Tiles, Cost and Installation

B^2H
post Jun 15 2015, 02:00 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(itekderp @ Jun 14 2015, 02:59 PM)

That sucks, man. I think relatives are the last to go to for recommendation, for some reason always turns out terrible. Then you can't scold too much too because have to take into consideration your relatives.

yeah.. i only complaint once cause he messed up the paint colour (unacceptable for me), and he doesn't want to repaint for me, so i talked to my relative, he managed to get the guy come back to repaint for me, but i heard after that they have some argument with the guy over this matter.

feeling bad though, they have been friend for quite sometime, it seems like i destroy their relationship sad.gif

QUOTE(zenix @ Jun 15 2015, 08:56 AM)
exactly!

relatives are usually the last pick unless super duper cheap
the price he gave us is really super duper cheap, and some minor thing he done it for free, so I din't complain much. But he messed up the colour himself, admitted it's his fault, and he doesn't want to fix it, which got me really angry vmad.gif vmad.gif

the only good thing i can think of is, he managed to finish the job on time, workmanship wise shakehead.gif
tikay
post Jun 15 2015, 02:31 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(Iceman74 @ Jun 13 2015, 04:41 PM)
If u do find one that good, pls do pm me also.

Anyone know good tiler around Puchong, pls pm me.

Get Mr. Bill 0123911328 to quote. Good work and advice
zenix
post Jun 15 2015, 05:22 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(B^2H @ Jun 15 2015, 02:00 PM)
yeah.. i only complaint once cause he messed up the paint colour (unacceptable for me), and he doesn't want to repaint for me, so i talked to my relative, he managed to get the guy come back to repaint for me, but i heard after that they have some argument with the guy over this matter.

feeling bad though, they have been friend for quite sometime, it seems like i destroy their relationship  sad.gif
the price he gave us is really super duper cheap, and some minor thing he done it for free, so I din't complain much. But he messed up the colour himself, admitted it's his fault, and he doesn't want to fix it, which got me really angry  vmad.gif  vmad.gif

the only good thing i can think of is, he managed to finish the job on time, workmanship wise shakehead.gif
sometimes i rather pay more for better work done
SUSleonhart88
post Jun 15 2015, 05:28 PM

1,686 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jun 13 2015, 12:48 PM)
indon is usually like

100 per day for the one that knows what to do
50 per day for his assistant that is just the muscle/learner
included meals, coffees and cigarettes or not? they eat,drink, and smoke like no tomorrow.sometimes really think they no afraid of diabetes melitus lei

This post has been edited by leonhart88: Jun 15 2015, 05:29 PM
zenix
post Jun 15 2015, 05:36 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(leonhart88 @ Jun 15 2015, 05:28 PM)
included meals, coffees and cigarettes or not? they eat,drink, and smoke like no tomorrow.sometimes really think they no afraid of diabetes melitus lei
just that amount nothing more
they eat and drink all on their own
unless u feeling rich wanna belanja everyday
jurlique08
post Jun 17 2015, 03:20 PM

21 posts

May I know what is the normal charges for around 155 pieces of tiles in the bedroom (tiles type are eitherwhite horse or guocera ceramic tiles) which include demolish and install?

IceBikers
post Jun 22 2015, 05:42 PM

960 posts

hi, currently the toilet tiles is about 5ft tall, and beyond is wall(no tiles). Is it possible to continue add tiles to the wall until the suspension ceiling?

This post has been edited by IceBikers: Jun 22 2015, 05:42 PM
zenix
post Jun 23 2015, 09:13 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(IceBikers @ Jun 22 2015, 05:42 PM)
hi, currently the toilet tiles is about 5ft tall, and beyond is wall(no tiles). Is it possible to continue add tiles to the wall until the suspension ceiling?
yes, high ceiling tiles makes a small toilet look bigger especially with light color tiles of the same type, my favorite nowadays is standstone type.

IceBikers
post Jun 23 2015, 09:37 AM

960 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jun 23 2015, 09:13 AM)
yes, high ceiling tiles makes a small toilet look bigger especially with light color tiles of the same type, my favorite nowadays is standstone type.

thanks. anyway it is an old unit, will try to find similar color tile.
tikay
post Jun 23 2015, 11:05 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(IceBikers @ Jun 23 2015, 09:37 AM)
Normally cant get the similar colour. May I suggest lay a line of different but matching colour/patterned tiles all round the wall above the existing tiles, then proceed with the rest of the wall with any light colour tiles. This will suggest you purposely design such a pattern but not an add-on. Guess your existing tiles are smooth surface then you are lucky as they are easily maintained. Just my 2 cents of thought.
zenix
post Jun 24 2015, 09:00 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(IceBikers @ Jun 23 2015, 09:37 AM)
see below rclxms.gif

QUOTE(tikay @ Jun 23 2015, 11:05 AM)
Normally cant get the similar colour. May I suggest lay a line of different but matching colour/patterned tiles all round the wall above the existing tiles, then proceed with the rest of the wall with any light colour tiles. This will suggest you purposely design such a pattern but not an add-on. Guess your existing tiles are smooth surface then you are lucky as they are easily maintained. Just my 2 cents of thought.
yes!

IceBikers as said above if you don't wanna scrap everything and redo the option above is also good.

i'm guessing you might have something like this, right?

two ways you can go about it, one is you have the top a lighter color and new tiles.

another is to just install cheap tiles then paint it to the desired design. like this....

quintesson
post Jun 25 2015, 08:51 PM

566 posts

is it cheaper for tiler to quote per/sqft or per/day?
cruel_boy
post Jun 27 2015, 02:48 AM

BeyONd cRUelIty LieS sIVa
913 posts

need some opinions.

fisrt. recently installed heavy duty ceramic tiles for house frontyard. we picked the rough surface, because we assumed it would be less slippery as most of the floor area is not under shade during rain. but after a few days, it seems that the tiles are very prone to getting dirty. stain sticks on to it. needed hard scrubbing everyday.

sakit hati nak tukar lain. its 1600m2. is it possible to polish the tiles to make he surface smooth, easy to clean? i was also thinking of getting a small floor cleaning machine, clean it once a week. less hard work. but could not find any listing online. any idea where i could get this?

second. building new toilet/bathroom. under assumption that white colour gets stains much easier, we picked a maroon toilet bowl set. but not sure what tiles colour suits maroon. thinkin of dark grey for floor, and white or pale grey for walls. at 5ft, do a red/maroon boarder to match the bowl. any other recommendation?
post Jun 28 2015, 09:39 PM

27 posts

Dear Chinese contractors/sifu,

Pls PM (quote) me the cost of renovation works below:
1.) Demolish existing tiles (floor and wall) and construct new cement layer
2.) Water proofing
3.) Dismantle existing ceiling, concrete table, bath tub, water closet & basin
4.) Lay new tiles (1x2) inclusive sand, cement, latex admixture etc
*Only tiles will be supplied
5.) Installation works of new items like WC+ basin cabinet+ mirror+ water hose & bidet+ paper holder+ towel rack
*Items will be supplied
6.) Install new ceiling

*Electricity and water points remain.
1.) Demolish existing parquet floor and construct new cement layer
2.) Lay new tiles (1x2) inclusive sand, cement, latex admixture etc
3.) *Only tiles will be supplied
4.) Skirting
*Including rubbish and waste disposal.

1.) Hacking of 1 wall 9x9 between kitchen and store
2.) Removal of the existing door of the store
2.) Patch up wall and tiles to even up

Measurement (estimation only):

3 bedrooms Floor 410 sf
bathroom Floor 45 sf
Wall (8ft high) 188 sf

*Condo in PJ.

I appreciate your interest. Thank you.

jason110
post Jun 30 2015, 10:35 AM

191 posts

Hi guys, any good tiler can intro? indon or chinese.
zzzhhhzzz
post Jun 30 2015, 11:39 PM

1,671 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jun 24 2015, 09:00 AM)
see below  rclxms.gif
yes!

IceBikers as said above if you don't wanna scrap everything and redo the option above is also good.

i'm guessing you might have something like this, right?

two ways you can go about it, one is you have the top a lighter color and new tiles.

another is to just install cheap tiles then paint it to the desired design. like this....

does painting bathroom tiles last '? was thinking also to paint my bathroom tiles cuz dun like the colour scheme... but dunno whether the paint will last ...
zenix
post Jul 1 2015, 06:35 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(zzzhhhzzz @ Jun 30 2015, 11:39 PM)
does painting bathroom tiles last '? was thinking also to paint my bathroom tiles cuz dun like the colour scheme... but dunno whether the paint will last ...
it can be done diy but can be messy overseas like in europe/australia where workmanship is expensive they try to DIY

http://www.apartmenttherapy.com/tile-paint...avoid-it-162007

however for malaysia....

tiles are relatively cheap
think of a color scheme you like
then go to those tile warehouse not shop
there they will be clearing stock
u can pick and choose the tiles u need from their clearance stock
normally 5-10 boxes of tiles of bigger sizes are enough for an entire bathroom so clearance stock still ok

workmanship here less than 1000 for a bathroom, even cheaper if you avoid doing the floors
zenix
post Jul 9 2015, 02:43 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

ioi city mall
z1lch
post Jul 9 2015, 05:17 PM

172 posts

Guys i am looking for some 200x200 and it seems like not much places in KL has them.
Could recommend some places that i could visit please?

Much appreciated!
quintesson
post Jul 9 2015, 09:05 PM

566 posts

any warehouse tile that is around Ampang/Cheras/KL area?

136 Pages « < 82 83 84 85 86 > » Top

0.0337sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 03:57 AM