Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V14, Galaxy S, live on a smart life

Fornaxlife
post Mar 10 2011, 12:43 PM

836 posts

QUOTE(dejima @ Mar 10 2011, 12:40 PM)
If i install phone.apk manually...it will cause a lot of force close...tats y i want to make it more easier to install the phone.apk file at recovery mode...
Or any better solution?
o it's the same as pushing it to system apps. if you have root explorer, there's no need for a zip file
nasrulbond
post Mar 10 2011, 12:57 PM

Nothing better to do
690 posts

anyone try the mobilevoip for android?
lOrDjAbU
post Mar 10 2011, 12:58 PM

337 posts

hey guys!
what's the benefit of freezing an app (using TB for example)?
no side effects right?
Star_knight79
post Mar 10 2011, 01:38 PM

596 posts

Hi, Fornaxlife. It's me again. I just flashed to Darky 9.3 last night.
When I read about the features posted for Darky 9.3. I can see many of them in my newly flashed phone. Eg. 350MB RAM, toast box notification, kernel is still voodoo (last part of the features did mention it's speedmod. Strange. Why huh? Did I download the wrong file?
By the way, I download the modem from front page. It's a zip file. How to install?
Many many thanks!
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 10 2011, 01:54 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(dahool00 @ Mar 10 2011, 08:03 AM)
read them...still have these Qs sad.gif

1. Sorry guys, too many jargon. Just need to know whether I can go into Mobile Setting and turn off any live update or Data Transfer as I don't intend to get any data plan. Please don't ask me why  blush.gif
Can u pls show me the steps or screen shots to do this?

2. How do I then update SGS to 2.3 when available? Sync thru internet via cable?

Sorry guys...still learning.

Thx!

Added on March 10, 2011, 9:34 amTo use Samsung Kies, need to provide credit card details???

crazy!

Added on March 10, 2011, 10:37 ami know this Question sounds "weird"....i go to android market...i download an app, how to install to my phone...

I used to use Symbian - it's just donwload app to phone in any folder and just open the .sis file.

for android? how?

And if I install a new launcher, where will original TouchWiz go?? Or from Touchwiz, i need to run the new launcher???

thx
1. Hold power button and select disable data.
2. update through kies.
- Addon. Credit card for kies?
- Symbian requires two steps to install? In android, just download any app in market and it'll automatically download and install.
- About launcher, what's cool about android is that you can browse app that you want from your laptop, click install and it'll install on your phone without any cable attached! Of course you need data or wifi connected. As mentioned: https://market.android.com/details?id=ymst....meswitcherfroyo

QUOTE(dejima @ Mar 10 2011, 09:21 AM)
Hi folks~ anyone here know how to create an update.zip file to install the phone.apk?  icon_question.gif
I usually take a template from insanity addon package. But easier if you use rootexplorer (if you bought it). Just move it to /system/app folder.
dejima
post Mar 10 2011, 02:28 PM

188 posts

QUOTE(Fornaxlife @ Mar 10 2011, 12:43 PM)
o it's the same as pushing it to system apps. if you have root explorer, there's no need for a zip file
Ya, i did that last time. i directly replace it by using root explorer and then many force close msg prompted out sweat.gif
that's y i looking for alternate way blush.gif

Added on March 10, 2011, 2:30 pm
QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Mar 10 2011, 01:54 PM)
1. Hold power button and select disable data.
2. update through kies.
- Addon. Credit card for kies?
- Symbian requires two steps to install? In android, just download any app in market and it'll automatically download and install.
- About launcher, what's cool about android is that you can browse app that you want from your laptop, click install and it'll install on your phone without any cable attached! Of course you need data or wifi connected. As mentioned: https://market.android.com/details?id=ymst....meswitcherfroyo
I usually take a template from insanity addon package. But easier if you use rootexplorer (if you bought it). Just move it to /system/app folder.
Thanks! i will try to use with the template biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by dejima: Mar 10 2011, 02:30 PM
Fornaxlife
post Mar 10 2011, 02:36 PM

836 posts

QUOTE(Star_knight79 @ Mar 10 2011, 01:38 PM)
Hi, Fornaxlife. It's me again. I just flashed to Darky 9.3 last night.
When I read about the features posted for Darky 9.3. I can see many of them in my newly flashed phone. Eg. 350MB RAM, toast box notification, kernel is still voodoo (last part of the features did mention it's speedmod. Strange. Why huh? Did I download the wrong file?
By the way, I download the modem from front page. It's a zip file. How to install?
Many many thanks!
hmm, the kernel right, you can configure in the darky configurator app.. you should tick speedmod if you want that..

err go into recovery mode and install zip file through sdcard (the modem zip)
dahool00
post Mar 10 2011, 02:41 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(Bap3 @ Mar 10 2011, 10:42 AM)
http://www.mobile88.com.my/cellphone/Samsu...4.0/preview.asp

nice back cover..but unfortunately doesn't fit in our sgs

Added on March 10, 2011, 10:48 am

1. yes..you can go to setting and set the apn to mms only..then your phone will not transmit data...and you can update any app or email using wifi only...

2. you got 2 options to upgrade to 2.3..one via samsung kies or via flash thru odin

3. if you download an apps from market...it will automatically install in you phone or it will prompt you to install automatically when download is finished

4. if you install other launcher ..the original touchwiz is still there and you can swap with other launcher..u can use apps called home home switcher for froyo..search in the market...

hope this will help you...cheersss.. whistling.gif
Thanks! Helps a lot. Now....to get an Android phone smile.gif most prob a SGS SL
TSgmhafiz
post Mar 10 2011, 02:45 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(dejima @ Mar 10 2011, 11:58 AM)
Ya, i did that last time. i directly replace it by using root explorer and then many force close msg prompted out  sweat.gif
that's y i looking for alternate way  blush.gif

Added on March 10, 2011, 2:30 pm
Thanks! i will try to use with the template  biggrin.gif
Take file like gmail pack, and replace the app with the one you want. But both this method and using rootexplorer are the same thing. But there's no harm trying.
Harddisk
post Mar 10 2011, 03:05 PM

2,965 posts

HKC Maxis, topped my limit again.

Is the 3G watchdog buggy? As it shows only 200+MB data usage so far, so it's quite impossible that I've made that much calls. So I believe it's the data usage.

Any other recommendations on 3G monitoring apps? Gonna put a few in and see how Maxis gonna lie about their billing.
Fornaxlife
post Mar 10 2011, 03:29 PM

836 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Mar 10 2011, 03:05 PM)
HKC Maxis, topped my limit again.

Is the 3G watchdog buggy? As it shows only 200+MB data usage so far, so it's quite impossible that I've made that much calls. So I believe it's the data usage.

Any other recommendations on 3G monitoring apps? Gonna put a few in and see how Maxis gonna lie about their billing.
try netcounter
buffallo_soldier
post Mar 10 2011, 03:54 PM

107 posts

Questions : how to tethering samsung galaxy s.???

i`m using Simply Galaxy ROM 2.4.
michaelnct
post Mar 10 2011, 04:09 PM

85 posts

Sifus,
Do I need to have data plan (3G/Edge,HSDPA, Wi-Fi etc) to make my SGS's GPS works? If I take out my sim card, will it still work? I just compare it with GPS device.
GreenGoat
post Mar 10 2011, 04:10 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(michaelnct @ Mar 10 2011, 04:09 PM)
Sifus,
      Do I need to have data plan (3G/Edge,HSDPA, Wi-Fi etc) to make my SGS's GPS works? If I take out my sim card, will it still work? I just compare it with GPS device.
GPS still works w/o data plan.. but for maps (google), u'll need data plan to download the map

This post has been edited by GreenGoat: Mar 10 2011, 04:11 PM
gaarared
post Mar 10 2011, 04:27 PM

361 posts

Hi guys, just want to ask,
before this in Darky 8.0 my wifi strength was superb, so strength can get wifi connection from far away than my wifi router, but then after i flash darky 9.3 my wifi become low like stock again, even now after using simply 2.3 my wifi strength still cannot beat like wifi in darky 8.0, question is, any change how can i get wifi strength like in darky 8.0..tq
bestofel
post Mar 10 2011, 04:41 PM

528 posts

QUOTE(michaelnct @ Mar 10 2011, 04:09 PM)
Sifus,
If you have GPS app like PAPAGO, then you can use it without data plan. The map already on your phone.

If you try navigate thru GPS app like Google Map, Google Earth, Navigation, Places, Layar etc which is get the map directly from google service, then you need the internet connection.

Last Tuesday evening, a guy come to Samsung Customer Service, Berjaya Plaza asking like you. Hope, he's not you. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bestofel: Mar 10 2011, 04:42 PM
Fornaxlife
post Mar 10 2011, 04:42 PM

836 posts

QUOTE(buffallo_soldier @ Mar 10 2011, 03:54 PM)

settings > wireless & network > mobile ap

QUOTE(gaarared @ Mar 10 2011, 04:27 PM)
Hi guys, just want to ask,
before this in Darky 8.0 my wifi strength was superb, so strength can get wifi connection from far away than my wifi router, but then after i flash darky 9.3 my wifi become low like stock again, even now after using simply 2.3 my wifi strength still cannot beat like wifi in darky 8.0, question is, any change how can i get wifi strength like in darky 8.0..tq
the wifi signal in the earlier version of darky's rom is not real.. though signal is actually low, the signal shown on the homescreen will be higher than usual..

Added on March 10, 2011, 4:43 pm
QUOTE(bestofel @ Mar 10 2011, 04:41 PM)
If you have GPS app like PAPAGO, then you can use it without data plan. The map already on your phone.

If you try navigate thru GPS app like Google Map, Google Earth, Navigation, Places, Layar etc which is get the map directly from google service, then you need the internet connection.

Last Tuesday evening, a guy come to Samsung Customer Service, Berjaya Plaza asking like you. Hope, he's not you. biggrin.gif
wow you're working for samsung? smile.gif

This post has been edited by Fornaxlife: Mar 10 2011, 04:43 PM
gaarared
post Mar 10 2011, 04:44 PM

361 posts

QUOTE(Fornaxlife @ Mar 10 2011, 04:42 PM)
settings > wireless & network > mobile ap
the wifi signal in the earlier version of darky's rom is not real.. though signal is actually low, the signal shown on the homescreen will be higher than usual..

Added on March 10, 2011, 4:43 pm
owh like that? so any chance to improve my wifi signal..?
Fornaxlife
post Mar 10 2011, 04:46 PM

836 posts

QUOTE(gaarared @ Mar 10 2011, 04:44 PM)
owh like that? so any chance to improve my wifi signal..?
yeah, stated on xda forum

change your modem
bestofel
post Mar 10 2011, 04:53 PM

528 posts

QUOTE(Fornaxlife @ Mar 10 2011, 04:42 PM)
No lah.. I'm waiting my phone getting factory restore. wink.gif

QUOTE(buffallo_soldier @ Mar 10 2011, 03:54 PM)

Tethering by USB or make your phone as an access point (AP)? If AP, follow Fornaxlife's guide. If using USB, try settings > wireless and network > Tethering.

125 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Top

0.1278sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 07:16 PM