BNM New Rulings on CC, No more card to card approve

MilesAndMore
post Mar 18 2011, 04:03 PM

9,301 posts

Man ... i wondered how is this going to affect those who got their credit cards using an existing credit card as reference. I mean how do they determine one is earning below RM36k per annum. Everything is just so vague now.
MilesAndMore
post Mar 18 2011, 04:07 PM

9,301 posts

Another news just came in. No more sudden credit limit increase and we'll soon all have to key-in our PIN number to buy something with our credit cards.

MilesAndMore
post Mar 18 2011, 05:15 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(den @ Mar 18 2011, 05:08 PM)
Does it affect the existing card holder?
Like decreasing the CL to 2 times the salary only? =.=
Yes

MilesAndMore
post Mar 18 2011, 05:48 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(gastacopz @ Mar 18 2011, 05:45 PM)
what if already got more than 2 cards?

what happen to the extra cards?
You'll have until the end of this year to choose which two credit cards you want to keep.
MilesAndMore
post Mar 18 2011, 11:01 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Mar 18 2011, 10:51 PM)
Simple, anybody who does not submit or pay Income Tax will be considered earning less than RM36K
I am following the news closely. I'm at risk of losing my Citibank VISA and Maybankard 2 now sad.gif

MilesAndMore
post Mar 18 2011, 11:20 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Mar 18 2011, 11:08 PM)
don't worry too much lah, we are in Bolehland  tongue.gif Banks will sure appeal and I am sure there will be exceptions like for Private/Privilege Banking and pledging against FD.
The problem is i don't have any money in Citibank and Maybank. I got their credit cards using my HSBC credit card as reference sad.gif Hopefully they will automatically put me in the above RM36k income group. Then i got nothing to worry anymore biggrin.gif

MilesAndMore
post Mar 18 2011, 11:38 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Mar 18 2011, 11:28 PM)
still not a problem bro, you can have two cards (well maybe 3 since MBB2 = 1). Actually, MBB 2 + another card would be just about right for most people,
I plan to have 4 credit cards by the end of the year actually. Maybankard 2 cards from Maybank, Citibank VISA and OCBC Titanium MasterCard (assume everything goes as i hoped). Now it is all KIV for me.

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Mar 18 2011, 11:28 PM)
Actually, MBB 2 + another card would be just about right for most people, the problem in our case is the 2 x monthly salary = 2 x 0 = 0 credit limit, hahaha
Yeah. This is yet another problem. Assume they put me in the under RM36k income category. Both Citibank and Maybank will have to decrease my credit limit by as much as 90%. OH MY GOD cry.gif

MilesAndMore
post Mar 19 2011, 01:51 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(b00n @ Mar 19 2011, 01:08 AM)
And one thing about Malaysian declared income is seriously out. Malaysian as malaysian, many has "outside" income which is not declared. If you guys have the access to CCRIS or bank's customer base, you wouldn't be surprise to see a guy with low declared income but holding multiple property loans and hire purchases. doh.gif
That is so true biggrin.gif

QUOTE(aeronlim @ Mar 19 2011, 01:27 AM)
so if lets say i have a credit limit which is over than 2 times of my salary will be revised and change to 2x of my salary?
The article mentioned whoever is earning RM36k and below can only have cards from 2 different banks. So i guess you can have as many cards as possible from Bank ABC and Bank DEF but you can't have anymore cards from Bank EFG and any other banks.

QUOTE(aeronlim @ Mar 19 2011, 01:27 AM)
Hold only 2 cards, Maybank 2 Card consider 2 cards? As it only charge RM50 (1 card government tax)

Many question on this...
2 different banks. Not 2 cards actually. Man ... this is going to be a headache to the banks too. CIMB Bank is partly to blamed for this as it is the one that has been increasing their cardholders' credit limits like no tomorrow. Now it is hard to tell which Platinum/Signature/World/Infinite cardholders are really the loaded ones.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Mar 19 2011, 01:55 AM
MilesAndMore
post Mar 26 2011, 11:32 AM

9,301 posts

Separate credit card criteria for retirees

PETALING JAYA: The new credit card application guidelines do not apply to pensioners or retirees, said Bank Negara.

An official said the raise in income requirement to RM24,000 from RM18,000 per annum was solely for those with a monthly income, adding that banks had their own guidelines to assess the credit worthiness of retirees.

Association of Banks Malaysia executive director Chuah Mei Lin said pensioners would stand a higher chance of getting their applications approved if they had a good track record of servicing housing or other loans.

AmBank Group public affairs head Syed Anuar Syed Ali said applicants' credit rating was assessed individually.

Citibank Bhd public relations officer Jaya Menon said an internal guideline would be used to assess the credit worthiness of applicants who are not on a monthly income.

Source - The Star (26/3/11)
MilesAndMore
post Apr 11 2011, 11:39 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 11 2011, 11:03 PM)
This is so irony. Their CC is not the best in the town. sweat.gif
Well, MBB2 AMEX is kind of the best credit card in town biggrin.gif

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Apr 11 2011, 11:22 PM)
I got mail. HSBC just increased my CL without my consent.
It's probably because the newly implemented rules will only come into effect at the end of this year ? Since there are so many things that have yet to be sorted out.

MilesAndMore
post Apr 12 2011, 05:11 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(mizzycoffeelong @ Apr 12 2011, 10:16 AM)
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Mar 18 2011, 04:03 PM)

Man ... i wondered how is this going to affect those who got their credit cards using an existing credit card as reference. I mean how do they determine one is earning below RM36k per annum. Everything is just so vague now.
if you read carefully, it's written that u can only get cards from 2 bank ISSUERS if your income is less than RM 36l per annum...so meaning the number of cards per bank is depend on the approval from the bank itself and not BNM la...well this is my 2 sen opinion...any will still keep my citibank clear & shell card..another bank to go..which one then?
And you quoted me because ?? rclxub.gif What you replied is irrelevant to my post.

MilesAndMore
post Apr 12 2011, 06:05 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Apr 12 2011, 05:33 PM)
hahaha, newbie trying to tell "you" to read carefully and sharing with you that you can have many cards but only from 2 banks, as if you not aware tongue.gif
Yeah ... it's ok if he quoted the right one but his reply was totally out of topic man ... and that post of mine was posted almost a month ago. Read carefully before hitting the reply button-lah.

MilesAndMore
post Apr 15 2011, 12:51 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Apr 15 2011, 12:21 AM)
1. I usually don't inform the card issuers when I travel abroad.
2. Usually I don't pick up calls when I am abroad, cos I get charged. There was one time, bank called me, made me so annoyed and angry. Few days before this, I called the bank to do something for me (can't remember what it was). Then when I was overseas, the bank called me many times. Finally I answered. Then the guy on the phone asked me to verify myself by answering some questions, like I/C NO, mother's name or something like that. I was like WTF... you called me and ask me to prove that I am the person you called? And all this while my hp get charged. Finally, the guy said,.. just want to inform you that the transaction has been done. And then, I was like... WTF!! . I already saw the transaction has been carried out when I login online the day before. Now come to think of it, I shouldn't have answered those verification questions, because it might not have been the bank calling me.
This is why it is always advisable to inform your bank(s) before going overseas. It is to prevent something like this from happening.

MilesAndMore
post Aug 12 2011, 11:33 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE((@_@) @ Aug 12 2011, 10:34 PM)
I got a letter from Citibank asking me to prove my salary d.
Guess they are going to be verify one by one...
Is the said credit card due for renewal (i mean its anniversary month) in the next few months ?

MilesAndMore
post Sep 6 2011, 10:14 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(soitsuagain @ Sep 6 2011, 05:52 PM)
Citibank. Through branch. The officer told me i will get 15k CL. As forumers say, better be fast before before next month with new budget. Otherwise i doubt you can use reference card as credit limit justification.
You guys do know that whatever is offered to you now can be reversed anytime when the rule comes into effect right ?

MilesAndMore
post Sep 7 2011, 12:40 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(uhlaw @ Sep 6 2011, 11:53 PM)
What action will they take? Cancel the cards or reduce CL?
I have 2 CC which are just been approved in August without providing any salary slips during application process.
Will I be affected?
We don't know until they release more information on how they are going to enforce the new credit card rules and will no doubt affect both new and existing credit card holders.
MilesAndMore
post Sep 7 2011, 04:12 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(shiroikun @ Sep 7 2011, 10:56 AM)
I doubt that they will decrease all our credit limit to 2x of our income?
Banks are probably comfortable with the credit limit already assigned to your card account but not following the bank negara rules will result in a hefty penalty to the bank should they are found not following the bank negara rules. So, i do not think they are willing to take the risk.

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Sep 7 2011, 11:06 AM)
For those who have credit cards and earn below 36k per annum, bank will issue a letter to them asking them to update their income status. If their income is STILL below 36k, they have no choice but to cut ur credit limit.
How other banks are going to enforce this rule still remains a big ?.

QUOTE(shiroikun @ Sep 7 2011, 11:21 AM)
For now, BNM wanna control those income that is lesser than 3k, i wonder when they will start to control everybody in this country =.="" Another 3 years, they implement income less than 5k with the same rules?
Malaysia is the first and only country to date to impose credit card tax but not this new rule. There are already a few countries having such rule in place and the reason they are doing this is because the Malaysian credit card debt is spiralling out of control!

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Sep 7 2011, 04:14 PM
MilesAndMore
post Nov 15 2011, 01:22 PM

9,301 posts

I received a letter from Maybank just now, requesting me to submit my income documents because according to them, my annual income is in the RM36,000 and below category.

In the letter, it says that i must update my information with them before 30 Nov 2011 and failure to do so will result in my credit limit being reduced or worse, card will be canceled because i cannot have credit cards issued by more than 2 different banks.

I called Maybank CS and i was shocked to learn that they thought i am holding a Maybankard AMEX Gold credit card. The said Maybankard AMEX Gold credit card is the original and first AMEX Gold credit card issued by Maybank bearing the Maybankard logo and is no longer issued now.

Anyway, i told them i did have that card but i was just a supplementary card holder and they should refer to my latest information in the system. So, the CS checked further into their system and found out that i do not actually have to submit my income document again because i am actually in the earning above RM36,000/pa category. The CS said that those in the credit card department might have overlooked my details. She promised she will get back to me by today. Will see.

By the way, one will get 3,000 free TP after you've submitted your income document. There is also a Maybankard brochure inside the envelope and the one i received is explaining the benefits of a Maybankard Gold card doh.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Nov 15 2011, 01:24 PM
MilesAndMore
post Nov 15 2011, 04:05 PM

9,301 posts

The Malay lady CS i talked to earlier called me back as promised just a few minutes ago and informed me that she had clarified with the relevant department. Since the card was approved just this year and upon checking on their system which i belong to the earning more than RM36,000 income group, i do not have have to submit my latest payslip and was told to ignore the letter sent to me tongue.gif
MilesAndMore
post Nov 15 2011, 06:04 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Nov 15 2011, 05:33 PM)
Just submit for the 3000 points, thats like RM15 there
I have only passive incomes for the time being. Not sure if they accept those and i don't want to take the risk biggrin.gif

0.0265sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:28 AM