130 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Bottom

Official Microsoft Windows Vista Discussion Thread, Strictly NO warez discussion

xeno
post Oct 22 2006, 12:25 AM

938 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Oct 9 2006, 06:51 PM)
I don't know the way you use the internet. For me, I do not find any problem with windows firewall although I am quite aggresive in entering potentially dangerous website.
My graphics is Intel Extreme Graphics 2 for Mobile, 855GM chipset. The laptop is slightly more than 1 year old.
I mean the firewall, does it intelligent enough and up to latest threat ?
mengsuan
post Oct 22 2006, 12:32 AM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(xeno @ Oct 22 2006, 12:25 AM)
I mean the firewall, does it intelligent enough and up to latest threat ?
Haha... if compared to other commercial firewalls, it is may be less secure. They don't intend to make it so strict that it may pose unnecessary restriction for the user to use the computer.
betaiso
post Oct 22 2006, 04:22 PM

110 posts

i am using Vista RC1 and i didn't uninstall XP Powertoy before installing Vista, now everytime i boot up, a nagging screen pop up telling me that "super fast user switcher" is not working properly, the worse thing is now i can't uninstall the Powertoy, tried safe mode also no go..

is there anyway i can uninstall the Powertoy please...
linkinstreet
post Oct 23 2006, 09:21 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

reformat? that's the only option IMO
gstoh
post Oct 24 2006, 02:22 PM

INTJ
1,282 posts

RC2 build 5840 leaked~~
linkinstreet
post Oct 24 2006, 06:41 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(gstoh @ Oct 24 2006, 02:22 PM)
RC2 build 5840 leaked~~
thanks for the link tongue.gif
Gamerz_Paradise
post Oct 24 2006, 07:37 PM

270 posts

link? wat link?
Vervain
post Oct 24 2006, 08:47 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

Bt download or direct download?
gstoh
post Oct 24 2006, 08:50 PM

INTJ
1,282 posts

QUOTE(Vervain @ Oct 24 2006, 08:47 PM)
Bt download or direct download?
that leaked version of vista 5840 can be download by using emule only
but i believe there will be a bt seed of vista 5840 soon
linkinstreet
post Oct 25 2006, 11:47 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

I was too bored with melayan tetamu that I finally tried to test every available new features in Vista yesterday and today. Anyways these are the best thing I think Vista has to offer

Indexing Service
Forgot all those other Desktop Search crap. THIS IS THE REAL THING! I love how it's fully intergrated with the start menu. Quite fast too. It took me just 4 hours to index 80GB + 250GB + 60GB + 320GB of HDD. and all of them are nearly 85% full. Just remember don't ever index you pr0n or Hentai folder tongue.gif
It also is situated on the top right hand corner of your explorer windows, thus making searchng file really fast as you can search for files in the index for that particular folder only.

Snipping Tool
want to make a screenshot, but don't want to take the whole screen? Snipping tool is for you. it will let you select the area of the place you want to take screenshot. you can then either edit, copy to clipboard or save it as JPEG!

Windows Sidebar
It's not the widget of the sidebar that I like, but the fact that it uses simple XML to make the widgest suggest that Microsoft might release a tutorial on how to make your own!!

Internet Explorer 7
Faster than FF (2), more stable than IE6, and looks cool. What more can I say?

Taskbar Preview
Taskbar preview itself is good, but what about the fact that it will show animation if the program is working. thus you can easily check if you son's minimised WMP is playing pr0n

New Address Bar in Explorer
At first I was suprised that they are no 'Up one level button' anymore, but after mistakingly clicking on the arrow in fron of every folder name, I found out why. This is a quite good and initiative way to navigate throught the PC

Intergrated Windows Explorer with folder view
If you notice, there is a folder view for each Explorer Windows. Just click an the 'Folder' button on the left hand bottom corner.

HDD indicator
now you can easily tell if a HDD is nearing the full capacity

cutiesbaby312
post Oct 30 2006, 05:45 PM

Tu tu tu tu...
1,085 posts

ok, so finally i bought the DVD for this in lowyat plaza and guess what, this pc gives me the same problem. Installation went well until the complete the process stage where my pc needs to restart... then it says, windows vista failed to startup. Dunno what winlogon.exe failed to start. what's happening ar?

EDIT : Oh, i forgot to tell that, i'm just installing another windows vista, not replacing my wins xp here.. so i installed my vista into another partition but its not a primary but its a logical partition. Is that causing a problem to it?

This post has been edited by cutiesbaby312: Oct 30 2006, 05:46 PM
linkinstreet
post Oct 30 2006, 05:57 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

Mighty weird problem. Nak kata DVD, hardly it's fault. try switching your DVD Drive
cutiesbaby312
post Oct 31 2006, 02:21 PM

Tu tu tu tu...
1,085 posts

I tried both dvd drives already.. do u think its possibly my hardware compatibility? thanks
samurai1337
post Oct 31 2006, 03:23 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

Packaging for Windows Vista and office 2007
Source - neowin.net

This post has been edited by samurai1337: Oct 31 2006, 03:24 PM
mengsuan
post Oct 31 2006, 04:48 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(cutiesbaby312 @ Oct 31 2006, 02:21 PM)
I tried both dvd drives already.. do u think its possibly my hardware compatibility? thanks
Possible. Have you tried installing using virtual drive? smile.gif

I wished I got a free copy of the black one-Vista Ultimate edition. tongue.gif
quintessential
post Oct 31 2006, 08:54 PM

ilha formosa
2,919 posts

vista new packaging

http://windowsvistablog.com/blogs/windowsv...ice-system.aspx
cutiesbaby312
post Oct 31 2006, 09:00 PM

Tu tu tu tu...
1,085 posts

Ok, this is picture of the error i got...

I installed the 4th time liao either using my whole burned dvd or direct install from the download ones..(means I extract using daemon tools) and also now I bought the dvd liao.. sad.gif all also same error...

Help~~

cutiesbaby312
post Nov 1 2006, 08:25 AM

Tu tu tu tu...
1,085 posts

eh.. no one can help me ar? Wanna cry already ler tongue.gif
linkinstreet
post Nov 1 2006, 09:57 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

weird, I never seem to encounter that. The last time I see that error was a failed XP on my sis's PC because the motherboard IDE connection is failing and it cannot detect IDE hardware properly
eek-1
post Nov 1 2006, 10:19 PM

Custom member title
778 posts

QUOTE(cutiesbaby312 @ Oct 30 2006, 05:45 PM)
.. so i installed my vista into another partition but its not a primary but its a logical partition. Is that causing a problem to it?

Maybe. Is your XP & Vista sharing the same drive? If so I'm guessing the file is there and healthy, but cannot be booted because your motherboard BIOS has a disk access limitation or somekind.

Check your harddrive setting in BIOS, note all down and post them here alongwith your mobo model. What is your XP partition size?

EDIT: Some addendum in post.

This post has been edited by eek-1: Nov 1 2006, 10:24 PM

130 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Top

0.5782sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:41 AM