Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, V9, NOW UPDATING MODEL n PRICE
[PF] T.J.
Feb 21 2011, 03:54 PM
QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Feb 21 2011, 03:51 PM) guys guys guys.. urgent question... which is the best netbook brand? Acer One, Asus eee PC, Samsung, Toshiba? They're all similar, just go for the one you prefer the most in terms of design and features
Mikeshashimi
Feb 21 2011, 03:55 PM
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Feb 21 2011, 03:54 PM) They're all similar, just go for the one you prefer the most in terms of design and features  how bout in terms of performance, reliability and bang for my buck?  PS: and also Battery-life. thanks alot for the swift reply. This post has been edited by Mikeshashimi: Feb 21 2011, 03:56 PM
[PF] T.J.
Feb 21 2011, 03:56 PM
QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Feb 21 2011, 03:55 PM) how bout in terms of performance, reliability and bang for my buck?  PS: and also Battery-life. thanks alot for the swift reply.  The most powerful 10.1 incher would be Acer's AO522 with AMD fusion. The 10.1 incher with the best speakers would be Toshiba's NB520  They're all good in terms of battery life LOL  [do take note that I'm assuming you're asking about 10.1 inch netbooks] This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Feb 21 2011, 03:59 PM
Mikeshashimi
Feb 21 2011, 04:04 PM
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Feb 21 2011, 03:56 PM) The most powerful 10.1 incher would be Acer's AO522 with AMD fusion. The 10.1 incher with the best speakers would be Toshiba's NB520  They're all good in terms of battery life LOL  [do take note that I'm assuming you're asking about 10.1 inch netbooks] around 10.1 inches of course... im looking for entertainment value... just to do my work and also long battery life and durability.... these are mainly my main concerns... how bout Acer AO522 with intel? Added on February 21, 2011, 4:08 pmhttp://www.jbhifi.com.au/computers/netbookfrom this list here, which is the best? (below $400)... This post has been edited by Mikeshashimi: Feb 21 2011, 04:09 PM
Koki
Feb 21 2011, 04:28 PM
Battery life... AMD Fusion would be better though. And Intel Atom is owned by Fusion hands down. Be sure to get AMD Fusion E350 though  E350 a dual core
Mikeshashimi
Feb 21 2011, 04:29 PM
QUOTE(Koki @ Feb 21 2011, 04:28 PM) Battery life... AMD Fusion would be better though. And Intel Atom is owned by Fusion hands down. Be sure to get AMD Fusion E350 though  E350 a dual core ok, so lets say i cant get the model with the fusion, which is the next best one? thanks!
Koki
Feb 21 2011, 04:32 PM
Hmmm... i3s are the next thing. If you don't mind getting a 14 inch from Acer then there's another Fusion laptop. Acer 4253
Mikeshashimi
Feb 21 2011, 04:43 PM
QUOTE(Koki @ Feb 21 2011, 04:32 PM) Hmmm... i3s are the next thing. If you don't mind getting a 14 inch from Acer then there's another Fusion laptop. Acer 4253 i kinda need a netbook... because i need to bring it to class to type out notes for lectures... coz im currently using a 16 incher and its way too big.
[PF] T.J.
Feb 21 2011, 04:47 PM
QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Feb 21 2011, 04:43 PM) i kinda need a netbook... because i need to bring it to class to type out notes for lectures... coz im currently using a 16 incher and its way too big. If for entertainment value, then its Toshiba NB520 FTW Since you have a desktop replacement already then it doesn't really matter how powerful your netbook is  Added on February 21, 2011, 4:47 pmQUOTE(Koki @ Feb 21 2011, 04:28 PM) Battery life... AMD Fusion would be better though. And Intel Atom is owned by Fusion hands down. Be sure to get AMD Fusion E350 though  E350 a dual core Got netbook with E350? This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Feb 21 2011, 04:47 PM
Mikeshashimi
Feb 21 2011, 04:50 PM
not so sure bro... i think my choices are only limited to those in the link i provided.
[PF] T.J.
Feb 21 2011, 04:56 PM
QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Feb 21 2011, 04:50 PM) not so sure bro... i think my choices are only limited to those in the link i provided. If strictly those models, then the Acer with N550 would have slightly better performance than the others... But since the difference is not much, if its me, I would choose the one I like most~ How come only can buy the models from the link? Seemed like old models P/S: Where is lee_what sifu... very quiet without him
Koki
Feb 21 2011, 04:59 PM
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Feb 21 2011, 04:47 PM) If for entertainment value, then its Toshiba NB520 FTW Since you have a desktop replacement already then it doesn't really matter how powerful your netbook is  Added on February 21, 2011, 4:47 pmGot netbook with E350? I think there are netbooks with E350... HP DM1Z and also Lenovo X120E I think. QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Feb 21 2011, 04:56 PM) If strictly those models, then the Acer with N550 would have slightly better performance than the others... But since the difference is not much, if its me, I would choose the one I like most~ How come only can buy the models from the link? Seemed like old models P/S: Where is lee_what sifu... very quiet without him  He is out sifu  Without him we're dying here
[PF] T.J.
Feb 21 2011, 05:01 PM
Well, the laptops you mentioned are 11.6inch in size... not exactly what Mikeshashimi is looking for haha, still those are great laptops Out? Out where? Date? haha
Mikeshashimi
Feb 21 2011, 05:04 PM
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Feb 21 2011, 04:56 PM) If strictly those models, then the Acer with N550 would have slightly better performance than the others... But since the difference is not much, if its me, I would choose the one I like most~ How come only can buy the models from the link? Seemed like old models P/S: Where is lee_what sifu... very quiet without him  coz im in australia right now... and i dont really have that much choice like how i would back in malaysia...
eugenechiuu
Feb 21 2011, 07:35 PM
QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Feb 21 2011, 05:04 PM) coz im in australia right now... and i dont really have that much choice like how i would back in malaysia...  If u can only get laptops from that link, Acer with N550 definitely the best choice then... It's dual core atom, much better than the other netbooks with single core...
Mikeshashimi
Feb 21 2011, 08:43 PM
Thanks for all the swift feedback...
Mikeshashimi
Feb 21 2011, 09:04 PM
so virtually any choice in the list will be more or less the same?
x889539
Feb 21 2011, 09:06 PM

max budget RM2000 any model, prefer gpu ati hd 54xx or better or nvidia gpu...
SUSbudakdegilz
Feb 21 2011, 09:15 PM
Hi..i'm looking for a recommendation but prefer small and lightweight
* Brand- doesn't matter * Budget- RM1.5K below must be new!! * Specs- WiFi,2G RAM,>320GB HDD, HD movie playable * Size- 10'-12"
eugenechiuu
Feb 21 2011, 09:16 PM
QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Feb 21 2011, 09:04 PM) so virtually any choice in the list will be more or less the same? N550 would definitely be better, other than that the other choices r the same lol Added on February 21, 2011, 9:17 pmQUOTE(budakdegilz @ Feb 21 2011, 09:15 PM) Hi..i'm looking for a recommendation but prefer small and lightweight * Brand- doesn't matter* Budget- RM1.5K below must be new!!* Specs- WiFi,2G RAM,>320GB HDD, HD movie playable * Size- 10'-12"Acer AO522 This post has been edited by eugenechiuu: Feb 21 2011, 09:17 PM