wewanwang
post Apr 19 2011, 11:18 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Apr 19 2011, 11:08 AM)
Thx  biggrin.gif
I have fautly or even spoilt HDMI port .. system slow .. damn it , u call this an i7 ? Gonna reformat using my own cd and see whether things be better or not ...
U sure can buddy ?
I just did it last nite, still testing on it...the performance is better now compare to original settings whistling.gif

I m test run my programming works with apache n mysql services running right now, still can feel tat a bit slow response when refreshing the web page. Do u guys notice the same?? Isit my internet line slow or the lowyat server in high traffic right now?

Added on April 19, 2011, 11:22 am
QUOTE(jusjus88 @ Apr 19 2011, 11:09 AM)
Yes..the bloatwares are rubbish IMO. Out of the 20 bloatwares (imaging, imaging and MORE imaging), i find a few useful; namely the Wireless Console, Fastboot, e-driver, SonicMaster, NuancePDF etc.

My runnning processes fell from 93 to 67 when i deleted around 15 of them bloatwares. Gosh..

But Fastboot is commendable. Not too shabby.
Yeah, uninstall those bloatwares can really make the machine perform better.

This post has been edited by wewanwang: Apr 19 2011, 11:22 AM
jusjus88
post Apr 19 2011, 11:49 AM

đøƝד ѿӧᶉᶉẙ , ḃᴇ Ĥåρρў
1,173 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Apr 19 2011, 11:08 AM)
Thx  biggrin.gif
If it's slow means there's too many bloatwares in your pc. Try removing most, if not all. lol

christcwl9
post Apr 19 2011, 12:54 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

Reformat ... quite ok now with a boot time of 80 secs >< Is it ok ?? BTW, my HDMI port comfirm spoilt ><
jusjus88
post Apr 19 2011, 01:03 PM

đøƝד ѿӧᶉᶉẙ , ḃᴇ Ĥåρρў
1,173 posts

Then you better change bro. As for me, I havent tested my HDMI yet..cause i have HD TV.. but touch wood it's not spoilt la.

my_nickleo
post Apr 19 2011, 01:17 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(wewanwang @ Apr 19 2011, 11:18 AM)
I just did it last nite, still testing on it...the performance is better now compare to original settings  whistling.gif

I m test run my programming works with apache n mysql services running right now, still can feel tat a bit slow response when refreshing the web page. Do u guys notice the same?? Isit my internet line slow or the lowyat server in high traffic right now?

Added on April 19, 2011, 11:22 am

Yeah, uninstall those bloatwares can really make the machine perform better.
The only slowness I get is when antivirus accessing HDD, causing too many activities on HDD. Few weeks ago, was running heavy simulation involving multi threaded image processing in virtual machine. i7 works well, can see CPU turbo boost to 2.60-2.67GHz. Was doing VS2010 programming simultaneously in another virtual machine at the same time, doesn't feel lag at all.

Note 1: I never reformat and only uninstall few bloatwares. Didn't bother about bootup time, as I usually just put to sleep, perhaps restart once a week.
Note 2: Have 12GB ram to support multiple VM

jusjus88
post Apr 19 2011, 01:50 PM

đøƝד ѿӧᶉᶉẙ , ḃᴇ Ĥåρρў
1,173 posts

12GB! Isnt that a bit of a overkill?

Oh btw, you using the free VM is it? For personal.
my_nickleo
post Apr 19 2011, 02:12 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(jusjus88 @ Apr 19 2011, 01:50 PM)
12GB! Isnt that a bit of a overkill?

Oh btw, you using the free VM is it? For personal.
Using VMPlayer from VMWare, is free.

Normally will have 2-3 VM running at the same time, each VM assigned with 2GB ram, so 12GB is just gam gam for me.
jusjus88
post Apr 19 2011, 02:18 PM

đøƝד ѿӧᶉᶉẙ , ḃᴇ Ĥåρρў
1,173 posts

lol cause i tot of making full use of the i7 and 8GB ram .

Maybe get VMPlayer + XP + 1GB ram = Play those old school games..
christcwl9
post Apr 19 2011, 03:32 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

Hey guys , i wonder should i upgrade to 8gb or 12gb cuz my 4gb ram seems like not enough ><
my_nickleo
post Apr 19 2011, 04:02 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Apr 19 2011, 03:32 PM)
Hey guys , i wonder should i upgrade to 8gb or 12gb cuz my 4gb ram seems like not enough ><
Do you need to run memory hungry apps like virtual machine, photoshop or 3D rendering? If not, 4GB should be enough.
jusjus88
post Apr 19 2011, 04:05 PM

đøƝד ѿӧᶉᶉẙ , ḃᴇ Ĥåρρў
1,173 posts

Yes exactly, 4GB is just nice for a home user with gaming.

Of course virtualizations + video rendering will require more.
SUSthieflord
post Apr 19 2011, 04:05 PM

Androdify Yourself!
3,098 posts

u feel like 4gb not enuf, then make it 6gb. 8gb is totally overkill unless u run memory hungry apps like cs5 and photoshop
jusjus88
post Apr 19 2011, 04:13 PM

đøƝד ѿӧᶉᶉẙ , ḃᴇ Ĥåρρў
1,173 posts

Eggggxactly.

titanlancer
post Apr 19 2011, 04:42 PM

46 posts

NVIDIA Posts Their First Release 270 WHQL-Certified Driver.
Anyone updated their GT550M to 270.61?
retsmot
post Apr 19 2011, 05:43 PM

the power cosmic!
1,229 posts

i already use the beta 270 version. do i still need this newly certified version?
shredder
post Apr 19 2011, 05:52 PM

251 posts

QUOTE(titanlancer @ Apr 19 2011, 04:42 PM)
NVIDIA Posts Their First Release 270 WHQL-Certified Driver.
Anyone updated their GT550M to 270.61?
I suggest to wait for some review. but if u interested to preprare 1, thank you so much!

140 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0277sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:26 AM