QUOTE(mumeichan @ Oct 22 2014, 10:43 PM)
Haha school pride is the best. It's something every student who goes to the US must experience. Nothing like it in Malaysia, UK or Australia
I completely agree.Studying in US V1
Oct 22 2014, 11:12 PM
1,890 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
Oct 23 2014, 12:03 AM
1,270 posts Joined: Nov 2008 From: Soviet State of Sarawak Status: Exiled |
QUOTE(spunkberry @ Oct 21 2014, 02:55 PM) Sorry, I'm in the midst of several assignments, projects, research and.. MIDTERMS! Bet you haven't heard of that word for some time now.. QUOTE(segamatboy @ Oct 22 2014, 05:41 AM) Better keep an eye on WTI price. If it goes any lower there gonna be a bloodbath. where I am at, France's Total and Norway's Statoil have scuttled their projects for the time being. Other companies also reviewing their spending Hm, good point. Never thought about that, I completely forgot that WTI is the benchmark for crude oil prices. Btw, where did you grad from and in what major? How many years experience in your field? |
Oct 23 2014, 12:04 AM
1,270 posts Joined: Nov 2008 From: Soviet State of Sarawak Status: Exiled |
Oct 23 2014, 04:59 AM
5 posts Joined: Oct 2014 |
Oct 23 2014, 06:06 AM
QUOTE(latias93 @ Oct 23 2014, 12:03 AM) Sorry, I'm in the midst of several assignments, projects, research and.. MIDTERMS! Bet you haven't heard of that word for some time now.. patutlah I haven't seen you in the chat for ages lol.QUOTE(agent briggs @ Oct 23 2014, 04:59 AM) In the US, at least, you retain a very strong affiliation with your undergraduate university, mainly in sports and achievements by alumni (unless you attended a nobody school and then a big university for a graduate degree). School pride. My workplace is "segregated" into those who attended which school, and oh my god the trash talking when sports season (football, basketball) comes around.The Purdue-IU rivalry? No matter who we play in football, when we're in the stadium, we have a specific cheer for "IU SUCKS!". Because IU always sucks. This post has been edited by spunkberry: Oct 23 2014, 06:13 AM |
Oct 23 2014, 07:53 AM
1,128 posts Joined: Jul 2012 |
Oct 23 2014, 09:44 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
4,152 posts Joined: May 2005 |
Oct 23 2014, 10:22 PM
492 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
QUOTE(segamatboy @ Oct 22 2014, 06:37 PM) You study geology for the love of earth science or you think there where the money is???? For the love of Earth Science... it is pretty huge ain't it? I can branch out into environmental consulting or hydrology too, not just oil and gas.. I wouldn't be too silly to put all my bet on oil and gas only. After all , i still have to think bout my masters.... I can't predict the future. So, i will just study first.p/s...better keep an eye on WTI price. If it goes any lower you can forget the geology job in the coming years |
Oct 24 2014, 07:06 AM
Nov 7 2014, 11:22 AM
176 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
I just skimmed through the past few pages and saw someone mentioning that Houston is a beautiful place. I won't deny that but if you've been to Austin, that place is amazing. Nice parks, nice lakes and rivers right in the middle of the city where UT Austin is. Great food.
Also, IU sucks and BTFU! |
Nov 16 2014, 10:29 PM
10,123 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
QUOTE(spunkberry @ Oct 23 2014, 06:06 AM) patutlah I haven't seen you in the chat for ages lol. Haha! Who dares to challenge the Boilers! In the US, at least, you retain a very strong affiliation with your undergraduate university, mainly in sports and achievements by alumni (unless you attended a nobody school and then a big university for a graduate degree). School pride. My workplace is "segregated" into those who attended which school, and oh my god the trash talking when sports season (football, basketball) comes around. The Purdue-IU rivalry? No matter who we play in football, when we're in the stadium, we have a specific cheer for "IU SUCKS!". Because IU always sucks. |
Nov 17 2014, 10:13 AM
3,940 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
Ppl just nuts about sports nothing to do with school pride imho. Americans just big into basketball, football, hockey.
Nov 17 2014, 10:16 AM
3,940 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
QUOTE(chew1991 @ Nov 7 2014, 11:22 AM) I just skimmed through the past few pages and saw someone mentioning that Houston is a beautiful place. I won't deny that but if you've been to Austin, that place is amazing. Nice parks, nice lakes and rivers right in the middle of the city where UT Austin is. Great food. Austin is like the San fran if Tx!Great food esp bbq. Issue is traveling to Asia or Europe requires more stop overs. Cheap houses in Tx just that no under usd half a million home with basement. Those looking for a wine cellar out of luck. |
Nov 18 2014, 12:16 AM
QUOTE(danmooncake @ Nov 16 2014, 10:29 PM) lol it never ends with IU dude. I was just at a bar this past weekend and met an IU guy, and immediately we were both like ... NOPE! TALK TO THE HAND! XDMy friend was at another bar and she said there was an IU girl dancing around and she told her boyfriend "That girl better not touch me!" XD It's pretty bad lol |
Nov 18 2014, 01:32 AM
QUOTE(spunkberry @ Nov 18 2014, 12:16 AM) lol it never ends with IU dude. I was just at a bar this past weekend and met an IU guy, and immediately we were both like ... NOPE! TALK TO THE HAND! XD Border rivalries.... US colleges are like that.My friend was at another bar and she said there was an IU girl dancing around and she told her boyfriend "That girl better not touch me!" XD It's pretty bad lol Same thing happens at Missouri Tigers vs Kansas Jayhawks, Oklahoma Sooners vs Texas Long horns. Minn Gophers vs Iowa Hawkeyes, etc.. Ahh.. the good old days.. I still have my collegiate rings and sweatshirts. |
Nov 18 2014, 09:02 AM
QUOTE(danmooncake @ Nov 18 2014, 02:32 AM) Border rivalries.... US colleges are like that. Bro,Same thing happens at Missouri Tigers vs Kansas Jayhawks, Oklahoma Sooners vs Texas Long horns. Minn Gophers vs Iowa Hawkeyes, etc.. Ahh.. the good old days.. I still have my collegiate rings and sweatshirts. What did you study in the Uni ? |
Nov 18 2014, 09:55 AM
Nov 18 2014, 10:01 AM
Jan 5 2015, 12:48 AM
961 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
QUOTE(latias93 @ Oct 8 2014, 02:01 AM) That's what I thought as well, until I did some calculations based on the statistics. hi.. what do you think of chances in applying the green card lotery of US citizenship nowadays?is it high?There is a scaled percentage of winning, which pretty much puts every participant from an eligible country at a 0.X to 1.X% chance of winning. Malaysia has roughly 6000-7000 applicants a year (excluding dependents) and only 70-80 might win. Based on the previous year trends, the number of Malaysians winning each year seems to be going down. Meanwhile, in the 2013 lottery, 6029 Iranians won the lottery out of 369,118 Iranian applicants. That is 1.6%. I hope this gives you the general idea of what is going on. Countries that have had over 50,000 selected entrants in the past 5 years are not eligible to apply for the DV lottery. These countries are called "high admission countries", and as you could probably guess, such countries include Mainland China, Bangladesh, India, Philippines, and Nigeria. QUOTE(latias93 @ Oct 10 2014, 07:13 AM) That is a LOT of questions.. damn, I'm not sure how to answer all of it. Haha. I'll try. I love being in (some parts of) the US! I've never faced discrimination before, a couple of incidents did come close, though. You can just look up how those cities look like on Google, but San Antonio has a beautiful historical downtown river walk and there's a couple of nice spots in Houston. But otherwise, they're just plain suburbs - boring, grid-like and consistent. Just like Damansara/PJ, I guess. There are a million reasons, big and small; on why I don't want to return to Malaysia, but I can go on and on about it that will span the length of several mamak hangout sessions. Most of them are purely materialistic and superficial, and this includes but are not limited to: the ability to own a bunch of kickass cars and such low prices, the fact that I have 2-day free Amazon Prime shipping, Netflix, cheap stuff, Netflix, beautiful national parks, great food, the Second Amendment, and did I mention Netflix? mind if i chat privately with uIf you really want to know, we can chat privately about the other reasons, because I don't want to spew out too much irrelevant stuff in an Education Essentials subforum. Yup, Houston is definitely the mecca of the energy industry here in the Western hemisphere. My dad's here, in the oil and gas industry. So is my aunt, who lives a mile away from our house. I've met a Malaysian girl who's also working in the oil and gas industry here. And I found out that a Malaysian Boilermaker I met earlier this year at the Malaysian Midwest Games at IUB lived in Houston up until recently, as his mother was working in, you guessed it, the oil and gas industry. |
Jan 5 2015, 05:42 AM
| Change to: | 0.0210sec