Tiles, Cost and Installation
gibsonforever
Aug 15 2015, 11:55 PM

QUOTE(zenix @ Aug 13 2015, 09:50 AM) you're being taken for a ride. you can look around for any tile warehouse having sale and buy from them. they will hook you up with their contractors. Thanks for the tips. So no luck in finding a good contractor though.
tmc
Aug 16 2015, 11:02 AM
May I know RM 20 ringgit for a 2x2 tile, what kind of quality can get ?
zenix
Aug 17 2015, 08:53 AM
QUOTE(gibsonforever @ Aug 15 2015, 11:55 PM) Thanks for the tips. So no luck in finding a good contractor though. if u rush it u gotta pay it. that's why it is best to shop around.
Eng_Tat
Aug 17 2015, 10:50 PM
since you are in jb, you can try BMS at permas or the one near jpj, actually you can buy the tiles your self and just engage the contractor for their labor. they also can reckon you the contractors too. QUOTE(gibsonforever @ Aug 15 2015, 11:55 PM) Thanks for the tips. So no luck in finding a good contractor though.
gibsonforever
Aug 17 2015, 10:56 PM

QUOTE(Eng_Tat @ Aug 17 2015, 10:50 PM) since you are in jb, you can try BMS at permas or the one near jpj, actually you can buy the tiles your self and just engage the contractor for their labor. they also can reckon you the contractors too.
rupart
Aug 19 2015, 10:45 PM
guys....gn to do tile work on 630sft area
1) pls recommend reasonable places to get 2x2 tiles and vinyl tiles
2) This is the quote to for removal "hack out old floor parquet complete with labor work for tiling + material+disposal" 4.9k for 630sqft....is this price ok?
TQ
rupart
Aug 20 2015, 07:22 AM
QUOTE(tmc @ Aug 16 2015, 11:02 AM) May I know RM 20 ringgit for a 2x2 tile, what kind of quality can get ? What Grade? Grade Grade is the numerical ranking that reflects tile quality. Grade 1: Highest quality. Recommended for walls or floors.(ie High traffic areas hall/main door entrance/bedroom) Grade 2: Similar to Grade 1, but with slight imperfections. Recommended for walls or floors. (ie Less Traffic areas ie bathroom/kitchen) Grade 3: Lowest quality. Thinner tile designed for walls, not floors. Floor tiles are allowed on walls. Grade 3 tiles are not allowed on floors. This post has been edited by rupart: Aug 20 2015, 07:23 AM
Pooh-Pooh
Aug 20 2015, 08:37 AM
Hi, has anyone installed 3x3 tiles in their living room? Any issues? Friends been telling me that the technology is still not there yet - the risk of tiles breaking, so it's safer to stick to 2x2.
Has anyone used Bellezza tiles from Apex before? I saw a 3x3 design which i really like, manufactured from China. It's RM89 per piece. Please share your thoughts and experience if you have. Thanks!
zenix
Aug 20 2015, 01:33 PM
if you have a large open space, larger tiles are better looking
sonerin
Aug 20 2015, 01:47 PM
QUOTE(tmc @ Aug 16 2015, 11:02 AM) May I know RM 20 ringgit for a 2x2 tile, what kind of quality can get ? You can try to check out Niro. I might be wrong already, it had been quite some time.
SUSsupersound
Aug 20 2015, 01:57 PM
QUOTE(Pooh-Pooh @ Aug 20 2015, 08:37 AM) Hi, has anyone installed 3x3 tiles in their living room? Any issues? Friends been telling me that the technology is still not there yet - the risk of tiles breaking, so it's safer to stick to 2x2. Has anyone used Bellezza tiles from Apex before? I saw a 3x3 design which i really like, manufactured from China. It's RM89 per piece. Please share your thoughts and experience if you have. Thanks! Tiles is still tiles, to have strong and sturdy tiles, it shall not be hollow when being installed. Surface are too big may cause it easier to break on the hollow places. And it is easier to break during transport, for me I'll stick to 2*2. For 3*3 you really need skilled workers and it won't be cheap regardless of tiles and installation cost. Your friends are giving you a good advise. Only a GRO will look at the floor and ceiling the most when they are working
Chun36
Aug 20 2015, 02:30 PM
QUOTE(zenix @ Aug 20 2015, 01:33 PM) if you have a large open space, larger tiles are better looking I still support 2x2. It is true that big space will use bigger size tiles. My contractor advice me to use 2x2 and no regrets. easy to break, need high skill, and handling difficulty, are some of the reasons to avoid bigger tiles. If you have too many curves and leads to many cutting into smaller pieces is also a waste.
zenix
Aug 20 2015, 02:31 PM
i might be wrong but recently did 2x4 so far so good
SUSsupersound
Aug 20 2015, 04:13 PM
QUOTE(zenix @ Aug 20 2015, 02:31 PM) i might be wrong but recently did 2x4 so far so good Square will always look better than rectangle shape Or for car porch, there's new design also, using harden type of cement.
zenix
Aug 20 2015, 05:19 PM
QUOTE(supersound @ Aug 20 2015, 04:13 PM) Square will always look better than rectangle shape Or for car porch, there's new design also, using harden type of cement. taste is very subjective
gsdev
Aug 20 2015, 05:47 PM
I am currently tiling my 3 bath rooms and some space outside (2 smaller baths has the sink outside). I did get 3 quotations from different contractor sifus I guess, all were close with some plus and minus.
Eventually went with a contractor who had worked on a friend’s house nearby. He seems experienced in knowing what to do with certain issues etc. Anyways the total approx. square feet of the area for 3 baths including floor, and wall is approx. 850sq feet. New wall tiles all the way to the ceiling. The job includes,
1. to hack out the old tiles, floor, wall (till 5 feet) , 2 x sink table top 2. remove the old 3 x WC and 3 x sinks and Install new ones 3. Tiling on table top for 2 sinks, table top is just slightly bigger than the sink. 4. Install new water piping within the 3 bath rooms only with silver U outlets. 5. Water proofing for 2 baths up stairs.
I figured the piping work costs RM 1800 all in, RM 600 per bath, with 4 outlets each.
Removing and installing new 3 x WC’s and 3 x Sinks about RM 1000 all in.
Water proofing possibly RM 800 for both baths and area around the external sink.
The rest of the work, hack and tiling for 850sq feet is 12.5K, that works out to about approx. RM 15 per sq feet.
I supply the Tiles, WC’s, Sinks, Taps and Stop Valves. The contractor supplies all other stuff. Contractor is Chinese but the 2 workers are Indon. He mostly supervises but sometimes does work too.
Not sure if the breakdown above is correct but all in its now costing me RM 16K for the contractor only.
This post has been edited by gsdev: Aug 20 2015, 05:59 PM
noien
Aug 20 2015, 05:47 PM
QUOTE(supersound @ Aug 20 2015, 04:13 PM) Square will always look better than rectangle shape Or for car porch, there's new design also, using harden type of cement. for me, wall rectangle shape and floor would be square but for car porch. harden type cement is nice.
SUSsupersound
Aug 20 2015, 08:19 PM
QUOTE(zenix @ Aug 20 2015, 05:19 PM) taste is very subjective  Yup, but square may able to make the porch "look" bigger.
SUSsupersound
Aug 20 2015, 08:20 PM
QUOTE(noien @ Aug 20 2015, 05:47 PM) for me, wall rectangle shape and floor would be square but for car porch. harden type cement is nice. Well, some developer do wanted to keep the cost low, so it is getting popular now.
Aug 21 2015, 12:36 AM

QUOTE(rupart @ Aug 19 2015, 10:45 PM) guys....gn to do tile work on 630sft area 1) pls recommend reasonable places to get 2x2 tiles and vinyl tiles 2) This is the quote to for removal "hack out old floor parquet complete with labor work for tiling + material+disposal" 4.9k for 630sqft....is this price ok? TQ I tink its quit expnsif.!! Try to find another contractor..