Headphones Superlux Fan Club, For music lovers with tight budget :D

williepoh
post Mar 22 2011, 12:08 AM

153 posts

QUOTE(trio @ Mar 14 2011, 07:03 PM)
hahahahhaa adui bankrupt aku XD but any of you wanna get it I can give discount now with free gift  rclxm9.gif biggrin.gif

It is a great time to get it now since it is dirt cheap now thx to our good forumer despite the 'news' XD

Anyway, to future superlux owners and 'red-eyed' branded headphones fanboys, superlux cans are good. Their performance are well above their price but pls do not misunderstand and expect it to perform like a rm1000 headphones because it does not. This is only good for beginner in this hobby, or music lovers without budget, non enthusiastic. If you have the money or want something better, by all means you can go to get those really good audiophile level headphones. However, that being said, I still luv superlux!  XD
drool.gif free gift free gift~~ but i paid d, surely no gifts, but if got must give me huh! sadly still waiting my 668b, my indeed amp is arrive from hong kong ordy.. thumbup.gif cant wait to see both of this power rclxm9.gif

williepoh
post Apr 11 2011, 01:53 PM

153 posts

in first half hour burn in, jz one word can explain, excellent!! smile.gif totally worth for the price, and even more i believe smile.gif the bass is ngam ngam hor, the detail very good, felt the 3D biggrin.gif and oso sound stage, the high is good enough for the price, hopefully with burn in will better, that is using ipod nano, when with hippo gumstick that built in class A amp, i jz can tell the power is WOW~~
williepoh
post Apr 12 2011, 09:28 AM

153 posts

mayb u can look for E1-AKG, around RM80 ETA for 8weeks, haha mayb i will go for it as well when i got extra budget biggrin.gif
williepoh
post Apr 12 2011, 12:29 PM

153 posts

yea, congratz to u finally got ur toy smile.gif remember to get a amp if wan it more warm and tight bass
williepoh
post Apr 12 2011, 10:56 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(d3m0n @ Apr 12 2011, 12:57 PM)
Thanks bro. I got E7 already, should be enough right?
Lol. I'm gonna be exactly like you tomorrow.  laugh.gif
wow E7 would enough d rclxms.gif mine is indeed buffer amp btw

QUOTE(trio @ Apr 12 2011, 12:59 PM)
you guys need a rpelacement pad izzit? If yes, I can look and get it for you guys
yea, thanks bro trio for that notworthy.gif
hopefully is comfortable and enough for long hours wearing icon_rolleyes.gif

found the dt770 velour pads on headphone solution going at 28usd b4 shipping. maybe u guys or trio can mass order?
or mass from thomann.de which is slightly cheaper

wow, jz google and it for look nice, not sure is it possible for long hour wear?

This post has been edited by williepoh: Apr 12 2011, 10:59 PM
williepoh
post Apr 13 2011, 01:02 AM

153 posts

QUOTE(d3m0n @ Apr 12 2011, 06:25 PM)
I just plugged in my new toy and I'm just speechless. Superb headphone! I don't know how to explain on the highs or lows or soundstage but I do know that the clarity is simply amazing. I can even hear distorted (cracking) noise in a song that I wasn't be able to hear before with a much more expensive headphone. And I haven't even plug it with a DAC/amp. Will let it burn for a few hours and see how things go from there. To put things simple, THIS IS ONE FANTASTIC HEADPHONE WORTHY THE POSITIVE REVIEWS AND DO BELONG AMONGST OTHER BRANDED AND PRICIER HEADPHONErclxms.gif

Abg trio, I fcuking love you for bringing me this wonderful cans!  notworthy.gif

P/S : Thanks for the complimentary mentos.
wow bro finally heard it brows.gif mayb next level i would go for iem brows.gif since 668b is too big to bring to office and bring back to home for enjoy whistling.gif

QUOTE(islubio @ Apr 12 2011, 08:04 PM)
found the dt770 velour pads on headphone solution going at 28usd b4 shipping. maybe u guys or trio can mass order?
or mass from thomann.de which is slightly cheaper
let yell loud bro trio find some velour pads that value and brows.gif

QUOTE(:+:JerRy:+: @ Apr 13 2011, 12:21 AM)
interested with the replacement earpad~ smile.gif
whistling.gif same as above

QUOTE(Racerx @ Apr 13 2011, 12:46 AM)
Guys,how does the HD668B compare to the Fischer Audio FA-004?
never had one Fischer Audio FA-004, but! u can go Audio Related Accessories to grab one, i just saw someone selling it at the price quite cheap for 1week, thumbup.gif u would find how far this lovely go with this dam cheap pricing notworthy.gif
hd668b headphone got noise-cancelling feqture??
so dat no one will know what im listening..

nop it semi open type, its okay as long u not open untill very loud.

This post has been edited by williepoh: Apr 13 2011, 01:05 AM
williepoh
post Apr 13 2011, 12:09 PM

153 posts

thanks for sharing us sure a simple way for mod the earpad biggrin.gif but i still don get how can warp it, mind youtube for us? tongue.gif
williepoh
post Apr 13 2011, 12:21 PM

153 posts

from the step u mod old earpad or current earpad -> wear the socking for it and do cotton sound good? mind to post some pics for those.
williepoh
post Apr 13 2011, 12:53 PM

153 posts

ic thanks, use the cotton and warp it to circle? and put few sponge and can be that size ordy? quite amazing tongue.gif help me mod~~
williepoh
post Apr 13 2011, 02:07 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(sosot000 @ Apr 13 2011, 12:56 PM)
the point is that u needa cut nicely and sticks the cotton and sponge with double-sided tape or sumthing else, and most imprtantly, MEASURE b4 u do it.

Added on April 13, 2011, 1:30 pmhahaha all ppl missing, busy modding~~
rclxub.gif just now lunch time went to PS3 at recreation room, [nicely and sticks the cotton and sponge with double-sided tape] this is quite diff i think hmm.gif
QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Today, 01:52 PM)
I can order it from the local distro for RM100 a pair. The distributor told me: 3 months waiting period, 50% deposit.
E1-AKG do RM80 and 8weeks/2months ETA. let gather those who wan then try bulk to get cheaper laugh.gif

This post has been edited by williepoh: Apr 13 2011, 02:13 PM
williepoh
post Apr 13 2011, 02:51 PM

153 posts

[quote=sosot000,Apr 13 2011, 02:32 PM]
[quote=williepoh,Apr 13 2011, 02:07 PM]
rclxub.gif just now lunch time went to PS3 at recreation room, [nicely and sticks the cotton and sponge with double-sided tape] this is quite diff i think hmm.gif[quote=williepoh,Apr 13 2011, 02:07 PM]

ya is quite difficult as the cotton was so KACAU! but for comfy, it was the best material~ and the thickness and shape of the sponge do MEAN alot to the earpad, the easy way is to buy a LARGE piece of sponge, so u oni need to cut a hole on the sponge and it can nicely fit onto ur ear~~ u can use thicker sponge to create more room for ur ears (which i alr did it~~), with more space between the ear and the drivers, the sound seems like surrounding in the cans, it feel super nice when u listen to bassy songs~~ cos the bass does remains inside the cans longer(imaginations~~), will try to change the thin piece of cotton with sumthing else when i free today~~ addicted to mod headphones~

[/quote]
rclxub.gif are u in KL? if that so can we meet up or even call some ppl gathering, then teach us how to do it rclxub.gif i still quite confusing, help~~ icon_question.gif

P/S: after few times looking on ur 668b, i found just need to put the whole stocking in, i tot need cut and do something complicated, but the sponge still quite a prob.. rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by williepoh: Apr 13 2011, 03:12 PM
williepoh
post Apr 13 2011, 04:29 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(ssyycc @ Apr 13 2011, 04:02 PM)
I think we can do something like go to search a comfortable china brand headphone, cut it off the pad and use it in our HD668B. Far more easier and cheaper option.
its good ideas, but i think would take time to search something that fix the size?
ohyea bro ssyycc what diff Full SPC and Techflex sleeving, i personally own one full SPC custom cable. just curious rclxms.gif flex.gif
QUOTE(d3m0n @ Apr 13 2011, 04:12 PM)
thumbup.gif

Nice idea. Since DIY should be about cheap/easy to do. I second this.
cool.gif if can found of coz good, bro demon how the burn in? whistling.gif

williepoh
post Apr 13 2011, 05:05 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(d3m0n @ Apr 13 2011, 04:51 PM)
So, we need to work as a team to hunt them down. Lol.

Haven't listen to it yet. Left it back home to let it burn in peace.  biggrin.gif
thumbup.gif yea, if not then we just bulk a lot a lot AKG pads, to get more cheapers whistling.gif i believe if wan find china brand comfortable pads not cheap as well.
ic, i let mine babes off today, yesterday whole day burn in, the high and detail became better. icon_rolleyes.gif

It's the kind of material use to sleeve the cable.
Teflon more stiff imo.
Have diy-ed some cables which uses the teflon sleeving (single core 6n silver n 6n copper)
teflon also have more microphonics due to been stiff

icic.. thanks for explain tongue.gif

This post has been edited by williepoh: Apr 13 2011, 05:27 PM
williepoh
post Apr 14 2011, 06:12 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(ssyycc @ Apr 14 2011, 06:05 PM)
How you guys pairing your HD668B, no amp definitely is bad. Using simple Fiio E3 already improves a lot. My cMoyBB do bring it to another level.
WM8501 DAC USB + indeed AMP, brows.gif the sound became more clear and bass more tight but not over, compare that i direct plug to lappy jack out, that sound a bit.......

This post has been edited by williepoh: Apr 14 2011, 06:12 PM
williepoh
post Apr 14 2011, 10:19 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(Agnaem @ Apr 14 2011, 08:23 PM)
Great, thx. smile.gif PM me later when you need the payment or such.

P/s: Now I need a headphone amp. I'm already broke lol.
mayb u can consider E7 or E11(no yet official announced i think)
my indeed amp got some prob by the tze tze sound, quite a prob i think mayb will consider E7 as my next amp as well since need send back to hong kong to repair it. mad.gif
QUOTE(ssyycc @ Apr 14 2011, 08:23 PM)
I can tell you what happen if straight from lappy jack out, sound all cramp into one piece, no soundstage at all, sound noisy and edgy and muffled, bassy at the wrong place, when it suppose to have bass the bass missing because the power went to mid or treble. You get headache after listening for 1 min 

Another possibly is it's sound very tiny...

yea that what i felt as well, feel like very flat... cant feel the soundstage and detail.. and... i willl say the original cables is not that good when compare to custom cable unsure.gif jz tried and custom cable more warm and loud, bass oso better.. not sure if anyone tried. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by williepoh: Apr 14 2011, 10:24 PM
williepoh
post Apr 14 2011, 11:15 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(Agnaem @ Apr 14 2011, 10:30 PM)
That's sad news. Especially when your amp is still new..

All the amp you mentioned is what I'm considering right now. E7, *E11, and indeed hybrid. Though with what I've right now, I can only afford E3 or E5.  sad.gif

*Under development, or at least that's what I understand from feiao's post.

The custom cable, is it the one made by ssyycc? That's another one on my list, but I want to go for an amp first. So many things to buy, so little money. tongue.gif
by i_djoel2000, it use SPC cables, quite...... amazing sound quality compare to the 668b ori cables! if u at KL mayb we can meet up and share our EQ audit together.
yea money quite a prob as well, i had spent around RM1k on audio i think i m kinda in the poisoning ordy, but so far, still very happy with what i having, that let me heard something i never knew before, and i were thought "i jz need something can listen that enough to me" but that totally diff until i tried. hmm i think if u wan go, better go better, or else u will need to upgrade one time let say u feel that not good enough tongue.gif for audio u know rite, keep on upgrade and upgrade, that how they done, so better u consider E7 or mayb u can go jaben audit E5 first, if u happy with it, mayb that good.

QUOTE(d3m0n @ Apr 14 2011, 10:55 PM)
Yup, E11 is still under development. But should be ready late this month as reported. Lol, keep on saving bro. You'll get there. Just need to tahan a bit la. Even when fellow audiophiles poison you kaw kaw.  biggrin.gif

Yup. i_djoel also make custom cables for HD668B.
yea i bought from him, sure a good person that he the one bring me to audiophile world, i am very thanks to him, jz the indeed amp from his fren quite disappointed me, got prob from the start, and i tot that is normal. shakehead.gif

QUOTE(sosot000 @ Apr 14 2011, 10:59 PM)
had mod the earpad again~~ rclxms.gif  sound did improve nicely flex.gif  rclxm9.gif
[attachmentid=2156410]
wow congratz bro sad.gif i still using this sweaty babes leather pad. urs look biggest among all the mod tongue.gif
williepoh
post Apr 14 2011, 11:28 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(sosot000 @ Apr 14 2011, 11:17 PM)
ya, cos i made the earpad thicker for better air circulation inside the cans, and of cos some soft cotton to prevent extra sound leakage, now the cans sound so sweeet~~~~ drool.gif

Added on April 14, 2011, 11:20 pm
nope, i use cloth tis time, old sweater~ tongue.gif
so urs no more semi open? more like sweet sound adsorb?

QUOTE(d3m0n @ Apr 14 2011, 11:22 PM)
Oh really? I did contact him about the cables. But my monthly budget sudah lari la. So need to wait for my salary to come out first. Lol.  sweat.gif

But seriously, with his cable it sound much better?  hmm.gif

Whats up with the amp?
Lol, you sound shocked.  laugh.gif
Bro, requesting a detail step by step guide. I know you already provided such guide but I'm still a little blurry.  icon_question.gif
yea, the cables mayb is quite exp among custom, but i believe that worth for what we paid, if u in johor mayb can ask he come out to let u audit btw ur 668b cables and his custom cables, i did compared, the sound much diff, from warm, bass, loud, detail.
hmm we believe mayb is power supply got prob, but i don know where can find power supply fit it, or mayb other prob, the tze tze sound quite annoying me, but the quality improve make warm and bass tight, and soundstage reli can diff though listen thumbup.gif

williepoh
post Apr 14 2011, 11:45 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(sosot000 @ Apr 14 2011, 11:43 PM)
i can provide u an easier way to mod the earpad, the oni con for the thick earpad is that, the headphone become heavier.

materials: a pair of BIG sponge, a pair of earpad cloth(socks/ cover/ anything~), cotton wool(in case u wan to maximise the softness of the pads)

step by step:
1. find 2 BIG, i repeat BIG piece of sponge shocking.gif (u can get them in any cleaning accessory shop easily), take it and place them to ur ear, if the size of the sponge is bigger than ur ear, buy it, u need them to make ur world easier. if u buy a smaller piece of sponge, u will need to do alot of sewing.

2. take them and measure to ur cans, mark to hole and now, CUT THEM NICELY! blink.gif  in case u feel the earpad was too thick, cut them into smaller piece from SIDE!!

3. removed the ori 668b earpad 1st, it can really help alot for putting the socks/ cover/ anything~(socks is recommended as its elasticity is the best and cheapest to grab tongue.gif  ) onto the cans.

4. cut the extra parts of the socks LONGER, i really mean it! longer, so u have no need to put any card or tissue inside the cans to firm the sponge.

5. put the sponge that u had jus cut a hole of it, cover them with socks, feel free to put some cotton or thicker sponge to match ur personal preference.

6. wrap the sponge by squeezing the extra parts of the socks into the bottom of the sponge, remember to make them as firm as possible~

7. enjoy ur hardwork~~ icon_rolleyes.gif  thumbup.gif
thanks for your explain, ++ for u tongue.gif
williepoh
post Apr 15 2011, 04:20 AM

153 posts

QUOTE(jackstrom @ Apr 15 2011, 02:48 AM)
saw you guys thinking buy a amp which is good sign  smile.gif
which make me also want to buy a amp too but...
no $$  cry.gif  because i no income
ps: i thinking buy fiio e7 which i can use at any pc  tongue.gif  any other suggestion for lower price amp which similar e7?
same as above, wait for E11, design quite nice as well, but without DAC function, if u portable with mp3, i think that enough, unless u get amp first, then go for any DAC as well, for me laptop user, i go WM8501 for more soundstage and detail, then indeed for more bass and warm sound, cables that bring diff as well, keep trying bro, u would find it out by urself what u pefer.

Lol yea, it's never ending. I just managed to stop on upgrading PC, but started on audio soon after that, which is where I'm now. 
I've recently used nearly RM700 on audio. It's a lot for someone with no income.

Thanks for the advice. I guess I'll save money for now, and it's a good chance to wait for E11 as well, see how good it is. Though, unless E11 blows E7's amp part by miles, I'd go for E7 since I want a decent DAC as well. 

For now, I'm using 668B with Cube C30. There's more detail or in short, it's already better than C30 + any headphones/IEM I have. That should let me save for now.  I believe a step by step upgrade will let me enjoy more of each upgraded part.

i just start my audio journey around 1month, 250++ on amp, 170++ on DAC, 160++ on 668b, cables for interconnect and 668b replacement around 160++.. and ipod around 400++.. well i believe ur C30 quite a legend, since i boro my fren gumstick to audit ordy quite a epic opamp powerfull without amp,
just can say good luck on our journey bro

This post has been edited by williepoh: Apr 15 2011, 04:33 AM
williepoh
post Apr 15 2011, 10:26 AM

153 posts

QUOTE(SiLVeRHybRiD @ Apr 15 2011, 10:19 AM)
get an e3 then its around 35 bucks  biggrin.gif
unsure.gif E3 then direct upgrade to E11 rclxms.gif

0.0253sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 01:18 AM