4 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
Oct 3 2016, 11:11 AM
1,276 posts Joined: Jun 2012 |
QUOTE(kutitata @ Oct 1 2016, 10:43 AM) agreed I started with this:using plastic disposable at the moment, what can you suggest for newbie? 1) DE8911 2) Razor blades? http://badgerandblade.com/vb/showthread.ph...azor-From-India RM7.99 at Mydin during pre-GST time. Way better than the Mach 3 it replaced, even with the cheap blades. |
Oct 3 2016, 12:24 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
561 posts Joined: Jul 2015 |
QUOTE(pauh @ Oct 3 2016, 07:08 AM) I don't know your budget but anyway have a look at the Fatip Testina Gentile at Connaught Shaving. It is made of brass.Edwin Jagger, Muhle, Merkur are good too but they are constructed of zinc alloy so don't over tighten or drop them and they should be ok. |
Oct 3 2016, 07:19 PM
4 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
QUOTE(biloxee @ Oct 3 2016, 12:24 PM) I don't know your budget but anyway have a look at the Fatip Testina Gentile at Connaught Shaving. It is made of brass. Ok...will have a look at all of them which one is within my budget..thanks broEdwin Jagger, Muhle, Merkur are good too but they are constructed of zinc alloy so don't over tighten or drop them and they should be ok. |
Oct 19 2016, 05:23 PM
History of the Alum Block
The alum block is the original antiseptic aftershave which contains mineral salts that were originally used by the ancient Egyptians more than four thousand years ago for its healing and antiseptic properties. How does an Alum Block work? The Alum block salts stop bleeding by constricting blood vessels and tightening pores. Other Uses For Alum Blocks Using an Alum Block as an Anti Persperant - a Natural Deodorant For centuries people in the middle and far east have known that applying an Alum Block to the underarms will give excellent odour and sweat protection, an added benefit is it is 100% natural. An Alum Block is ideal for those who wish to use a natural antiperspirant. Apply the Alum Block to the underarms for a totally reliable, non antiperspirant. Alum Blocks are non-scented so you can still use your favourite scented deodorant. Alum Blocks are highly effective in controlling excess sweating. Source: The A-Z of Shaving Anyone use these as post shave alum? http://www.watsons.com.my/Product-Categori...-60g/p/BP_46575 http://www.watsons.com.my/Product-Categori...120g/p/BP_28622 https://guardian.com.my/index.php/pbrand/to...ll-on-60gm.html https://guardian.com.my/index.php/pbrand/to...l-on-120gm.html This post has been edited by biloxee: May 7 2017, 05:49 PM |
Oct 21 2016, 09:48 AM
QUOTE(biloxee @ Oct 19 2016, 05:23 PM) History of the Alum Block Didn't realise we have this available in our local pharmacies. I'm using alum post shave, and just ordered some more from Connaught Shaving.The alum block is the original antiseptic aftershave which contains mineral salts that were originally used by the ancient Egyptians more than four thousand years ago for its healing and antiseptic properties. How does an Alum Block work? The Alum block salts stop bleeding by constricting blood vessels and tightening pores. Other Uses For Alum Blocks Using an Alum Block as an Anti Persperant - a Natural Deodorant For centuries people in the middle and far east have known that applying an Alum Block to the underarms will give excellent odour and sweat protection, an added benefit is it is 100% natural. An Alum Block is ideal for those who wish to use a natural antiperspirant. Apply the Alum Block to the underarms for a totally reliable, non antiperspirant. Alum Blocks are non-scented so you can still use your favourite scented deodorant. Alum Blocks are highly effective in controlling excess sweating. Source: The A-Z of Shaving Anyone use these as post shave alum? http://www.watsons.com.my/Personal-Care/An...-60g/p/BP_46575 https://online.guardian.com.my/index.php/pb...ll-on-60gm.html https://online.guardian.com.my/index.php/pb...l-on-120gm.html |
Nov 7 2016, 11:29 PM
601 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Boleh LannD~! |
Nov 12 2016, 08:19 PM
QUOTE(Mr. Z @ Nov 7 2016, 11:29 PM) ![]() This post has been edited by biloxee: Nov 12 2016, 08:22 PM |
Nov 12 2016, 09:30 PM
QUOTE(biloxee @ Nov 12 2016, 08:19 PM) It is way better than my cheap China DE razor i got at Masjid Jamek. But a little too mild to my liking, I am using a Kai feather razor on this. Perhaps I might need to look for an even more aggressive blades for this. I could barely felt my beard getting shaved and have to check a couple of time to see if it was really shaved. Maybe I am too used to those harsh shave I got from cheap razors and china DE. |
Nov 13 2016, 06:09 PM
QUOTE(Mr. Z @ Nov 12 2016, 09:30 PM) It is way better than my cheap China DE razor i got at Masjid Jamek. The DE89 is a medium aggressive razor so you're not really meant to feel the blade. Tried shimming it?But a little too mild to my liking, I am using a Kai feather razor on this. Perhaps I might need to look for an even more aggressive blades for this. I could barely felt my beard getting shaved and have to check a couple of time to see if it was really shaved. Maybe I am too used to those harsh shave I got from cheap razors and china DE. But, if you like an aggressive feeling razor then try the Muhle R41. |
Nov 20 2016, 11:16 PM
23 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
QUOTE(niakulah @ Sep 15 2015, 12:18 PM) Thanks for pointing out Connaught Shaving! Hi Bro, After reading this thread about 2 years back, I ditched my Mach 3 for a cheap "Laser" brand DE razor I got at Mydin. Dirt cheap and smoother shave. Then it fell and broke... I bought these: http://connaughtshaving.com/sssr.html http://connaughtshaving.com/popular.html http://connaughtshaving.com/allumblock.html All for about RM135 delivered. Now I am a happy shavette user. Much smoother than my cheap DE razor. Shavette > Laser DE > Mach3 Thinking of getting my first safety razor from connaught shaving, is it safe to choose the normal shipping method instead of the one with tracking? Do u usually choose the tracking option ? haha trying to see i can save on the shipping or not .. the prices at connaught very the attractive hehe! excited to ditch all my 2 blades painful plastic razors lol! thanks! |
Nov 21 2016, 09:31 AM
QUOTE(latlawlim @ Nov 20 2016, 11:16 PM) Hi Bro, I have placed another order with them since that post. Both I used normal shipping. No problems and quite fast. A bit more than a week to get to me.Thinking of getting my first safety razor from connaught shaving, is it safe to choose the normal shipping method instead of the one with tracking? Do u usually choose the tracking option ? haha trying to see i can save on the shipping or not .. the prices at connaught very the attractive hehe! excited to ditch all my 2 blades painful plastic razors lol! thanks! |
Nov 22 2016, 01:08 AM
23 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
Nov 23 2016, 12:13 AM
QUOTE(biloxee @ Nov 13 2016, 06:09 PM) The DE89 is a medium aggressive razor so you're not really meant to feel the blade. Tried shimming it? What is shimming? But, if you like an aggressive feeling razor then try the Muhle R41. I will stick to this razor for the time being, this is more of a necessity than a hobby to me. Just want a nice shave with the lowest cost possible. I have been shaving this way for years, going through couple of cheap shavettes and china DEs I get from Masjid Jamek. Finally get a nice comfortable shave from a premium DE, really made a lot of difference. It felt alot more comfortable and luxurious! |
Nov 27 2016, 11:26 AM
Dec 30 2016, 12:19 AM
Curious about traditional double edge shaving? Don't want to splurge unnecessarily? Here's a good razor to try...
Daiso - Dorco Double Edge Safety Razor (2 Dorco ST-300 blades included) Price: RM5.30 http://www.aeonretail.com.my/daiso/ http://www.daisoglobal.com/store/list/?c_id=C0027 It is essentially the same razor as the PL-602 that's sold by Dorco. Dorco PL-602 Review |
Dec 30 2016, 09:28 AM
6,497 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(biloxee @ Dec 30 2016, 12:19 AM) Curious about traditional double edge shaving? Don't want to splurge unnecessarily? Here's a good razor to try... Nice!Daiso - Dorco Double Edge Safety Razor (2 Dorco ST-300 blades included) Price: RM5.30 http://www.aeonretail.com.my/daiso/ http://www.daisoglobal.com/store/list/?c_id=C0027 It is essentially the same razor as the PL-602 that's sold by Dorco. Dorco PL-602 Review |
Jan 5 2017, 05:07 PM
80 posts Joined: May 2012 |
guys.,i lost my DE rzor in my luggage
Jan 5 2017, 08:15 PM
QUOTE(faizrajaie @ Jan 5 2017, 05:07 PM) guys.,i lost my DE rzor in my luggage http://connaughtshaving.comhttp://www.maggardrazors.com |
| Change to: | 0.0310sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:27 AM |