Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V14, Galaxy S, live on a smart life

Harddisk
post Feb 28 2011, 03:07 PM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(fuadsyazwan @ Feb 28 2011, 01:21 PM)
Take it with a pinch of salt. Reviews like these don't gauge the battery by actually using it, rather than just looking at the figure that's printed on the battery.
Harddisk
post Feb 28 2011, 03:09 PM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ Feb 28 2011, 02:52 PM)
i only see that and my phone can do that without doubt..
Flight mode, or maybe disabled all sync (without logging into Google Account).
Harddisk
post Feb 28 2011, 08:12 PM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ Feb 28 2011, 03:11 PM)
no need flight mode..after full charge and let my phone there..it can last for ard 4 day..
With all the sync, email check, etc. in background?
Harddisk
post Mar 1 2011, 12:59 AM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Feb 28 2011, 08:23 PM)
I got 9%/9hours idle drain with wifi switched on.
- All syncs (contacts, gmail, picasa, calendar switched on)
- Manual twitter sync
- speedmod 13c kernel
- ext4 lagfix
- simple galaxy rom. slightly better than insanity rom
- simi clock widget.

I can longer battery life if I use battery-fu app
Looks really good. I can't get that even on just wifi standby.

Will try battery fu someday.
Harddisk
post Mar 1 2011, 01:04 AM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Mar 1 2011, 01:01 AM)
forgot to mention that I'm using ZSJPE modem as opposed to JPP modem with insanity rom
I'm still on DXJPA. will hunt for ZSJPE and give it a shot. 3g video calls ok?
Harddisk
post Mar 1 2011, 11:07 AM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Mar 1 2011, 01:09 AM)
Link here: http://insanity.rollus.net/index.php?dir=rom/modems/

Never tried 3G calls. Why don't you try it, give feedback and I can post in first page.
I want to reconfirm properly first.

I'm now on DXJPA + Speedmod K13C.

So I just ODIN this Modem file into my phone, should be fine, right?
Harddisk
post Mar 1 2011, 11:20 AM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(jujx @ Mar 1 2011, 10:22 AM)
Some one manage to "turn" on the off screen animation ! YES!

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.p...7&postcount=461
Hey, can I flash this into my Froyo? ROTFL!

I want that animation alsoooooooo, but too lazy to flash a whole new ROM and reconfigure everything from scratch. cry.gif
Harddisk
post Mar 1 2011, 11:22 AM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Mar 1 2011, 11:15 AM)
You should read the review in gsmarena.com
The review was so insistent on Super Clear LCD consumes more energy than SuperAMOLED. But did the reviewer takes into consideration that the TI OMAP processor was the culprit of the battery drain here?

I read of an article that the nVidia Tegra's processor was a battery sucker too. I guess not all processors are made as equally efficient.

Added on March 1, 2011, 11:23 am
QUOTE(redzuanjohari @ Mar 1 2011, 11:17 AM)
already update to gingerbread.. seems ok to me..
Temptation! Hmm...

Mind checking is it running on EXT4 filesystem by default?

This post has been edited by Harddisk: Mar 1 2011, 11:23 AM
Harddisk
post Mar 1 2011, 12:26 PM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Mar 1 2011, 11:26 AM)
Think the reviewer's mindset is that Super Clear LCD is power hungry.

Read that the GB is still on RFS.

I wonder if we can buy the SGSL's bigger capacity battery and use in our SGS?
RFS?? What the... ? Isn't Nexus S' GB already on EXT4? I thought this hacked ROM was based on official GB? sad.gif

Reviewer stated that the battery fits into SGS9k. It would be a good idea to have that extra 150mah. biggrin.gif
Harddisk
post Mar 1 2011, 07:04 PM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(enaleni @ Mar 1 2011, 12:28 PM)
I just tried it 3g video call is function well  smile.gif
Urgh! Why does my 3G video call, the video broken, like a jigsaw puzzle?

It was like before when I was on Eclair. sad.gif
Harddisk
post Mar 4 2011, 11:33 AM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(fuadsyazwan @ Mar 4 2011, 11:12 AM)
need to improve more la. infos, reviews, tips, faqs. too messy i think.
lol. The RM2000 price is set by Samsung or its dealers.

Community here don't earn a cent from it, or any loyalty. It's FREE. You should be grateful that there's even forum with threads (now version 14) on SGS.
Harddisk
post Mar 10 2011, 08:16 AM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(bestofel @ Mar 10 2011, 08:05 AM)
From customer service, the update version I got is:

• Firmware = 2.2
  • Baseband = 19000DXJPA
  • Kernel = 2.6.32.9 root@SE-S604 #1
  • Build number = FROYO.DXJPA

I found some errors about this version:[list]
[*]sometimes, the notifications bar at the top can't be sweep down. When reboot, its back to normal.

Any suggestion?
This was quite common when DXJPA Froyo was released to us. Many of us kena this.

But over the time, with various of Speedmod versions applied. I no longer see this problem on my phone now.

Try Menu -> Notification.
Harddisk
post Mar 10 2011, 10:16 AM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Mar 10 2011, 12:25 AM)
Wow, just saw this amazing app! Look here:

Really useful will give it a try now. wonder if it works with other phones without this app. doubt it will though.
Looks like a VOIP service, similar to Yes! or using SIP settings, which would be native on Gingerbread (or was it Honeycomb?).

The normal call over the air is impossible to share anything through data network, unless you are connected to a wifi.
Harddisk
post Mar 10 2011, 03:05 PM

2,959 posts

HKC Maxis, topped my limit again.

Is the 3G watchdog buggy? As it shows only 200+MB data usage so far, so it's quite impossible that I've made that much calls. So I believe it's the data usage.

Any other recommendations on 3G monitoring apps? Gonna put a few in and see how Maxis gonna lie about their billing.
Harddisk
post Mar 10 2011, 05:17 PM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(Fornaxlife @ Mar 10 2011, 03:29 PM)
try netcounter
Thanks!

But can't set it like 3G watchdog for beginning of the billing day or something huh? sad.gif
Harddisk
post Mar 13 2011, 08:01 PM

2,959 posts

Google Maps v5 started using the vector tiles (+3D buildings) and saving cache into sd card.

v5.2 started the check-in feature, which doesn't seem to work in Malaysia as well.

Using Brut Maps would overrides all these as Brut Maps was based on the older version. Not sure if there is any newer version of Brut Maps or not.
Harddisk
post Mar 16 2011, 10:38 PM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(neo0915 @ Mar 16 2011, 10:09 PM)
Accidently found this app when i look for transfer files to pc through wireless.
>>>SwiFTP FTP Server<<<
Compare with Android Manager Wifi, SwiFTP FTP Server is more simple~
For those who like to drag n drop, u will like it~  smile.gif
Installation guide here.
Try Samba FileSharing app from Market.
Harddisk
post Mar 17 2011, 02:15 AM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(neo0915 @ Mar 16 2011, 10:55 PM)
Yup, both also provide extra features, but somehow i jz need to transfer my files to pc through wireless~
SwiFTP is jz wat i need~ Used to drap n drop alrdy~ lolx~  biggrin.gif 
I think it's almost same as SwiFTP right ?
It's similar, but access to it like a network drive. Can do drive mapping on your windows and such. More convenient than hosting FTP service on phone.
Harddisk
post Mar 19 2011, 05:26 PM

2,959 posts

Found a bug in Handcent reminder notification.

I set mine to every 2 minutes. After a few reminder notification, my phone's sound driver/module is being locked up. No more sound from the phone, even answering call also has no sound. Have to restart phone.

Anyone faced this problem?
Harddisk
post Mar 22 2011, 08:54 PM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(- JaY - @ Mar 22 2011, 07:26 PM)
my SGS have to be plugged on charger at least twice a day.. yesterday drained my battery till it went off, went home put on charger and turned on the phone, showing "55% charging". that's absurd right? the phone turned off itself and just plugged into charger it shows 55%? lol. recalibrated the battery by wiping battery stats when it's full already.

and anyone with APN on all the time? i have huge problem dealing with it..

Phone Setup:
ROM: XWJS5 Doc Rom
Kernel: Speedmod K13C
Baseband: ZXJPG
APN: ON
3G: ON
Facebook Refresh Interval: Never
Twitter Refresh Interval: 30mins
Background Sync: On/once a day
Lattitude: ON
Whatsapp: ON
On average, my phone can go from 100% to 30-40% in 6-7 hours. not much activity, just whatsapp like 30mins-45mins during that time?  icon_question.gif
Quite similar to mine. Try to go down to EDGE and see.

Added on March 22, 2011, 8:55 pm^ sweet? lol

This post has been edited by Harddisk: Mar 22 2011, 08:55 PM

0.0523sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:55 AM