7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, V9, NOW UPDATING MODEL n PRICE

Koki
post Feb 12 2011, 02:09 AM

3,142 posts

Bros and sifus, I would like to ask about the ASUS A42JY-VX195V.
Sellers states it has nVidia Optimus technology but it's not stated on the official website and there's no reviews/unboxing of it.
Feels alienated somehow
Koki
post Feb 12 2011, 02:13 AM

3,142 posts

Aiyo. That laptop seems so perfect for my usage.
No switchable graphics for that machine?
Koki
post Feb 14 2011, 01:45 AM

3,142 posts

Bros, I wanna ask about laptops to get a laptop
Decent speakers, decent build quality (more aluminium, less plastic), switchable and not-so-old graphics, i5 proc, working multimedia keys with iTunes (impossible, but really great to have) and good battery life...
I saw ASUS A42JY-VX195V very perfect but just without switchable graphics :'(
Koki
post Feb 14 2011, 02:30 AM

3,142 posts

Any of them budget at about <2.4k?
The ASUS one is really seductive. 14 inches?
Koki
post Feb 14 2011, 02:36 AM

3,142 posts

Possibly don't want i3 sweat.gif
I'm gonna use for light gaming (or maybe just mediocre, not hardcore).
Okay la, maybe not speakers. Just good audio driver and sound card. Use headphones and my Edifier C3 wub.gif

I firstly saw the Lenovo U460, switchable graphics and meets what I wanted. Then disaster is the 2.3 or 2.4k variant is i3!
Koki
post Feb 14 2011, 02:40 AM

3,142 posts

Not those kind of games. I mean indie games.
Sorry bro, I'm really bad at telling stuffs
I also read that some laptops said got switchable graphics like Lenovo Y560P last few pages and said it didn't switch??
And some video previews of laptops got switch to manually switch instead.
Koki
post Feb 14 2011, 02:47 AM

3,142 posts

Aih really dilemma
Fusion APU another one heading for netbooks first.

Where do you check btw? Acer's MY website doesn't update, ASUS one is just lack of information, Lenovo is somewhat weird.
Koki
post Feb 14 2011, 02:54 AM

3,142 posts

Thanks lol.
Any one question - does the heat transfer (build material) really affect the battery life significantly? I mean physics states more heat on a battery is less efficient.
Koki
post Feb 14 2011, 03:00 AM

3,142 posts

Then about MacBook Pro's battery life? The pure aluminium unibody doesn't feel hot at any areas of the laptop.
Heat transfer is good enough there.
EDIT : Given same mAh battery and hardware

This post has been edited by Koki: Feb 14 2011, 03:01 AM
Koki
post Feb 14 2011, 03:04 AM

3,142 posts

Wow never knew that. Macs really have a good plan for their design.
Thanks for the informations, will come back if I have more
Koki
post Feb 14 2011, 09:17 PM

3,142 posts

I saw one from garage sales that sells :
Inspiron 15R i5-450M (2.4GHz, 3M Cache) DOS -Win7 HP Installed 320GB 7200 RPM HD 4GB (2x2GB) 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5470 - 1GB DVD+/-RW Black 1.3MP 15.6 Widescreen HD WLED Glossy Display with TrueLifeâ¿¢ (1366x768) 6-Cell / BT365 / Dell Wireless 1501 2300

Price is okay and I wanna jump to Linux. I just wanna know... does 5470 comes with switchable graphics on this model?
Koki
post Feb 14 2011, 09:26 PM

3,142 posts

Omg then screw Linux. Back to Windows. It ok?
Koki
post Feb 14 2011, 09:29 PM

3,142 posts

Yes I know that....
Is it all automatically or with a physical button?
Koki
post Feb 16 2011, 04:01 PM

3,142 posts

Aiya got a list of switchable graphics laptop that is 14 inches wide screen with a decent graphic card like ATI 5XXX series and AMD 6XXX series?
Switchable graphics is really a big concern these days given with only 6 cell batteries...
Koki
post Feb 16 2011, 10:31 PM

3,142 posts

Bro lee, I feel your frustration with all these repeating questions.
I Googled and found that some laptops have switchable graphics require a reboot to enter the other graphic card (which is terrible), and some just have the screen flickering after unplugging/replugging the A/C power adapter to change between graphics card.
Lenovo's video showed it's seamless, nothing happened but it switched graphics.
My question is - which state is the switchable graphics era these days?
Koki
post Feb 16 2011, 11:42 PM

3,142 posts

I wanna get a U460 at first too. But the model we have here is.....
i3 and Intel HD Graphics for 2499??
Koki
post Feb 17 2011, 02:23 AM

3,142 posts

To ask more specifically... does both AMD/ATI and Nvidia switching graphics working on hackintosh?
My brother is considering a hackintosh machine, either on Fusion APU or i5 with switchable graphics.
And how is Acer's 4820TG in terms of speakers and screen clarity and contrast
Koki
post Feb 18 2011, 12:28 AM

3,142 posts

4820TG-482G64 compared with 3820TG as stated above...
What's the differences??
I'm planning to get 4820TG... best is FreeDOS also. I use modified version of Win7... less crapware and more useful things

This post has been edited by Koki: Feb 18 2011, 12:30 AM
Koki
post Feb 18 2011, 12:45 AM

3,142 posts

Okay... any other variants of the 4820TG then??
Koki
post Feb 18 2011, 01:54 AM

3,142 posts

Build quality for Acer 4820TG seems pretty bad... Will suffer through my daily usage.
Any other alternatives???
With switchable and not so old graphics card, i5 as always.
MSI also no problem...
Budget is <2.5k like that la

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0430sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:33 AM