Feb 23 2011, 01:42 AM
176 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
waiting for the acceptance letter from 2 more Unis.
Feb 23 2011, 01:49 AM
I have one university that had accepted me. but i guess imma wait for the other 2 to respond to me
Feb 23 2011, 06:30 PM
QUOTE(thenemesis @ Feb 23 2011, 04:33 PM) Aerospace engineering . QUOTE(Irzani @ Feb 23 2011, 05:56 PM) I know I would never pursue my PhD in US due to financial constraint ... but can anyone give a rough idea how much is the living cost to live there? Let's put aside the tuition fees .. how much minimum per year do I need to live as a student? Well the cost of living depends on where you are.Example > 100 top universities such as : 1) Michigan State University 2) Texas A&M University 3) Stony Brook University 4) University of Florida Thanks * Yeah .. India the only cheaper choice I have now .. Say if you live in NY or massachusetts or even in chicago , the cost of living would be very high. maybe around 15-20k USD. but if you stay in the midwest countries like...iowa, minnesota or indiana , living cost would be cheaper. prob around 10k. |
Feb 28 2011, 02:08 PM
Theres no paper-based test for TOEFL in Malaysia if im nt mistaken. All are IBT and must be done in ELS centers. Or maybe its just a norm that people do it there.
@soitsuagain, I plan to venture into airplane field. maybe work for boeing/lockheed martin/FAA or anything related to airplanes as test engineers or model designers etc etc. If not, i might take up a maintenance license for aircrafts when I'm back in MY. if not , i can still work in companies that require mechanical engineers. Its almost the same field. |
Mar 1 2011, 02:59 AM
I highly doubt that it's 36000 for four years. It should be the annual fee including boarding ( excluding summer sem) and food.
Mar 1 2011, 07:33 PM
Thenemesis ,
you got one point wrong. EVEN with ADP, you STILL need TOEFLs to transfer. |
Mar 1 2011, 07:35 PM
QUOTE(soitsuagain @ Mar 1 2011, 05:04 PM) Ok, so you're more interested on the field of work not that field of study. But wow your work back home is damn boring lol and I bet you will be hitting your face in the wall if you do that. FYI, Boeing/Lockheed, etc employs as many ME, EE and Software Engineers as they employ Aerospace Engineers. Essentially aerospace engineering is one engineering discipline that is a foot wide and a mile deep unlike ME which is the complete opposite. Let's say by the time you graduate, green tech is all the rage in the US. You can't move into that industry as an aerospace engineer as easily as a mechanical engineer. Even though the foundation and fundamental is all they need as you will be working on computers (like wtf you do with learning hard partial differential equations anyway, laplace equations?? duh) but ME stills holds sway. Since what you do now is is mostly general education requirements and maybe statics No worries mate , i study because of interest and I'm aware of the future job path.But yeah , most of the universities who offer AE , would definitely have ME and EE on their list also, i might Minor in ME. |
Mar 1 2011, 07:53 PM
You can actually get your university placement counselors to chop and certify the documents for you too. So if you're studying adp out of your hometown, this would be the best alternative
Mar 1 2011, 08:29 PM
If you're studying. and if 4 years there = 40k USD x 4 x 3 = 480k ringgit. HAHAHAHA
Now THATs for the rich. |
Mar 1 2011, 08:35 PM
add one more , my type.
People who might not be smart but is passionate about something and is willing to invest a lot to pursue his dreams. Added on March 1, 2011, 8:35 pmhe meant for cost of living. not uni. lol This post has been edited by chew1991: Mar 1 2011, 08:35 PM |
Mar 2 2011, 08:46 AM
QUOTE(latias93 @ Mar 2 2011, 12:47 AM) Well I'm only saying that as most people take up 2+2, but thanks anyway. And I didn't know there is a 0.5 + 3.5 LOL.. 0.5 + 3.5 and 0+4 has no difference actually.You go under freshman requirements etc etc and i doubt more than 10 credit hours can be transfered. |
Mar 3 2011, 07:16 PM
Alaxa , no worries mate. Everyone tells me the same thing , thats why my options are quite open, if i happen to get a job in the AE field, then its a plus , if i dont get it, its alright , i can work in any other fields.
Mar 4 2011, 08:22 PM
more like " its an insult to someone's intelligence" lol
Mar 12 2011, 11:47 PM
om nom nom nom.
I recommend all of you to apply for fall intake instead of spring intake due to simple reasons: easier to adapt, and fall intake is usually the bigger intake, thus higher chances of getting in. And always always try to apply before priority deadline. I wish all the transfer/freshman students the best in their applications |
Mar 13 2011, 03:57 PM
Yeap , got accepted already.
Waiting to fly soon |
Mar 13 2011, 11:09 PM
Purdue. but i wanna confirm with them again.
got ohio state also but i prefer purdue hmm , im suppose to do aerospace engineering but unfortunately purdue closed the intake for that major so i applied for agro engineering. But they said i couldn't directly transfer into agro engineering but i can go into their "first year engineering" program and after this program, i can transfer my credits and get into my intended major. so rejoice This post has been edited by chew1991: Mar 13 2011, 11:11 PM |
Mar 13 2011, 11:46 PM
parental funds.
Yes, Purdue is definitely more prestigious university especially in the field of Engineering. Where are you heading to? |
Mar 29 2011, 07:48 PM
dah mati
@OMG! im not too sure bout overall US universities. but if you want individual statistics , you can go to the uni's website, go to enrollment/academic profile or sth like that to get the statistics This post has been edited by chew1991: Mar 29 2011, 07:48 PM |
Apr 2 2011, 10:45 AM
| Change to: | 0.0354sec