unfortunately, with so many good things about vista, there will be some ppl who will be ignorant...
Official Microsoft Windows Vista Discussion Thread, Strictly NO warez discussion
Nov 27 2006, 12:16 AM
1,309 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: The Lion City |
unfortunately, with so many good things about vista, there will be some ppl who will be ignorant...
Nov 27 2006, 06:13 PM
26 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Pantai , K.L |
i'll change back to xp coz too many my software not compatible with vista
Nov 27 2006, 09:41 PM
183 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: Johor Bahru, Johor |
Nov 27 2006, 10:20 PM
1,282 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: penang |
i am using rtm build now.. can i still send bug if i found 1.... ?
Nov 27 2006, 10:22 PM
913 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Ampang, Kuala Lumpur, Seremban... |
i heard tht vista wont be like xp... very hard to get pirated copies... and their installation also kind of tricky so only original can b installed... true ah? ma fren was tellin me about it.
This post has been edited by cruel_boy: Nov 27 2006, 10:23 PM |
Nov 27 2006, 11:21 PM
1,751 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: Malaysia |
i wonder why i dun hav the safety remove icon for my corasir 1GB flash drive?
other pendrive hav it when i plug in. |
Nov 28 2006, 09:24 AM
QUOTE(cruel_boy @ Nov 27 2006, 10:22 PM) i heard tht vista wont be like xp... very hard to get pirated copies... and their installation also kind of tricky so only original can b installed... true ah? ma fren was tellin me about it. your statement is true for the time being...the truth being is a matter of time before vista get cracked...microsoft has done their homework to prevent the vista from being duplicated but we must understand that vista is just another program created by man and it will bound to be cracked...sad but true... |
Nov 28 2006, 04:05 PM
9,275 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: KL. Best place in Malaysia. Nuff said |
All hail our multiracial hardworking frens!!
Nov 29 2006, 02:15 AM
5,366 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
dont u think the new Vista shut down button has gone over-complicated?
QUOTE ...you are going to think of a long list of intelligent, defensible reasons why each of these options is absolutely, positively essential. Don't bother. I know. Each additional choice makes complete sense until you find yourself explaining to your uncle that he has to choose between 15 different ways to turn off a laptop.... http://www.joelonsoftware.com/items/2006/11/21.html personally, I think that Switch User and Lock is overlapping each other, and they can be combined become one, which is the current Switch User...it sure will confusing newbies of windows. And between Sleep and hibernate, most people would be easily confused too...why they renamed from standby to sleep? Suspense could be better word. and that menu make the power-off button and log-off button besides utterly useless This post has been edited by dattebayo: Nov 29 2006, 02:23 AM |
Nov 29 2006, 08:26 AM
Actually, instead of shutting down, Vista will now hibernate so that you can get faster boot time when restarting the PC. I myself feels that it's a good thing as the PC is not using that much power during that time. Also, if I want to shut down, I just use the power switch on the PC itself
Nov 29 2006, 09:49 AM
5,366 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Nov 29 2006, 08:26 AM) Actually, instead of shutting down, Vista will now hibernate so that you can get faster boot time when restarting the PC. I myself feels that it's a good thing as the PC is not using that much power during that time. Also, if I want to shut down, I just use the power switch on the PC itself XP also can hibernate, but its not recommended to always use the hibernation, the system will become more laggy as times goes by, this happen in XP though |
Nov 29 2006, 10:01 AM
QUOTE(dattebayo @ Nov 29 2006, 02:15 AM) dont u think the new Vista shut down button has gone over-complicated? a few things in vista bcome more complicated than in xphttp://www.joelonsoftware.com/items/2006/11/21.html personally, I think that Switch User and Lock is overlapping each other, and they can be combined become one, which is the current Switch User...it sure will confusing newbies of windows. And between Sleep and hibernate, most people would be easily confused too...why they renamed from standby to sleep? Suspense could be better word. and that menu make the power-off button and log-off button besides utterly useless one of the example is shutdown button but u can shutdown by pressing the power on button on ur cpu (the button u press when u wan to switch on cpu, this will not damage ur cpu, ur com will shutdown like normal shutdown) another example is the "all programmes" in start up menu, cramped into smaller size =.=" not userfriendly, only a small space to view the programmes list, as time goes on, ur will com will b having more and more programmes to b installed in vista, by that time u will be suffering when viewing the "all programmes",because u have to scroll down and look for programmes u want |
Nov 29 2006, 10:34 AM
Really? Because I really do love the new 'All Programmes' style. And I don't even got lost, because I can just use the search underneath it
I think some ppl like me can get use to the new features more fast than others D: |
Nov 29 2006, 11:13 AM
QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Nov 29 2006, 10:34 AM) Really? Because I really do love the new 'All Programmes' style. And I don't even got lost, because I can just use the search underneath it i know that is good function, and m$ should not demolish that "all programmes" style in xp due to the search function is exist?I think some ppl like me can get use to the new features more fast than others D: i like "all programmes" style bcos i can open the programme by using mouse and without typing i don't see the advantage over the classic style if "programme list" is cramped into smaller space ? if you see, pls tell me i think that there is stil a lot of space for m$ to improve vista interface i feel that vista RTM is still incomplete anyone knows how to arrange the desktop icons at horizontal style ? i know i can do it manually, but is there an option in vista to do horizontal desktop icons arrangement?? This post has been edited by gstoh: Nov 29 2006, 12:09 PM |
Nov 29 2006, 12:08 PM
I dunno, starting from XP, I had developed a style to tidy up my start menu according to genre, but I have seen some of my fren's start menu that span the whole monitor. that's what Microsoft are targetting really, the ppl that don't like to tidy up the menu.
Nov 29 2006, 12:17 PM
QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Nov 29 2006, 12:08 PM) I dunno, starting from XP, I had developed a style to tidy up my start menu according to genre, but I have seen some of my fren's start menu that span the whole monitor. that's what Microsoft are targetting really, the ppl that don't like to tidy up the menu. sort it according to genre ? hmm vista at least does itit will automatically recognise the programmes is a games(warcraft 3) and place the icon in the games folder |
Nov 30 2006, 08:12 PM
11,594 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Area 51 |
vLite - vista version of nLite
http://www.vlite.net/index.html QUOTE Windows Vista from Microsoft takes a lot of resources, we all know that. So here is the tool for easy removal of unwanted components and bootable ISO creation in order to make Vista run faster and to your liking. This tool doesn't use any kind of hacking, all files and registry entries are in their original form and protected as they would be if you install the full version only without the components you select for the removal. It configures the installation directly, before the installation, meaning you'll have to remake the ISO and reinstall it. This method is much cleaner, not to mention easier and more logical than doing it after installation on every reinstall. |
Nov 30 2006, 10:01 PM
1,796 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
would like to ask, is 1.5gb differs a lot from 2gb using vista?
my current winxp maximum usage is less than 768MB, major task is typing, surfing, music & chatting, i doubt is 1.5gb vista similars to 768mb winxp? if possible will like to save some budget for other stuff |
Nov 30 2006, 10:09 PM
3,966 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
hmm...wanna ask you guys, any idea where to get office 2007 beta?? cause the official site ask me to pay for it... :S
Dec 1 2006, 12:19 PM
| Change to: | 0.0300sec