Studying in US V1
Feb 28 2011, 07:08 PM
1,270 posts Joined: Nov 2008 From: Soviet State of Sarawak Status: Exiled |
Hi. I'm leaving for the States in August. I am taking up a BFA in Game Design at Academy of Art University, San Francisco, CA.
Mar 1 2011, 03:16 AM
QUOTE(thenemesis @ Feb 28 2011, 07:17 PM) Thanks. You too! All the application settled already. What about you? Where are you going and what course are you taking up? And when're you leaving? QUOTE(LZ Zach @ Feb 28 2011, 08:43 PM) Wow,congrats! Thanks. Actually, it's USD 36,000 annually. However, it's easy to receive student grants and such in the States. You may check this this page to explore options in financial aid. I'd like to ask, when they state $36000 as tuition fee, does this mean it covers the 4 years of study? I get a little messed up when it comes to application forms from US. May I know what you are interested in, specifically? Photography? Digital art? Or others? QUOTE(chew1991 @ Mar 1 2011, 02:59 AM) I highly doubt that it's 36000 for four years. It should be the annual fee including boarding ( excluding summer sem) and food. Right you are. Indeed, USD36000 covers the tuition fee, boarding and my meal plan. |
Mar 1 2011, 02:04 PM
QUOTE(Cyprid Dark ii @ Mar 1 2011, 04:04 AM) Congratz! Thanks! Actually I'm just about to start my four-year degree haha.. only going to apply for work in game companies after that. Wow, that's nice! Rockstar UK is really good, working on great projects and games right now. Well if you'd like to continue your education you could.. and build your portfolio so you could come back and work for Rockstar (or any other game companies in mind). What field did you studying? I think if you got the basic skill or long time self experiences you can skip all the degree/diploma. I applied for worldwide recruitment for Rockstar game(San Diego) as enviromental modeler & they accepted my application based on my work(which has been self-thought since year 6,I mean in 3d modeling skill) & most of time the requirement is devoid all the degree or certificate.They really looking for inner talent that you had(unless you really like the industry but didnt have any requirement skill,but even so there is fast learning class that provide you with some skill & insider of what the work you would be into) Finally,they got enough workforce in San diego office,which they put an offer to transfer me to Northampton studio(Rockstar UK) but since I didnt know what the process of leaving the country(passport,visa,the flight thing...) so I declined the offer which I do regret as for today(now working as freelancer & helping my parents on company thing) but kudos for those has been granted this chance of their life,& able to fullfill the dream. I should learn how to doing oversea stuff now. So next time I would not in rushed mood like last year.... QUOTE(LZ Zach @ Mar 1 2011, 06:47 AM) Oh I see, are you still studying? Haha, nah. I just took SPM last year. Wow, it's thrice more expensive than the colleges here, I guess that's the price for taking up quality education in foreign countries. I'm actually still in Form 5, I'm planning to go to US since animation courses there are highly recognized and prestigious starting next year (*oh well, hollywood) But I'm kind of a little lost from researching unis in US, I thought trying to be independent and search on my own would be better, but I guess I ended up here to get some aid. Did you obtain some scholarship or something over there? I not much of an explorer, and I might not be well-prepared for this you see... Haha, when I was in Form 5 (last year) I went to several American Education Fairs in KL to talk to the college representatives about my options. Many of them offer animation. They're very helpful and will talk to you (and your parents) about what you can do, etc, etc. In fact there's one coming up, I received this from an email. They regularly email me about the education fairs heheh. Open the spoiler to view the details of the event. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « It's actually very simple.. just a few clicks here and there, and about 10 tabs open in Mozilla.. you can just explore the universities from the comforts of your home! In fact I went to about three different American Education fairs, I found two prospective universities which I applied to (Columbia College Chicago and San Diego State University) but as for the one I'm heading to right now (Academy of Art University), I found it in a forum where Game Design/Dev students were discussing colleges. No, I didn't receive a scholarship.. we did tick the 'Apply for Financial Aid' box in the form, but that'll be sorted out later after I send in the bank statement. Actually, my family is funding my studies there by selling one of our old houses.. QUOTE(thenemesis @ Mar 1 2011, 09:38 AM) Yeap. As i said. It couldnt be tat cheap. I see. Where are you taking up your ADP? And what's your concentration? Oh. about me? Im doin adp currently. Not yet decided when to transfer. Maybe half a year? or 1 more year? who knows |
Mar 1 2011, 03:35 PM
QUOTE(LZ Zach @ Mar 1 2011, 03:24 PM) Ok, thanks for the emotional lift-up, I'll try my best to research more into detail and get myself prepared:) Hey, take your time. I started research at about this time too, last year. Finalized my decision on one of the days that I was sitting for SPM. Thanks for the info, really appreciate it I'm not really sure where to get started... I hope I'm not really bothering you, but one question; Do I have to take TOEFL? Can you sit for TOEFL even though you're a Form 5 student? Haha, it's okay, you're not bothering me at all. You can ask as many questions as you like, after all this is a place to discuss. Yes, you have to take TOEFL. Each university have a different mininum requirement for TOEFL score (usually around 75-90, depending on school). The maximum score is 120. Yes, you can sit for TOEFL this year too if you want. But I suggest you do it after you have chosen several universities that you have really strong intention of going to, because when you register for the TOEFL iBT, they'll ask you for the name of the institutions that you're going to so that they can send your score along with your application directly to the universities of your choice. Keep in mind that you should have started the application for the university by that time.. they can't send your TOEFL score if the colleges there don't have your name in their database. I suggest you take your time to shortlist the colleges you wanna go to in the next few months, apply when their Fall 2012 application is open (around October or something, depends on college) and then register for TOEFL iBT online and take it at your nearest TOEFL test centre. I registered in late December and sat for my TOEFL on February 12, the results came out a few days ago. |
Mar 1 2011, 07:56 PM
QUOTE(LZ Zach @ Mar 1 2011, 05:40 PM) Wow, it's seemed like you did a lot of preparation before too You're welcome! Another question, should I start discussing with my parents in this? I did tell my dad about animation courses but not specifically like where or when. And do I score really well as in straghts A's for my SPM? And how do you officially translate the school-relevant transcripts? I think I'm asking too many questions for now Yes, you should discuss with your parents. It is important that the parents are involved in this process.. after all they've been taking care of you all your life and they will fund your studies there in the States. Have a talk with them. I discussed this a lot with my father as well as my relatives as they've all studied in the US and thus can share their experiences. Your SPM results doesn't really matter.. I mean, don't get like 9G for your SPM! Like 5A's should be fine too (that's what I'm aiming for!). Most of them don't really look at your SPM results, they just want it to make sure that you are a certified high school leaver. You can translate it yourself and get your school to chop it (I made a thread on this a couple of months ago!) or you can find translation services by notary publics (according to my cousin) and also the state education office. QUOTE(thenemesis @ Mar 1 2011, 07:18 PM) Ooo... After spm and degree, i guess it would be ADP? Haha, ADP is for those who want to stay in Malaysia for 2 years first lah. I didn't want to. Which website did u subscribe? Mind sharing? Im utterly interested! Most probably Inti I didn't subscribe at any website, I just attended one of the fairs and filled up a form. They'll start emailing you with emails about upcoming fairs after that! Nice! Chem Eng, fairly hard subject.. you must have really good marks in school for your science subjects! |
Mar 2 2011, 12:47 AM
QUOTE(thenemesis @ Mar 1 2011, 08:05 PM) Haha. Thanks. Well I'm only saying that as most people take up 2+2, but thanks anyway. And I didn't know there is a 0.5 + 3.5 LOL.. For adp, it is not a must to do it 2+2. it can be 1+3, 1.5+2.5, 0.5+3.5 The choice is yours. Hmm, they should insert a link to their website along with the infos u get what, mind checking? Unfortunately I've deleted the emails as they're no longer needed by me, but I do remember the fairs being organized by a 'Linden Tours' or 'Linden Group' or something haha. Just search for Linden Tours on Google, you'll find their website. QUOTE(chew1991 @ Mar 1 2011, 08:35 PM) add one more , my type. I believe this is me haha. I'm not exactly "not smart", I pride myself in being in an intellectual being (not bragging, but I mean c'mon why degrade ourselves if we can appreciate what knowledge we have gained?) but school subjects are totally irrelevant to me and thus I never bothered scoring A's for the three science subjects LOL. People who might not be smart but is passionate about something and is willing to invest a lot to pursue his dreams. Added on March 1, 2011, 8:35 pmhe meant for cost of living. not uni. lol QUOTE(LZ Zach @ Mar 1 2011, 11:02 PM) Yeah, but is it a good thing to have relatives there? I don't think I had any who went there before Well, most of them have already settled there, with only one studying at Ohio State University. It's.. not much of a difference, since USA is so big. Me being in California and them in Ohio would feel like you living in Malaysia and your relatives living in Japan, Hong Kong. xDHey, I'm also kind of aiming for 5A's too! But doesn't this mean lesser chance of obtaining a scholarship? And btw, did you have to practice real hard in your portfolio development before you are admitted? Could you also link me to the thread you've created? I'm having the twirl just to browse the one by one through the threads Thanks a million times again xD Haha, well I suppose so. I mean, so many people get straight A's nowadays. The competition is rather stiff, especially if you're an average scorer like me. The thread is right here, bro! http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1700006&hl= You're welcome. |
Mar 3 2011, 12:43 AM
QUOTE(LZ Zach @ Mar 3 2011, 12:24 AM) Wow, I suppose USA is really as huge like a continent the way you exaggerated it Yeah! I mean, look at the size of each STATE alone. Most are bigger than Peninsula Malaysia.. we're only as big as what, the Florida peninsula? So how are you going to spend your days there? Dormitory? It is included in the package right? Indeed, I'll be staying at a dormitory (there are several to choose from, there are coed, boys only, girls only, over 21 only) which they provide shuttle buses to and from the campus (or you can take the public transport if you want). A meal plan is provided, we can choose whichever that is most flexible for us. Well, that 36,000 USD is all-in. Tuition, lodging, meal-plan, and also estimated personal expense. The housing cost actually varies, depending on your taste. You wanna share the room with another guy or you'd rather be alone? No bathroom? Half bath? Full bath? The full price list can be found here http://www.academyart.edu/campushousing/costs.html . They also have a housing page specifically for freshmen like me. You can also take a virtual tour of the rooms in different dorms, if you wanna get a 'feel' of it. |
Mar 4 2011, 01:13 AM
QUOTE(LZ Zach @ Mar 3 2011, 08:29 PM) Man, I think I really need to think about where I gotta stay if I were to study there It doesn't really matter lah, unless you have relatives there and you wish to stay with them to cut costs! I have a friend who's going to Georgia Tech just because (apart from the fact that the courses that he is interested in are available there) he has an aunt who lives a few miles from the campus.. And, just wondering, was the TOEFL you took difficult? You have to sit for a short course before applying for the test itself right? I'm not sure wether I'll be able to travel out of state or return to Malaysia, that depends on wether I want to come back or wether my family will come to the States to visit me.. more like, visit the shopping malls here HAHAH. It's not exactly difficult.. although the way they present the test to you is somewhat foreign to us. Tonnect91 provided a good summary of TOEFL test (which is also how I see it), so read up on that one. No, you don't have to sit for the TOEFL preparatory course.. it costs money (not sure how much) and I believe you have a very high command of English, so you won't need it. You just need to familiarize yourself with the format of the test, that's all. QUOTE(tonnect91 @ Mar 3 2011, 09:32 PM) CS = Computer Science I second what tonnect91 said about TOEFL. I was rather nervous during the speaking part (I did not prepare for the TOEFL at all - totally forgot about it) and half of the time allocated for answering into the microphone were garbled sounds and "err.. ahh.. um..". Insights? What I feel about TOEFL is it really tests your confidence rather than your English, although you must have a strong foundation in English ie. your vocabulary must be good (though its standard is way lower than that of SAT). Reading is easy, if you know your English. Listening is OK, just that you have to focus on the lecture/conversation for quite sometime (~5 min). For these 2 sections, one of them will have an extra section (not sure what they call it), that is, you'll have either more articles to read or more conversations to listen. For my case, I have to endure those [c]boring[/c] "interesting" talks for 9 times!!! (the duration of the listening topic gets longer and longer, the most is around 5 minutes) At first I tried to note down every single details I think is somewhat important, but I gradually got tired of it. So, instead of writing everything down, I just sat there and listen the talk as a whole. Guess what, it works! Speaking...try not to be nervous, and practice some critical thinking as you have little time to prepare for your speech. Writing. There will be two essays. The first one, you'll read a short article, then listen to a lecture, then write the essay. Normally the article and the lecture will have contradicting points ie. article says a=1, b=2, c=3, but the lecturer says the other way round. So, in your essay, you'll have to relate the points in the article and in the lecturer's speech. The second one will be of a random topic, so this is the time to show your writing skills For TOEFL test centers, you can refer to TOEFL HomePage to check whether the center is available on the test date. I took the test in Subang Jaya near INTI College. Nevertheless, I did manage to squeeze in the points when I DID speak some sense.. I got 100 for my TOEFL score. |
Mar 4 2011, 09:53 PM
QUOTE(LZ Zach @ Mar 4 2011, 04:25 PM) Is the whole test itself long? Like continuous or does it stop at intervals for you to prepare/rest? The whole test is about 4 hours long! The time allocated is 9:00am-1:30pm for me, but I left at about 12:45pm. There is a 10-minute break somewhere in the middle of the test, you can go take a piss or quickly go buy water or something before returning. Oh I see, thanks. ' Wow, 100 out of 120, congrats I can't say for sure if my english is really good, but I love english anyways. I also did a registration on their web a few days ago, and I thought I would receive newsletter to my mail, and I unexpectedly received it by mail today?! It's a catalog it seems?! Yeah I do, but I'm not really confident in it if you say it's a test. Thanks! Well.. judging from your posts here, your English should be just as good as mine hahah.. so no worries! Are you talking about AAU? If so, yes, they do ship out a THICK catalog to you. It's very informative and nice to read. I ended up reading the book cover-to-cover although I really needed to read only the Game Design section LOL! If you're talking about TOEFL.. no, they don't ship out anything AFAIK.. I didn't receive anything at all. |
Mar 5 2011, 11:37 PM
QUOTE(LZ Zach @ Mar 5 2011, 02:40 PM) Ah, thanks for sharing your experience, I guess I shouldn't worry too much about the test huh? You're welcome! When you sign up for TOEFL, you can choose several packages. You can choose to include the TOEFL Official Guide + Practice Tests eBook or you can have them shipped to your home (for a fee).. I bought the eBook, didn't read it though (only realized I have TOEFL the day before the test) so I just did a few sections of the practise test. I suggest you take this package and spend some time familiarizing yourself with the test format. Yeah, it's really thick, unlike the brochures I got from TOA. I'm still trying to find a college that suits to my needs in animation, so the curriculum really matters to me most Yeah.. it's a book, not even a brochure LOL! The curricula is broken down in the catalog. Spend some time reading it! |
Mar 8 2011, 09:40 PM
QUOTE(LZ Zach @ Mar 6 2011, 11:53 AM) Can you actually get those packages without signing up for TOEFL? Sorry for the late reply, Zach (may I call you that?). Was busy in the past couple of days. And, all these times, I was baffled by why TOEFL and not IELTS? Aren't they almost the same, with equal purposes to measure your grasp of english? Well, I'm sure you can (tell me what you COULDN'T get over the internet hahah..). But the way the TOEFL eBook is given to you is pretty weird and pirate-proof. It's sent in the form of an .exe file, which is a downloader. You start the program and authenticate it. Then, it'll start contacting the TOEFL servers to download the eBook. The eBook isn't in a .pdf format, it's started by a program. To be honest, I have no idea. But it seems most of them want TOEFL, so what the heck. My friend told me that he has to take IELTS as he's going to Australia after completing his AUSMAT here in KBU International College. I'm not entirely sure about this, but I'll just assume that TOEFL is generally for those going to the States. |
Mar 8 2011, 10:53 PM
QUOTE(Hikari0307 @ Mar 8 2011, 09:46 PM) Weird that you friend has to take IELTS or rather he just took in case? Actually, I have no idea! He did not clarify his situation to me, but as determined from his text messages it sounds more like it's a requirement for the Australia-bound AUSMAT students. I didn't ask further.Since if he did something like ESL during your 12 then one would not need IELTS and a lot of Unis in Aussie accept GCE-O 1119 in the place of IELTS or he didn't meet entry requirements using both or rather a lot of people just take it since everybody else also take =D What about you? I've seen you around the forums (since back in the SPM 2010 thread). What're you planning to do and where are you going to? |
Mar 10 2011, 05:55 PM
QUOTE(LZ Zach @ Mar 8 2011, 11:22 PM) Yup, Zach it is. True that. Good things don't come cheap. Take your time, you still have plenty of time to choose, decide and plan. Don't rush it. Nah, it's okay. I'm still in a midst of finding the right college, with too many choices and some tuition fees are ridiculously exorbitant! I guess that's the price for acquiring a high quality education... I think someone just told me about an ebook version of it, and yah, he even offer to send it to me Thanks for the reply btw Thanks for the info I don't think so it will breach anything hahah. Many eBooks are distributed freely over the internet. Yes, I do. The .exe is mine to keep forever. No problem. |
Mar 12 2011, 12:20 AM
QUOTE(LZ Zach @ Mar 11 2011, 11:39 PM) Do you mind if you share the e-book? Or would it be too much I'll upload it later, my Internet is really slow at the moment (Could an undersea cable possibly be affected by today's Japan earthquake? It happened when there was the Taiwan earthquake). To make matters worse, I'm downloading some torrents heheh. Downloading movies to watch with gf. And I was wondering, have you tried borrowing study loans? What are the requirements and criteria? I know this might sound stupid and maybe I've could done it myself, but I just wanna get inputs and experiences from you guys, so thanks for reading Anyway, I found some links on Google to get the eBook for free - I can't share it here though, it's against forum rules to share pirated stuff. It's okay, you can ask anything haha, I'm more than glad to share my experience as well as help others. |
Mar 12 2011, 02:21 AM
QUOTE(LZ Zach @ Mar 12 2011, 12:27 AM) Thanks for replying, it's enough than ever You're welcome. The other 'Studying in the US' threads were pretty much dead last year - I couldn't find many people who were the least helpful at all. I intend to keep this thread alive so that more people can come in and access as well as pool information. Have you considered borrowing loans? May I ask what are your source of study funds right now ? I did apply for financial aid, but they'll get back to the students later for this. The fundings for my education are from my parents. We had to sell off one of our old houses. |
Mar 13 2011, 01:09 AM
QUOTE(LZ Zach @ Mar 12 2011, 11:10 PM) I see, I really hope more people who studied or currently studying in US would be willing to share some insights here with us I know there's more people around LYN that are in the US! No idea why they're too shy to come in here and say hi. Wow, did the funds fully enough to satisfy of your tuition fees? Er.. from the house sale alone.. no. But that's why we have savings! QUOTE(chew1991 @ Mar 12 2011, 11:47 PM) om nom nom nom. I second that. Have YOU applied? I recommend all of you to apply for fall intake instead of spring intake due to simple reasons: easier to adapt, and fall intake is usually the bigger intake, thus higher chances of getting in. And always always try to apply before priority deadline. I wish all the transfer/freshman students the best in their applications |
Mar 13 2011, 04:27 PM
Mar 13 2011, 11:44 PM
QUOTE(chew1991 @ Mar 13 2011, 11:09 PM) Purdue. but i wanna confirm with them again. Wow, that's an excellent and reputable university you're going to! Both my cousins are at Ohio State. But Purdue would be much more prestigious and rewarding for you, no? got ohio state also but i prefer purdue hmm , im suppose to do aerospace engineering but unfortunately purdue closed the intake for that major so i applied for agro engineering. But they said i couldn't directly transfer into agro engineering but i can go into their "first year engineering" program and after this program, i can transfer my credits and get into my intended major. so rejoice How're you funding your studies there? This post has been edited by latias93: Mar 13 2011, 11:45 PM |
Mar 13 2011, 11:51 PM
QUOTE(chew1991 @ Mar 13 2011, 11:46 PM) parental funds. Same here. Yes, Purdue is definitely more prestigious university especially in the field of Engineering. Where are you heading to? Well they do have impressive facilities for the students. I saw pictures of their Engineering Mall in a magazine. That'll be my dream uni, if I ever had an interest in the field of engineering. I'm heading to Acacemy of Art University, San Francisco. Doing Game Design. |
Mar 29 2011, 06:50 PM
| Change to: | 0.0228sec