QUOTE(numbertwo @ Mar 22 2011, 12:07 AM)
i hope you won't have to roll your eyeball so much when viewing such a big object within that distance...lol..
hey, I dun think we have that problem watching movie in Cinema right? Panasonic Viera TV Fan Club V.2, Plasma, LCD & LED models.
Mar 22 2011, 12:10 AM
18,672 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
Mar 22 2011, 12:23 AM
458 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
Mar 22 2011, 03:14 AM
2,664 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Puchong |
QUOTE(kelvyn @ Mar 21 2011, 09:13 PM) If you are going to use it mainly for gaming, you should be aware of the burn-in, IR problem which are inherent of plasma TVs. It's OK through my own experience. Everyday for 2 hours since Nov2010, I've been using V20 for PS3 gaming. On weekends, straight 8-10 hours playing FF XIII. Once in a while, a bit of IR but that washes away quickly when you switch to other channels. So, better take note if you using for gaming... PS3 setting: HDMI to full range and deep colour to Auto. HD gaming on V20 is breath taking. Edit: Oh ... and make sure you have HT for the 5.1 surround sound and it's a real gaming experience. Added on March 22, 2011, 3:18 am QUOTE(gogo2 @ Mar 21 2011, 09:29 PM) Sure, the bigger, the better investment. 42" is minimum for full HD enjoyment at 6' viewing distance. This post has been edited by PoorMan: Mar 22 2011, 03:25 AM |
Mar 22 2011, 08:52 AM
QUOTE(ckboon @ Mar 22 2011, 12:23 AM) you're probably the only person who told me that. Normally people sit in the middle so that the screen fullyenvelope your vision creating the atmosphere of being inside the movie. Your movie watching experience failed liao. QUOTE(PoorMan @ Mar 22 2011, 03:14 AM) It's OK through my own experience. Everyday for 2 hours since Nov2010, I've been using V20 for PS3 gaming. On weekends, straight 8-10 hours playing FF XIII. Once in a while, a bit of IR but that washes away quickly when you switch to other channels. PS3 some game no Full HD. Example is Uncharted 2. Sien.PS3 setting: HDMI to full range and deep colour to Auto. HD gaming on V20 is breath taking. Edit: Oh ... and make sure you have HT for the 5.1 surround sound and it's a real gaming experience. Added on March 22, 2011, 3:18 am Sure, the bigger, the better investment. 42" is minimum for full HD enjoyment at 6' viewing distance. I wonder how is the sound if come from 7.1 surround sound... |
Mar 22 2011, 09:13 AM
QUOTE(gogo2 @ Mar 22 2011, 08:52 AM) you're probably the only person who told me that. Normally people sit in the middle so that the screen fully I did try to watch it at the middle row but I cant view the whole screen at a time and all the image are so blur. I get a full vision for last few row and I am more comfortable with it/ envelope your vision creating the atmosphere of being inside the movie. Your movie watching experience failed liao. PS3 some game no Full HD. Example is Uncharted 2. Sien. I wonder how is the sound if come from 7.1 surround sound... I did went to IMAX to watch 1 movies, AD2000 if not mistaken and bought the last row and still few giddy as the screen are damn big and i cannot get use to it. my personal experience only.. |
Mar 22 2011, 09:17 AM
QUOTE(ckboon @ Mar 22 2011, 09:13 AM) I did try to watch it at the middle row but I cant view the whole screen at a time and all the image are so blur. I get a full vision for last few row and I am more comfortable with it/ Err... we don't need to view the whole screen. The reason you see the image blur because you're trying to view everythingI did went to IMAX to watch 1 movies, AD2000 if not mistaken and bought the last row and still few giddy as the screen are damn big and i cannot get use to it. my personal experience only.. at the same time and cannot concentrate on the action. See the important part and blur the other so that you're fully envelope in the movie. Relax bro. You don't miss anything without focussing in every single pixel of the movie. |
Mar 22 2011, 10:28 AM
3,858 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
Panasonic Asia has not announced its lineup for 2011 as yet. I hope the ST30 that is available in the US/EU is available here and being entry level, hopefully the prices are decent. The black levels for the ST series seems more than decent (barring black level rise) at 0.008ft/L. I have measured V20s that start at 0.006ft/L and at about 1500hrs are at 0.008ft/L. This shows that the improvements in the 2011 shd be good. With a full 3D CMS for the red, green and blue (primary colours) (this is for complete colour calibration) the ST30 shows a lot of promise. The floating blacks (occasionally seen in the 2010 V and VT series due to low black levels) seems to be reduced or possibly eliminated (this is not confirmed but some reviewers I know seem to say that its there but much much less). The positive comments so far are encouraging. This plus the fact that Samsung does not seem to have fixed the Cinema Smooth in its plasma range and not that great black levels on the Sammy flagship plasma for 2011 might help Panny a little. However, the earthquake might actually slow down supply for the larger panels that are slated for later this year. Only time will tell. I'm personnally looking forward to the 2D G series and the 3D VT30 series to see how the improvements are compared to the V20 and VT20 seen last year. |
Mar 22 2011, 10:32 AM
QUOTE(anfieldude @ Mar 22 2011, 10:28 AM) Panasonic Asia has not announced its lineup for 2011 as yet. I hope the ST30 that is available in the US/EU is available here and being entry level, hopefully the prices are decent. I think the big question is, is the price same as current level of clearance price of V series? Should weThe black levels for the ST series seems more than decent (barring black level rise) at 0.008ft/L. I have measured V20s that start at 0.006ft/L and at about 1500hrs are at 0.008ft/L. This shows that the improvements in the 2011 shd be good. With a full 3D CMS for the red, green and blue (primary colours) (this is for complete colour calibration) the ST30 shows a lot of promise. The floating blacks (occasionally seen in the 2010 V and VT series due to low black levels) seems to be reduced or possibly eliminated (this is not confirmed but some reviewers I know seem to say that its there but much much less). The positive comments so far are encouraging. This plus the fact that Samsung does not seem to have fixed the Cinema Smooth in its plasma range and not that great black levels on the Sammy flagship plasma for 2011 might help Panny a little. However, the earthquake might actually slow down supply for the larger panels that are slated for later this year. Only time will tell. I'm personnally looking forward to the 2D G series and the 3D VT30 series to see how the improvements are compared to the V20 and VT20 seen last year. scramble to buy V series at clearance price? Samsung price point of latest 4 series plasma show that the price is same or higher a bit than the clearance price of 2010 plasma. Example is 43" plasma (43" and not 42" which is an upgrade) is RM1999 retail price. Can get discount some more. So it seems the clearance price stuck with the new model of Samsung. |
Mar 22 2011, 11:51 AM
131 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
QUOTE(gogo2 @ Mar 22 2011, 10:32 AM) I think the big question is, is the price same as current level of clearance price of V series? Should we With the P42V20 now sold as low as RM2,299 and Samsung's "attractive" pricing for its HD-ready 2011 models, Panasonic Malaysia's would be hard pressed to maintain a premium price for its mainstream 2011 models if it wants to maintain its market share. Meanwhile, the V series is a great buy.scramble to buy V series at clearance price? Samsung price point of latest 4 series plasma show that the price is same or higher a bit than the clearance price of 2010 plasma. Example is 43" plasma (43" and not 42" which is an upgrade) is RM1999 retail price. Can get discount some more. So it seems the clearance price stuck with the new model of Samsung. I reckon it is an expensive lesson for the folks at Panasonic Malaysia. It should have gradually lowered the V series prices (like in other mature markets) in Q4 2010 instead of dumping the prices after the 2011 line-up has been announced. Added on March 22, 2011, 11:54 am QUOTE(gogo2 @ Mar 22 2011, 10:32 AM) I think the big question is, is the price same as current level of clearance price of V series? Should we With the P42V20 now sold as low as RM2,299 and Samsung's "attractive" pricing for its HD-ready 2011 models, Panasonic Malaysia would be hard pressed to maintain a premium price for its mainstream 2011 models if it wants to maintain its market share. Meanwhile, the V series is a great buy.scramble to buy V series at clearance price? Samsung price point of latest 4 series plasma show that the price is same or higher a bit than the clearance price of 2010 plasma. Example is 43" plasma (43" and not 42" which is an upgrade) is RM1999 retail price. Can get discount some more. So it seems the clearance price stuck with the new model of Samsung. I reckon it is an expensive lesson for the folks at Panasonic Malaysia. It should have gradually lowered the V series prices (like in other mature markets) in Q4 2010 instead of dumping the prices after the 2011 line-up has been announced. This post has been edited by msiathot: Mar 22 2011, 11:55 AM |
Mar 22 2011, 11:57 AM
QUOTE(msiathot @ Mar 22 2011, 11:51 AM) With the P42V20 now sold as low as RM2,299 and Samsung's "attractive" pricing for its HD-ready 2011 models, Panasonic Malaysia's would be hard pressed to maintain a premium price for its mainstream 2011 models if it wants to maintain its market share. Meanwhile, the V series is a great buy. LOL.. Panasonic only gradually lower the price of X series below RM2k for 42" in Q4 2010 whileI reckon it is an expensive lesson for the folks at Panasonic Malaysia. It should have gradually lowered the V series prices (like in other mature markets) in Q4 2010 instead of dumping the prices after the 2011 line-up has been announced. Added on March 22, 2011, 11:54 am With the P42V20 now sold as low as RM2,299 and Samsung's "attractive" pricing for its HD-ready 2011 models, Panasonic Malaysia's would be hard pressed to maintain a premium price for its mainstream 2011 models if it wants to maintain its market share. Meanwhile, the V series is a great buy. I reckon it is an expensive lesson for the folks at Panasonic Malaysia. It should have gradually lowered the V series prices (like in other mature markets) in Q4 2010 instead of dumping the prices after the 2011 line-up has been announced. other series remain same price. Suddenly these few weeks, the V series drop so much. Where do you see the price 42V20 at RM2299? Its still RM2.4k in Penang. How much do you get for 50V20? |
Mar 22 2011, 12:03 PM
131 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
QUOTE(gogo2 @ Mar 22 2011, 11:57 AM) LOL.. Panasonic only gradually lower the price of X series below RM2k for 42" in Q4 2010 while Just google the brand, model and lowyat.other series remain same price. Suddenly these few weeks, the V series drop so much. Where do you see the price 42V20 at RM2299? Its still RM2.4k in Penang. How much do you get for 50V20? |
Mar 22 2011, 02:23 PM
2,801 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Darul Aman |
QUOTE(msiathot @ Mar 22 2011, 11:51 AM) I reckon it is an expensive lesson for the folks at Panasonic Malaysia. It should have gradually lowered the V series prices (like in other mature markets) in Q4 2010 instead of dumping the prices after the 2011 line-up has been announced. don't think the folks at panasonic got affected much by not lowering the prices of the V gradually. more income for them as the V are still popular even at non-reduced prices.an expensive lesson for the people that bought the v20 a couple of month earlier and ended up paying a premium for it. |
Mar 22 2011, 04:37 PM
2,654 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
QUOTE(gogo2 @ Mar 22 2011, 11:57 AM) LOL.. Panasonic only gradually lower the price of X series below RM2k for 42" in Q4 2010 while imsobloodysick's panasonic thread 42v20k only rm2299other series remain same price. Suddenly these few weeks, the V series drop so much. Where do you see the price 42V20 at RM2299? Its still RM2.4k in Penang. How much do you get for 50V20? |
Mar 22 2011, 04:57 PM
Mar 22 2011, 05:02 PM
Mar 22 2011, 05:07 PM
Mar 22 2011, 05:14 PM
QUOTE(ckboon @ Mar 22 2011, 05:07 PM) got it: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/619012 This post has been edited by gogo2: Mar 22 2011, 05:16 PM |
Mar 22 2011, 05:17 PM
this is what he pm-ed me,
gisella Viera Enquiries [iamsobloodysick], Today, 11:04 AM Newbie Group: Junior Member Posts: 45 Status: Offline Joined: Apr 2010 Hi law, Please text/call my brother 012-3378568 for any enquiries. My brother's account was suspended because I (gisella) was said to redirect sales to his threads. We're considering moving our business out from here. Sorry for the inconvenience caused. btw he is a very reliable seller and owns a shop. many ppl bought from him directly from his shop |
Mar 22 2011, 05:53 PM
3,173 posts Joined: May 2007 |
QUOTE(law1777 @ Mar 22 2011, 06:17 PM) this is what he pm-ed me, wondering... what is wrong with that to cause his account to be suspended?gisella Viera Enquiries [iamsobloodysick], Today, 11:04 AM Newbie Group: Junior Member Posts: 45 Status: Offline Joined: Apr 2010 Hi law, Please text/call my brother 012-3378568 for any enquiries. My brother's account was suspended because I (gisella) was said to redirect sales to his threads. We're considering moving our business out from here. Sorry for the inconvenience caused. btw he is a very reliable seller and owns a shop. many ppl bought from him directly from his shop Have seen some other people who promote their sales within lowyat forum |
| Change to: | 0.0196sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:20 AM |