BNM New Rulings on CC, No more card to card approve

hye
post Apr 9 2011, 09:49 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Apr 8 2011, 04:46 PM)
call mbf to cancel my 2 cards under same issuer. they dun suggest me to cancel n told me tat everything is free for me. waive gst n annual fee n ask me don't cancel  sweat.gif i told them tat bnm impose new guideline n she mention tat it's nt confirm yet and all d bank is in discussing bout tis matter. i dunno hw true is tis. any1 can confirm?
If your card anniversary is due soon by all means do consider to cancel the card and ignore whatever MBF tells you.
Irrespective of what the new guideline is ... MBF is well known for such tactics when their customers want to cancel the card. And irrespective whatever the new guideline is ... GST is still payable to the government - I don't see why MBF tells you that everything is free. The banks are discussing how to evaluate the customers and not whether or not they need to follow BNM guideline. (I don't think they can say no to BNM)
SUSDavid83
post Apr 11 2011, 11:03 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(beyond86 @ Apr 5 2011, 10:41 AM)
http://www.maybank2u.com.my/WebBank/FAQ_BNM030411.pdf

However, we encourage you to retain your Maybankards and cancel your other Credit Cards as they come packed with a complete suite of benefits and privileges from Lifetime Annual Fee Waivers, Low Finance Charges to non-expiring TreatsPoints, Maybank2u convenience, access to large branch network and more!

sweat.gif
This is so irony. Their CC is not the best in the town. sweat.gif

When I read the PDF, I nearly wanted to laugh out loud!
simplesmile
post Apr 11 2011, 11:22 PM

2,991 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Mar 18 2011, 04:07 PM)
Another news just came in. No more sudden credit limit increase and we'll soon all have to key-in our PIN number to buy something with our credit cards.

[attachmentid=2102566]
I got mail. HSBC just increased my CL without my consent.

QUOTE(bingozero @ Apr 4 2011, 08:58 PM)
Update by maybank
http://www.maybank2u.com.my/WebBank/FAQ_BNM030411.pdf

Line number 10
Are the new guidelines applicable to the American Express Charge Cards?
No. The guidelines are only applicable to Credit Cards only

[attachmentid=2135335]
So.. is MBB2 Amex a credit card or charge card?
SUSDavid83
post Apr 11 2011, 11:24 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Apr 11 2011, 11:22 PM)
So.. is MBB2 Amex a credit card or charge card?
MBB2 AMEX/Visa is a credit card.
MilesAndMore
post Apr 11 2011, 11:39 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 11 2011, 11:03 PM)
Well, MBB2 AMEX is kind of the best credit card in town biggrin.gif

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Apr 11 2011, 11:22 PM)
It's probably because the newly implemented rules will only come into effect at the end of this year ? Since there are so many things that have yet to be sorted out.

b00n
post Apr 11 2011, 11:43 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

The problem with BNM is they leave everything ambiguous and expect the banks to do the dirty job.
For example, a guys with income RM36k may retain 2 issuer. So currently he has 4 issuers, which bank want to make the 1st move to cut the guy's line and card? I bet that no bank wants to take the first step.
When BNM audit the banks, what is the banks best defense? They can claim that the guy wants to stay with them and it's the other banks whom should cut the relationship.

Anyway, that's just my opinion. I just can't seem to figure out this could be implemented for existing card holders. sweat.gif

Added on April 11, 2011, 11:48 pmInsider tips - ABM is trying to come up with a method to justify a person's income via proxy based on the customer's cards, housing loan or hire purchase then propose to BNM as a justification for a said customer's income.

Like I say, no one wants to lose the current pie they are holding.

This post has been edited by b00n: Apr 11 2011, 11:48 PM
gerrardling
post Apr 12 2011, 10:30 AM

6 STARS
1,684 posts

QUOTE(mizzycoffeelong @ Apr 12 2011, 10:16 AM)
if you read carefully, it's written that u can only get cards from 2 bank ISSUERS if your income is less than RM 36l per annum...so meaning the number of cards per bank is depend on the approval from the bank itself and not BNM la...well this is my 2 sen opinion...any will still keep my citibank clear & shell card..another bank to go..which one then?
no offense but shell card is a rubbish card. if that person use other banks cc to apply new credit card, they wont know his or her income
Gen-X
post Apr 12 2011, 12:40 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Apr 12 2011, 10:30 AM)
no offense but shell card is a rubbish card. if that person use other banks cc to apply new credit card, they wont know his or her income
agree in full. The Shell card is for those who likes to work for the bank if he or she is thinking of maximizing the cash back from it.
MilesAndMore
post Apr 12 2011, 05:11 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(mizzycoffeelong @ Apr 12 2011, 10:16 AM)
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Mar 18 2011, 04:03 PM)

Man ... i wondered how is this going to affect those who got their credit cards using an existing credit card as reference. I mean how do they determine one is earning below RM36k per annum. Everything is just so vague now.
if you read carefully, it's written that u can only get cards from 2 bank ISSUERS if your income is less than RM 36l per annum...so meaning the number of cards per bank is depend on the approval from the bank itself and not BNM la...well this is my 2 sen opinion...any will still keep my citibank clear & shell card..another bank to go..which one then?
And you quoted me because ?? rclxub.gif What you replied is irrelevant to my post.

Gen-X
post Apr 12 2011, 05:33 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(b00n @ Apr 11 2011, 11:43 PM)
Insider tips - ABM is trying to come up with a method to justify a person's income via proxy based on the customer's cards, housing loan or hire purchase then propose to BNM as a justification for a said customer's income.
If I don't have have any loans but got many cards can ar? They should just adopt my suggestions, no outstanding balance for 12 consecutive months, then the individual not subjected to the guideline. That would immediately translate to half the battle being won.

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Apr 12 2011, 05:11 PM)
And you quoted me because ??  rclxub.gif  What you replied is irrelevant to my post.
hahaha, newbie trying to tell "you" to read carefully and sharing with you that you can have many cards but only from 2 banks, as if you not aware tongue.gif
b00n
post Apr 12 2011, 05:40 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Apr 12 2011, 05:33 PM)
If I don't have have any loans but got many cards can ar? They should just adopt my suggestions, no outstanding balance for 12 consecutive months, then the individual not subjected to the guideline. That would immediately translate to half the battle being won.

You wouldn't be affected because your income more than that already tongue.gif
The banks are desperate trying to retain their market shares, who knows; they might adopt that. haha provided BNM agrees to their proposal.

It's funny when CIMB and Maybank declared that only 8% of their card base is less RM36k and less. Hard to believe though.

MilesAndMore
post Apr 12 2011, 06:05 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Apr 12 2011, 05:33 PM)
hahaha, newbie trying to tell "you" to read carefully and sharing with you that you can have many cards but only from 2 banks, as if you not aware tongue.gif
Yeah ... it's ok if he quoted the right one but his reply was totally out of topic man ... and that post of mine was posted almost a month ago. Read carefully before hitting the reply button-lah.

simplesmile
post Apr 12 2011, 08:48 PM

2,991 posts

QUOTE(b00n @ Apr 11 2011, 11:43 PM)
The problem with BNM is they leave everything ambiguous and expect the banks to do the dirty job.
For example, a guys with income RM36k may retain 2 issuer. So currently he has 4 issuers, which bank want to make the 1st move to cut the guy's line and card? I bet that no bank wants to take the first step.
When BNM audit the banks, what is the banks best defense? They can claim that the guy wants to stay with them and it's the other banks whom should cut the relationship.

Anyway, that's just my opinion. I just can't seem to figure out this could be implemented for existing card holders. sweat.gif

Added on April 11, 2011, 11:48 pmInsider tips - ABM is trying to come up with a method to justify a person's income via proxy based on the customer's cards, housing loan or hire purchase then propose to BNM as a justification for a said customer's income.

Like I say, no one wants to lose the current pie they are holding.
BNM should probably come up with a guideline like this and enforce it.
1. If user has credit cards from 2 issuers or less, then come expiry... nothing happens.
2. If user has credit cards from 3 or more issuers, then when the first card expires it will automatically be terminated by the issuer. This will go on automatically until 2 issuers are left. This should force the users to choose which ones to keep, and which ones to terminate.
hye
post Apr 12 2011, 10:10 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Apr 12 2011, 06:05 PM)
Yeah ... it's ok if he quoted the right one but his reply was totally out of topic man ... and that post of mine was posted almost a month ago. Read carefully before hitting the reply button-lah.
Hahaha ... it is rather hilarious when those newbies advise what the seniors in here already know.
Not understanding that in this part of LYN, the senior folks here know the subject well (unlike in other threads) .... like a technical cc specialist. We even have an expert blogger on the subject!
Gen-X
post Apr 13 2011, 12:12 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(b00n @ Apr 12 2011, 05:40 PM)
You wouldn't be affected because your income more than that already tongue.gif
The banks are desperate trying to retain their market shares, who knows; they might adopt that. haha provided BNM agrees to their proposal.

It's funny when CIMB and Maybank declared that only 8% of their card base is less RM36k and less. Hard to believe though.
That was last year where my income more than RM36K. This year taxable income so far RM0 doh.gif Must go get a job soon, maybe 2 months before the year end to proof I got pay slip > RM3K per month smile.gif

Yah, it is surprising that MBB and CIMB has only 8% of cardholders earning less than RM36K But then again, who is going to question them since they are GLC. If I were to take a wild guess, the banks that has the most % of people earning less than RM36 would be HLB, MBF, AMBank and Affin Bank (in no particular order) - cards which don't have much benefits.

QUOTE(hye @ Apr 12 2011, 10:10 PM)
Hahaha ... it is rather hilarious when those newbies advise what the seniors in here already know.
Not understanding that in this part of LYN, the senior folks here know the subject well (unlike in other threads) .... like a technical cc specialist. We even have an expert blogger on the subject!
yah, the seniors here in CC thread all crazy over credit cards, hahaha
You referring to me ar? Since I started blogging in 2009 on CC, I now have 4 blogs. Too damn free, hahaha.

ckuanglim
post Apr 13 2011, 01:42 PM

595 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Apr 12 2011, 08:48 PM)
BNM should probably come up with a guideline like this and enforce it.
1. If user has credit cards from 2 issuers or less, then come expiry... nothing happens.
2. If user has credit cards from 3 or more issuers, then when the first card expires it will automatically be terminated by the issuer. This will go on automatically until 2 issuers are left. This should force the users to choose which ones to keep, and which ones to terminate.
Good idea!
beyond86
post Apr 13 2011, 02:05 PM

1,956 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 12 2011, 12:03 AM)

When I read the PDF, I nearly wanted to laugh out loud!
Haha, ya, cannot tahan, really laugh out loud rclxm9.gif
Human Nature
post Apr 13 2011, 06:51 PM

- student of human nature -
26,529 posts

KUALA LUMPUR: Bank Negara Malaysia will implement SMS alerts for credit card transactions by Jan 1, 2012, in a bid to curb fraud.

A BNM official said card holders may respond to the SMS after the transaction was performed.

"If the transaction is not made by them, they can call the bank to cancel it and alert the police," she said Wednesday.

She said this would be followed by the implementation of the personal identification number verification for all card transactions from Jan 1, 2015 onwards.

BNM and banks in the country would continue to improve the security of the credit card, she said.

"The main issue is to enhance security of the credit cards and not the mechanism of delivering them," she said, when asked on steps taken by BNM to curb rising credit card fraud, including the arrest of seven postmen by the police recently.

On Tuesday, Kuala Lumpur police deputy chief Datuk Amar Singh Ishar Singh said the seven were among 13 people detained by the police in connection with the interception of letters containing credit cards. - Bernama

Source
beyond86
post Apr 13 2011, 08:02 PM

1,956 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Apr 13 2011, 07:51 PM)
Need bring the hp always.
Too many fraud cases
simplesmile
post Apr 13 2011, 08:20 PM

2,991 posts

QUOTE(beyond86 @ Apr 13 2011, 08:02 PM)
Need bring the hp always.
Too many fraud cases
These crooks are already thinking how to steal your SIM card and give you a fake SIM card. Crooks are always 1 step ahead of authorities.

16 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0250sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:01 AM