taking this using poor gears and my poor skills.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by jiashun001: Jan 11 2011, 02:36 PM
wc5599
post Jan 13 2011, 10:51 AM

152 posts

Sorry 4 being harsh..
i feel some ppl butthurt because others got $ for luxury gears.. even they dont have the skills..
BUT.. so what? y bother about ppl wit no skill buy spend hell lots of money buying expensive gears?

just enjoy taking photograph with what you have now is the most important thing.. my POV.. dont bother about what others have..
ppl r rich 4 the effort they put in..so they have the right to spend on what they want.. dont jelous..

This post has been edited by wc5599: Jan 13 2011, 10:52 AM
SUSgogo2
post Jan 13 2011, 10:54 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(wc5599 @ Jan 13 2011, 10:51 AM)
Sorry 4 being harsh..
i feel some ppl butthurt because others got $ for luxury gears.. even they dont have the skills..
BUT.. so what? y bother about ppl wit no skill buy spend hell lots of money buying expensive gears?

just enjoy taking photograph with what you have now is the most important thing.. my POV.. dont bother about what others have..
ppl r rich 4 the effort they put in..so they have the right to spend on what they want..  dont jelous..
i bet you're talking about the effort they put in to swim faster in a rich man's wife...

coz normally they butthurt those rich kid that buy expensive stuff tongue.gif

but really, there's nothing to butthurt... we should buy according to budget and get the most out of it...
angelic88
post Jan 13 2011, 11:20 PM

325 posts

i think i read before somewhere .....

the camera is a tool(gear) for you to take picture , and more accessories just open up more possibilities for you to try out different things or method

but how you apply(skill) is depend on yourself , outcome can be bad or good

i do agree with it =p

well , they got expensive stuff and yet a beginner , ok what, they can afford those , who knows they will learn and grow to fully utilize the tool right ?

i guess what we dun like is those ppl , while taking bad photo , blame the "tool" for their mistake , not looking for alternative solution to solve the problem .....
jiashun001
post Jan 14 2011, 09:04 AM

384 posts

QUOTE(wc5599 @ Jan 13 2011, 10:51 AM)
Sorry 4 being harsh..

ppl r rich 4 the effort they put in..so they have the right to spend on what they want..  dont jelous..
+1
totally agree with u..
photography only 40% are on gears..
but another 60% is based on ur skill..
even the 1000D user can produce pict nice than the 60D holder..
so why dont get a cheap gears pump up ur skill first..

PS: jz my 10cent!
pakku_azrie
post Jan 29 2011, 03:01 AM

160 posts

sometime heavy bombarded equipment are useless if u dont have the skill n experience..know what suite u the best n be friend with your gear..
Tony Stark
post Jan 29 2011, 07:22 AM

Jarvis where are you?
1,883 posts

QUOTE(bluesfingers @ Jan 10 2011, 06:13 PM)
Hi all,

I am just into the world of DSLR and puzzling the real intention of many enthusiast photographer. The Ultimate purpose of having a DSLR is to capture some nice images or all about the photography gear? Auntie, uncle, dad, mom, granny all holding a DSLR nowdays, why? Enthusiast need L lens or full frame camera? really puzzling me alot, but this industry is thriving like nobody business. An enthusiast or leisure photo takers like me and many others why should we buy a profesional level type of gear? Someone may say better quality, less CA, less pupple fringing, etc or they just wanted to gratify their craze on this gizmos. I know buying gear is kinda fun but what is the puspose of having such a top notch gears ending all theirs picture uploaded to facebook, flicker,etc. OR should spend more effort to learn, develop and appreciate photography instead of spending thousands on the gear.
  I reckon photography is a very subjective piece of art like painting, music, dancing, acting, etc. (different ppl may have different comment or idea on your photo) and with todays technology i beleive photography is among the easiest to learn or start with in comparison to the others, agree? Not agree? hahaha! or at least the one with less effort but can produce some immediate result, sounds better huh? go out and survey how many of your friends/ colegue/ relative owning a DSLR? vs how of them can/ appreciate paint, play a music instrument, dance, etc.

Please ignore the above if you feel it is annoying to you.
first off, i started photography cuz i love to capture all the moments i have. and photography is a hobby where i can do it anywhere anytime. i love fishing as well, but i cant fish in the middle of no-where right? so i started out with a cheap compact. a samsung which i dont know where is it now. then the pns always let me down for not being able to capture some beautiful moments in ma life. so i bought a cheapo DSLR, the 1000D. it serves me well as a hobbyist. but as most of u know, it has its limitations. so i upgraded my gears to some better ones. yeah, its alot of money there. as i move along i learn alot more about this hobby. its an art. and one have to be in love with arts to appreciate it. just like painting, music talents, and other stuffs. and photography is not all about taking a picture and ur done. the process goes alot more than that. after taking a pic, u'll probably need to pp. after pp, u might wanna print it out. things like that.

i agree on the learning part. one shuold learn how to bla bla bla.. other than spending thousands of it on gears. but if u have the cash, and u can provide urself with a better gear, why not? example a dude knows how to play a guitar, if u giv em a normal kapok guitar, he still can play it well. but if u giv em a better guitar, the dude itself can feel the diff. the string is much more lighter to press-on, the sound is better,the fret is smoother. things like that.

i cant paint, but i appreciate painting arts. i cant dance well, but i appreciate it. i can play the guitar,piano n drums, i certainly love music. and me myself i own a DSLR, so i appreciate art thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Tony Stark: Feb 2 2011, 11:12 AM
empire23
post Jan 29 2011, 07:40 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

Gear can make a difference in some cases when it's not creativity, but the technical limitation.

If you look, you can see the stars streaking. Because the exposure was too long, and I didn't have enough ISO to get a decent shot. 5DMkII's insane ISO would have helped a lot.

The man didn't stay still so, better ISO and an even larger aperture would have been a boon.

R a D ! c 4 L
post Jan 29 2011, 08:34 AM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

sienz, another thread like this. why cant one just enjoy photography without caring much of the gears they have and instead use what they have at the moment to their fullest? I used a 18-55mm for years and im damn happy with it. Until its broken because i went into the sea with it lol sleep.gif"

This post has been edited by R a D ! c 4 L: Jan 29 2011, 08:35 AM
Tony Stark
post Jan 29 2011, 10:58 AM

Jarvis where are you?
1,883 posts

and just too add, the less u know the better actually laugh.gif cuz if u know alot, u'll get more poisoneddddd biggrin.gif
azrull nazreen
post Jan 29 2011, 06:58 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Jan 29 2011, 11:58 AM)
and just too add, the less u know the better actually laugh.gif cuz if u know alot, u'll get more poisoneddddd biggrin.gif
haha..yes..
u will get poisoned..with others
lighter
post Jan 31 2011, 02:54 AM

Recommended Seller
2,478 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Jan 29 2011, 07:40 AM)
Gear can make a difference in some cases when it's not creativity, but the technical limitation.

If you look, you can see the stars streaking. Because the exposure was too long, and I didn't have enough ISO to get a decent shot. 5DMkII's insane ISO would have helped a lot.
The man didn't stay still so, better ISO and an even larger aperture would have been a boon.
Dude the first pic is still matter of your skill. Nothing to do with equipment.. laugh.gif
goldfries
post Jan 31 2011, 03:08 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Jan 29 2011, 10:58 AM)
you're referring to getting to know the products available.......... but in reality the more you know (about photography) the less you get poisoned.

Added on January 31, 2011, 3:08 am
QUOTE(R a D ! c 4 L @ Jan 29 2011, 08:34 AM)
sienz, another thread like this. why cant one just enjoy photography without caring much of the gears they have and instead use what they have at the moment to their fullest? I used a 18-55mm for years and im damn happy with it. Until its broken because i went into the sea with it lol sleep.gif"
ahhh where have you been? smile.gif
Tony Stark
post Jan 31 2011, 06:14 AM

Jarvis where are you?
1,883 posts

Yeah goldie I'm referring to that ahahah tongue.gif
R a D ! c 4 L
post Jan 31 2011, 08:41 AM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 31 2011, 03:08 AM)
ahhh where have you been? smile.gif
i've been around bro, just didnt post much =D happy new year!
aldosoesilo
post Jan 31 2011, 10:42 AM

I was like LOL :D
1,457 posts

QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Jan 29 2011, 07:22 AM)
first off, i started photography cuz i love to capture all the moments i have. and photography is a hobby where i can do it anywhere anytime. i love fishing as well, but i cant fish in the middle of no-where right? so i started out with a cheap compact. a samsung which i dont know where is it now. then the pns always let me down for not being able to capture some beautiful moments in ma life. so i bought a cheapo DSLR, the 1000D. it serves me well as a hobbyist. but as most of u know, it has its limitations. so i upgraded my gears to some better ones. yeah, its alot of money there. as i move along i learn alot more about this hobby. its an art. and one have to be in love with arts to appreciate it. just like painting, music talents, and other stuffs. and photography is not all about taking a picture and ur done. the process goes alot more than that. after taking a pic, u'll probably need to pp. after pp, u might wanna print it out. things like that.

i agree on the learning part. one shuold learn how to bla bla bla.. other than spending thousands of it on gears. but if u have the cash, and u can provide urself with a better gear, why not? example a dude knows how to play a guitar, if u giv em a normal kapok guitar, he still can play it well. but if u giv em a better guitar, the dude itself can feel the diff. the string is much more lighter to press-on, the sound is better,the fret is smoother. things like that.

i cant paint, but i appreciate painting arts. i cant dance well, but i appreciate it. i can play the guitar,piano n drums, i certainly love music. and me myself i own a DSLR, so i appreciate art thumbup.gif
Well spoken tony. thumbup.gif
fatani
post Jan 31 2011, 12:41 PM

261 posts

if you are not stuck with the limitations of the gear that you're having at the moment, seriously, why bother upgrading?

IMO for photography, it's the lighting and composition that matters most..

I wish that i could have a better body, so that i could shoot at longer exposures, have built in motor, better ISO, commander mode for TTL so that i can have BETTER LIGHTS CONTROL.

I wish that i could have faster lenses (doesnt matter zoom or prime), so that i could shoot better bokeh, gives me required range zoom,and better low lights coz i need to have BETTER LIGHTS CONTROL.

I wish i could have multiple flashes and a whole lot of studio equipments so that i can have BETTER LIGHTS CONTROL.

so it doesnt matter what gears do i have, as long as it gives me flexibility in controlling the lights either it ambient(mostly from lenses and body) or artificial lights (mostly from flashes/studio lights and body) or both.

what works for you may not works for me and there's nothing wrong with it.

now who can teach me compose better? dont need a super expensive camera for that, but then again, there's nothing wrong learning with expensive bodies too. wub.gif
sniper on the roof
post Jan 31 2011, 01:01 PM

23,414 posts

Only one way to settle this question.... I propose a challenge thumbup.gif

Proponents of gears not that important --> Go dig up your kitlens + ur crappiest body. Take photo and post here.

Proponents of luxurious gears --> Go setup ur gazillion ringgit gear. Take photo and post here.

CNY is around the corner... everyone on holidays. What better time to shoot than now nod.gif
shinjun
post Jan 31 2011, 01:04 PM

2,247 posts

Endless debate. smile.gif

Gears are essential in some situation and skill bring you to the next level in your photography hobby.

Enjoy with what you have. Be satisfy and your life will be much enjoyable. biggrin.gif

9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0220sec    1.27    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 05:09 PM