125 Pages « < 82 83 84 85 86 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V14, Galaxy S, live on a smart life

lch78
post Mar 16 2011, 02:57 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(ali_double_seven @ Mar 16 2011, 03:30 PM)
thats mean our gmail gonna push the mail to our phone instead of our phone check for the update from our gmail right? do we have to set anything at our gmail?
Yes. Nothing much to do other than register your gmail account at your phone and everything is auto from there on.
ali_double_seven
post Mar 16 2011, 03:20 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Mar 16 2011, 02:57 PM)
Yes. Nothing much to do other than register your gmail account at your phone and everything is auto from there on.
tqvm bro.. thumbup.gif
mengsuan
post Mar 16 2011, 03:22 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(ali_double_seven @ Mar 16 2011, 02:04 PM)
hellooo sifus..how often the push gmail update interval if we auto-sync? and how if i wanna set my live email to be push like gmail?
Live Mail push: http://mengsuan.blogspot.com/2011/02/andro...-push-mail.html
neo0915
post Mar 16 2011, 03:27 PM

~Android Kaki~
1,151 posts

Is there any possibility or ways that facebook notification can act like push mail, in other word, when there is a notification in facebook, the phone will immediately alert or notify us~
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 16 2011, 03:29 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(neo0915 @ Mar 16 2011, 12:57 PM)
Is there any possibility or ways that facebook notification can act like push mail, in other word, when there is a notification in facebook, the phone will immediately alert or notify us~
Afaik, no. we need a blackberry server-like from google for that.
mengsuan

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

Facebook app uses push for chats. Not notifications.
TarePanda

989 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Mar 16 2011, 02:57 PM)
May I know how to inactive this? Or switch off all the auto on9/check mail/connect to internet function?

Is it just switch off all the wifi/gps then ok?

I don't have data plan and i with Maxis (blood sucker, if careless!!)
lch78
post Mar 16 2011, 03:51 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(TarePanda @ Mar 16 2011, 04:29 PM)
May I know how to inactive this? Or switch off all the auto on9/check mail/connect to internet function?

Is it just switch off all the wifi/gps then ok?

I don't have data plan and i with Maxis (blood sucker, if careless!!)
You can switch off your data by press and hold the power button longer. Then your background apps, emails, or whatever will not be able to use your data plan. Save battery too. smile.gif

If you want to keep your data on and be selective, you can go to settings>accounts n sync>background sync=off
ali_double_seven
post Mar 16 2011, 03:52 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Mar 16 2011, 03:22 PM)
thanx for the link..mind to elobrate a bit about POP, IMAP & Exchange accnt? why do we use exchange account instead of IMAP, coz AFAIK gmail is using IMAP to connect with our phone right?
neo0915
post Mar 16 2011, 04:02 PM

~Android Kaki~
1,151 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Mar 16 2011, 03:29 PM)
Afaik, no. we need a blackberry server-like from google for that.
QUOTE(mengsuan @ Mar 16 2011, 03:29 PM)
Facebook app uses push for chats. Not notifications.
Thx for the clarification~ The shortest interval i found is 30mins, but quite long for me~
no choice then~ tongue.gif

Btw, the Arc Launcher is surprisingly smooth~ Love it~ wub.gif
aNiEf
post Mar 16 2011, 04:08 PM

19 posts

Gingerbread is not coming yet ?
Fornaxlife
post Mar 16 2011, 04:10 PM

836 posts

QUOTE(aNiEf @ Mar 16 2011, 04:08 PM)
expected to be end of this month. beta version is out anyway but not stable
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 16 2011, 04:11 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(ali_double_seven @ Mar 16 2011, 01:22 PM)
thanx for the link..mind to elobrate a bit about POP, IMAP & Exchange accnt? why do we use exchange account instead of IMAP, coz AFAIK gmail is using IMAP to connect with our phone right?
If you use gmail only, the gmail app is sufficient. No settings are required except entering your email address and password.

QUOTE(aNiEf @ Mar 16 2011, 01:38 PM)
Probably end of april or may. there has been one leaked gingerbread firmware that we here have installed.
FormalCat
post Mar 16 2011, 04:14 PM

195 posts

Hi peeps, update about my first ever root here:
I installed the z4root app and used the temporary root function. it hangs halfway and force closes. There is no superuser app that is supposed to pop up(i think) but i noticed that in my settings->about phone, it says my kernel is 2.6.32.9 root@SE-S604 #1.

what is this and what should be my next step?
aNiEf
post Mar 16 2011, 04:16 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Mar 16 2011, 04:11 PM)
If you use gmail only, the gmail app is sufficient. No settings are required except entering your email address and password.
Probably end of april or may. there has been one leaked gingerbread firmware that we here have installed.
oh.. ok willing to wait smile.gif
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 16 2011, 04:18 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(erymanthus @ Mar 16 2011, 10:17 AM)
Snap n go?
QUOTE(Fornaxlife @ Mar 16 2011, 10:26 AM)
dropbox
We lucky android users can have selection of apps for wireless transfer thumbup.gif

QUOTE(neo0915 @ Mar 16 2011, 01:32 PM)
Btw, the Arc Launcher is surprisingly smooth~ Love it~  wub.gif
Very smooth and simple but I went back to LP

QUOTE(Fornaxlife @ Mar 16 2011, 01:40 PM)
expected to be end of this month. beta version is out anyway but not stable
According to various rumors. I hope it'll release as quickly as possible. I am on conservative side.

QUOTE(FormalCat @ Mar 16 2011, 01:44 PM)
Hi peeps, update about my first ever root here:
I installed the z4root app and used the temporary root function. it hangs halfway and force closes. There is no superuser app that is supposed to pop up(i think) but i noticed that in my settings->about phone, it says my kernel is 2.6.32.9 root@SE-S604 #1.

what is this and what should be my next step?
Try installing titanium backup and open it. The app will tell if you have a rooted phone or not.
mengsuan
post Mar 16 2011, 04:18 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(ali_double_seven @ Mar 16 2011, 03:52 PM)
POP: polls on regular basis from your phone
IMAP: today's standard of email. Gmail uses this on your computer's Outlook but not the push mail on your phone.
Exchange: Microsoft Exchange platform. Email, contacts and calendar through an exchange account. Push capable.
ali_double_seven
post Mar 16 2011, 04:20 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Mar 16 2011, 04:11 PM)
yeah..the gmail is ok nod.gif ..just wondering about the hotmail mail push..why do we use exchange server instead of IMAP or POP..
TarePanda
post Mar 16 2011, 04:37 PM

989 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Mar 16 2011, 03:51 PM)
You can switch off your data by press and hold the power button longer. Then your background apps, emails, or whatever will not be able to use your data plan. Save battery too.  smile.gif

If you want to keep your data on and be selective, you can go to settings>accounts n sync>background sync=off
Thanks a lot smile.gif

I got RM300+ extra bill when i use my brother iphone :S
FormalCat
post Mar 16 2011, 04:44 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Mar 16 2011, 04:18 PM)
Try installing titanium backup and open it. The app will tell if you have a rooted phone or not.
shocking.gif root access failed! tried out super one click instead, restarted and it worked thumbup.gif now i'm going to flash my first custom rom. any particular ones a noob should use first? tongue.gif

125 Pages « < 82 83 84 85 86 > » Top

0.0312sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:11 PM