you can change RM in korea but its very limited.. only certain banks have RM. so don't take the risk. change to USD if you need to as spare so that you can go thr and change to won.
Travel South Korea V2
Jun 25 2011, 10:12 PM
169 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
you can change RM in korea but its very limited.. only certain banks have RM. so don't take the risk. change to USD if you need to as spare so that you can go thr and change to won.
Jun 25 2011, 10:56 PM
110 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
QUOTE(Listiani @ Jun 25 2011, 04:31 PM) Don't worry Rajatetra, my friends and I in the midst of compiling halal places to eat in Seoul for muslims travelllers. Once I got my list complete, I will post it here. I'll post it here within 1 week. Appreciate that. Waiting your list.. QUOTE(huiyin_hsu @ Jun 25 2011, 10:12 PM) you can change RM in korea but its very limited.. only certain banks have RM. so don't take the risk. change to USD if you need to as spare so that you can go thr and change to won. Thank for the info. I will change for USD first at here as spare to RM that i bring over there. |
Jun 25 2011, 11:54 PM
8 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
QUOTE(rajatetra @ Jun 25 2011, 09:10 AM) Hi all.. i found a few places that offers halal food but not malaysian food la. just kebab and taco and hamburger. one in dongdaemun and another one in namdaemun.I will go Korea (Seoul) end of July for company training. one week training. Only have two days for jalan-jalan around seoul which before and after our training. already read v1 to v2 of this thread. commonly there are issue with food at korea, and espcially to muslim like us. This is first time for all of us. So, i have a few question. Hope u can help me. 1) How much estimated for breakfast, lunch and dinner expenses per person? if RM50 enuf or not? 2) Where place is suitable for souvenir shopping? cheap and ok 3) Do i need to change RM to Won first here or @ can do at korea? me and my friends just eat seafood and rice, and buy food from street vendors that only sell seafood. just need to be extra careful before buying. unless you are very strict with what you are eating, you are not going to be hungry in seoul. QUOTE(mie_sa @ Jun 25 2011, 10:02 PM) Hi forumers, i stayed in yeha guesthouse when i was in jeju. 5 mins walk to bus stop where you can take bus and taxi, and there's jeju-shi bus terminal nearby as well. i love their service, very friendly.I'm going to visit Korea this September with family free & easy. Plan to stay in guest house at Seoul, Busan and Jeju due to budget constraint. Any recommend guest house which easy access to public transport, subways or etc.... Thanks now i'm currently staying in seoul at travelers a. quite near to subway, 5 mins walk i think. for busan, i only stayed in youth hostel for one night, so i don't know much about busan... |
Jun 26 2011, 05:51 PM
17 posts Joined: Oct 2009 From: Selangor |
yes! I booked yeha guest house as well....
Btw any place, food & view recommend at Jeju and busan? |
Jun 26 2011, 08:04 PM
456 posts Joined: Feb 2010 From: a pocket full of sunshine |
QUOTE(stimix @ Jun 24 2011, 10:04 AM) Abit of what you expect from Myeondong (Soli- Winter time) ![]() This post has been edited by sfwong1: Jun 26 2011, 08:05 PM |
Jun 26 2011, 10:38 PM
8 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
the weather in seoul is so bad these past few days.
rain and windy, not a good combination for people who walk a lot like me. i even missed the chance to ride roller coasters in everland |
Jun 27 2011, 01:16 AM
32 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
Try getting to Bunchon which is an area near to Gyeongbokgung towards the north-east. It's a hilly terrain with old style traditional Korean houses, 70s shops, mom-and-pop shops, groceries, little coffee or waffle shops.
Added on June 27, 2011, 1:19 am QUOTE(shazwina89 @ Jun 22 2011, 07:02 PM) Thank you! =) My friend who's studying there told me bout the 2 pin plug. But she doesnt know bout the voltage XD Socket is 2 circular pin, put normally it won't hold in place if your appliance socket head (the plastic cover of the 2 pins) has a different size. Korean appliances head (and the part where the wiring goes out at a diagonal angle) will fit in nicely and thus "lock-in". So bring a rubber band to secure it!The voltage is the same as Malaysia 200-220. As a rule of thumb, only USA and Japan uses 110V and thus needs a voltage transformer. (and perhaps in China) This post has been edited by denzuke76: Jun 27 2011, 01:19 AM |
Jun 27 2011, 08:46 AM
6 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
Eating place for Muslim travelllers:
Myeongdeong area Myeongdong Andong Jjimdak & Bulgogi Location: Myeongdong Station Exit 6 -2nd lane opposite Binsbean Cafe Mr Pizza Myeongdong Station Exit 6 - 2nd lane (selling seafood and vegan pizza) Yukaney Myeongdong Station Exit 7 - From Myeongdong main road straight to the junction until u see Nature Republic on the left. Turn right and then straight until you reach left junction. You can see Yukaney's signboard Kebab at Namdaemun Hoehyeon Station Exit 6 - u can see the shop from the main road Dongdaemun Jeonju Sikdang or Ikan Bakar Dongdamun Station Exit 8 - walk straight until u see Daemyong building. Turn right and then turn left to the 2nd alley Nami Island Cafe Yeonga Jiga (Cafe Drama). This cafe located between Nami Historium and Winter Sonata Gallery. Rajatetra, for more list of halal makan place, pls refer to page 1 of this thread. |
Jun 27 2011, 09:59 AM
0 posts Joined: May 2011 |
QUOTE(denzuke76 @ Jun 27 2011, 01:16 AM) Try getting to Bunchon which is an area near to Gyeongbokgung towards the north-east. It's a hilly terrain with old style traditional Korean houses, 70s shops, mom-and-pop shops, groceries, little coffee or waffle shops. Ah, thanx denzuke76! =)Added on June 27, 2011, 1:19 am Socket is 2 circular pin, put normally it won't hold in place if your appliance socket head (the plastic cover of the 2 pins) has a different size. Korean appliances head (and the part where the wiring goes out at a diagonal angle) will fit in nicely and thus "lock-in". So bring a rubber band to secure it! The voltage is the same as Malaysia 200-220. As a rule of thumb, only USA and Japan uses 110V and thus needs a voltage transformer. (and perhaps in China) Added on June 27, 2011, 11:12 amHi everyone! I have a question.. I'm going to exchange money tomorrow, planning to change all my money into korean won but when i read the latest posts its better to change a bit of money to USD first, then change to won when you get there.. The exchange rate in airports is high so if i change to USD, where is the nearest place i shud change to won in Korea? Whats the best way? Currently the currency exchange shops are selling won for rm2.98=1000won.. The cheapest I could get is rm2.9.. That's in KLCC n Giant Shah Alam. Forgot whats the rate in Sunway Pyramid.. Help sifus~ ^-^ This post has been edited by shazwina89: Jun 27 2011, 11:12 AM |
Jun 27 2011, 12:05 PM
0 posts Joined: Jun 2011 |
QUOTE(atah @ Jun 23 2011, 10:59 PM) aww...looks yummy~ i wonder if we muslim can try that...huhu~~Added on June 27, 2011, 12:10 pm QUOTE(Listiani @ Jun 25 2011, 04:31 PM) Don't worry Rajatetra, my friends and I in the midst of compiling halal places to eat in Seoul for muslims travelllers. Once I got my list complete, I will post it here. I'll post it here within 1 week. aww...that will help us a lot Listiani! since i am going to Seoul too this July! This post has been edited by ryosue84: Jun 27 2011, 12:10 PM |
Jun 27 2011, 12:16 PM
6 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
I think fish, squid and others sea food should be ok if you are not hardcore about food during darurat time
I also found out that some muslim friends bring along travelling rice cooker. I told them, go back home to KL. Don't travel. QUOTE(ryosue84 @ Jun 27 2011, 12:05 PM) aww...looks yummy~ i wonder if we muslim can try that...huhu~~ This post has been edited by Listiani: Jun 27 2011, 12:17 PMAdded on June 27, 2011, 12:10 pm aww...that will help us a lot Listiani! since i am going to Seoul too this July! |
Jun 27 2011, 12:17 PM
0 posts Joined: Jun 2011 |
QUOTE(Listiani @ Jun 27 2011, 12:16 PM) I think fish, squid and others sea food should be ok if you are not hardcore about food during darurat time Haha, that's for sure.... Added on June 27, 2011, 12:21 pm QUOTE(shazwina89 @ Jun 27 2011, 09:59 AM) Ah, thanx denzuke76! =) Dear, you should try at Jalan TAR, Masjid Jamek etc since they give you better rate.. around rm 2.85. I know thisAdded on June 27, 2011, 11:12 amHi everyone! I have a question.. I'm going to exchange money tomorrow, planning to change all my money into korean won but when i read the latest posts its better to change a bit of money to USD first, then change to won when you get there.. The exchange rate in airports is high so if i change to USD, where is the nearest place i shud change to won in Korea? Whats the best way? Currently the currency exchange shops are selling won for rm2.98=1000won.. The cheapest I could get is rm2.9.. That's in KLCC n Giant Shah Alam. Forgot whats the rate in Sunway Pyramid.. Help sifus~ ^-^ is not the best rate but looking at the current market, this should be good enough~ =) This post has been edited by ryosue84: Jun 27 2011, 12:21 PM |
Jun 27 2011, 12:33 PM
0 posts Joined: May 2011 |
QUOTE(ryosue84 @ Jun 27 2011, 12:17 PM) Haha, that's for sure.... Really?! Thanks Kak Su =) Added on June 27, 2011, 12:21 pm Dear, you should try at Jalan TAR, Masjid Jamek etc since they give you better rate.. around rm 2.85. I know this is not the best rate but looking at the current market, this should be good enough~ =) Should I change all the money to won here? Or change some to USD and change to won there just in case? |
Jun 27 2011, 12:56 PM
3,542 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Puchong, Selangor |
Actually unlike M'sian Airport, The Money changers operating from Incheon airport is actually not so bad and slightly higher than those downtown. Infact you still getting g=better by changing to USD first rather than changing 100% to won in M'sia..well not so much lah haha..
probably by this way, you will be getting ~ 2.78 rather than 2.82 let say.. QUOTE(shazwina89 @ Jun 27 2011, 12:33 PM) |
Jun 27 2011, 05:41 PM
259 posts Joined: Apr 2006 From: kl |
Planning to visit s.korea in december 2011
My plan as per below.. 11/12 arriving at inchion + seoul 12/12 visit everland 13/12 visit nami island 14/12 Gyeongbuk /Changdeok/Deoksu Palace + seoul 15/12 fly back to Kl Ill bring my 1y.old kids...it is ok for winter time? |
Jun 27 2011, 05:47 PM
Sure but better prepare sufficient winter cloth esp for infant. Temp during this time ~ 10C to minus 5C
Jun 27 2011, 05:53 PM
259 posts Joined: Apr 2006 From: kl |
Sure...any romantic place in korea for celebrating anniversary?
Jun 27 2011, 07:12 PM
Most attraction already listed on pg1. do visit that page. Nami island probably the most romantic place for sure, Otherwise, the hangang parks alone Han River where most dramas shooting done there or even the old fort wall beside Dongdaemun that lead to the hill..
Jun 27 2011, 08:48 PM
15,856 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Zion |
Jun 27 2011, 09:06 PM
110 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
QUOTE(Listiani @ Jun 27 2011, 08:46 AM) Eating place for Muslim travelllers: Thank Listiani..be waiting this. Myeongdeong area Myeongdong Andong Jjimdak & Bulgogi Location: Myeongdong Station Exit 6 -2nd lane opposite Binsbean Cafe Mr Pizza Myeongdong Station Exit 6 - 2nd lane (selling seafood and vegan pizza) Yukaney Myeongdong Station Exit 7 - From Myeongdong main road straight to the junction until u see Nature Republic on the left. Turn right and then straight until you reach left junction. You can see Yukaney's signboard Kebab at Namdaemun Hoehyeon Station Exit 6 - u can see the shop from the main road Dongdaemun Jeonju Sikdang or Ikan Bakar Dongdamun Station Exit 8 - walk straight until u see Daemyong building. Turn right and then turn left to the 2nd alley Nami Island Cafe Yeonga Jiga (Cafe Drama). This cafe located between Nami Historium and Winter Sonata Gallery. Rajatetra, for more list of halal makan place, pls refer to page 1 of this thread. How about the price? expensive or so-so? estimated per plate? This post has been edited by rajatetra: Jun 27 2011, 09:08 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0336sec
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:19 PM |