8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V13, Galaxy S, live on a smart life

gmhafiz
post Feb 11 2011, 12:54 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Feb 10 2011, 10:15 PM)
guy samsung galxy S USB cable same like normal usb cable ?
cause i give the phone to my GF and now she lost the cable, she just call me to find an replacement cable but not sure is which cable ...
Can use any micro-usb. It is the standard charging port for all smartphones. only apple doesn't follow.

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: Feb 11 2011, 12:55 AM
gmhafiz
post Feb 11 2011, 12:58 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(Blast_Cyrus @ Feb 10 2011, 10:25 PM)
because Apple wanna Samurai us~ (Although there are still ciplak cable out there~)
Read this http://www.macrumors.com/2010/08/05/europe...ard-in-january/

Apple still does not comply. damn arrogant!
gmhafiz
post Feb 11 2011, 01:48 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(omaryoma @ Feb 10 2011, 11:15 PM)
friends what shud i do???i ve got new problems......my phone keep on "back" .....i dun even touch the back button
Maybe got stain on the screen biggrin.gif
gmhafiz
post Feb 11 2011, 02:16 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(haxri @ Feb 10 2011, 11:43 PM)
oh, okay,... so i90000 is the same phone sold here at maxis?
maxis link
yes, that's the i9000, the international galaxy s

oh, and also welcome to the lowyat forum!

//offtopic
wth they put galaxy s at the bottom?

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: Feb 11 2011, 02:17 AM
gmhafiz
post Feb 11 2011, 02:25 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(haxri @ Feb 10 2011, 11:53 PM)
ah, ya, thanks for the greetz... it seems in malaysia there is only one forum that talks about this kind of things..

anyway.. was thinking about buying this phone.. should i be reading from v1 or jump to v13 is suffice? lol..
just read the FAQ in v12 and 13

addon: there's always the search function smile.gif

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: Feb 11 2011, 02:31 AM
gmhafiz
post Feb 11 2011, 02:30 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(CrossX @ Feb 10 2011, 11:58 PM)
anybody have any idea how to flash a custom boot screen?? wanna get the bios boot screen instead
if you have root explorer, just replace the bootanimation.zip in the /system/media/ folder
gmhafiz
post Feb 11 2011, 02:35 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(haxri @ Feb 11 2011, 12:00 AM)
ok then. thanks a lot.. i should be joining this league on the 14th i think.. been googling a  lot and found out that this phone quite the competitor for iphone 4, yes?

anyway, since this phone i already out for like what? a little more to a year, is there any rumours of samsung pulling out samsung galaxy s 2?
- yes, very comparable to iphone4.
- maybe out simce june/july kot
- galaxy s2 may be announced at MWC this 13 feb. but don't know when it'll be released in msia.

gmhafiz
post Feb 11 2011, 02:44 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Feb 11 2011, 12:08 AM)
ARGHHH HOLY SHIT! I've scratched my screen! Heart damn pain ah.... laowei.... don't know how I manage to scratch corning gorilla glass...

Btw, wassup everybody? How are things these days? I've been quite inactive due to CNY.

And, welcome haxri, probably you can't catch up from v1, just read info on post #1 of thread v12 and v13, there should be enough for you to kick off.

Btw, here's a small update for my theme. Changed seekbar/progress bar to look like this, it is more suitable for GINGERBREAD "look" too I think.
Download:
http://www.fileserve.com/file/ezeEsBs
i thought i scratched mine too, a big one sweat.gif . but later i realized it was just a stain! icon_rolleyes.gif

your mod looks really nice!

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: Feb 11 2011, 02:46 AM
gmhafiz
post Feb 12 2011, 10:18 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Feb 11 2011, 03:24 AM)
Anyone knows how to setup Ampache? It's music streamer like Audiogalaxy and Subsonic. Audiogalaxy doesn't support cache, Subsonic needs to pay for the server. I wanna try Ampache but so confused and sleepy I can't brain.

http://ampache.org/
will try later. looks interesting.

QUOTE(lch78 @ Feb 11 2011, 09:17 AM)
600!!  notworthy.gif
thank god that android uses linux and not windows. no matter how many apps you install, it won't slow down your phone smile.gif

QUOTE(haxri @ Feb 11 2011, 09:54 AM)
ssup guys, i just got back from maxis to buy SGS, and the guy told me to wait for a few weeks so that i can enjoy SGS2..

after googling, i found out that SGS2 wont be quite the same as SGS, yes, it is much more better, but the phone developer will changed.. SGS is developed by google, yes? .. and sgs2 is developed by other company..

so, what you guys think? go with SGS, or wait?
QUOTE(KH Cheah @ Feb 11 2011, 12:24 PM)
Leaked sgs2 specs:http://phandroid.com/2011/02/10/huge-spec-leak-wildfire-2-desire-2-desire-hd2-and-galaxy-s2/
QUOTE(KH Cheah @ Feb 11 2011, 12:32 PM)
Just wait for tomorrow when samsung will announce galaxy s 2. they'll announce shipping date too (hopefully). then you can make your decision.

QUOTE(Bap3 @ Feb 11 2011, 09:04 PM)
nokia + wp7 = still fail. they should have gone to android.

nokia's stock price dropped 14% in 2 hours. their employees protest in their office in finland. Looks like only iOS and android will rule the mobile scene.
gmhafiz
post Feb 12 2011, 10:46 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Feb 12 2011, 08:07 PM)
Most apps does not go back or exit by holding back button.
but some do. which is why I dl screenshot app.
gmhafiz
post Feb 13 2011, 01:18 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(gajahwhite @ Feb 12 2011, 08:33 PM)
yup.. already test that.. w/o any prob..
the thing is.. u need to hold it.. not press it smile.gif

hold back button.. and keep pressing.. then press home button.. smile.gif
Got it rclxms.gif although the screenshot app has a bit more flexibility., it doesn't matter much.
gmhafiz
post Feb 13 2011, 01:43 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(aral3005 @ Feb 12 2011, 11:05 PM)
I've never thought galaxy s2 would be so thin...even thinner than ifon4 sweat.gif
Samsung Galaxy S2
let's wait till tomorrow and see what samsung will announce. I'm interested to see how their exynos chip will fare against tegra2.

exynos = sony ex ??? laugh.gif
gmhafiz
post Feb 13 2011, 04:55 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Feb 12 2011, 11:15 PM)
Come to think of it, my most probable next droid would be one from Samsung. I don't think I could live without touchwiz now. I love the swipe right left for call and texting, I love the smart search in dialpad, I love the swipe left right on notification bar for brightness. Only thing is the unpredictable lag. Without hummingbird, that shouldn't be a problem. YAY! biggrin.gif Hopefully they are using tegra 2 and NOT qualcomm please no adreno 205 please that's a downgrade for us.

Added on February 13, 2011, 2:18 am
exynos aka orion. biggrin.gif
Edit, didn't read your phrase.. I thought you were asking what is exynos. Haha now I see..

BTW guys, just wanna share.
http://ampache.org/
Go to market and search ampache, there's 3 clients.
Ah now I remembered ampache. I have used it before. Their interface has not changed at all since I forst use it.

First, you need to install an apache server and mysql. easiest way is too install xampp http://www.apachefriends.org/en/xampp-windows.html

Then only can you install ampache. It works by acting as a web server. It streams music over the internet. To setup is more technical.
gmhafiz
post Feb 13 2011, 11:42 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(Fornaxlife @ Feb 13 2011, 02:01 PM)
i'd recommend sgs 2 smile.gif
if you need one, buy now. if can wait, better wait for next-gen phone

QUOTE(Bap3 @ Feb 13 2011, 04:57 PM)
guys...i cannot open up the LBStestmode using *#*#1472365#*#*

it just nothing happened when i keyed in the code...weird..happen from darky's 9.0
check if you have LbsTestMode.apk in /system/app folder

About the camera discussion. I don't mind not having led flash. Even if you have one, taking pictures with led flash in the dark will not give you a good picture after all. Let say, you are going to a concert. You will bring your compact camera to take photos. Certainly not with your phone.

IMO, camera in the phone is useful for quick snapshots like barcodes, announcement on bulletin board, cute kids thieves, etc. For proper photography, get a good compact camera/dslr.
gmhafiz
post Feb 14 2011, 01:07 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Feb 13 2011, 10:33 PM)
good, can watch fringe first. anyway, did you managed to install ampache?

I'm looking for a good music streamer using wifi. do you know any good software to do that?
gmhafiz
post Feb 14 2011, 02:42 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

quad core gpu!
gmhafiz
post Feb 14 2011, 02:47 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

on device encryption!
gmhafiz
post Feb 14 2011, 03:32 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(nasrulbond @ Feb 14 2011, 12:53 AM)
btw which one is better, ipad or samsung galaxy tab? dunno much about the comparison tho
wait what, really?

ipad = app launcher
android honeycomb = proper tablet OS

But it really boils down to what your needs.
gmhafiz
post Feb 14 2011, 03:22 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Feb 14 2011, 01:22 AM)
Lol, I'd take iPad anytime. Galaxy tab is so yesteryear and android 2.2 sucks on tablet form. Honeycomb I've seen so far, has been laggy/not as smooth as expected on Xoom and Galaxy 10.1.

This year, iPad2 or Playbook for me.
I meant galaxy tab 10.1, not the original tab. I prefer functionality, which is why I like android platform.

QUOTE(haxri @ Feb 14 2011, 06:23 AM)
so, how was the presentation..any news on the selling price and launching date?
selling price = not announced
launching date = heard rumors that they will be available this month in europe and asia!

QUOTE(Star_knight79 @ Feb 14 2011, 09:07 AM)
I have the same thinking as you. I don't bother ppl saying apps launcher or proper OS (as good as to be heard)
Google never does its job properly in writing the code for its Android System (that could be the reason they stop selling Nexus as they really don't know how to handle it). I have read in the web before. Some developers complaining that they lauched the Android system (froyo) with a lots of bugs.
They leave the fixing part to the developer or the manufacturer software engineers to fix the problems, in which I think Samsung Engineers are a bit slow poke!
Yes, I must admit that Google has a lot of fresh ideas with they OS. But what's the point if the ideas are full of bugs and laggy. I don't know about others, but I will definitely feel upset.
No point boosting about Android is an OS by itself and can do this can do that...blah blah blah, and in the end of the day, it give me headache with lag issue.
The success of iphone 4 is not just merely they are able to make the phone the TREND as I don't see SGS lose out in the sleeky and trendy design/ outlook of their phone. In fact, there are more. Even iphone 4 is an apps launcher, but the silky smooth of the apps running(even with very low available memory) as well as the quality of them (apps) is just astonishing!
For android supporters, please don't get too upset with my post here. I just wanna share my thought here only. I'm still holding an SGS, ok?
As an Android user, I really hope Google would have done better. If they happen to make their own phone and start selling again. I definitely won't buy. The company is a bit unreliable for mobile phone business. Let them do their software part well.
Android and iOS have different priorities.
Software:
Android = have more features and by giving users flexibility
iOS = Give excellent user experience at the expense of closed ecosystem

Hardware:
Google: None, relegated to phone manufacturer.
Apple: Make excellent industrial design (with the exception of the antennagate)

Take an example of galaxy S. They could have gone to using YAFFS for file system like the rest of other smartphones. But they chose their own buggy RFS(retarded file system). Fortunately, the Nexus S uses ext4. Maybe google engineers wanted that better file system to be used in their phone. Hopefully galaxy S II will use ext4 as well.

The above example shows why seprating software and hardware can be a bad thing. Samsung knows next to nothing when it comes to software (slow touchwiz, RFS). Their expertise lies on the hardware (super amoled screen, thin build)

Apple OTOH, with a closed ecosystem designs both software and hardware, which makes their phone to be integrated well.

IMO, the success of iphone lies to sleek marketing (brilliant TV ads), their app store and industrial design. Most people buys iphone because they trust the brand. The average joe and jane doesn't know a thing about the specs.

For slightly more technical people actually does their research before making informed decision and see which phone suits their needs.

QUOTE(jujx @ Feb 14 2011, 09:10 AM)
The reason why iPhone4 is smooth is because of its closed system, have you seen an heavily modified jailbroken iphone? It does lag and hangs as well.

But i do admit there's bug in android's release, but so does iOS. Nothing is flawless in this world
OIC, now I know the limitation of a jailbroken iphone. I think I know how apple thinks. "If you give users the freedom, they will bonk the system".

I'd like to comment about bugs. While it is true that there is no single OS is bug free. It depends on how they react when a bug is found.

For example, when a bug is found in microsoft windows, bug response time is slow because fixing bug is only microsoft's job. To add insult to the injury, they accumulate all security update to the first Tuesday every month!

Linux on the OTOH, is an open source software where the code is open and developers from all over the world can see, When a bug is found, a patch can be uploaded by anyone immediately. Look how fast the development of firefox (another open source software). Android also has a bug tracker where software developers can discuss to add new features and fix bugs. This reduces the time from a bug found to the time it is fixed. This is why Linux is way more secure than windows. Not because it is bug free, but the way they handle the situation. You can't prevent a earthquake, it's how you organize yourself for the resque mission.

So, don't fret about the bugs in android. It's linux after all smile.gif

I look forward to this healthy dialog thumbup.gif (or is it offtopic? tongue.gif)

QUOTE(Hiruka @ Feb 14 2011, 10:03 AM)
Been Looking this great Android Phone and might want to try it out. Few question on my mind:

1- This phone really suffer lagging issues?
2- Also heard the battery drained out quite fast. General using / Entertainment like gaming etc?
3- Most of u guys using the custom FW instead of stock? Recommended?
4- How bout the updates? Support OTA for apps and firmware itself?
5- Last but not least. How's the rated compare to iOS? Currently only have iPodTouch 4G as my Portable Browser and Gaming.

Appreciate some feedback in details. Sorry for the troubles as im quite interested to know more bout the Android. Long journey with Symbian and might take another ride maybe biggrin.gif
1. The earlier version lags very badly. The updated firmware (the froyo 2.2.1) eliminates almost all the lag.
2. Battery is bigger than iphone4. Moderate use can last all day long.
3. yes, custom firmware unleashes the power of android of the phone. Samsung does not do a good job oon software front.
4. updates are through samsung's software, Kies, for updates.
- For gaming, iOS is still better. It'd take a few months before we see more quality games for android.
- For media, galaxy s is superb, can play any media.
- Browser: android's browser is a bit faster, has flash 10.1. iOS doesn't have.
- While iOS by itself is very simple, on android, there are a lot of customization that can be made, at the expense of less polished out system. (geeks don't make good UI)
- buying high-end smartphone is a very expensive investment. I would suggest having both devices on yor hand and make informed decision.

iphone = for people not wanting to think much and enjoy for using the phone, and it just works.
andoid = for people who likes to play around with customizations and enjoy for using the phone
gmhafiz
post Feb 14 2011, 05:17 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(diablo69 @ Feb 14 2011, 02:29 PM)
hi guys... need ur advice...

currently using wildfire... considering upgrading to SGS next month...
one of the main reason is due to the corning 4" glass and 1GHz proc... corning glass is a plus for me since im in the cement industry... feels that the better proc speed would be good...

currently having push mail on my wildfire... n also i play quite alot of game and web surfing....

the main question is should i upgrade now or wait for sgs2 to arrive to our shore's...
Wait till there's news about availability of sgs 2 till next month. There's rumor that it will be available this month for europe and asia. No idea if sgs2 will use gorilla glass as well but for the rest of the specs, sgs2 beats the first iteration.

My advice, wait for sgs2.

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.1293sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:42 AM