33 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Old skool shaving, Best and closest shave ever

ja50n
post Sep 28 2011, 08:16 PM

124 posts

Hi guys .... i see all the photos looks so .... cool.

But i have no idea at all how to use them if i opt for this kind of shaving (have been using electric since .... when i need to shave).

Pls sifu enlighten me ......
TScarbman
post Sep 29 2011, 01:28 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Sep 28 2011, 07:34 PM)
Carbman, is the lined version better?
First impression is that it grips a wee bit better than the non-textured shaft. The shaft is just as long, though. Looks-wise it just a matter of taste. The head is identical. Is this sounding too much like a sexual innuendo?

Anyway, how's the silvertip brush? Soft? My best badgers are still a bit stiff at the ends.

Bic is the best I've been able to source locally, and since you say the feathers are better, I'm gonna try em out quick. drool.gif Dont even bother with the Nacets and Lasers.

kotmj
post Sep 29 2011, 10:24 AM

The Coatmaker's Apprentice
3,802 posts

I thought the silvertips would be more syok on the mouth/chin than a nice tuft of pussihair, but it felt like any other brush. It's my first shaving brush so I have no frame of reference.
g3n0c1d3
post Sep 29 2011, 11:01 AM

hai hai... kazuma dayo....
6,497 posts

i went to acca kappa after u guys suggested to go there... looks really nice but i mean... it looks too nice for me to use it... but im thinking of throwing my current shaver and buy the olde style...

keep it coming guys... i learn loads of stuff over here...
TScarbman
post Sep 29 2011, 12:11 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Sep 29 2011, 10:24 AM)
I thought the silvertips would be more syok on the mouth/chin than a nice tuft of pussihair, but it felt like any other brush. It's my first shaving brush so I have no frame of reference.
R U absolutely sure the brush is silvertip? Or even badger, and not synthetic? I'm hoping its real, coz I also want one, especially at that price. Even B&B members have used this brush. I was a wee bit sceptical on its originality because of the waviness of the hair: my synthetic Bodyshop shaving brush does that. Try burn a few strands and see (yeah right).

If it is real, then perhaps its just a matter of "running-in" the brush. Give it some time.

I tried the Feathers, and they were sharper than the BICs, yes. I'll be trying the others in the sampler pack later on. They cost about RM3 per pack of 5, pretty much market price here, excluding shipping charges, of course. If I find one I particularly like, I might switch to that. As it is, its tough to beat the BICs at RM8+ per 6 packs, or about RM1.2 per pack. My first Feather shave hasn't converted me yet. Perhaps I was being too cautious after hearing about their legendary sharpness.

kotmj
post Sep 29 2011, 02:44 PM

3,802 posts

I searched on B&B for this brush and the consensus seems to be that they are great value but not on par with the absolute best (Rooneys, TGN, etc). I can live with that!

Well as I've said, I am just not the right person to judge brushes, this is the first I've used except for the one this Armenian barber used on my sideburns and back neck during my student days. I'm pretty sure he used a boar bristle brush.
TScarbman
post Sep 29 2011, 04:24 PM

46 posts

Ah, those old skool barbers.....i'm quite certain they never dry their brushes
thteong82
post Oct 4 2011, 01:41 PM

Poor Guy
1,528 posts

QUOTE(Yushiro @ Sep 6 2011, 04:38 PM)
OMG. I've been waiting for years for a thread like this to start. Been doing DE shaving for the last 7 years. Like you carbman, I've had my face sliced to ribbons by these multibladed crap razors that Gillette has been putting out and basically the exact same problems as you. Switched to DE (same journey as you also tongue.gif), Cheap china DEs, Super Nacet (ugh). Now I have 3 Vintage Gillette DEs (1950s Gillette Gold Aristocrat, 1963 Gillette 'Slim' Adjustable and a 1979 Gillette Super Adjustable). BBS everytime.

Now, as far as supplies are concerned:

1. DE Blades - 1st Floor, Haniffa Textiles, Jln Masjid India. They have a variety of blades (Sold either in single box of 5 blades or 100 blade pack). Recommended brands: Treet Platinum, BIC, Green Russian made Gillette 7'O Clock blades. Currently they have Wilkinson Sword Blades at the cashier. RM3.90 per 5 blades. Super damn good. Better go sapu before I do!

Mustafas - Singapore. I know. Its far but this place can get a lot of stuff. Look for Kai Blades.

2. Shaving soap - Sorry. Cannot find here. Take up [Top-Gun]'s offer. I have a puck of MWF. its awesome. [Disclaimer: I have no relation or know who is [Top-Gun] ]. Alternatively, you can look for Tabac Shaving Sticks in Mustafa. Very useful esp when travelling

3. Shaving Cream - Ah, here we are a bit luckier. Haniffa's has Godrej Shaving creams, Denim and German made Palmolive creams. All of which are at par in terms of performance with very expensive English creams. All of them are under RM20 per tube and will last for 2 months if you shave everyday.

4. Aftershave - Apart from the Nivea balm and Denim ones, I dun recommend anything else in Malaysia. Maybe got some Body shop ones that work. Never tried. Too rich for my budget. When in Mustafa, pick up Skin Bracer aftershaves.

5. Razors - Buy online. badgerandblade.com's BST thread can get some good deals. Dun be scared about using vintage razors. They work just fine after disinfecting them.

Ok. Sorry about the long post. Just happy to see someone else who's into this kind of shaving tongue.gif

PS: Not affliated at all with the retailers or brands mentioned here. Just a happy customer  smile.gif
Anyone know where can get the shaving cream and blades like example above at Penang?
kotmj
post Oct 4 2011, 11:36 PM

3,802 posts

OK, so I've been wet shaving everyday for a week now.

I nick myself everytime, i.e. I draw blood. Just a tiny pinprick normally, no big deal, but I prefer not to. The past 2 days it wouldn't have happened if I did not do 4 passes repeatedly. Yes, I shave against the grain. Bad idea, I know, but it is the only way to get a truly close shave.

The first 2 days I had major razor burn, but that seem to no longer occur.

Do I enjoy it? Strangely, yes. It's actually fun.

The shave is closer than what I can achieve with the electric razor, but it is not as close as I thought it would be. There is still this greyish shade to my skin around the beard areas.

Wet shaving is best done when you have all the time in the world. Having to hurry subtracts from the satisfaction of the ritual.
TScarbman
post Oct 5 2011, 07:57 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Oct 4 2011, 11:36 PM)
OK, so I've been wet shaving everyday for a week now.

I nick myself everytime, i.e. I draw blood. Just a tiny pinprick normally, no big deal, but I prefer not to. The past 2 days it wouldn't have happened if I did not do 4 passes repeatedly. Yes, I shave against the grain. Bad idea, I know, but it is the only way to get a truly close shave.

The first 2 days I had major razor burn, but that seem to no longer occur.

Do I enjoy it? Strangely, yes. It's actually fun.

The shave is closer than what I can achieve with the electric razor, but it is not as close as I thought it would be. There is still this greyish shade to my skin around the beard areas.

Wet shaving is best done when you have all the time in the world. Having to hurry subtracts from the satisfaction of the ritual.
Do you go ATG (against the grain) from the 1st pass? I usually manage with 3 passes, begining with WTG, followed bt WTG again and finish off with XTG. For tough spots, I emply the 'blade buffing' technique. And a proper, unhurried prep really does wonders. But having no razor burn means your technique must be on track.

kotmj
post Oct 6 2011, 01:52 PM

3,802 posts

Yeah, I went ATG at first pass.

I shaved just now with your technique. 2X WTG then ATG. It works. No nicks. This is for above the chin. Below the chin, it is awkward to hold the razor to do WTG. So just ATG below the chin.

The brush is shedding hair. Like 2 hairs per use.

The BIC is seriously dull, man. I replaced my week-old Feather with a fresh BIC and guess what? The week-old Feather is SHARPER than a fresh BIC.

Dropped by Hanifa on the weekend. No Russian Gilettes there. No DE blades at the counter. But plenty of Chinese and Pakistani and Indian blades of dubious quality.

How do you dispose of your blades? They are still very sharp, and the rubbish collectors like to ruffle through the garbage in search of plastic bottles.
Yushiro
post Oct 6 2011, 02:55 PM

18 posts

Just came back from Haniffa. Picked up a Lord DE razor (for the sake of reviewing it) and a tube of Denim shaving cream. Checked the blades on sale at the payment counter. They have Russian Green 7'O Clocks, Vietnamese Gillette Thins and about 10-15 German made Wilkinson Swords.(these are the ones I recommend. They have others but better dun use) For easy blade disposal, I took one of my daughter's milk tins, sealed the lid, flipped it upside down and made a hole for the blades. This is known as a blade bank. been using it for like 6 years, now only halfway full. since everything is metal, it'll be easier to recycle. But make sure you mark it with a label that says "used blades" la

A note on boar brushes: I've been using the same Omega boar for 6 years. So far its probably shed about 10-15 hairs? I soak it in hot/very warm water before I shower and use it after the shower. The key is to preserving it is after usage, wash with hot water (not boiling hot la) and then thoroughly clean it with cold water. Brush is still excellent and works wonderfully with creams or soaps.

PS: I have no idea where to get blades in Penang. Sorry bro.

QUOTE(kotmj @ Oct 6 2011, 01:52 PM)

I shaved just now with your technique. 2X WTG then ATG. It works. No nicks. This is for above the chin. Below the chin, it is awkward to hold the razor to do WTG. So just ATG below the chin.

The BIC is seriously dull, man. I replaced my week-old Feather with a fresh BIC and guess what? The week-old Feather is SHARPER than a fresh BIC.

Dropped by Hanifa on the weekend. No Russian Gilettes there. No DE blades at the counter. But plenty of Chinese and Pakistani and Indian blades of dubious quality.

How do you dispose of your blades? They are still very sharp, and the rubbish collectors like to ruffle through the garbage in search of plastic bottles.
kotmj
post Oct 6 2011, 03:04 PM

3,802 posts

What? All I saw at the payment counter were Gilette cartridges, and when I asked a lady at the counter about razor blades she said First Floor.
Yushiro
post Oct 6 2011, 04:23 PM

18 posts

I apologize for not being clear. They are at the first floor payment counter. Again, my apologies. notworthy.gif

QUOTE(kotmj @ Oct 6 2011, 03:04 PM)
What? All I saw at the payment counter were Gilette cartridges, and when I asked a lady at the counter about razor blades she said First Floor.
TScarbman
post Oct 6 2011, 07:10 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Oct 6 2011, 01:52 PM)

WTG below the chin IS awkward. I have to change hands.

Your MIC (made-in-China) brush, I imagine it to be reasonable stiff at the base but gets floppy at the tips, yes? Mine are stiff up to the tips...not nice lah. I think I'll make an order for those MIC silvertips now.

If you think BICs are dull, you don't wanna go for Nacets, much less those made-in-India blades. There's a reason why barbers change em after a single use.

I like the slotted-tin idea of disposing blades. But so far, I've been snapping the baldes into 2, and wrapping them um with layers of newspaper. Not ideal.

I wonder how my dad and brother are doing....
MeToo
post Oct 6 2011, 07:25 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(carbman @ Oct 6 2011, 07:10 PM)
If you think BICs are dull, you don't wanna go for Nacets, much less those made-in-India blades. There's a reason why barbers change em after a single use.
I think its more of a hygienic reason. I'm not going to get shaved with the same blade the bloke before me used!
kotmj
post Oct 10 2011, 03:54 PM

3,802 posts

I had the greatest shave ever on Saturday, but a lousy shave on Sunday with 3 nicks.

I've come to realise that a large portion of why wet shaving is so nice has to do with the soap. The richness, the scent, etc. makes all the difference. The Colonel Ishabod Conk (what sort of parents call their baby Ishabod?) is a glycerin soap, and I'm thinking of getting a tallow soap next. Cella is one that contains real cow tallow.

http://badgerandblade.com/vb/showthread.ph...Extra-Purissima

BTW carbman, you may want to consider this brush. Olive wood is one of the most charismatic of woods.
http://www.olivia-seife.de/shop/hwherren/pinselundmugs.html

I can't stand the BIC. Going back to Feather ASAP.
attacusatlas
post Oct 10 2011, 04:14 PM

A Nasty Professional
2,664 posts

You all are so high end. i only have these in this regime
kotmj
post Oct 10 2011, 04:49 PM

3,802 posts

I think everything you have in that pic is more expensive than what I have.

Do you shave yourself down there?
thteong82
post Oct 11 2011, 11:24 AM

Poor Guy
1,528 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Oct 10 2011, 03:54 PM)

I can't stand the BIC. Going back to Feather ASAP.
Is BIC so worst? But for its price, I consider it well worth it. RM9 for 30 pcs.

33 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0312sec    0.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 04:00 AM