Studying in US V1

pokeat
post Dec 17 2011, 06:57 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(chew1991 @ Dec 16 2011, 06:37 AM)
Most of the universities do not require a secondary school letter from your teachers, im not sure about ivy leagues or the top schools, they probably need them.

SPM certificate, translate it and get it chopped by an official.

Personal statement and letter of recommendations are very helpful and i recommend you do it/get it. 3 recommendations should be fine.

Statement C : don't forget your financial statement that states that you are able to pay for 1 year's living and tuition. even if its not required for the uni, its required for the visa.

senseis who are in US, correct me if i'm wrong.
How can I explain to the official, if my high school dun issue this kinda letter ?

And, where to translate the spm cert cos I never do before, commissioner oath ?

I try to beg around, maybe i can get someone high post, definitely related with my undergrad couse ( his job ).

Statement C - my cousin, who just back from US, advice me to take local scholarship ( I don't have money, I will consider to take local loan) . Is that able to to prove I've ability to to stay in US for a year ?
GunBlaDeR
post Dec 18 2011, 05:42 AM

504 posts

QUOTE(pokeat @ Dec 17 2011, 06:57 PM)
How can I explain to the official, if my high school dun issue this kinda letter ?

I try to beg around, maybe i can get someone high post, definitely related with my undergrad couse ( his job ).
Statement C - my cousin, who just back from US, advice me to take local scholarship ( I don't have money, I will consider to take local loan) . Is that able to to prove I've ability to to stay in US for a year ?
1) Some US universities don't explicit say that they require High school recommendation letter. If they do, well you could do the recommendation letter yourself and ask a teacher or the principal it they can sign it and stamp the envelop. That's what I did when I applied.

2) You can translate the SPM cert yourself and then bring to school to stamp it for prove that it is a true translation

3) I am not sure about the financial loan. I think its ok....
pokeat
post Dec 28 2011, 03:12 AM

438 posts

Any SAT Jan 28th candidates ? Let's talk, my average score is about 1400, how can I improve ? All my math skills rust, I didn't study after almost a year sad.gif
TSthenemesis
post Jan 24 2012, 02:01 PM

342 posts

happy chinese new year guys!
GunBlaDeR
post Jan 28 2012, 05:33 PM

504 posts

QUOTE(pokeat @ Dec 28 2011, 03:12 AM)
Any SAT Jan 28th candidates ? Let's talk, my average score is about 1400, how can I improve ? All my math skills rust, I didn't study after almost a year sad.gif
Good luck thumbup.gif

QUOTE(thenemesis @ Jan 24 2012, 02:01 PM)
happy chinese new year guys!
Happy Chinese New Year!
rokai88
post Feb 19 2012, 09:24 PM

146 posts

bump for this thread. its been a while since this thread is active. i hope all of you guys are doing fine :-)
latias93
post Feb 29 2012, 02:15 AM

Peminat Setia Exists
1,270 posts

I'm doing fine, I wonder how the rest are doing?

Thread is dying! Are you guys too busy writing Yelp reviews until you've forgotten about Lowyat.Net? laugh.gif
spunkberry
post Feb 29 2012, 08:57 PM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

I resent that! I do NOT spend all my time writing Yelp reviews! tongue.gif
reconnaissance
post Mar 1 2012, 01:50 PM

Hero Prodigy
1,253 posts

QUOTE(pokeat @ Dec 17 2011, 06:57 PM)
Just for the convenience of future students who are required to translate certificates or result statements;
I believe the best verified translator would be the Malaysian Examinations Syndicate (Lembaga Peperiksaan Malaysia).

I'm not sure what certificates do they accept to translate but above all, I believe they would be able to translate the certificates they issued themselves. wink.gif
Excerpt on instruction is quoted below.

PANDUAN PERMOHONAN TERJEMAHAN SIJIL
1. Lembaga Peperiksaan menyediakan perkhidmatan terjemahan sijil atau pernyataan ke dalam Bahasa Inggeris.
2. Bagi permohonan terjemahan sijil atau pernyataan atau slip keputusan ( sekiranya sijil atau pernyataan belum dikeluarkan oleh LP ). Laporan polis atau surat sumpah tidak diperlukan.
3. Bayaran proses RM10.00 ( Ringgit Malaysia Sepuluh Sahaja ) dikenakan bagi setiap helaian terjemahan yang dipohon. Bayaran boleh dibuat menggunakan Wang Pos ( Postal Order ) atau Kiriman Wang ( Money Order) atas nama ‘PENGARAH PEPERIKSAAN’. Cek persendirian tidak diterima.

LAIN-LAIN
1. Semua permohonan, sama ada untuk mendapatkan salinan keputusan atau terjemahan hendaklah menggunakan borang yang dikeluarkan oleh Lembaga Peperiksaan, Kementerian Pelajaran Malaysia.
2. Borang permohonan boleh didapati daripada kaunter di aras bawah bangunan Lembaga Peperiksaan, Blok E11, Kompleks E Putrajaya, atau Jabatan Pelajaran Negeri ( Unit Penilaian Dan Peperiksaan ) atau di laman web LP.
3. Permohonan pernyata keputusan PMR bagi tahun 1998 ke atas dan permohonan salinan keputusan SPM bagi tahun 1994 ke atas boleh diperolehi dalam tempoh satu jam sekirannya pemohon datang sendiri ke Lembaga Peperiksaan.
4. Masa dua minggu diperlukan untuk memproses permohonan penyata keputusan PMR bagi tahun 1997 ke bawah dan permohonan salinan keputusan SPM bagi tahun 1993 ke bawah. Begitu juga bagi permohonan sijil SPMU atau SPM Kertas Julai.
5. Permohonan secara pos akan mengambil masa dua minggu untuk diproses (sekiranya maklumat lengkap). Masa dua minggu lagi diperlukan untuk proses pengeposan.
6. Kaunter permohonan dibuka setiap hari berkerja.

Isnin - Khamis :8.15 pagi - 4.30 ptg
Jumaat          :8.15 pagi - 12.30 t.hari
                    :2.45 ptg - 4.30 ptg

7. Permohonan melalui pos hendaklah dihantar ke alamat berikut :

LEMBAGA PEPERIKSAAN
KEMENTERIAN PELAJARAN MALAYSIA
BLOK E11, KOMPLEKS E,
PUSAT PENTADBIRAN KERAJAAN
PERSEKUTUAN, 62604 PUTRAJAYA
(U/P: UPMPD - UNIT KECIL SIJIL)
Tel: 03 - 88843526 / 3528

Nota*
1. Calon yang tidak pernah mengambil sijil asal tidak dibenarkan membuat permohonan salinan keputusan peperiksaan.
2. Lembaga Peperiksaan tidak menyimpan sijil asal calon. Sijil asal boleh diperoleh daripada sekolah di mana calon menduduki peperiksaan atau di Unit Penilaian dan Peperiksaan Jabatan Pelajaran Negeri.

#(http://www.moe.gov.my/lp/index.php?option=com_content&view=category&id=1:terjemahan-sijil&layout=blog&Itemid=35)
latias93
post Mar 7 2012, 10:34 PM

Peminat Setia Exists
1,270 posts

QUOTE(spunkberry @ Feb 29 2012, 04:57 AM)
I resent that! I do NOT spend all my time writing Yelp reviews! tongue.gif
LOL! I was just wondering, is there an American forum that is similar to LowYat.Net? It seems like every little thing has their own forum as opposed to LowYat.Net which has everything under its subforums, thus making it much more convenient.. I had to sign up to more than ten forums that cater to specific topics (e.g. BMW cars, paintball, frisbee..).
spunkberry
post Mar 8 2012, 09:21 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(latias93 @ Mar 7 2012, 10:34 PM)
LOL! I was just wondering, is there an American forum that is similar to LowYat.Net? It seems like every little thing has their own forum as opposed to LowYat.Net which has everything under its subforums, thus making it much more convenient.. I had to sign up to more than ten forums that cater to specific topics (e.g. BMW cars, paintball, frisbee..).
I don't think so sad.gif
MaggieMee
post Mar 8 2012, 04:02 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(spunkberry @ Mar 8 2012, 09:21 AM)
I don't think so sad.gif
Yes there is, it is called reddit

http://www.reddit.com/r/paintball/
http://www.reddit.com/r/cars/

This post has been edited by MaggieMee: Mar 8 2012, 04:04 PM
spunkberry
post Mar 8 2012, 09:54 PM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

I don't quite consider that a forum, especially since you would agree with me that reddit != lyn.
maybe to me, the difference is the level of intelligence.

This post has been edited by spunkberry: Mar 12 2012, 07:25 AM
GunBlaDeR
post Mar 18 2012, 05:40 PM

504 posts

www.neowin.net

To me, its pretty similar to LYN smile.gif
iceypain
post Mar 22 2012, 02:24 PM

503 posts

forums.somethingawful.com
chew1991
post Mar 30 2012, 09:04 AM

176 posts

If anyone is planning to transfer to US to a decently good school. Just do a 1+3. no point doing a 2+2. Thats my advice. smile.gif
magicfinger
post Mar 30 2012, 09:33 AM

21 posts

hi there going to graduate soon in mechanical engineering and would like to do master in mechanical engineering in US...cgpa lower that 3.0 do you think i would have difficulty in getting admission or it doesnt really matter?
spunkberry
post Mar 31 2012, 12:38 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(magicfinger @ Mar 30 2012, 09:33 AM)
hi there going to graduate soon in mechanical engineering and would like to do master in mechanical engineering in US...cgpa lower that 3.0 do you think i would have difficulty in getting admission or it doesnt really matter?
you might have some difficulty. ME is a relatively popular major. I know at my alma mater, the required GPA to enter ME is higher than all the other engineering disciplines.
magicfinger
post Apr 2 2012, 02:40 AM

21 posts

hi spunkberry. may I know if ur answer is based on experience or just general assumption? thanks
iceypain
post Apr 2 2012, 07:45 AM

503 posts

QUOTE(magicfinger @ Apr 2 2012, 02:40 AM)
hi spunkberry. may I know if ur answer is based on experience or just general assumption? thanks
no respectable graduate program here will admit a 3.0 GPA unless you have something else that is amazing (work experience etc.) and even then it's a stretch. if you're aiming for a third-rate program then you're better off saving the money and going to a local school. truth hurts but you should still try if that's what you really want.

This post has been edited by iceypain: Apr 2 2012, 07:47 AM

33 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0317sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:13 PM