Photography vs Gear?, the meaning of photography

SUSgogo2
post Jan 11 2011, 10:34 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(ahtiven @ Jan 11 2011, 10:32 AM)
what nasty comments. always have to go against some folks who have different opinions, dont you gogo2?

before you start hurling at me, i have to say i agree with your views. but some posts/dumb questions from you are really not necessary.
huh? I tot it was a discussion.. i'm not sure which part is nasty comment.. lol

Added on January 11, 2011, 10:35 am
QUOTE(shootkk @ Jan 11 2011, 10:33 AM)
See? This is prime example of people who is in 3rd phase and haven't reached the 4th phase. Yes you can have all the gears you can lay your hands on but if you go to a place where they die, die also not allow you to use flash then how? You have flash also no use what. So have to fall back on what you know on how to take a decent pic without relying on the flash isn't it? If you have zero skills and always have to rely on flash then die lor, isn't it?

Gears are essential but gears is not the be all and end all. When people come to realize this fact, then they will tell you that gears is not everything and skills matters. They start to see gears as a tool they utilize to get the picture they want. They will move away from the notion that good gears will guarantee you good pics minus the skills. Gears will not compensate for lack of skills in most situations.
And not all people who buy gears will learn. This will explain those people who buy top end bodies but shoot in AUTO mode.
well, if flash cannot use, have to buy big aperture lens lor.. what to do... what skill can replace big aperture and flash?

and also, u have to buy tripod also...

in the end, we have to buy buy buy....

This post has been edited by gogo2: Jan 11 2011, 10:35 AM
shootkk
post Jan 11 2011, 10:43 AM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jan 11 2011, 10:34 AM)
huh? I tot it was a discussion.. i'm not sure which part is nasty comment.. lol

Added on January 11, 2011, 10:35 am
well, if flash cannot use, have to buy big aperture lens lor.. what to do... what skill can replace big aperture and flash?

and also, u have to buy tripod also...

in the end, we have to buy buy buy....
Anyone can use a big aperture lens and flash to shoot a decent pic. It takes skills to get a decent pic without having to resort to using big aperture lens and flash isn't it?

When all you have is super duper gears and someone take away your super duper gears, you're done! Finished! And time to say sayonara. If you have skills then you simply pick up another cam (does not matter whether it's top range or entry level) and continue shooting and still deliver decent results. That's what matters.
SUSgogo2
post Jan 11 2011, 10:49 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(shootkk @ Jan 11 2011, 10:43 AM)
Anyone can use a big aperture lens and flash to shoot a decent pic. It takes skills to get a decent pic without having to resort to using big aperture lens and flash isn't it?

When all you have is super duper gears and someone take away your super duper gears, you're done! Finished! And time to say sayonara. If you have skills then you simply pick up another cam (does not matter whether it's top range or entry level) and continue shooting and still deliver decent results. That's what matters.
yeah, actually i'll be finish.... i have to resort to put my camera on the bench...

anyway, i no posting here liao... got people butthurt if we start to have debate... lolol
sniper on the roof
post Jan 11 2011, 10:56 AM

23,414 posts

Merajuk pulak... come on... no need to butthurt wan.

*watching from the sidelines*
samlee860407
post Jan 11 2011, 10:57 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jan 11 2011, 10:56 AM)

Pls dont warn me...but I can't stop laughing on this ROFL
aldosoesilo
post Jan 11 2011, 11:05 AM

I was like LOL :D
1,457 posts

QUOTE(ComradeZ @ Jan 10 2011, 08:05 PM)
Then I don't see a reason why you want to update your gears in the next 5 years? You haven't really learn the limitation of your own gear, that is why you are saying things like this but once you learn it, you'll be craving to upgrade for a better equipment.

I myself, used to play with my dad's nikon film camera but hey, it have limitation. That is why, I get myself a 550d and maybe if I want more than just entry level camera, I'll upgrade again. Those kind of saying can't be applied with what the advancement technology have to give.

Yes, you can take a good picture with just a film camera, but what will happen when you use high end body dslr and a really good lens? isn't it become better? or worse? tell me now, sir. Why shouldn't people upgrade?
Well. my limitation is currently my skill.
and I doubt upgrading my gear by change body into an awesome D3x or even 1Ds Mark III will actually increase my photography performance.

that's the reason I ask you to define your good picture bro cool2.gif

QUOTE(geekster129 @ Jan 10 2011, 08:34 PM)
Don't forget Lok C too.
Yeahh.! the is the best I'd say
goldfries
post Jan 11 2011, 11:05 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

i like ieR and Sam's post. smile.gif my photos come out well most often because of flash, so far 3 flash units and gonna be increasing.

btw Sam, how have you been? long time no see oh.
aldosoesilo
post Jan 11 2011, 11:07 AM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jan 11 2011, 10:12 AM)
sux skill can learn. You bought lens and flash and u dun learn is bad example.

I believe people who bought gear will learn.
Do you need D3x to learn? brows.gif
I think I need D3x, 70200, 85mm, 50mm, 200mm, 24mm,11-24 tokina. To start learning.
What do you think??

wouldn't my dad chop my head off? tongue.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by aldosoesilo: Jan 11 2011, 11:12 AM
SUSgogo2
post Jan 11 2011, 11:11 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jan 11 2011, 10:56 AM)

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Jan 11 2011, 10:57 AM)
Pls dont warn me...but I can't stop laughing on this ROFL

butthurt liao... got warning frm other member... so i need to shuddup liao

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Jan 11 2011, 11:07 AM)
Do you need D3x to learn?  brows.gif
I think I need D3x, 70200, 85mm, 50mm, 200mm, 24mm,11-24 tokina. To start learning.
What do you think??

wouldn't my dad cop my head off?  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
i think you're rich rclxms.gif
zstan
post Jan 11 2011, 11:11 AM

15,856 posts

skills and money aside, i need a strong and a very fit right hand too to carry all those big gears. biggrin.gif
aldosoesilo
post Jan 11 2011, 11:13 AM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jan 11 2011, 11:11 AM)
i think you're rich  rclxms.gif
even rich people have a brain don't they?

would throwing RM 50k++ to start learning. what a brainless human sweat.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by aldosoesilo: Jan 11 2011, 11:13 AM
ahmike89
post Jan 11 2011, 11:15 AM

ahmike.net
721 posts

Depends on what you guys wanna shoot. I don't see Nex-3 as a limitation to me and it serves me well in getting pictures I want.

As for gear upgrades, I personally believe it's all about satisfaction. You feel boring and wanna upgrade, go for it. Not really related to skill, I have seen some rich people bought good gears but the pic.............. *ehem*

I have skill and Nex-3 just enough for me. My 2 cents.
aldosoesilo
post Jan 11 2011, 11:19 AM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(ahmike89 @ Jan 11 2011, 11:15 AM)
Depends on what you guys wanna shoot. I don't see Nex-3 as a limitation to me and it serves me well in getting pictures I want.

As for gear upgrades, I personally believe it's all about satisfaction. You feel boring and wanna upgrade, go for it. Not really related to skill, I have seen some rich people bought good gears but the pic.............. *ehem*

I have skill and Nex-3 just enough for me. My 2 cents.
blush.gif blush.gif
geekster129
post Jan 11 2011, 11:19 AM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Jan 11 2011, 11:13 AM)

would throwing RM 50k++ to start learning. what a brainless human  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Well, if he got the money, he got an edge on the vast amount of choices he can have.

The main question is, does a lot of choices make you feel happier or otherwise, more stressful, because there are so many choices, that you are so confused, which lens for what kind of
photography. Sometimes, the more gears you have, the more temptation and the harder you want to make a decision.

Let's say a guy who only carry a 50mm all day long, and another guy who shoot with 3 lenses - UWA, Prime and Tele. Probably both have an equal satisfaction, because guy A would have tried to think "out of the box" to explore some creative side of photography that he has never tried before, and simplicity made him a happier person. Or otherwise guy B would have feeling so stressful with his shooting because there are so many lenses to choose from, and because lacking of understanding on his shooting style, being indecisive of the lens to choose, or he would feel happy, because he has the freedom to choose whatever style he feels best at that point of time.

This post has been edited by geekster129: Jan 11 2011, 11:20 AM
aldosoesilo
post Jan 11 2011, 11:22 AM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(geekster129 @ Jan 11 2011, 11:19 AM)
Well, if he got the money, he got an edge on the vast amount of choices he can have.

The main question is, does a lot of choices make you feel happier or otherwise, more stressful, because there are so many choices, that you are so confused, which lens for what kind of
photography. Sometimes, the more gears you have, the more temptation and the harder you want to make a decision.

Let's say a guy who only carry a 50mm all day long, and another guy who shoot with 3 lenses - UWA, Prime and Tele. Probably both have an equal satisfaction, because guy A would have tried to think "out of the box" to explore some creative side of photography that he has never tried before, and simplicity made him a happier person. Or otherwise guy B would have feeling so stressful with his shooting because there are so many lenses to choose from, and because lacking of understanding on his shooting style, being indecisive of the lens to choose, or he would feel happy, because he has the freedom to choose whatever style he feels best at that point of time.
having those many lens will it affect the quality of 'good picture'?
well. define it 1st I guess. tongue.gif

how about creating a poll "Define good picture"
SUSgogo2
post Jan 11 2011, 11:22 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Jan 11 2011, 11:13 AM)

would throwing RM 50k++ to start learning. what a brainless human  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
yeah, I agree is brainless. To have great photography, we just need dSLR body but necessity
lens and flash. Then you're good to good....

necessity stuff is something people call gear here... I believe people will label it as upgrade or
gear if its not body + kitlens..

but to me, body+kitlens itself is not enough...

we need range of lens and flashes... smile.gif

sniper on the roof
post Jan 11 2011, 11:24 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Jan 11 2011, 11:22 AM)
This one is an age old question... tried asking this before but no conclusive answer.

Which is right.. since it means different things to different people.

SUSgogo2
post Jan 11 2011, 11:25 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jan 11 2011, 11:24 AM)
This one is an age old question... tried asking this before but no conclusive answer.

Which is right.. since it means different things to different people.
beauty is in the eyes of the beholders...

that's why we're still debating here...lol
sniper on the roof
post Jan 11 2011, 11:27 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jan 11 2011, 11:22 AM)
yeah, I agree is brainless. To have great photography, we just need dSLR body but necessity
lens and flash. Then you're good to good....

necessity stuff is something people call gear here... I believe people will label it as upgrade or
gear if its not body + kitlens..

but to me, body+kitlens itself is not enough...

we need range of lens and flashes... smile.gif
Or rather... lets ask this question... if you're going on a trip and limited to only a single body+len.

What would you bring?

Edit:
I post about this countless time di... unlike most folks.. I don't have the luxury of bringing a whole arsenal of lens on my trips. What I've learned is to make do with what's mounted on the camera.

This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Jan 11 2011, 11:28 AM
geekster129
post Jan 11 2011, 11:27 AM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Jan 11 2011, 11:22 AM)
having those many lens will it affect the quality of 'good picture'?
well. define it 1st I guess.   tongue.gif

If you were to ask me what a good picture, all I can say is, you just can't please everyone. 6 out of 10 might agree that is a good picture. The other 4 may say the picture is rubbish!

Everyone has different taste.

Just like when you think that the girl looked pretty, but your friend may think that you have a bad taste. Something like that.

This post has been edited by geekster129: Jan 11 2011, 11:29 AM

9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0258sec    1.66    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 01:38 PM