neo0915
post Feb 28 2011, 10:02 PM

~Android Kaki~
1,151 posts

QUOTE(klwong99 @ Feb 28 2011, 09:37 PM)
Hi gmhafiz,
Congrats!
What i feel personally, you are one of the most suitable personal could become TS for this SGS thread.
With your experinces and knowledge, hope you continuously contribute your effort to whom need your precious advices and guideline.
Bravo!
nod.gif Agreed.
Congratz yo our new TS~!!! rclxms.gif

QUOTE(lch78 @ Feb 28 2011, 09:39 PM)
This is old news, but it is still good news for SGS users:

http://androidheadlines.com/2011/02/androi...next-month.html

Just in before next month comes....
Wow~ next month~ thumbup.gif
neo0915
post Feb 28 2011, 11:01 PM

~Android Kaki~
1,151 posts

Sifus, I hav a problem. When i use Papago X5 to navi, it show the direction and a small picture to show which road to turn, I turn according but after that, it show "Recalculating the route". Then, i turn according, confirm ngam ngam then turn, it recalculate again.
Any idea ? initial locking used about 10-15sec. Normal road, no tunnel.
neo0915
post Feb 28 2011, 11:49 PM

~Android Kaki~
1,151 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Feb 28 2011, 11:47 PM)
not sure, but sometimes it happen even with my papago GPS device, not the phone. but not all the time la
Hmm... Tat mean not SGS fault la~ Thx for the confirmation bro~ notworthy.gif
neo0915
post Mar 3 2011, 11:21 PM

~Android Kaki~
1,151 posts

Any1 tried the new Samsung Apps, RoadSMS~
Somehow it looks stupid to me~ lolx~ tongue.gif
neo0915
post Mar 4 2011, 02:35 PM

~Android Kaki~
1,151 posts

QUOTE(dejima @ Mar 4 2011, 02:15 PM)
I tested galaxy ace's gps...without sim card insert.
The gps is damn accurate and better than our SGS a lot  doh.gif
Using Papago ?
neo0915
post Mar 4 2011, 10:30 PM

~Android Kaki~
1,151 posts

QUOTE(Narako @ Mar 4 2011, 10:15 PM)
somehow darky have been draining battery like mad...i cant stand it and changer to flagship rom it can last 13 hours with only using 10% with idle no calls or anything

i am working so need a rom which has very good battery life
Same here. Maybe u can try Simply Galaxy ROM, a lot of nice feedback~
I jz hope that the released 2.3 wont drain battery tat much~
neo0915
post Mar 5 2011, 12:13 AM

~Android Kaki~
1,151 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ Mar 5 2011, 12:06 AM)
i waiting for bbm  whistling.gif
BlackBerry Messenger ?
neo0915
post Mar 5 2011, 12:27 AM

~Android Kaki~
1,151 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Mar 5 2011, 12:25 AM)
Yeah, RIM is going to release it as apps for other platforms. that means we'll be getting it rclxms.gif

Added on March 5, 2011, 12:26 am
hey, long time no see biggrin.gif u can get increasing ring by changing the apk itself I think
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Getting Gingerbread with BlackBerry jam.... Yummy~ tongue.gif
neo0915
post Mar 7 2011, 04:17 PM

~Android Kaki~
1,151 posts

QUOTE(CrossX @ Mar 7 2011, 04:06 PM)
hey guys, anyone tried the Juwe's Rom??
The screenshot looks great...
I wan to ask the same question too~ Any1 tried it ?
Nid some review and compare wif Simply Galaxy Rom~
Feel like wan to flash to Simply while waiting Gingerbread, den suddenly saw Juwe's Rom~
Screenshot looks so ... black n white... biggrin.gif
neo0915
post Mar 7 2011, 04:59 PM

~Android Kaki~
1,151 posts

QUOTE(CrossX @ Mar 7 2011, 04:21 PM)
the black and white combination is kinda cool... i'm still stuck with doc's (so far the most stable one for me)

cant wait for GB to be released for us
I think all of us also cant wait for the release. Well, i like the black n white combination~
Jz wondering the stability and the speed~
Kinda boring wif stock Rom alrdy~ Looking for stable custom rom to flash before GB release~ tongue.gif
neo0915
post Mar 7 2011, 05:32 PM

~Android Kaki~
1,151 posts

QUOTE(uan @ Mar 7 2011, 05:22 PM)
juwe's 2.2.1 or 2.3.2 rom? currently on juwe's 2.2.1 rom. fast rom without the need of lagfix. black n white framework also looks nice. the notification curtain transparent from top to bottom. first rom i see to do it like this.
[attachmentid=2080513]
Sounds tempting... How about the stability?
neo0915
post Mar 7 2011, 05:58 PM

~Android Kaki~
1,151 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Mar 7 2011, 05:53 PM)
thumbup.gif Let me help him. Go here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=953450 for a list of themes you can install.
Looks interesting... drool.gif
But do i need to flash a custom rom to install the theme?
Currently im on stock rom froyo 2.2.
neo0915
post Mar 7 2011, 07:36 PM

~Android Kaki~
1,151 posts

QUOTE(Fornaxlife @ Mar 7 2011, 06:09 PM)
your stock rom needs to be deodexed yawn.gif

in other words, modified stock rom or custom roms
Hmm... I thought can install those themes although im in stock rom tim~
Erm... Wat is the diff between modified stock rom and custom roms~
Well, i know custom rom, but wat is modified stock rom actually ?
Jz got my SGS not even 1 month, but already bored wif the stock rom~
The "themes" stuff wake me up suddenly~ tongue.gif
neo0915
post Mar 7 2011, 07:54 PM

~Android Kaki~
1,151 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Mar 7 2011, 07:42 PM)
laugh.gif  it's actually the same thing. he means modified/custom rom. u nid a custom rom in order to install those themes.. u might want to check "show ur desktop thread" in xda theme section. u'll be more interested tongue.gif
lolx~ tempting to flash after saw all those thing~ hate u~ tongue.gif

QUOTE(Fornaxlife @ Mar 7 2011, 07:43 PM)
lols. hmm, modified stock rom is deodexed and zipaligned. they have the stock theme, but you can flash theme over it

hmm you can assume custom rom to be the same tongue.gif

if you flashed the original stock rom through odin, you can't flash themes

i might be wrong here, anyone can confirm this?
Hmm... I upgrade to 2.2 through Samsung Service Center. So i assume i cant flash any themes~ Correct me if im wrong~

QUOTE(jujx @ Mar 7 2011, 07:46 PM)
Just flash then you'll know.
I wan to flash a custom rom that stable enough for my daily usage (calls, sms, internet)~
so far, either Simply or Juwe will be my choice~ Nid more feedbacks about the performance, speed, battery life~
neo0915
post Mar 7 2011, 08:21 PM

~Android Kaki~
1,151 posts

QUOTE(jujx @ Mar 7 2011, 07:56 PM)
i dont think Juwe is stable enough since its based on Leaked gingerbread, i've tried Ultibread which is based on the same leaked gingerbread, is much slower compare to 2.2.1

So choose Simply will be the best
QUOTE(Fornaxlife @ Mar 7 2011, 08:00 PM)
thanks for clarifying. you're a great helper smile.gif

@neo0915
yup go for simply or ultimate 8.0 (going to be released tonight) smile.gif
Okok~ i will gif it a try~ charging my phone now~
kinda excited~ lolx~ biggrin.gif
neo0915
post Mar 7 2011, 10:36 PM

~Android Kaki~
1,151 posts

Sifus,
Jz wan to confirm something before i flash Simply~
Do i need to disable something before flashing, for example, tweaks, lagfix, root ?
I need to download and flash to Wipe 2.4 before i flash to 2.4.1, right ?
(LINK TO SIMPLY GALAXY 2.4 SWEETHONEY MULTI CSC: WIPE = http://www.multiupload.com/4A0D2D82MD)

@gmhafiz
Wanna to ask u about the battery life of Simply Rom~

This post has been edited by neo0915: Mar 7 2011, 10:37 PM
neo0915
post Mar 7 2011, 11:06 PM

~Android Kaki~
1,151 posts

QUOTE(Fornaxlife @ Mar 7 2011, 10:36 PM)
i can't find the thread d.. but it's somewhere in xda theme section xD

i think can be used for all roms.. just place the 'bootanimation.zip' in data/local will do smile.gif

err, it's a kernel where you can overclock to 1.2ghz, underclock to 800mhz or undervolt.. as compared to speedmod, it's much faster imo

more info here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=959696

btw, i oc-ed and uv-ed with all ext2 lagfixes including loops.. and i can say throughout all the flashing i have done since october last year, this is fukken fast and smooth (battery saving also) biggrin.gif

Added on March 7, 2011, 10:38 pm
yea you're right. you don't have to remove root btw tongue.gif
How about speedmod tweaks n lagfix ? need to disable before flashing ?
Backing up my stuff now~ biggrin.gif
neo0915
post Mar 7 2011, 11:29 PM

~Android Kaki~
1,151 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Mar 7 2011, 11:06 PM)
yeah, any Gingerbread rom now is buggy. not worth trying it, u'll go back to Froyo 2.2.1 sooner or later. no matter how stable or lagginess those rom creators try to say about their rom, u kno they're just tryin to be Steve Jobs tongue.gif

Added on March 7, 2011, 11:08 pm
only lagfix have to be disabled. Happy flashing biggrin.gif

Added on March 7, 2011, 11:10 pm
try this JPA WiFi by Hardcore it should fix the problem.
download "update-wifi-dxjpa.zip" and flash via CWM

Added on March 7, 2011, 11:16 pm
I think UV won't help much in battery saving when u use the phone, but it helps when ur phone is in idle mode smile.gif
QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Mar 7 2011, 11:22 PM)
I didn't disable ext4 lagfix and all tweaks. It is advisable to disable them although custom rom now can detect which lagfix you have. No need to unroot.
Idle battery life is excellent. 1%/1hour drain. Both with zsjpe and xxjve modem. I have wifi on the whole time.
No worries. The website is really badly designed sad.gif
Thanks sifus for the comment and review. Going to flash tomorrow as I still need to backup my stuff and go to sleep, need to work tomorrow.

neo0915
post Mar 8 2011, 11:57 AM

~Android Kaki~
1,151 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Mar 8 2011, 10:50 AM)
Thank you for your feedback. Nandroid backup is usually not required.

My aim is to make a simple guide so that a newbie can understand.  I'll add more details and if everything is ok,will put in second post.
I will flash to Simply tonight based on ur guide here, so i will feedback about the guide as this is my 1st flashing (sure a lot of doubts).
1 more thing, which flashing method is more safe or recommended ? Odin or CWM method ?
I flashed to speedmod via Odin actually, but the Simply thread show guide flash via CWM method~
Mayb u can add a section like preparation before flashing, for example, for user that flashed to speedmod kernel, it is advisable to disable the lagfix fist bla bla bla~

So far, the diagram is very clear and simple to newbie like me~
I know i need to proceed to step 3.0 as i already flashed to speedmod kernel through this diagram~
GREAT job and thanks for all your effort~ notworthy.gif

QUOTE(Bap3 @ Mar 8 2011, 11:40 AM)
+1..i think we should buy u a drink game master hafiz..for all your effort... thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
+1, we should buy him a drink~ thumbup.gif

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Mar 8 2011, 11:51 AM)
Looks interesting~ Can modify although on stock rom~ biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by neo0915: Mar 8 2011, 12:02 PM
neo0915
post Mar 8 2011, 12:49 PM

~Android Kaki~
1,151 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Mar 8 2011, 11:51 AM)
@ken2291
Did u try tis ? I downloaded the .apk file, from the forum, it said paste the file to system/app and replace~
Im using Astro file manager to copy the file but i cant paste it inside the system/app~
Any idea?

0.0544sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:07 PM