125 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V13, Galaxy S, live on a smart life

CrossX
post Feb 5 2011, 07:40 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(Fornaxlife @ Feb 5 2011, 06:23 PM)
is it okay to uninstall system apps that i do not need?
system apps like??? i remember having a list of system apps which tells u which is safe to delete

u wan it?

This post has been edited by CrossX: Feb 5 2011, 07:40 PM
Fornaxlife
post Feb 5 2011, 07:43 PM

836 posts

QUOTE(CrossX @ Feb 5 2011, 07:40 PM)
system apps like??? i remember having a list of system apps which tells u which is safe to delete

u wan it?
like digilexen, fileindex.. macam bloatwares ni.. preincluded in darky's resurrection rom..

yes, please drool.gif
CrossX
post Feb 5 2011, 07:52 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(Fornaxlife @ Feb 5 2011, 07:43 PM)
like digilexen, fileindex.. macam bloatwares ni.. preincluded in darky's resurrection rom..

yes, pleaseĀ  drool.gif

not sure how useful izzit XD
y cant we post excel files in the forum...

This post has been edited by CrossX: Feb 5 2011, 07:52 PM
Fornaxlife
post Feb 5 2011, 07:56 PM

836 posts

QUOTE(CrossX @ Feb 5 2011, 07:52 PM)

hehe thanks. downloading~
gmhafiz
post Feb 5 2011, 09:52 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(Star_knight79 @ Feb 5 2011, 12:41 PM)
IMO CWM route is always the safer method???
It is harder for a newbie to mess up with cwm than odin. CWM is dead simple.
edited.

QUOTE(CrossX @ Feb 5 2011, 05:22 PM)

Look for these as a guide.
At doc's first page: https://spreadsheets0.google.com/ccc?hl&key...gbgK_i30A#gid=0
Insanity: https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key=0As...&hl=en_GB#gid=0

Insanity base rom is only 86MB, if you want the leanest and the meanest brows.gif

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: Feb 6 2011, 12:45 AM
Fornaxlife
post Feb 5 2011, 10:36 PM

836 posts

any memo app that can sync with google? i remembered a post bout this earlier
gmhafiz
post Feb 5 2011, 10:41 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(Fornaxlife @ Feb 5 2011, 08:06 PM)
any memo app that can sync with google? i remembered a post bout this earlier
Syncs with google task:
- taskos: https://market.android.com/details?id=com.taskos
- astrid: https://market.android.com/details?id=com.timsu.astrid
- gtasks: https://market.android.com/details?id=org.dayup.gtask
I use gtask, haven't tried the first two.

Other popular note taking app
- RTM: https://market.android.com/details?id=com.r...emilk.MobileRTM
- evernote: https://market.android.com/details?id=com.evernote

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: Feb 5 2011, 10:43 PM
mikecmy
post Feb 5 2011, 10:57 PM

734 posts

QUOTE(mikecmy @ Feb 5 2011, 07:39 PM)
anyway guys, if i've flashed a custom rom into my SGS, issit possible to flash theme on top of it? or i'm only able to select one of them?
anyone?
TSsilentser
post Feb 5 2011, 11:01 PM

OH MAH ANDROID
3,177 posts

QUOTE(mikecmy @ Feb 5 2011, 10:57 PM)
anyone?
as long as the theme is compatible with the rom you can flash any theme
gmhafiz
post Feb 5 2011, 11:01 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(mikecmy @ Feb 5 2011, 08:27 PM)
anyone?
Most themes are compatible with doc's and darkyy.. After flashing custom rom, just download and of the theme's CWM, and flash away.

Remember to make a backup of your theme first in case of a bad theme,

addon:
This is only optional and not required. If you have problem with a theme, just flash another one.

How to backup your theme
from http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=899471
HOW TO MAKE A BACKUP FLASHABLE ZIP OF YOUR CURRENT THEME:

Using 7-zip or WinRAR, take a look inside the downloaded theme zip file. In there browse to the /system/framework and /system/app folders - these are the files that get installed.

What you need to do is make a note of the file names, then go to your phone and make a copy of the same files from /system/framework and /system/app to a folder on your sdcard.

Then copy this folder over to your pc.

Make a copy of the theme zip and call it e.g. mybackup.zip. Open mybackup.zip and copy the files you've backed up into their respective folders, overwriting the ones that are already there.

Close 7-zip/WinRAR and you're done.

Backup created. You can flash it using ClockworkMod recovery.
This post has been edited by gmhafiz: Feb 5 2011, 11:08 PM
klwong99
post Feb 5 2011, 11:12 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(CrossX @ Feb 5 2011, 07:52 PM)

Thanks for sharing with the important apps list.
Could you pls give a guideline on how to uninstall the some apps pre-installed in the phone or came together with the ROM, like, ThinkFree Office? Thx!
gmhafiz
post Feb 5 2011, 11:15 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(klwong99 @ Feb 5 2011, 08:42 PM)
Could you pls give a guideline on how to uninstall the some apps pre-installed in the phone or came together with the ROM, like, ThinkFree Office? Thx!
Easy. Before flashing, just open the custom rom zip file with 7zip and delete the apk that you do not want. If you have flashed, use root explorer and navigate to /system/app folder and delete it.
noobie1
post Feb 5 2011, 11:46 PM

2,538 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Feb 5 2011, 11:15 PM)
Easy. Before flashing, just open the custom rom zip file with 7zip and delete the apk that you do not want. If you have flashed, use root explorer and navigate to /system/app folder and delete it.
can delete using titanium backup too smile.gif
tpzeik
post Feb 5 2011, 11:53 PM

541 posts

Hi all,

I just purchased a Galaxy S 1 week ago. I noticed that whenever I made a phone call and the in-call volume is more than 50%, I will hear distortion (voice + weird sound, sounds like the speaker is broken) from the in-call speaker. Is that considered normal? Seriously need your advice here, thanks in advance.
mikecmy
post Feb 6 2011, 12:03 AM

734 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Feb 5 2011, 11:01 PM)
as long as the theme is compatible with the rom you can flash any theme
QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Feb 5 2011, 11:01 PM)
Most themes are compatible with doc's and darkyy.. After flashing custom rom, just download and of the theme's CWM, and flash away.

Remember to make a backup of your theme first in case of a bad theme,

addon:
This is only optional and not required. If you have problem with a theme, just flash another one.

How to backup your theme
from http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=899471
noted sifus.
thanks for the guidance notworthy.gif
gmhafiz
post Feb 6 2011, 12:05 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ Feb 5 2011, 09:16 PM)
Yup, TB is a lot more convenient biggrin.gif
klwong99
post Feb 6 2011, 12:30 AM

224 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Feb 5 2011, 11:15 PM)
QUOTE(noobie1 @ Feb 5 2011, 11:46 PM)
Thx gmhafiz and noobie1, but i still curious just delete .apk file mean uninstall the app already?
Pre-installed data files or cache still keeping in the phone, rite?
gmhafiz
post Feb 6 2011, 12:36 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(klwong99 @ Feb 5 2011, 10:00 PM)
Thx gmhafiz and noobie1, but i still curious just delete .apk file mean uninstall the app already?
Pre-installed data files or cache still keeping in the phone, rite?
Can delete or rename - will uninstall the app. Example: thinkfree.apk.bak. Can rename the file to thinkfree.apk if you want the app back.

Not sure if it will delete files in the dbdata or cache. But files on /sdcard will be left alone.
CrossX
post Feb 6 2011, 12:40 AM

726 posts

QUOTE(klwong99 @ Feb 5 2011, 11:12 PM)
I'm just a noob, i just so happen to get the list from somewhere which i dont even remember where XD

Added on February 6, 2011, 12:43 amany online android games that we can play together???

This post has been edited by CrossX: Feb 6 2011, 12:43 AM
gmhafiz
post Feb 6 2011, 12:48 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(CrossX @ Feb 5 2011, 10:10 PM)
I'm just a noob, i just so happen to get the list from somewhere which i dont even remember where XD

Added on February 6, 2011, 12:43 amany online android games that we can play together???
games are not my strongest suit haha. Try googling: http://www.google.co.in/search?sourceid=ch...oid+multiplayer
edit: linkfix

we could compile a list and ts can put it to first page. Good for android first timers.

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: Feb 6 2011, 12:51 AM

125 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0171sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:54 AM