125 Pages « < 92 93 94 95 96 > » Bottom

Movies My Movies Review Thread V2, Got a movie to review ? post it here !

whatever06
post Apr 16 2017, 10:40 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Apr 9 2017, 05:01 AM)
the last china movie i ever watched OPERATION MEKONG very great also laugh.gif rclxms.gif by dante lam of vampire effect and the viral factor shoot in KL which still wow me 2 this day laugh.gif  rclxms.gif

sad 2 say HK movie is dead being replaced by CHINA movie...gonna miss the post SHAW brothers era and the jackie chan original police story era surely doh.gif  shakehead.gif
Operation Mekong was one of the best movie in 2016. biggrin.gif
Yeah HK movies quite dead you can even count with less than 10 human fingers. What happened to them?
whatever06
post Apr 16 2017, 11:08 PM

21 posts

Vampire Cleanup Dept 6/10
Finally watched this. A tribute to 80's chinese comedy vampire movies. Not a bad watch overall the only prevent them to develop further is their low budget. Though not enough vampire scenes that's menacing. The human+vampire romance not convincing either maybe due to Malaysian's Min-Chen first time acting.

Before I fall 6/10
People compare this to LIFE IS STRANGE(awesome) game.... except this one stuck at one endless loop time that the main char can't do anything about it. Loop and loop and loop until the end you probably already predicted the ending.... except again this is not LIFE IS STRANGE. Perhaps for moral lesson for youngster. Another thing this movie has a lot of unnecessary cuts that almost ruining the movie.

The Void 4/10
Not good enough to recommend to anyone or even to kill your own time. Got duped by its trailer. Skip if you can.
6so
post Apr 18 2017, 05:30 PM

135 posts

The Lure - The weirdest movie I've watched in a long time.
NSFW trailer

It's balls out Europop musical, fairy tale, horror movie, erotic and a bit of everything mesh into one twisted film. The basis of the story very loosely based on The Little Mermaid. Two mermaid perform as singer slash stripper act in a dingy carbaret club. One of the mermaid mirrors Ariel's narrative with a modern twist while the other show us this is not your walt disney's mermaid. It just got weirder and weirder by the minute...akin to watching something Takashi Miike and Sono Sion would've made. i love how the movie ends on a darker note that's befitting to the story. Really glad my wife pick this up for me at HMV.
Hope to catch up on Silence next with the director's commentary. Purposely bought the blu-ray for that.
whatever06
post Apr 21 2017, 01:26 AM

21 posts

Who Killed Cock Robin <目击者> 7/10
Another thriller that shouldn't be missed. Movie will keeping you on edge of your seat. Secret reveals more secret. Quite mystery and may confusing some near finale... but you can get by. Watch out for the ending tats quite twisted. Worth watching.
6so
post Apr 22 2017, 11:14 AM

135 posts

Get Out - A good thriller with a whacked out premise.
First of all, this is not that over hyped masterpiece as some reviewers made this out to be. Directed by the less famous of the comedic duo. A little on the nose in depicting how the white people in the film not racist and while every moment the script and tone told you they are racial tension bumbling beneath the surface. So the white people playing nice to the black kid really raised a lot of alarms. All I can say the payoff from the setups pretty much earned its place. It's that fairy tale success of a super low budget movie that hits the jackpot big time. Invest your patience to see through that left field revelation.

Just when you thought MNS about to comeback and here his position being challenged by a newer talent with a fresher sense for storytelling. This is a better movie to Split in terms of them operating within the same genre. Not horror but a thriller that does not rely on the cliche.
carpathia
post Apr 23 2017, 04:40 PM

2,619 posts

I missed from installment 4 to 7....surprisingly the ff8 was ok...

skylinelover
post Apr 23 2017, 09:28 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,245 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Apr 23 2017, 04:40 PM)
I missed from installment 4 to 7....surprisingly the ff8 was ok...

Man you should rewatch them all especially 5

That was the best of them lot in action sequences hahahaha
miyakochan89
post Apr 23 2017, 10:09 PM

Wut?
6,724 posts

Don't know if this has been mentioned but Split (2007) is a surprisingly good movie. The theme is refreshing, another psychological thriller and opened up my eyes to this real disorder which affects some of the people in the world we live in.

This post has been edited by miyakochan89: Apr 23 2017, 10:14 PM
whatever06
post Apr 24 2017, 03:22 AM

21 posts

Fabricated City 7.2/10
Another quality production from Korea. Simple story but quite tiresome plot to follow. Action packed although certain scenes seems not believable but the ending balanced it out. Prison scenes is the best in the movie, once jailbreak it became another movie.

Get Out 6.9/10
Weird environment town people kept this movie a mystery until the end. But synopsis, poster, and trailer kind of ruined a bit at revealing. Could be better overall if not for the weak retribution without much struggling at the end.

FF8 6.8/10
Just like 5,6,7.

One Day (TFF) 7.7/10
Heartwarming, bittersweet, heartfelt, charming, delightful, hilarious, romantic, emotional, heartbreaking. This movie is very touching. A Must-Watch. I liked the part where Nui asked Denchai to re-enact how he court her at shop while shielding from the storm. Watch before TFF over!

A Gift (TFF) 7.3/10
A 3-in-1 movie in same universe. Another gem from TFF. This felt good movie will tickle your heart. Nice song from the late King Thai. Very hilarious especially the 3rd segment you will have capital LOL. Don't miss it!
Mov_freak
post Apr 27 2017, 08:27 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2017)

Oh My Goodness.

To quote President Snow "Welcome...! Welcome...! Tributes, we welcome you. We salute your courage and your sacrifice... and we wish you... Happy Hunger Games! And may the odds be ever in your favor."

Disney/Marvel and gone and done it...

They have set the summer blockbuster standard so high.... I feel sorry for Warner Brothers...

If you had watched the trailer and is wanting for more... Disney/Marvel delivered!!!

Everything you like in the first movie is back and the Disney/Marvel even threw in the kitchen sink!!!

Everything is MORE!

More fun characters
Bolder storyline
Seemless CGI
Burst Out Loud quote &

Can Disney/Marvel do no wrong? If this movie is used to judge that statement, apparentl yes!

Do yourself a favour, go watch this.

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Apr 27 2017, 10:41 PM
6so
post Apr 29 2017, 11:01 AM

135 posts

Colossal - It's not what you think it is.

The premise very original with all the actors fully committed to their roles. It's anything but a romcom and as a matter fact it's a pretty dark story with wee bit of humor in it. It's not as simple as the kaiju being a projection of her trainwreck personality. It's about caught in a toxic relationship that she's guilty of festering due to her inability to act. All I can say there are abusive men who exploit Anne Hathaway's character in a hard to watch way. It's that age old question does a leopard change its spot. So will she able to reach catharsis to affect change.
Just that they find a very bizarre and ingenious way to tell that story. A truly acquired taste movie if you want to watch something unconventional and pretty clever scripting to boot. I can see Spike Jonze or Michel Gondry directing this movie so you can get a rough idea of what it is.
lord_aminkin
post May 1 2017, 10:12 PM

♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫
999 posts

Koe no Katachi
Really anticipated this since hearing the buzz of how good it is and end up quite disappointed. I guess I have an average Malaysian taste. The movie moves really slow and I can't quite relate to any characters, thus not really felt anything when the emotional part kicks in which I heard many shed tears. I never read the manga and heard that it much more than just a simple romance relationship. Animation is good and vibrant enough. I like Your Name much more than this in term of characters, story and animation.

This post has been edited by lord_aminkin: May 1 2017, 10:12 PM
danger46
post May 3 2017, 12:27 AM

123 posts

Shockwave - starting Andy Lau (Hong Kong movie )- 9/10, so good! so emotional! and so action packed!

Guardian of Galaxy vol 2 - 9/10, very fun, the cgi is so good rclxms.gif
skylinelover
post May 3 2017, 03:03 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,245 posts

QUOTE(danger46 @ May 3 2017, 12:27 AM)
Shockwave - starting Andy Lau (Hong Kong movie )- 9/10, so good! so emotional! and so action packed!
Its been a while since andy lau play bad ass kicker laugh.gif awaiting Chow Yun Fat next action or maybe one final reunion with John Woo that glamorizes dual gun fu shooting and mexican standoff in the 80s and 90s rclxms.gif
Mickey C
post May 4 2017, 06:30 PM

616 posts

Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials (2015) - Very good... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
San Andreas (2015) - thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
The Fate of the Furious (2017) - Awesome....

This post has been edited by Mickey C: May 12 2017, 01:04 PM
Mickey C
post May 5 2017, 07:00 PM

616 posts

QUOTE(OcHaa @ May 5 2017, 03:17 PM)
u like the girl only kot  rclxm9.gif
Wow,, how u know that.. Yes,, i like Alexandra Daddario, very tall girl,, i really like her... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Mov_freak
post May 7 2017, 09:28 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Rings (2017)

Well, most horror movie buff would know about The Ring (both the Japanese and American version)

I remember the original Japanese version was really well receive and it was made on a shoe string budget.

It's Hollywood counterpart was made with a bigger budget and star Naomi Wyatts!!

I don't think I actually watched the orginal Japanese version.

That was the period where LD was almost extinct and VCD were all the rage and I was not impressed with the technology and DVD was not quite there yet.

Hence, never got to watch it....

I did watched the american version and I watched it at the cinemas.

Well, it was an experience, because if memory serves, the audience got into the movie and the silence was palpable. The audiences at the cinema were sold about the movie lock stock and barrel!!!

Of course, then the last scene (TV) happens and I knew about it and still it gave me goose pimples!!!

Fast forward 15 years and how does the latest version compare?

This movie is both a continuation and reboot of the "franchise".

Story-wise, I think they did a good job, both recognizing it's predecessors and also bring the story forward.

Issue lays with the execution, the pandered to the younger audience was too much.

They should have made the movie as best they can for the movie's sake and not for a demographic.

What do I mean?

Both leads are not "known" but casting Johnny Galecki (who will always be Leonard Hofstadter to me) as a hard-ass university lecturer is an obvious move to target a certain group of audience.

Trying to make the movie "hip" for a certain demography, again hurt the movie.

Which is a shame because the story is actually decent.

Why do I say that, they actually had more story about why Samara is Samara (Eg. additional information about her origins, which does explain some things)

So... Nice try Sony/Columbia/Paramount And United International Pictures? But not dice

My Two Sen
Mickey C
post May 8 2017, 02:58 PM

616 posts

QUOTE(OcHaa @ May 8 2017, 09:08 AM)
u sure her height is what u liked?

thumbup.gif I like her e'rything....but she not very famous leh.....

This post has been edited by Mickey C: May 8 2017, 02:59 PM
Mickey C
post May 8 2017, 04:35 PM

616 posts

QUOTE(OcHaa @ May 8 2017, 03:32 PM)
how can u say she is not famous?
Did u watch her scene in True Detective?

Femes yor
I really don't know that,, seldom watch TV series...
Haha,, now i know,, thanks to you... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
Mov_freak
post May 10 2017, 06:10 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Alien: Covenant (2017)

Oh Ridley Scott...

How can you get so much right and so much.... WRONG!!!

Basically, you took the best bits in the first and second Alien movie and lump them together in this movie...

And have to add

Not even sure why you introduce so many new characters

Back to the good...

Story is decent

This continuous from Prometheus...

Production design is gorgeous.

And have to say what I have placed in the spoiler, well, spoiled it for me....

Bad Ridley, BAD!!!

My Two Sen

125 Pages « < 92 93 94 95 96 > » Top

0.0355sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:09 PM