Tiles, Cost and Installation

gsdev
post Aug 11 2015, 07:07 PM

819 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jul 22 2015, 09:50 AM)
Mr. Yap
got my bathroom done under 1k for workmanship, dismantling old stuff, water prooof, etc.
i bought all the other fixtures, tiles, glass door, etc. on my own
Mind to share the sq feet of the bathrom done under 1K. Thats a very good price

This post has been edited by gsdev: Aug 11 2015, 07:08 PM
gsdev
post Aug 20 2015, 05:47 PM

819 posts

I am currently tiling my 3 bath rooms and some space outside (2 smaller baths has the sink outside). I did get 3 quotations from different contractor sifus I guess, all were close with some plus and minus.

Eventually went with a contractor who had worked on a friend’s house nearby. He seems experienced in knowing what to do with certain issues etc. Anyways the total approx. square feet of the area for 3 baths including floor, and wall is approx. 850sq feet. New wall tiles all the way to the ceiling. The job includes,

1. to hack out the old tiles, floor, wall (till 5 feet) , 2 x sink table top
2. remove the old 3 x WC and 3 x sinks and Install new ones
3. Tiling on table top for 2 sinks, table top is just slightly bigger than the sink.
4. Install new water piping within the 3 bath rooms only with silver U outlets.
5. Water proofing for 2 baths up stairs.

I figured the piping work costs RM 1800 all in, RM 600 per bath, with 4 outlets each.

Removing and installing new 3 x WC’s and 3 x Sinks about RM 1000 all in.

Water proofing possibly RM 800 for both baths and area around the external sink.

The rest of the work, hack and tiling for 850sq feet is 12.5K, that works out to about approx. RM 15 per sq feet.

I supply the Tiles, WC’s, Sinks, Taps and Stop Valves. The contractor supplies all other stuff. Contractor is Chinese but the 2 workers are Indon. He mostly supervises but sometimes does work too.

Not sure if the breakdown above is correct but all in its now costing me RM 16K for the contractor only.

This post has been edited by gsdev: Aug 20 2015, 05:59 PM
gsdev
post Aug 24 2015, 08:11 AM

819 posts

What is the current rate for hack and laying tiles per square feet?
gsdev
post Aug 25 2015, 12:35 PM

819 posts

Dear All, I know this question might have been asked many times but I need info to evaluate future projects on tiling my house 3 bedrooms, the parquet are all worn.

What is the going rate per sq. foot for tiling if only tiles are provided?

All other stuff contractor needs to provide including removal of old parquet

Is there a difference of price for wall and floor tiling?

Appreciate very much some info on the tiling costs.

gsdev
post Aug 28 2015, 11:01 PM

819 posts

That's why I was afraid to get direct Indonesian to handle the contract. Too many things could go wrong. If he is here illegally even worse. Better to deal with Malaysian but off course the workers most of the time indon
gsdev
post Oct 26 2015, 08:10 AM

819 posts

Guys, need some help pretty confused now. I did tiling work for my 3 bedrooms recently, next plan is to tile the car porch etc.

The Indonesian workers who did the job told me my current chinese contractor had overcharged me a lot for the parquet removal & tiling work for my 3 bedrooms. They asked me for the price and they mentioned its very much over priced.

They have indicated they can do the car porch job in a much lower rate, about 40% cheaper!.

Before I do the car porch I need help on figuring out the current going rates for tiling. I still prefer to give the job to my current contractor but on the back of my mind i dont want to be ripped off too.

If u only supply the tiles, what is the current average rate for tiling including hacking old tiles or cement? Some have been quoted Rm 6.50 per sq ft, some RM 8 per sq ft. There seems to be different rates for wall tiling compared to floor tiling....

This post has been edited by gsdev: Oct 26 2015, 01:02 PM

0.0556sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 01:37 AM