124 Pages « < 88 89 90 91 92 > » Bottom

Financial Are property prices going to drop? V2, The heated debate continues

CKHong
post May 23 2011, 10:54 AM

1,380 posts

I've heard from a banker that he heard there's some news that BLR will become 8.0 within this year T_T
ahhh... sakit.. i need to fork out more 300++ per month... sien zo
PeterChai288
post May 23 2011, 11:32 AM

310 posts

If the blr bcome 8,then many buyer will dying exhausted.tat time we will turn back 50years. Lifestyle.dun use light.use candle...hehe.
CKHong
post May 23 2011, 11:57 AM

1,380 posts

i hope it dun exceed 7 :'(
yeah.. those who sapu alot one.. sure cham..
sampool
post May 23 2011, 12:10 PM

2,294 posts

higheest as possible...

This post has been edited by sampool: May 23 2011, 12:18 PM
lch78
post May 23 2011, 12:57 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

Some interesting articles from thestar today:

http://www.starproperty.my/PropertyGuide/Finance/12111/0/0

bluuberry
post May 23 2011, 12:59 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(CKHong @ May 23 2011, 10:54 AM)
I've heard from a banker that he heard there's some news that BLR will become 8.0 within this year  T_T
yes it is true,
might be 7.8%

within 2-3 months, BLR is going to increase again
double7
post May 23 2011, 01:08 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(sampool @ May 23 2011, 12:10 PM)
higheest as possible...
yup.. more please.. let's kill off the flippers..
CKHong
post May 23 2011, 01:17 PM

1,380 posts

QUOTE(double7 @ May 23 2011, 01:08 PM)
yup.. more please.. let's kill off the flippers..
haha.. u have the same prayer as me when i havent buy props..
but still i hate flippers.. if not my props now won't be so expensive..
lch78
post May 23 2011, 01:30 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

If BNM increase OPR too drastic, the downside effect won't be limited to property only. It might affect the overall economy. And since the latest economic data is below expectations, I wonder the government still wants to boost economic activity to achieve the targeted 6% growth or tackle rising inflation. Tough choices...
sampool
post May 23 2011, 02:03 PM

2,294 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ May 23 2011, 02:30 PM)
If BNM increase OPR too drastic, the downside effect won't be limited to property only. It might affect the overall economy. And since the latest economic data is below expectations, I wonder the government still wants to boost economic activity to achieve the targeted 6% growth or tackle rising inflation. Tough choices...
this decision issue is global... included USA too need to decide, but both choice will be come to same result at the end... Q of sooner or later only.
cherroy
post May 23 2011, 03:38 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(PeterChai288 @ May 23 2011, 11:32 AM)
If the blr bcome 8,then many buyer will dying exhausted.tat time we will turn back 50years. Lifestyle.dun use light.use candle...hehe.
Even if BLR does rise to 8, you just see slowdown in transaction, and economy acitivities, for sure it is not end of world.

QUOTE(CKHong @ May 23 2011, 11:57 AM)
i hope it dun exceed 7  :'(
yeah.. those who sapu alot one.. sure cham..
This years, the highest most predicted, is around 7%, aka BNM, the most will raise 2 times, aka 0.5%. There is high possibility BNM will only have another 0.25% on OPR, then pause to see the effect before deciding next course of action.

As economy has shown sign of weakness.
The raise on rate, is mainly inflation is running too hot and also BNM want to control the household debts which is rising too quickly and start to concern the health of household debt.
lch78
post May 23 2011, 03:52 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(sampool @ May 23 2011, 03:03 PM)
this decision issue is global... included USA too need to decide, but both choice will be come to same result at the end... Q of sooner or later only.
But USA situation is different from us. In fact, USA is exporting the inflation, we are importing it. There is another option to combat this importation of inflation, that is by increasing the value of our currency.

So this has become a catch22 situation for government, increase interest rate, property loan default risk goes up, stock market crash, property market might crash and eventually whole economy also crash. Cheap sale everywhere, good for those with lots of cash in hand.

Increase RM value, people feels happy at first, then manufacturers die, people lose jobs, government tax income down, economy also comes down. Unless we move up the value chain faster to cater for higher RM value. rclxub.gif
sampool
post May 23 2011, 04:15 PM

2,294 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ May 23 2011, 04:52 PM)
But USA situation is different from us. In fact, USA is exporting the inflation, we are importing it. There is another option to combat this importation of inflation, that is by increasing the value of our currency.

So this has become a catch22 situation for government, increase interest rate, property loan default risk goes up, stock market crash, property market might crash and eventually whole economy also crash. Cheap sale everywhere, good for those with lots of cash in hand.

Increase RM value, people feels happy at first, then manufacturers die, people lose jobs, government tax income down, economy also comes down. Unless we move up the value chain faster to cater for higher RM value.  rclxub.gif
be well prepared b4 rain...

This post has been edited by sampool: May 23 2011, 04:16 PM
lch78
post May 23 2011, 04:53 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

I am expecting this "moderation in house prices". Don't know how to describe it then until read up this article in theedge.

S&P: Asia-Pacific banks well placed to withstand any moderation in house prices

http://www.theedgemalaysia.com/index.php?o...186969&Itemid=2

sampool
post May 23 2011, 05:06 PM

2,294 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ May 23 2011, 05:53 PM)
I am expecting this "moderation in house prices". Don't know how to describe it then until read up this article in theedge.

S&P: Asia-Pacific banks well placed to withstand any moderation in house prices

http://www.theedgemalaysia.com/index.php?o...186969&Itemid=2

the statement is contradict.. U trusted this guy said?

"We expect that the region's stable economic outlook and rising household income--factors that have influenced average house prices to date--can sustain the market," S&P credit analyst Naoko Nemoto said.

"We believe that in the event of a downturn, most rated banks around the region have the capacity to absorb potential credit losses with limited impact on overall credit quality."

My is lack of expect/guru (many are goreng kaki too) which is far-signted and foresee the economic down turn.. in USA many economic expect/guru which already foresee wat is happen few years b4 any down-turn, they earn the $$ from economic cycle (it is different from goreng), ppl like rich dad type is needed in malaysia... but so far none.

This post has been edited by sampool: May 23 2011, 05:21 PM
Iceman74
post May 23 2011, 05:32 PM

1,407 posts

dunno about others but my guts feeling there are something bad bound to happen after GE.

Singapore & Thailand already started/start election, Malaysia going to happen soon, G's are hiding something from respective citizens.

Those tax seminar attended already point toward reintroduced back RPGT. Malaysia G decreasing subsidies as time goes by.

For me, if property prices does goes up, then i mah abandon upgrade my crib house dream next year & settled ASAP on my existing loans.
chabalang
post May 23 2011, 08:45 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(CKHong @ May 23 2011, 10:54 AM)
I've heard from a banker that he heard there's some news that BLR will become 8.0 within this year   T_T
I am not trying to run down your "banker" source. For BLR to reach 8%, OPR need to go up at least another 125bps (residual increase effect from SRR increase). From my limited knowledge and understanding on how BNM works, I can conservatively say that Dr. Zeti is unlikely to increase OPR by more than 50 bps for the rest of 2011 (i.e. the likely maximum BLR will hit in 2011 is around 7.1-7.2%). There are three more MPC meetings in 2011 (in July, Sep and Nov) http://www.bnm.gov.my/microsites/monetary/03_schedule.htm

So, don't worry too much...Be prepared is good but BLR going to 8% in 2011 is Highly unlikely.

This post has been edited by chabalang: May 23 2011, 08:49 PM
novabankinghall
post May 23 2011, 09:41 PM

179 posts

high unlikely Blr to reach 8pct by end of the year. average hike per meeting is 25 bps. if hike too fast will absorb too much liquidity from market. not just property, business, house hold spending, bonds , share market all will go head wire.
kh8668
post May 23 2011, 10:06 PM

Mamma Mia!
5,488 posts

new update as at Q1 2011

CKHong
post May 23 2011, 10:26 PM

1,380 posts

QUOTE(chabalang @ May 23 2011, 08:45 PM)
I am not trying to run down your "banker" source. For BLR to reach 8%, OPR need to go up at least another 125bps (residual increase effect from SRR increase). From my limited knowledge and understanding on how BNM works, I can conservatively say that Dr. Zeti is unlikely to increase OPR by more than 50 bps for the rest of 2011 (i.e. the likely maximum BLR will hit in 2011 is around 7.1-7.2%). There are three more MPC meetings in 2011 (in July, Sep and Nov) http://www.bnm.gov.my/microsites/monetary/03_schedule.htm

So, don't worry too much...Be prepared is good but BLR going to 8% in 2011 is Highly unlikely.
hmm... veli deep OPR lol.. but .. anyway.. i hope it wont go for 8% ~ else my gf kenot travel liao LOL

124 Pages « < 88 89 90 91 92 > » Top

0.0324sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 08:40 PM