The Sony Alpha Thread V51!, The Orange Legion
ieR
Mar 4 2011, 04:30 PM
~Cursed Member~
haiya, just find the lens u like use, use use use dont like liao ma sell it la, sure a lot ppl wan 2nd bargain one. scare what.
now i feeling selling off most my lens. focus on the F2.8 three brother.
8tvt
Mar 4 2011, 04:31 PM
QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Mar 4 2011, 04:19 PM) exactly... i cant, because technology is a constantly moving entity. and i dont know where your arguments stem from... What cost? Sigma and other 3rd party companies are offering modification Free Of Charge... please read back the previous post la better, i don't want to repeat it again.. i just focus on the trouble free of selecting the old lenses for DSLT.. if ur thinking that's not a prob.. just go for it.. This post has been edited by 8tvt: Mar 4 2011, 04:44 PM
ieR
Mar 4 2011, 04:33 PM
~Cursed Member~
QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Mar 4 2011, 04:19 PM) exactly... i cant, because technology is a constantly moving entity. and i dont know where your arguments stem from... What cost? Sigma and other 3rd party companies are offering modification Free Of Charge... ehem, sigma selected lens ONLY. not all ler, those over 10 years old lens(tech wise) not offered ler. also if the lens is not in the affected list, but some magic troll cause the issue, they will still charge u (and they have to specific order that unaffected list lens chip) Added on March 4, 2011, 4:35 pmQUOTE(ieR @ Mar 4 2011, 04:12 PM) correction, Sony never admit it was their DSLT issue. Sigma admitted it was their own Chipping issue(long story back till 20 years ago), hence Offering to swap the affected unit chip for FREE. This post has been edited by ieR: Mar 4 2011, 04:35 PM
Mikeshashimi
Mar 4 2011, 04:35 PM
QUOTE(ieR @ Mar 4 2011, 04:33 PM) ehem, sigma selected lens ONLY. not all ler, those over 10 years old lens(tech wise) not offered ler. also if the lens is not in the affected list, but some magic troll cause the issue, they will still charge u (and they have to specific order that unaffected list lens chip) then its not their fault now it is? Simple. If its due to their product, they fix it FOC. If its not, they charge. Business is that way. Takkan everything do FOC.. if like that lingkup la dunia.
ieR
Mar 4 2011, 04:36 PM
~Cursed Member~
the magic troll also not sony fault >.< not like sony has magic troll factory
applemango
Mar 4 2011, 04:37 PM

QUOTE(ahpingko @ Feb 28 2011, 10:28 PM) spam my earlier batch of work... my water drop using 18-55 kitlens with pop up flash only.. Photoshoot of Water Drop by Wei Qi by WeiQiPhotography, on Flickr nice picture... love it...
ieR
Mar 4 2011, 04:39 PM
~Cursed Member~
QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Mar 4 2011, 04:35 PM) then its not their fault now it is? Simple. If its due to their product, they fix it FOC. If its not, they charge. Business is that way. Takkan everything do FOC.. if like that lingkup la dunia.  you are wrong at the "if its not their fault" part, but right at "business is that way." the affected lens but not in the compensate list, they dont offer the compensate. so it's still their fault, but business is liek that, everything FOC, die lor ohya, unit under warranty but not in "compensate list" also can get free mod, like CJ's sigma which carry special 3 years warranty This post has been edited by ieR: Mar 4 2011, 04:45 PM
chiahau
Mar 4 2011, 04:40 PM
Agnes ish hot lol.
Now in movies lol
lwliam
Mar 4 2011, 04:41 PM
Your friendly neighborhood photographer
QUOTE(ieR @ Mar 4 2011, 04:12 PM) William: stop bashing newbie laaa =.= he just stating something he do not understand. we should be nice shed him some enlightenment  hehehe~ he might get wrong statement, we just tell the right info lor so hope next time he wont simply say anymore newbie: that is not the body issue, its the lens, the chip contact has been shifted a bit. if under warranty, send in to sigma center to do calibration of the chip sitting. CJlai will know bout this, not sure who else might knew this because he has to chip his samyang FE lens...it require time to do the calibration. ShootKK, 8tvt: correction, Sony NEVER admit it was their DSLT issue. SIGMA admitted it was their own Chipping issue(long story back till 20 years ago), hence Offering to swap the affected unit chip for FREE. ieR, seriously i wasnt.. coz i myself want to know if that is the case or the other... hence, asking for a quote reference..
ieR
Mar 4 2011, 04:50 PM
~Cursed Member~
william: that wasnt the case. so, there arent SOS. even in some other forum ppl complain bout it(pointing at that issue), that is not the case, because the guy in other forum said the wrong thing/info the in first place. that is how speculation works.
its just mis aligned chip contact, my friend 70300G also like that. send back calibrate back also same, 2nd time send in with body to calibrate, come back fine.
Newbie: oh u need to send in with the camera body if u send to calibrate. it will calibrate base on ur camera body
8tvt
Mar 4 2011, 05:03 PM
ieR:
which mean.. both the body and lens also need to calibrate? what if after calibrated the body affecting other lenses?
or calibrated lens having prob with other body?
ieR
Mar 4 2011, 05:33 PM
~Cursed Member~
8tvt, we on diff topic. the sigma lens capability issue was the CHIP itself isnt supported. the lens newbie facing was the contact issue. a general issue which can happen to any lens. usually they calibrate the lens base on the body, sigma wont dare to touch the body. if rosak, who pay leh. even sony also rather re align the lens. and yes, it might cause other body unable to detect. it MIGHT. or MIGHT NOT.  so sometimes is just minor 0.5mm off, so using in on other body might not affect because the 0.5mm is nothing to others. MIGHT only la.
deathbringer
Mar 4 2011, 05:34 PM
QUOTE(8tvt @ Mar 4 2011, 04:16 PM) show me which lenses reaching 50years and can use in A-mount.. come one.. 10-20 years age lenses still on the market and ppl keep hunting it for a reason.. chill man. lens and camera technology will always continue advancing. if everyone keeps demanding about backwards-compatibility, then all tech companies can close shop. imagine asking Intel to make latest Sandy bridge mobo to be backwards-compatible with Pentium 4 or AGP gfx card. we have to get on with the times. If u can't afford to keep up with the tech, then stick with what you currently have. no point moaning about not being able to use 50 yrs old SLR lens on latest DSLR body. fyi, all latest 3rd party lenses (e.g. Sigma, Tamron, etc.) are compatible with the new DSLT cameras. How I know? See my sig. if ur lens mount chip can be "updated" (like some of Sigma's lenses) to be compatible with the latest cameras, then go get it done. if not, just live with it. cheers. This post has been edited by deathbringer: Mar 4 2011, 05:35 PM
blowsh
Mar 4 2011, 05:34 PM

i once sent my sigma for servicing, n i did ask the technician about the cases with sigma lens-sony body, n tat guy said is not re-chipping, but merely realigning the mounting...
n of cos u need to leave ur cam there (as for my case, as they dun have sony cam)...
ahpingko
Mar 4 2011, 05:56 PM
QUOTE(ahpingko @ Mar 4 2011, 01:47 PM) i think i choose sony 30mm F2.8 macro..it have true macro capability..but i seldom shoot macro thingy, but it is good to have..hehe..as a macro lens, it should be very sharp..but to shoot portrait with this and as a normal lens to shoot everyday stuff, nice??..i saw very few people own this..any opinion? i also elimate it already...xD no people entertain me at all..lol...studio zaloon quote me rm790 for it...exp?..worth getting?..any lower? QUOTE(applemango @ Mar 4 2011, 04:37 PM) nice picture... love it...  tqtq..
shootkk
Mar 4 2011, 06:05 PM
Loyal Sony A100 User
ahpingko : You've already made up your mind. Just that you want some other people to agree with you.
You've already eliminated the 28mm so left 30mm and 35mm.
You've already said having macro is nice so the only choice left is the 30mm macro lens lor...
ieR
Mar 4 2011, 06:07 PM
~Cursed Member~
shootKK: +1 that also the reason i didnt answer him... hahahahahaa
Newbieeeeee
Mar 4 2011, 06:13 PM
are all fisheye lenses MF? The samyang 8mm is MF right?
This post has been edited by Newbieeeeee: Mar 4 2011, 06:19 PM
8tvt
Mar 4 2011, 06:14 PM
but that 30mm macro need to focus very close right to get 1:1? later want to catch bugs all run away..