125 Pages « < 86 87 88 89 90 > » Bottom

LYN Proton Saga/Iswara Drivers' Forum! V23, The first Proton car in production

sinister_sid
post May 9 2011, 12:35 AM

QUOTE(cadmus @ May 8 2011, 11:19 PM)
how much should i be budgeting if i were to go for 4g15?

and for the exhaust modification, what kind of modification are we talking about(exhaust kit etc etc)? cos i plan to visit some accessory shops and tell them specifically for such modification. At least they know what i'm talking about.
i see, thanks for your advice. will check tommoro what is my current aircon on/off rpm setting.

For fuel consumption + acceleration, i would need to go for proper carb tuning. maybe will ask my mechanic to have a look at the tuning again and ask him to adjust for better mileage without loosing much power.

For break system, how much is a decent breaking system? i kinda drive fast and the car sometimes stops to close to being in an accident ><. So my thought was if i have a better breaking system, at least it stop further from accident. This include to change to a better tyre.
for a 4g15 block and internal cost around 1k
then transplant cost and endorsement cost plus wear and tear item maybe around 1.5k
total 2.5 to 4k
my advise la
if not a power freak no need go bother by 1.5 block conversion
i found out 1.3 have slightlly better fc than 1.5
plus rozz play around 1.3 with minor upgrade
word is damm strong wor can neck to neck with modded 1.5 brows.gif
need senior here clarified brows.gif

exhaust can be from simply backbox upgrade to whole exxhaust system upgrade
starting from the extractor to mid piping to back box
depend on you what you wanted than we can help you better

if a engine properlly tuned than you wont have fc and power issue
remember the fc and power when you got the car brows.gif

braking system you can start from sourcing a double layer servo from mitsu vr4 , evo 3 , pajero or from honda
cost start from 150 buck
will help you assist more in applying force to the brake caliper
price start from 150 at halfcut shop price
then change ur brake fluid to new fluid
then get a better brake pad and a aftermarket ventalited disk
later not enuff get a rear disk conversoin and a twin periuk vr4 front disk brows.gif

Added on May 9, 2011, 12:37 am
QUOTE(Codyx @ May 8 2011, 11:33 PM)
Just to know how much is all your LMST owner FC(1.3 stock)

let's say for 100km rate

fuel choice and drive pattern

65 buck 449km
i lazy mau divide
driving style young blood lo but most of time stuck at traffic jam doh.gif
esso ron 95

This post has been edited by sinister_sid: May 9 2011, 12:37 AM
Shawnzz
post May 9 2011, 12:53 AM

1,911 posts

QUOTE(cadmus @ May 8 2011, 11:19 PM)
how much should i be budgeting if i were to go for 4g15?

and for the exhaust modification, what kind of modification are we talking about(exhaust kit etc etc)? cos i plan to visit some accessory shops and tell them specifically for such modification. At least they know what i'm talking about.
i see, thanks for your advice. will check tommoro what is my current aircon on/off rpm setting.

For fuel consumption + acceleration, i would need to go for proper carb tuning. maybe will ask my mechanic to have a look at the tuning again and ask him to adjust for better mileage without loosing much power.

For break system, how much is a decent breaking system? i kinda drive fast and the car sometimes stops to close to being in an accident ><. So my thought was if i have a better breaking system, at least it stop further from accident. This include to change to a better tyre.
accessories shop? what you want them to recomend you? LED LIGHTS? SURBO? laugh.gif

Best setup for city usage is, 4-2-1 extractor , straight tru mid box, exhaust pipe (s-flow or straight flow) depends on you. But if you do not like noise. Stick to ori.

but dont expect so much gain from just exhaust modification.
sinister_sid
post May 9 2011, 12:54 AM

QUOTE(Shawnzz @ May 9 2011, 12:53 AM)
accessories shop? what you want them to recomend you? LED LIGHTS? SURBO?  laugh.gif

Best setup for city usage is, 4-2-1 extractor , straight tru mid box, exhaust pipe (s-flow or straight flow) depends on you. But if you do not like noise. Stick to ori.

cadmus
post May 9 2011, 01:16 AM

too long...
1,132 posts

QUOTE(driots @ May 8 2011, 11:58 PM)
Just prepare about 3k to 5k (cost including the engine or block.)
Depends on what u want to mod while changing to 4G15 whether is the engine kosong or just the block itselves.
Either u change whole engine or the block. Do head pnp, chg the piston ring and bearing, clutch and others accessories part which is time to change. (eg: water pump, timing belt and etc)  :D  :D  :D

While for the brake. Chg to twin servo brake pump.  :thumbs:  :thumbs:  :thumbs:
twin servo can make the tyre lock much faster?

QUOTE(sinister_sid @ May 9 2011, 12:35 AM)
for a 4g15 block and internal cost around 1k
then transplant cost and endorsement cost plus wear and tear item maybe around 1.5k
total 2.5 to 4k
my advise la
if not a power freak no need go bother by 1.5 block conversion
i found out 1.3 have slightlly better fc than 1.5
plus rozz play around 1.3 with minor upgrade
word is damm strong wor can neck to neck with modded 1.5  :hehe:
need senior here clarified  :hehe:

exhaust can be from simply backbox upgrade to whole exxhaust system upgrade
starting from the extractor to mid piping to back box
depend on you what you wanted than we can help you better

if a engine properlly tuned than you wont have fc and power issue
remember the fc and power when you got the car  :hehe:

braking system you can start from sourcing a double layer servo from mitsu vr4 , evo 3 , pajero or from honda
cost start from 150 buck
will help you assist more in applying force to the brake caliper
price start from 150 at halfcut shop price
then change ur brake fluid to new fluid
then get a better brake pad and a aftermarket ventalited  disk
later not enuff get a rear disk conversoin and a twin periuk vr4 front disk  :hehe:
Yeah. very likely won't go for 4g15.
the FC and power when its new.. hm.. it feels good. lol. Need to go find good place for proper tuning. Any recommendation?

how much normally for new part instead of halfcut shop?

QUOTE(Shawnzz @ May 9 2011, 12:53 AM)
accessories shop? what you want them to recomend you? LED LIGHTS? SURBO?  :lol:

lol. don't know what shop is it called . Cos the "accessory" shop that i know got a lot of exhaust pipes on display + players + speakers + other small small things. ><

Notoriez
post May 9 2011, 01:27 AM

I am Notty and Notorious !!!
2,499 posts

QUOTE(cadmus @ May 8 2011, 10:30 PM)
For proper tuning, where can i find a good calibrator workshop?
wow. can you share with me how do u decide that the tuning for your afr and both idle screw are at the optimum position?
Even me myself can tune ignition timing...kasi advance till max...easy like piece of cake...

Go look for FSTrader only la....very cheap only....

Added on May 9, 2011, 1:35 amGood luck by going to accessories shop for advice...sure kena chop kao kao biggrin.gif

Just tune ur carbie + ignition timing, change plugs, change back to ori bougicord cable, use semi syn oil, use original 1.6 piping then ur FC should be ok

For light mods that will help to increase FC abit is to change to LCP (if sayang your engine, find a balanced ones like Redline or Mythelogy), midbox convert to bullet, aftermarket airfilter then kaotim......

No need to waste money change to bigger full piping, extractor or what ever...this would only increase your FC....malas to explain further

This post has been edited by Notoriez: May 9 2011, 01:35 AM
lyordson
post May 9 2011, 02:11 AM

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ May 8 2011, 06:12 PM)
same la here sad.gif
should be this one... 3puck racing clutch... for 1.3/1.5 flywheel...

will make ur left leg stronger...  laugh.gif
nope... hahaha... laugh.gif
har??? means hard lor... wah, sumore affect clutch cable? +_+

and also, my friend said that hi-cam is useless for carbie.. rclxub.gif
thken
post May 9 2011, 02:26 AM

keep walking
938 posts

QUOTE(cadmus @ May 8 2011, 11:50 PM)
Never changed anything yet. It's the stock parts at the moment.
i change mine brake servo to wira1.8. now can tailgate people liao.
its very much better than stock

Added on May 9, 2011, 2:30 am
QUOTE(Notoriez @ May 8 2011, 12:15 PM)

12.5km per liter is REALLY GOOD biggrin.gif

Just wondering why you need to use RON97. There is not much difference as our ignition timing still can set to advance on RON95 provided you are using stock cam + neutral settings.

Average FC for carbie 4G1s engine are 10-11km / liter...

my parents got another 1.5 iswara too, they use ron95 and the FC is like 8-9km/L

retard ignition timing=loss power, and i wanna take care the car also (plan to use for at least 3 more years)

This post has been edited by thken: May 9 2011, 02:30 AM
sinister_sid
post May 9 2011, 11:24 AM

haiz
a word of advise
dont just check ur engine oil
check ur gb oil olso
my gb oil dint take notice until kering d
just now masuk oil olso cannot save d
due to replacement doh.gif
chypp
post May 9 2011, 02:12 PM

67 posts

Hi Sifus. Need help here on my 2003 iswara. The problem relates to handling.

It started recently when i drive from penang to KL. The best way to describe the problem maybe: the handling feels weird, response when cornering not like normal car. It is most obivious when driving above 90kmh and overtaking a car; feels like the car is out of control. Feels like slow response from steering, or an oversteer. What is the most probable reason?

few infos:
1) The steering had been changed to power steering in 2008. Was good back then, only minor leaking.
2) The abs are rojak. Front is std lmst (gas), rear is std iswara (oil).. or the opposite. I cant remember. Same with the coils.
3) Alignment is OK. Checked with a trusty alignment workshop. The shop did check a bit, and said the rear axel is not ok. I saw the rubber seal have oil leakage. But the shop didnt seem confident, and said cant do it that day coz got 2 cars overhaul. Repair cost almost RM300 btw.

So based on the infos, what is possible problem? What should i check so that i wont waste money repairing unrelated issue(s)?

Any trusty workshop to recommend area puchong/kajang/serdang/bangi? Might want to change clutch, and maybe some tuning also at the same time. If all OK and still got extra budget, might interested to performance upgrade to improve comfort/safety (no idea yet).

Thanks a bunch.

This post has been edited by chypp: May 9 2011, 02:13 PM
Chan320
post May 9 2011, 05:01 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(sinister_sid @ May 9 2011, 11:24 AM)
haiz
a word of advise
dont just check ur engine oil
check ur gb oil olso
my gb oil dint take notice until kering d
just now masuk oil olso cannot save d
due to replacement doh.gif
Bro,hw to check gb oil?there is no stick oh....any instruction to check? smile.gif
tofu
post May 9 2011, 05:26 PM

using the 3 puck exedy clutch above, the clutch pedal isn't as stiff as ppl think it is

it is moderately stiffer only, definitely can live with it

no putus cable, no other problems

as for 4g13 vs. 4g15, i fuel consumption between the 2 for me was negligible, however power difference between the 2 is very obvious

for rm1k-ish only, u get approx. 20hp instantly, where else to find such bang-for-your-buck
fleekreturn
post May 9 2011, 08:28 PM

51 posts

really will gain 20 hp for just changing clutch system?
lyordson
post May 9 2011, 09:23 PM

hi cam useless for carbie mar? :S

sorry again, i still dont understand,

1. stroker kit means using 1.3 block with 1.5 piston?
2. plonking in 1.5 block means swap 4g13 engine to 4g15?
mikro
post May 9 2011, 09:26 PM

486 posts

is proton iswara origional extrator is 4-2-1?

If let say I want to mod from ori setup, 4-2-1 extrator , stright tru mid box then exhaust pipe, what the different between s-flow and strightflow?

I need low end and mid range power most of the time.

Need recomendation for shop in sunway.

dopeisgood
post May 9 2011, 09:55 PM

Mr. Dopeisgood
1,487 posts

QUOTE(fleekreturn @ May 9 2011, 08:28 PM)
really will gain 20 hp for just changing clutch system?
he meant changing to 1.5 block u can gain 20hp.. not changing clutch..
lyordson
post May 9 2011, 10:24 PM

QUOTE(dopeisgood @ May 9 2011, 09:55 PM)
he meant changing to 1.5 block u can gain 20hp.. not changing clutch..
har 1.5 block 1k-ish only???
Lowenkreuz
post May 9 2011, 11:00 PM

go wiki it. 4G13 and 4G15 hp differences.

Notoriez
post May 9 2011, 11:05 PM

I am Notty and Notorious !!!
2,499 posts

QUOTE(tofu @ May 9 2011, 05:26 PM)
using the 3 puck exedy clutch above, the clutch pedal isn't as stiff as ppl think it is

it is moderately stiffer only, definitely can live with it

no putus cable, no other problems

as for 4g13 vs. 4g15, i fuel consumption between the 2 for me was negligible, however power difference between the 2 is very obvious

for rm1k-ish only, u get approx. 20hp instantly, where else to find such bang-for-your-buck
Sifooooo notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
Lowenkreuz
post May 9 2011, 11:08 PM

oh yeah, is there any short shifter available for our car? price around how much?

fool1988
post May 9 2011, 11:35 PM

581 posts

QUOTE(Lowenkreuz @ May 9 2011, 11:08 PM)
oh yeah, is there any short shifter available for our car? price around how much?
Got. Rm60~RM80 something

125 Pages « < 86 87 88 89 90 > » Top

0.0811sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 01:38 PM