News Intel finds Sandy Bridge chipset design flaw

Eguy1314
post Feb 1 2011, 04:11 AM

anixekai.com
2,910 posts

QUOTE(GooD_DaY @ Feb 1 2011, 02:48 AM)
hmm.gif So does it mean that my Acer 5750G is not affected since it is using HM65 chipset?
QUOTE(24seven @ Feb 1 2011, 03:20 AM)
http://www.linuxfordevices.com/c/a/News/In...r-Point-recall/

According to this, it seems HM65 is also affected. Maybe those who have already bought Sandy Bridge laptops will be able to claim warranty when it fails.

To identify those laptops that have problems, look at the chipset number. For example, H67, HM67 etc. etc.
That's is a bad news sweat.gif
lakost
post Feb 1 2011, 04:36 AM

270 posts

This is bad.i might give Acer service centre a call regarding this issue.dammit.
eugenechiuu
post Feb 1 2011, 06:59 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(lakost @ Feb 1 2011, 04:36 AM)
This is bad.i might give Acer service centre a call regarding this issue.dammit.
I doubt the Acer in Malaysia would even know about such issue whistling.gif
refnulf
post Feb 1 2011, 08:19 AM

I love Hulu
7,937 posts

Everything SB is affected.

Intel Discovers Bug in 6-Series Chipset: Our Analysis - Anandtech

The Source of Intel's Cougar Point SATA Bug - Anandtech

INTEL Recall of Sandy Bridge CPU's

This post has been edited by refnulf: Feb 1 2011, 08:20 AM
VinluV
post Feb 1 2011, 08:30 AM

1,947 posts

seems like it affects the processor and boards, so far.
any chance to get a change of mobo (say Asus or Giagbyte?)

Also any idea if it will affect the sata hard disk?
Acid_RuleZz
post Feb 1 2011, 09:16 AM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

Engadget update:
Update: Jimmy sent us a chat log with an Intel customer service representative indicating that this recall only affects "some desktop boards based on Intel P67 chipset," that the H67 chipset boards appear to not be affected, but that the company doesn't have a comprehensive list yet. We've certainly seen cases where CSRs don't have all the info in this sort of situation, but still we'd advise waiting a bit before tearing your new mobo out and bringing it back to the store.

http://www.engadget.com/2011/01/31/intel-f...pments-stopped/
hmm.gif hmm.gif
btw this only affect sata port 2 till 5. your HDD is using port 0 so ntg to worry much unless u using e-sata port extensively.
[PF] T.J.
post Feb 1 2011, 10:06 AM

24,193 posts

Wow, this is epic sweat.gif
Guess most of us will have to keep on waiting cry.gif
astria
post Feb 1 2011, 10:19 AM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

as i said, call up the svc centers and ask them wat's their stand... no pt whining here and ask if it's affecting ur laptop or not... we may know a lot but we re not svc center...

at least it's better than GeForce 8M... Nvidia never openly admit their mistakes...
[PF] T.J.
post Feb 1 2011, 10:26 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Feb 1 2011, 10:19 AM)
as i said, call up the svc centers and ask them wat's their stand... no pt whining here and ask if it's affecting ur laptop or not... we may know a lot but we re not svc center...

at least it's better than GeForce 8M... Nvidia never openly admit their mistakes...
Morning bro! notworthy.gif
So, what's your say on this issue? Especially for those who are still waiting? laugh.gif

astria
post Feb 1 2011, 10:30 AM

22,158 posts

same thing, call the svc center, and ask wat happens if the mobo spilt becuz of this problem after warranty...

basically it's a repeat of the GeForce 8M issue... some brands are more than happy to cover it indefinitely (eg BenQ), while some only extend the warranty (eg Dell, Sony)...
Dark Lord
post Feb 1 2011, 10:36 AM

288 posts

speechless...
I need a new laptop before mid of March, and now got this issue...=.=
refnulf
post Feb 1 2011, 10:37 AM

I love Hulu
7,937 posts

Doesn't matter, there's a flaw and I'm not going to settle for the price I'm paying. So hopefully there's a solution for this from the resellers.

I'm guessing a delay in shipments till they get new motherboards.

astria
post Feb 1 2011, 10:40 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(refnulf @ Feb 1 2011, 10:37 AM)
Doesn't matter, there's a flaw and I'm not going to settle for the price I'm paying. So hopefully there's a solution for this from the resellers.

I'm guessing a delay in shipments till they get new motherboards.
i doubt resellers are bothered with this... do u think they really care?

u dun buy there's still thousands who dun know abt the issue and went ahead to buy...

seriously i can foresee 1yr down the road ppl complaining their Sandy Bridge laptops breaking down...
TS24seven
post Feb 1 2011, 10:42 AM

98 posts

Hmm... do you think companies like Asus who haven't released their laptops won't care and just continue clearing the flawed stock that has already been produced?
astria
post Feb 1 2011, 10:46 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(24seven @ Feb 1 2011, 10:42 AM)
Hmm... do you think companies like Asus who haven't released their laptops won't care and just continue clearing the flawed stock that has already been produced?
i suppose they re using chipsets made last yr... else they can't be releasing new models last mth...

and, dun forget MY always get new model later than US...
Eugene91
post Feb 1 2011, 11:02 AM

6,109 posts

Some will blame the brands (especially those who don't know about SB's problem)..
TS24seven
post Feb 1 2011, 11:29 AM

98 posts

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Feb 1 2011, 11:02 AM)
Some will blame the brands (especially those who don't know about SB's problem)..
blink.gif Then it looks like acer, Lenovo and HP will get bashed because of this.
angelbratz
post Feb 1 2011, 11:59 AM

Same Shit Different Day
539 posts

I just called acer Customer service...

They say there is no news on the Faulty Stuff and there is no news on the recall yet...
[PF] T.J.
post Feb 1 2011, 12:00 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(angelbratz @ Feb 1 2011, 11:59 AM)
I just called acer Customer service...

They say there is no news on the Faulty Stuff and there is no news on the recall yet...
Haha, again our sifus here are much faster than them Tech Services sweat.gif

Added on February 1, 2011, 12:01 pm
QUOTE(24seven @ Feb 1 2011, 11:29 AM)
blink.gif Then it looks like acer, Lenovo and HP will get bashed because of this.
...and eventually all the other brands if they don't do anything about this haha laugh.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Feb 1 2011, 12:01 PM
eugenechiuu
post Feb 1 2011, 12:08 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Feb 1 2011, 12:00 PM)
Haha, again our sifus here are much faster than them Tech Services  sweat.gif

Added on February 1, 2011, 12:01 pm

...and eventually all the other brands if they don't do anything about this haha  laugh.gif
What do u expect of Acer Malaysia??

This just happened yesterday and the only SB laptop they have currently is only 5750G... Compared to their many other laptops, they would be least concern about this..

34 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0238sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:35 PM