4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Official Microsoft Windows Vista Discussion Thread, Strictly NO warez discussion

dualshock
post Aug 29 2006, 07:39 PM

Let it go...let it go!!!
1,309 posts

where to get the key for pre-rc1 lah...sigh
*googling*

edit: found it...use your beta 2 key...

This post has been edited by dualshock: Aug 29 2006, 07:57 PM
dualshock
post Sep 6 2006, 07:38 PM

Let it go...let it go!!!
1,309 posts

official RC1 announcement from Microsoft...

here
dualshock
post Sep 12 2006, 05:38 PM

Let it go...let it go!!!
1,309 posts

For those who can't read chinese but wants to get the product key and give vista rc1 a spin, be the first 10 person to place a request on this thread (please don't PM me) and the product key will be PM to you.

If you feel that you don't need this, please get the product key yourself from gstoh's link. Credits for the link goes to gstoh.
dualshock
post Sep 13 2006, 02:52 PM

Let it go...let it go!!!
1,309 posts

refer here for program compatibility...

This post has been edited by dualshock: Sep 13 2006, 02:52 PM
dualshock
post Sep 18 2006, 09:10 AM

Let it go...let it go!!!
1,309 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Sep 17 2006, 05:01 PM)
hi guys...
Windows Vista x64 RC1 installation failed on me twice during "Completing Installation" session, and it won't continue install after that..

is there a way for me to get rid of the boot menu that let u choose between "Windows Vista" and "Earlier version of Windows" ?
using msconfig wont do
1. Locate a bootable Windows XP CD. Make ABSOLUTELY SURE you have a working disc before you proceed. Also, make sure you know the Administrator account password for your XP installation.

2. Insert XP CD, reboot computer, and press a key when it tells you to "Press a key to boot from CD".

3. When you get to the "Welcome to setup" screen (the first one that accepts user input), press R to enter the recovery console.

4. Select your XP installation from the list that appears (there will probably only be one thing anyways) and then enter your administrator password when prompted.

5. At the command prompt, enter fixboot, press enter, and answer "y" to the confirmation prompt.

6. Reboot your computer. Ignore the "Press any key..." prompt. Your computer should boot into XP.

If your computer still doesn't boot, use this procedure again, but run the fixmbr command in place of the fixboot command. It shouldn't be necessary since NT-based loaders only use the boot sector, but the unexpected is always a possibility.

quoted from PlanetAMD64 forum
dualshock
post Sep 21 2006, 12:01 AM

Let it go...let it go!!!
1,309 posts

QUOTE(cutiesbaby312 @ Sep 20 2006, 11:41 PM)
can i ask one silly question? Forgive me for not really every post in this thread yea.. .can i have my windows xp and windows vista together but using different partition? Means i have 2 windows in my pc? Coz i heard my fren said only can use 1 windows? I have windows vista setup disk with me but i'm afraid to install it becoz of the above reason
yes, you can have 2 OS in 2 diff partition. it's called dualbooting and i'm dualbooting now with xp and vista. shouldn't have a problem. and make sure you have ample space in your other partition before installing vista.
dualshock
post Sep 21 2006, 02:11 AM

Let it go...let it go!!!
1,309 posts

for those who is using vista currently, please post your windows experience index found when you right click and properties on my computer. this will hopefully give an indication to potential and current vista user on how smooth vista runs on certain specs of computer.

mine would be 5.0
dualshock
post Sep 29 2006, 02:41 PM

Let it go...let it go!!!
1,309 posts

QUOTE(lighter @ Sep 29 2006, 02:39 PM)
this vista rc1 valid for how long?
next year june or july...
dualshock
post Sep 29 2006, 03:06 PM

Let it go...let it go!!!
1,309 posts

can...up to june or july lorr...after that, you either buy vista or use back xp...
dualshock
post Oct 2 2006, 09:52 AM

Let it go...let it go!!!
1,309 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Oct 2 2006, 08:47 AM)
my low profile F@H rig using Vista  laugh.gif  wub.gif

windows experience index 1.0 only? so weird...
dualshock
post Oct 9 2006, 06:12 PM

Let it go...let it go!!!
1,309 posts

just an update, my vista rc2 is reporting a higher WEI compared to my vista rc1 by 0.2. i wonder why...

also, i did note that in pre-rc1, the ie7 is IE7+ while now in RC2 it's IE7 only. it was promised by microsoft that only vista gets the IE7+. wonder was it a mistake or was it on purpose??

This post has been edited by dualshock: Oct 9 2006, 06:14 PM
dualshock
post Oct 19 2006, 03:36 PM

Let it go...let it go!!!
1,309 posts

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Oct 19 2006, 03:05 PM)
hey vista 64bit and 32 bit got what difference? and all the drivers must be vista driver ah?
the difference is 64 and 32 bit lorr...also, for 64-bit, the driver needs to be signed iirc. when i install vista on my rig, the only driver that i need to provide is the sound card driver. the rest is recognised by vista.
dualshock
post Oct 19 2006, 10:16 PM

Let it go...let it go!!!
1,309 posts

recognise means you no need to provide driver after you install vista...vista will automatically installt he driver for you...

driver needs to be signed means must be certified driver lorr...if you buy those hardware like external casing where made in taiwan ones, the driver they provide not certified one mah...can be use in 32 bit but i don't think can be use in 64 bit...iirc...
dualshock
post Nov 2 2006, 12:14 PM

Let it go...let it go!!!
1,309 posts

just a short update for ppl who's using vista and wanted to play WC3 but have no sound to it...you can use your onboard sound to play instead of using creative soundcard. that way, they will be sound.
dualshock
post Nov 5 2006, 12:52 AM

Let it go...let it go!!!
1,309 posts

QUOTE(Canopies @ Nov 4 2006, 03:12 PM)
hey can my rigs support vista?

1gb ram and ds3 and e6600?
mine also can run smoothly, no reason why yours cannot...come join the club..
dualshock
post Nov 9 2006, 08:58 AM

Let it go...let it go!!!
1,309 posts

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Nov 9 2006, 01:44 AM)
how the hell you got that in the first place?
i think he's using the RC version...all RC version are ultimate version and without proper activation, it'll only last 30 days...IIRC
dualshock
post Nov 11 2006, 11:32 PM

Let it go...let it go!!!
1,309 posts

QUOTE(fariz @ Nov 11 2006, 10:42 AM)
i've registered for that event...will be going...see if there's any freebies...hheheehhe
dualshock
post Nov 15 2006, 09:36 PM

Let it go...let it go!!!
1,309 posts

QUOTE(od3n @ Nov 15 2006, 04:20 PM)
just installed vista 6000 on my virtual pc. some new icons there. can't listen to the sound yet. post my screenshots here

+ got some errors while installing office 2007, fix it soon +
od3n, did u install this build on a clean HDD or upg from build 5744??

edit: nvm, didn't notice u write..virtual pc...

This post has been edited by dualshock: Nov 15 2006, 09:38 PM
dualshock
post Nov 16 2006, 09:50 PM

Let it go...let it go!!!
1,309 posts

just an update...for those who's using RC2 who wishes to upgrade their vista to the final version WITH a valid and original product key may do so without any problem except the installation may take slightly longer than usual
dualshock
post Nov 17 2006, 03:29 PM

Let it go...let it go!!!
1,309 posts

QUOTE(cutiesbaby312 @ Nov 17 2006, 01:29 PM)
Lol.. i had no problem set my desktop resolution to 1280 x 1024 tongue.gif I'm using nvidia gc by the way... oh yeah , where to get the final release ar??
if you're talking about the legit final release, you'll have to wait until end of january 2007 for vista to hit the stores. if you're talking about now, then you can google around and find your ways as we're not allowed to discuss this sort of illegitimate things here...

maybe you can PM me should you need assistance... whistling.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0195sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:17 PM