Headphones Superlux Fan Club, For music lovers with tight budget :D

williepoh
post Apr 13 2011, 02:51 PM

153 posts

[quote=sosot000,Apr 13 2011, 02:32 PM]
[quote=williepoh,Apr 13 2011, 02:07 PM]
rclxub.gif just now lunch time went to PS3 at recreation room, [nicely and sticks the cotton and sponge with double-sided tape] this is quite diff i think hmm.gif[quote=williepoh,Apr 13 2011, 02:07 PM]

ya is quite difficult as the cotton was so KACAU! but for comfy, it was the best material~ and the thickness and shape of the sponge do MEAN alot to the earpad, the easy way is to buy a LARGE piece of sponge, so u oni need to cut a hole on the sponge and it can nicely fit onto ur ear~~ u can use thicker sponge to create more room for ur ears (which i alr did it~~), with more space between the ear and the drivers, the sound seems like surrounding in the cans, it feel super nice when u listen to bassy songs~~ cos the bass does remains inside the cans longer(imaginations~~), will try to change the thin piece of cotton with sumthing else when i free today~~ addicted to mod headphones~

[/quote]
rclxub.gif are u in KL? if that so can we meet up or even call some ppl gathering, then teach us how to do it rclxub.gif i still quite confusing, help~~ icon_question.gif

P/S: after few times looking on ur 668b, i found just need to put the whole stocking in, i tot need cut and do something complicated, but the sponge still quite a prob.. rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by williepoh: Apr 13 2011, 03:12 PM
islubio
post Apr 13 2011, 03:15 PM

90 posts

http://www.flickr.com/photos/wkwduong/5253623141/lightbox/

there's only a very thin layer of band on the photo u have to zoom in a little

This post has been edited by islubio: Apr 13 2011, 03:21 PM
ssyycc
post Apr 13 2011, 04:02 PM

Mr.
920 posts

I think we can do something like go to search a comfortable china brand headphone, cut it off the pad and use it in our HD668B. Far more easier and cheaper option.
SUSd3m0n
post Apr 13 2011, 04:12 PM

Just A Member
898 posts

QUOTE(ssyycc @ Apr 13 2011, 04:02 PM)
I think we can do something like go to search a comfortable china brand headphone, cut it off the pad and use it in our HD668B. Far more easier and cheaper option.
thumbup.gif

Nice idea. Since DIY should be about cheap/easy to do. I second this.
williepoh
post Apr 13 2011, 04:29 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(ssyycc @ Apr 13 2011, 04:02 PM)
its good ideas, but i think would take time to search something that fix the size?
ohyea bro ssyycc what diff Full SPC and Techflex sleeving, i personally own one full SPC custom cable. just curious rclxms.gif flex.gif
QUOTE(d3m0n @ Apr 13 2011, 04:12 PM)
thumbup.gif

Nice idea. Since DIY should be about cheap/easy to do. I second this.
cool.gif if can found of coz good, bro demon how the burn in? whistling.gif

islubio
post Apr 13 2011, 04:44 PM

90 posts

It's the kind of material use to sleeve the cable.
Teflon more stiff imo.
Have diy-ed some cables which uses the teflon sleeving (single core 6n silver n 6n copper)
teflon also have more microphonics due to been stiff

This post has been edited by islubio: Apr 13 2011, 05:16 PM
SUSd3m0n
post Apr 13 2011, 04:51 PM

Just A Member
898 posts

QUOTE(williepoh @ Apr 13 2011, 04:29 PM)
cool.gif if can found of coz good, bro demon how the burn in? whistling.gif
So, we need to work as a team to hunt them down. Lol.

Haven't listen to it yet. Left it back home to let it burn in peace. biggrin.gif
williepoh
post Apr 13 2011, 05:05 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(d3m0n @ Apr 13 2011, 04:51 PM)
So, we need to work as a team to hunt them down. Lol.

Haven't listen to it yet. Left it back home to let it burn in peace.  biggrin.gif
thumbup.gif yea, if not then we just bulk a lot a lot AKG pads, to get more cheapers whistling.gif i believe if wan find china brand comfortable pads not cheap as well.
ic, i let mine babes off today, yesterday whole day burn in, the high and detail became better. icon_rolleyes.gif

It's the kind of material use to sleeve the cable.
Teflon more stiff imo.
Have diy-ed some cables which uses the teflon sleeving (single core 6n silver n 6n copper)
teflon also have more microphonics due to been stiff

icic.. thanks for explain tongue.gif

This post has been edited by williepoh: Apr 13 2011, 05:27 PM
Yuki Ijuin
post Apr 13 2011, 05:35 PM

I just lurk nowadays.
649 posts

Burning in process has been slow. 10 hours after 1 day. Need to burn it MOAR!
iamyuanwu
post Apr 13 2011, 05:44 PM

2,425 posts

QUOTE(islubio @ Apr 13 2011, 03:15 PM)
http://www.flickr.com/photos/wkwduong/5253623141/lightbox/

there's only a very thin layer of band on the photo u have to zoom in a little
OH! Now I see. Hah hah!

I'm interested in getting the K240 velour pads. Bulk from LYN'er E1-AKG, anyone?

---
For everone's reference again, here's the list links about DIY mods available that have been compiled some time ago:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=39894329

TStrio
post Apr 13 2011, 06:08 PM

DIfferent
803 posts

Actually I found a supplier doing a third party pad for superlux but they were in the midst of creating it. Not sure their progress
islubio
post Apr 13 2011, 06:15 PM

90 posts

btw have any of u done the filter mod on the 668b?
do they sound better?
iamyuanwu
post Apr 13 2011, 06:32 PM

2,425 posts

QUOTE(islubio @ Apr 13 2011, 06:15 PM)
btw have any of u done the filter mod on the 668b?
do they sound better?
You mean the Franz [electronic] filter?
Kenot. That one is ONLY for 681. Different impedence.

If you mean removing the foam in front of the driver, then yes. It sounds sharper, and in rare situations can have a bit of sibilance.
Replacing the foam with a thinner and less dense foam will give more clarity without the sibilance issue (I hope).
sosot000
post Apr 13 2011, 09:05 PM

426 posts

QUOTE(williepoh @ Apr 13 2011, 02:51 PM)
rclxub.gif are u in KL? if that so can we meet up or even call some ppl gathering, then teach us how to do it  rclxub.gif  i still quite confusing, help~~ icon_question.gif

P/S: after few times looking on ur 668b, i found just need to put the whole stocking in, i tot need cut and do something complicated, but the sponge still quite a prob.. rclxub.gif
sadly im not in KL, and yes it is quite a simple mod tongue.gif . the hardest part is how u gonna fix the sponge and the cotton doh.gif , i recommend not to put cotton 1st as u are 1st timer mod (presume~) hmm.gif .

if u are an advance kaki, u will noe tat every mod have a similar issue, which is call "PATIENCE & PRACTICE" thumbup.gif . with them u can archive anything u wan! cheers bro and GOOD LUCK! rclxms.gif
Agnaem
post Apr 13 2011, 10:28 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Apr 13 2011, 02:44 PM)
Eh, E1-AKG can get K240 velour pads cheaper & faster? Then I no need to susah payah go order and wait like mad for the pads.

I've created the bulk thread here:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1833995

Put in your name to join the bulk.
Interested! Replacement should be simple right? Never took off a headphones' ear pad before tongue.gif

p/s: I never had the chance to go home and try my 668B. cry.gif Hopefully I can go home tomorrow to test them..
islubio
post Apr 13 2011, 11:06 PM

90 posts

er actually he have filter modded the Samson SR850 which is the same as 668b. At first he use the same filter mod but later he modded the filter.
http://rockgrotto.proboards.com/index.cgi?...lay&thread=5788
iamyuanwu
post Apr 14 2011, 12:40 AM

2,425 posts

QUOTE(Agnaem @ Apr 13 2011, 10:28 PM)
Interested! Replacement should be simple right? Never took off a headphones' ear pad before tongue.gif

p/s: I never had the chance to go home and try my 668B. cry.gif Hopefully I can go home tomorrow to test them..
It's easy as pie. You know how to put on a sock, then you know how to fit it in. Just that it will be a very tight fitting 'sock'.

I've added your name in the bulk list.

Added on April 14, 2011, 12:40 am
QUOTE(islubio @ Apr 13 2011, 11:06 PM)
er actually he have filter modded the Samson SR850 which is the same as 668b. At first he use the same filter mod but later he modded the filter.
http://rockgrotto.proboards.com/index.cgi?...lay&thread=5788
Samson SR850 different impedence vs 668B leh.
668B = 56ohm
Samson = 32ohm (IIRC)

Not to say you couldn't try it and see what you can gain from it. Just that I personally don't find it a need to do so. So far, I love the trebles as it is. =)

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Apr 14 2011, 12:40 AM
SUSd3m0n
post Apr 14 2011, 02:23 PM

Just A Member
898 posts

Guys, I have a request. Please update the mod links. All the link is broken.
noobandroid
post Apr 14 2011, 05:34 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

QUOTE(d3m0n @ Apr 14 2011, 02:23 PM)
Guys, I have a request. Please update the mod links. All the link is broken.
i have mention d quite some posts ago
ssyycc
post Apr 14 2011, 06:05 PM

Mr.
920 posts

How you guys pairing your HD668B, no amp definitely is bad. Using simple Fiio E3 already improves a lot. My cMoyBB do bring it to another level.

127 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0339sec    0.81    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:11 PM