Financial Are property prices going to drop? V2, The heated debate continues

TheDoer
post Feb 24 2011, 10:00 AM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Feb 23 2011, 03:52 PM)

oh how true indeed. You took the words out of my mouth.

This post has been edited by TheDoer: Feb 24 2011, 10:01 AM
CKHong
post Feb 24 2011, 10:20 AM

1,380 posts

QUOTE(whiterival @ Feb 23 2011, 10:51 PM)
I heard that property in the range of 500k-800k will continue to march on and if the BUBLE breaks, it wouldn't be affected that much... coz many stil can afford it... unlike the higher ends one (800k and above)...
wa bro.. u're good eh.. 500k-800k can afford
haih.. my maximum is 350k.. very hard for me to fork out more than 1.8k a month..
unless i hide in my room and dun go anywhere.. :'(
i'm lucky using my parent's car.. if i need to get a new car and do installment.. then i can change from getting a condo to get a flat liao sad.gif
i agreed with whycare stating that most of malaysian are just earning 3k~4k..

Added on February 24, 2011, 10:25 am
QUOTE(whycare @ Feb 24 2011, 08:46 AM)
According to contractors, developers, agents, worldwide raw material price such as concrete, steel, materials, labour are all going up. There's not going to drop anytime soon.

New launches are not going to be cheap anymore like 2-3 years ago.
dun believe in raw material too much..
same house.. same material.. u can compare between house in melaka and pj.. it differ alot ! smile.gif
i know that the tanah is more expensive.. but then wont be that expensive until.. house in melaka 200~300k and hosue in pj 500k~600k
or maybe the tanah in pj is reli that expensive.. then.. my statement kenot use edi.. but they all kept saying raw material increase..
does it reli increase that much ??

Added on February 24, 2011, 10:27 am
QUOTE(sampool @ Feb 24 2011, 09:18 AM)
as i said earlier, whose by in current is who going to marrige soon and these ppl is force to buy, seem no many choice... but, they will getting into financial trouble, by too many expenses,, furniture, marrige expenses, insurance, car loan, petrol, food..., if got children, then again repeat insurance, food, education,..... blah blah......

failure in stock market investment may take 2-5 years to recover, but failure in prop investment/or own-stay will take life-time to pay back.   ohmy.gif
agreed biggrin.gif buy wrong properties.. till ownself kenot pay back.. it will make u to become a slave for bank whole life tongue.gif

QUOTE(GlobalKL @ Feb 24 2011, 06:46 AM)
so if you plan to buy good subsales property, then act fast before grasp by others.
visitor sure increase.. even most of the time I check on the properties of subsale.. but can oni see.. kenot buy..
is it reli that much people buying ? hehe.. any statistic that purchasing going for the last 3 months ? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by CKHong: Feb 24 2011, 10:34 AM
chubbyken
post Feb 24 2011, 10:44 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(CKHong @ Feb 24 2011, 10:20 AM)
wa bro.. u're good eh.. 500k-800k can afford
haih.. my maximum is 350k..  very hard for me to fork out more than 1.8k a month..
unless i hide in my room and dun go anywhere..  :'(
i'm lucky using my parent's car.. if i need to get a new car and do installment..  then i can change from getting a condo to get a flat liao  sad.gif
i agreed with whycare stating that most of malaysian are just earning 3k~4k..
i also "change my life style"
last time i pick 3 difference dishes when eat mix rice
now i pick maximum 2

last time i got drink leong cha or milo during lunch
now i order plain water, or sometime no order at all
last time i go movies maybe twice a month
now i watch movies copy from my friend

life is still err "happy"
but still very hard to but property
maybe i shud consider et my 2nd part time also...
sampool
post Feb 24 2011, 10:48 AM

2,294 posts

QUOTE(chubbyken @ Feb 24 2011, 11:44 AM)
i also "change my life style"
last time i pick 3 difference dishes when eat mix rice
now i pick maximum 2

last time i got drink leong cha or milo during lunch
now i order plain water, or sometime no order at all
last time i go movies maybe twice a month
now i watch movies copy from my friend

life is still err "happy"
but still very hard to but property
maybe i shud consider et my 2nd part time also...
so save notworthy.gif good good... dun be over spend, like buying prop.... rclxms.gif

who know one day can earn a Altis for FREE... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by sampool: Feb 24 2011, 10:52 AM
jusco1
post Feb 24 2011, 10:59 AM

618 posts

hahaha.. i like the altis story.
but in order to wait till price drop and get a free altis, u still have to either stay with ur parents or rent a room or hse. cost will still incure, excepts parents hse la.
but what if young couple who just married. they want to have their own life and hse...
like me.. so no choice, still need to but and forgo altis. hehehe

buying a hse is the most expensive thing that most of us can buy...
so choose the right hse, with right location and price...
AVFAN
post Feb 24 2011, 11:15 AM

24,463 posts

QUOTE(whiterival @ Feb 23 2011, 10:51 PM)
I heard that property in the range of 500k-800k will continue to march on and if the BUBLE breaks, it wouldn't be affected that much... coz many stil can afford it... unlike the higher ends one (800k and above)...
this is actuali not a wrong statement. not because people like to pay higher now for same house.
but becos a 300k home is now 500k, 500k becomes 800k.
unless one is ready to downgrade, accept has to live in smaller less nice house, one will try very hard to find the $.
what may happen is this:
- fully dig up epf and other savings
- borrow more
- borrow longer period
- get help from parents
- buy with 2 incomes, i.e. working spouse or fiancee
of course there is a limit to it, which also explains the part where >1mil homes should see less buyers now

jusco1
post Feb 24 2011, 11:17 AM

618 posts

no matter what price range also, the bubble break will not affect much.
for eg, if the owner are able to pay for the loan, he wont sell the hse.... it is only when those investor are not able to sustain the loan, then they will wish to sell even at a lower price...
CKHong
post Feb 24 2011, 11:17 AM

1,380 posts

QUOTE(jusco1 @ Feb 24 2011, 10:59 AM)
hahaha.. i like the altis story.
but in order to wait till price drop and get a free altis, u still have to either stay with ur parents or rent a room or hse. cost will still incure, excepts parents hse la.
but what if young couple who just married. they want to have their own life and hse...
like me.. so no choice, still need to but and forgo altis. hehehe

buying a hse is the most expensive thing that most of us can buy...
so choose the right hse, with right location and price...
for me.. renting is still better and affordable..
350k house pay 10%, bank loan = 320k .. BLR 6.3-2.4(so far i checked someone said can get 2.4) = 3.9%
320k * 3.9% = 12480 > bank charge u
12480/12 = 1040
i rent room 400++ like tat nie..
so still better than get a house now..
jusco1
post Feb 24 2011, 11:19 AM

618 posts

it is always cheaper to rent than buy.
but for how long u wish to rent?
5 yrs, 10 yrs.. or till retire...
u still need a home of ur own....

right?
u can get a hse of RM150k.. cheaper condo...
paying only RM800... double ur rent.. but is ur hse in 20 or 30 yrs.
and u can get capital appreciation.
CKHong
post Feb 24 2011, 11:27 AM

1,380 posts

QUOTE(jusco1 @ Feb 24 2011, 11:19 AM)
it is always cheaper to rent than buy.
but for how long u wish to rent?
5 yrs, 10 yrs.. or till retire...
u still need a home of ur own....

right?
u can get a hse of RM150k.. cheaper condo...
paying only RM800... double ur rent.. but is ur hse in 20 or 30 yrs.
and u can get capital appreciation.
haha.. wont be renting the whole life
but at least wait till my salary can support a house first
thats why now working hard lur..
duwan make myself bankrupt by too rush getting a house with such a high price now..
wait for bubble ma now.. cus the place i aim is now 400k++
if bubble not coming and the price is too high.. then i lower my expectation lo.. go for cheaper condo/flat where i can afford

This post has been edited by CKHong: Feb 24 2011, 11:31 AM
godutch
post Feb 24 2011, 11:31 AM

171 posts

hit an all-time high in traffic with over 750,000 property hunters visiting its property website last month.

Not too sure how they came out with the number? counting hits? if yes i think i contributed many many hits to the website, check out properties at different price range, different location everyday at least 2 times. If a search is counted as 1 hit, or if from one page to another also counted, than definetely >100 hits a day by me alone smile.gif

no choice, monitor prices so must work hard smile.gif

This post has been edited by godutch: Feb 24 2011, 11:33 AM
CKHong
post Feb 24 2011, 11:35 AM

1,380 posts

hahaha.. tats why we need the number where successfull buy off properties instead of visiting number to the site..
whole village also visit the site la.. monitoring got bubble o not mah ! hahaha..
some place i saw the price higher.. some place cheaper ~
so also hard to see whether bubble already o not..
property101
post Feb 24 2011, 11:42 AM

1,830 posts

QUOTE(godutch @ Feb 24 2011, 11:31 AM)
hit an all-time high in traffic with over 750,000 property hunters visiting its property website last month.

Not too sure how they came out with the number? counting hits? if yes i think i contributed many many hits to the website, check out properties at different price range, different location everyday at least 2 times. If a search is counted as 1 hit, or if from one page to another also counted, than definetely >100 hits a day by me alone smile.gif

no choice, monitor prices so must work hard smile.gif
today's technology is definitely smarter than counting hits. one of the products i've seen actually hook and collect data at the ISP level to get the user details. but only really big guys in the industry can afford this solution to get the statistic. not for layman like us tongue.gif
godutch
post Feb 24 2011, 11:42 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 24 2011, 11:15 AM)
this is actuali not a wrong statement. not because people like to pay higher now for same house.
but becos a 300k home is now 500k, 500k becomes 800k.
unless one is ready to downgrade, accept has to live in smaller less nice house, one will try very hard to find the $.
what may happen is this:
- fully dig up epf and other savings
- borrow more
- borrow longer period
- get help from parents
- buy with 2 incomes, i.e. working spouse or fiancee
of course there is a limit to it, which also explains the part where >1mil homes should see less buyers now
Agree!!!

too many average people jumped into the game over the past two years and i suspect not many have holding power smile.gif that's why have been avoiding overpriced properties although some i really like.

but i think for any category (be it 350K-500K or 500-800K) there would be people with and without holding power. For example a condo (not very prime location but interested to buy coz nearer to my family) asking for (RM425K) about 80K higher than bank value.

When i went to view that condo in Oct 2010, agent said best best best also can get RM420K only, and it was tenanted until last month (jan 2010). I just gave up and then what happened, last 2 weeks i saw asking for RM400K already, but am still waiting. I think the seller starts to feel the pain of having no rental income to help him pay the bank\maintenance fees etc, now everything comes out from his pocket. with Oil prices now what USD95??? petrol will be increase again for sure sad.gif

I think many others are cought in the same situation as well (difficutl to get good rentals (if any).

But again, those who are in the "same boat" with me (genuine buyer looking for our home sweet home), i believe we will be able to get a desirable place at reasonable price thumbup.gif , just continue do to our search la smile.gif

This post has been edited by godutch: Feb 24 2011, 11:48 AM
CKHong
post Feb 24 2011, 11:48 AM

1,380 posts

QUOTE(godutch @ Feb 24 2011, 11:42 AM)
Agree!!!

too many average people jumped into the game over the past two years and i suspect not many have holding power smile.gif that's why have been avoiding overpriced properties although some i really like.

but i think for any category (be it 350K-500K or 500-800K) there would be people with and without holding power. For example a condo (not very prime location but interested to buy coz nearer to my family) asking for (RM425K) about 80K higher than bank value.

When i went to view that condo in Oct 2010, agent said best best best also can get RM420K only, and it was tenanted until last month (jan 2010). I just gave up and then what happened, last 2 weeks i saw asking for RM400K already, but am still waiting. I think the seller starts to feel the pain of having no rental income to help him pay the bank\maintenance fees etc, now everything comes out from his pocket. with Oil prices now what USD95??? petrol will be increase again for sure  sad.gif

I think many others are cought in the same situation as well (difficutl to get good rentals (if any).

But again, those who are also in the "same boat", i believe we will be able to get a desirable place at reasonable price  thumbup.gif , just continue do to our search la smile.gif
glad to hear that..
the place i'm aiming.. if can get 350k or around there.. i will hop in liao ! go go bubble !
TheDoer
post Feb 24 2011, 11:51 AM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(CKHong @ Feb 24 2011, 10:20 AM)
dun believe in raw material too much..
same house.. same material.. u can compare between house in melaka and pj.. it differ alot ! smile.gif
i know that the tanah is more expensive.. but then wont be that expensive until.. house in melaka 200~300k  and hosue in pj 500k~600k
or maybe the tanah in pj is reli that expensive.. then.. my statement kenot use edi.. but they all kept saying raw material increase..
does it reli increase that much ??
yeah, I agree with you, it's like sugar went up 10 sens, and mamak increases their teh tarik by 10 sens.

Anyway, it wasn't the material that people were interested in, it was the deed all the while. Even if it is an abandon property where the house has deteriorated the price is still high.

Speculators should just speculate on deeds of land that may or may not exist. it works the same way, without wasting materials.

By the way, I'm actually complaining about the malaccan market here. The prices are rising too.

In Melaka, only if you work in an established international company can a the common exec get >3K.

The rest are struggling with >2K. (3K if you've reached assistant manager, or supervisory level)

And if you're fresh, do expect less than 2K.

Houses constructed are now aimed at medium high, costing >RM2.5, and after release and sold out going to 300K~400K. For someone who needs to think longer to purchase a house that you'll be paying back a lifetime, I'm sorry but you'll have to buy them off indiscriminate speculators.

You're right, it all has to do with the land and not the material costs.
godutch
post Feb 24 2011, 11:56 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(TheDoer @ Feb 24 2011, 11:51 AM)
yeah, I agree with you, it's like sugar went up 10 sens, and mamak increases their teh tarik by 10 sens.

Anyway, it wasn't the material that people were interested in, it was the deed all the while.  Even if it is an abandon property where the house has deteriorated the price is still high.

Speculators should just speculate on deeds of land that may or may not exist. it works the same way, without wasting materials.

By the way, I'm actually complaining about the malaccan market here. The prices are rising too. 

In Melaka, only if you work in an established international company can a the common exec get >3K.

The rest are struggling with >2K.  (3K if you've reached assistant manager, or supervisory level)

And if you're fresh, do expect less than 2K.

Houses constructed are now aimed at medium high, costing >RM2.5, and after release and sold out going to 300K~400K. For someone who needs to think longer to purchase a house that you'll be paying back a lifetime, I'm sorry but you'll have to buy them off indiscriminate speculators.

You're right, it all has to do with the land and not the material costs.
Agreed, don't believe too much in rising material cost etc, just excuses used by developers to jack up prices. look at the inventory levels of steel companies, piling up due to lack of demand smile.gif ... the developers (especially the big ones) definitely got an upper hand hmm.gif

but in the end, if the seller got holding power and die die also wanna sell at ridiculously high price, just let go and look for other properties biggrin.gif if most of the buyers are rationale then sellers will have no choice but forced to be more reasonable also smile.gif

This post has been edited by godutch: Feb 24 2011, 11:57 AM
jusco1
post Feb 24 2011, 12:01 PM

618 posts

hhmm.. price will goes up.
income will remain...

there are ppl buying for own stay..
while others are trying to gain profit from it.

so choose ur hse as it is one of ur investment tool.
as no point getting a hse u like but price keep dropping every year...
TheDoer
post Feb 24 2011, 12:01 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(godutch @ Feb 24 2011, 11:42 AM)
But again, those who are in the "same boat" with me (genuine buyer looking for our home sweet home), i believe we will be able to get a desirable place at reasonable price  thumbup.gif , just continue do to our search la smile.gif
I'm with you on that... jia yo everybody.
CKHong
post Feb 24 2011, 12:02 PM

1,380 posts

hehe.. the power of consumer ~ biggrin.gif
its like
bank eat speculator..
speculator eat consumer..
see who can tahan longer..
if speculator won..
then bank eat consumer tongue.gif
wa wa got a good news.. the 2nd favorite of mine..
always see also 380k and above...
now i saw got one at iproperty 330k.. with same square feet ! [maybe condition rosak here and there.. who knows? ]
but there's still around 8 properties is 380k ! good news heh !

This post has been edited by CKHong: Feb 24 2011, 12:04 PM

124 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0265sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:29 PM