11 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Movies My Movies Review Thread V2, Got a movie to review ? post it here !

skylinelover
post May 29 2014, 10:36 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,244 posts

haha! possible oscar contender next year? brows.gif icon_idea.gif
skylinelover
post Jun 3 2014, 12:12 PM

11,244 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Jun 2 2014, 11:39 PM)
You are too kind... laugh.gif
Haha that is so well said rclxms.gif
skylinelover
post Jun 23 2014, 09:00 PM

11,244 posts

haha now you made me not 2 watch raid 2 like the longer version of hard boiled and i actually got bored half way watching hard boiled because its just way 2 long 4 my liking laugh.gif doh.gif
skylinelover
post Jun 25 2014, 09:20 PM

11,244 posts

haha tarsem singh...i heard of this name some where which i forgot laugh.gif

anyway did some search and found out his best work ever is this that won the MTV VMA in 1991 rclxms.gif

this fellow should be the true predecessor 4 the new big indian like m night shyamalan notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by skylinelover: Jun 25 2014, 09:21 PM
skylinelover
post Jun 26 2014, 11:21 AM

11,244 posts

QUOTE(6so @ Jun 26 2014, 10:38 AM)
His best ad is the Nike all star spot that got him the legendary TVC film director status. It's the first time for nike to spend that much money on football and it became an annual practice of having an all star theme ads.

haha i see...yeah i remember watching this classic ad way back in primary school before laugh.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by skylinelover: Jun 26 2014, 11:22 AM
skylinelover
post Jul 26 2014, 08:35 PM

11,244 posts

dang it EXPENDABLES 3 due 2 PG13 i am giving 1/5 without even watching laugh.gif doh.gif
skylinelover
post Aug 4 2014, 05:28 PM

11,244 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Jul 30 2014, 02:24 PM)
Merantau (2009)

Simple storyline, very well shot and pretty decent cast.

This is suppose to be Iko Uwais first movie, and it is good.

He is no "method" actor. What he brings to the table is a sense of "earnest-ness", if you understand what I mean.

And he is a skill Silat Artist. There is a sense of deja vu here, because this movie has almost the same vibe as Ong-bak (2003). Credit where credit is due, the director, Gareth Evans, know what he wanted and he was able to get it, at a very modest budget. I love the camera work in this!!

This movie also brings up the subject matter of human trafficking. Malaysia is thrown into this limelight recently, because an international rating has reduced our country's rating, in term of reducing the issue of human trafficking.

This reminds me of the ads that has been circulating, you know the one, that has the tagline "If the eating stop, the killing would too" (eating of shark fin, and no, I do not condone the consumption of shark fin).

So, I say this to our western counterparts, if the demand stops, the trafficking would too.

I humbly submit to you, My Two Sen.
i be watching this soon laugh.gif rclxms.gif
skylinelover
post Aug 8 2014, 10:56 AM

11,244 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Aug 7 2014, 11:37 AM)
Another thing that surprised me is the director of the movie is Brett Ratner. The same director alot of X-Men fans claims almost killed the movie franchise..., and I have to add, I like his work here (and also like his Red Dragon (2002)).
haha you forgot the rush hour trilogy and jackie was at its finest in hollywood after the first rush hour laugh.gif rclxms.gif
skylinelover
post Sep 8 2014, 08:11 PM

11,244 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Sep 1 2014, 01:14 AM)
Lucy (2014)

Luc Besson, best know for his works Léon: The Professional (1994) & The Fifth Element (1997) had gone on the record that he has another sci-fi movie in his mind that is so big and mind blowing, that it will blow The Fifth Elements out of the water!!!

And ladies, and gentlemen, I believe he meant, this movie Lucy (2014).

Allow an old uncle to elaborate, the oldest "human" fossil discovered by anthropologist to date is an almost complete skeleton of an upright female ape, which scientist believe is our ancestor. This skeleton is named Lucy.

Does, this have anything to do with this movie? In a roundabout way yes. I might elaborate more on this. Keyword being, might.

Luc Besson likes his woman leads..., lacking a better term, butch. He likes them so much so that he married Milla Jovovich, and put her in two of his movies, namely, The Fifth Element (1997) and The Messenger: The Story of Joan of Arc (1999).

So, with the title in mind, Scarlett Johansson heads this Action/Sci-Fi, as Lucy.

From a concept point of view, this movie is a little "non-hollywood".

Alot of inspiration is drawn from Asian cinema, namely Chan-wook Park's work, Oldboy!!?!

So inspired in fact, he got Min-sik Choi to be the BIG BAD in this movie!!

Movies starts out well enough.

Min-sik Choi can play a real S.O.B.!!

Things progress along and Morgan Freeman is introduced, where is narrates the plot of the movie.

And we then get the very weird incarceration scene of  Scarlett Johansson and then the action starts!!

Somewhere in that, something happened, I really do not root for Scarlett Johansson character and the movie not longer have me hook line and sinker...

Then the worst thing happened

This movie with a little twigging would have be a GREAT movie, and I am not sure if no one around Luc Besson pointed that out to him, and it is a shame, because this movie is actually very well product and has amazing production quality.

Don't get me wrong, you will be entertained.

I just don't know if it would remain memorable, a shame really.

My Two Sen
i so going 2 watch this laugh.gif rclxms.gif
skylinelover
post Oct 21 2014, 10:33 PM

11,244 posts

QUOTE(Mickey C @ Oct 19 2014, 08:52 PM)
Assault on Wall Street (2013) - The rich getting richer, poor getting poorer... no fair at all... Watch it and u will understand..
haha yeah i remember watching that one of the best indie action ever made laugh.gif rclxms.gif
skylinelover
post Nov 16 2014, 05:22 PM

11,244 posts

QUOTE(Hartigan @ Nov 9 2014, 01:27 AM)
No Escape (1994)

"Don't ever turn your back on me again" a tagline that spinning in my mind after watching this film...
The film stars Ray Liotta, he is great in doing action in the film although he's not categorized in the action genre stars, but I found him can be described as the second Van Damme since I saw this action plus sci-fi film that will keeps you on the seats!

Recommended 6/10, if you're a 90's action film fans, or give a try on Ray Liotta performance throughout this film
I definitely going 2 give a try soon
skylinelover
post Feb 5 2015, 10:28 AM

11,244 posts

Wow so many unheard indie movies here laugh.gif rclxms.gif but so many movies so little time argh doh.gif doh.gif
skylinelover
post Feb 20 2015, 10:22 AM

11,244 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Feb 19 2015, 11:44 PM)
Kingsman: The Secret Service (2014)

Oh My Fortune God!!

What a start to Chinese New Year!?!

This is the BEST Chinese New Year movie ever!!!

Story, Gripping

Direction, Clear

Budget, Well Used

Casting, PERFECT!!!

This is a very WELL DONE movie!!!

I kid you not.

My only concern is because of the violent nature of the movie, this might not be suitable for all

This is a 4.9/5 movie for me!!!

The Wachowskis, this is HOW IT IS DONE!!!

My Two Sen
Going 2 watch soon. laugh.gif rclxms.gif
skylinelover
post Mar 8 2015, 06:52 AM

11,244 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Mar 7 2015, 09:56 PM)
Chappie (2015)

Let's cut through the chase.

The Good

Director: Neill Blomkamp
Stars: Sharlto Copley (Chappie's mannerism is uniquely Sharlto Copley), Hugh Jackman (who would have thunk he could play such an @$$h0le)

The storyline, at least for the 2/3 of the movie play homage to Robocop (1987, Paul Verhoeven version) & Ghost In The Shell (1995). Outside of Paul Verhoeven, Neill Blomkamp is currently the ballsiest (is THAT a word??) director working in "Hollywood". The reason Hollywood is in quotation marks is because, this has a distinctly "unHollywood" vibe.

The Bad

Dev Patel is a pretty good actor. I just don't think he is the best suit for this role... The story is pretty "unique" for a Hollywood production, but at certain points, the "leap of faith" the director expects from the viewer, leaves me going... "but, but, but!" laugh.gif

The Ugly

I was gonna write that it was refreshing not to see the American Flag in this movie, but alas in the middle of the movie... *Sigh*. I do not agree with the Director/Writer's conclusion. Not necessary a bad thing. At least it challenges it's viewer to "think about it"

Conclusion

If you think the above is a negative review, it really isn't.

Go watch this. It is very entertaining!! 3.5/5

My Two Sen
hmm still second thoughts here hmm.gif laugh.gif
skylinelover
post Mar 8 2015, 11:31 AM

11,244 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Mar 8 2015, 11:28 AM)
Am assuming you have read American review and you are having second thoughts...

Let me put it this way. This is not an American-centric movie, hence the negative reviews from the Americans...
haha yeah laugh.gif roger ebert review 2 b exact tongue.gif
skylinelover
post Apr 4 2015, 04:38 AM

11,244 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Mar 13 2015, 02:04 PM)
Cinderella (2015)

Wow, no actual reviews yet?

I could have sworn the cinema was pretty full yesterday (Nu Sentral)

Or are you guys here too shy to admit that you have watched this!! tongue.gif

Permit me to stick my head out here.

I was bored, I actually had some free time yesterday and I went to watch and it is what you expect from a Disney Fairytale/Live Action.

Don't get me wrong. This is NO Alice In Wonderland (2010) (re-imagine by Tim Burton)

The script is very true to the Disney Animation Classic.

Kenneth Branagh is great. Everything he touches has an English sensibility, which is appropriate for this movie.

Nice to see Ben Chaplin (I remember him from The Truth About Cats & Dogs (1996) opposite Uma Thurman and Janeane Garofalo. You guys might remember him from The Thin Red Line (1998)) in a big Hollywood movie again (As Cinderella's Father).

Lily James, I feel, "tried a little too hard". I think she would do the role better justice, if she relax a smidgen.

Richard Madden who plays the Prince looks familiar, for the whole movie I went, where have I seen him before, where have I seen him before and after doing a search, Robb, the Game Of Thrones!!!

Derek Jacobi plays a fine and ailing King and Stellan Skarsgård a deliciously conniving Grand Duke.

Now for the reason I went to see this movie, Cate Blanchett as the wicked stepmother. She is SO elegantly... CRUEL. Does she have no peer?! Alas no, as cruel as she is, I believe she had a hard act to follow... Namely, Anjelica Huston!!

I am not sure if you young'un remember, there is actually a Cinderella Live Action movie (sans magic), named Ever After: A Cinderella Story (1998) where Anjelica Huston played the wicked Stepmother, and to date, she has NOT been surpassed in that role!!

Conclusion. This is a true adaptation of the Disney Animation Classic, Cinderella (1950).

There are no surprises, no twist and you know what happens at the end.

One basically watch this movie to see... how a pumpkin gets turn into a coach (And I do not mean a handbag!!?! laugh.gif)!!!

For the chicks reader, yes, the palace scene is great. And there are ballroom dance with all the bells and whistle (gowns, ballroom dancing, orchestration music etc). I am no expert but the Cinderella gown seems... "impossible" at times. In Green Lantern they had to CGI Green Lantern's costume... Does it mean they are now CGI'ing Cinderella's ballroom gown!!!?!

Oh! Almost forgot the wonderful Helena Bonham Carter as the Fairy Godmother (Bib Baddi Bob Baddi Boo and all) ...

She is the goto "gal" for all the weird Hollywood movies chick character nowadays!! tongue.gif

Seriously, do I need to ask you to go see this??

My Two Sen
i am still thinking whether 2 watch this on its last running or furious 7 in the second round laugh.gif i already watched the first round on first day morning screening tongue.gif call me crazy...i deliberately took leave just 4 that only brows.gif

i am waiting 4 your F7 review soon icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by skylinelover: Apr 4 2015, 04:40 AM
skylinelover
post Apr 30 2015, 12:45 PM

11,244 posts

QUOTE(Dominic Toretto @ Apr 26 2015, 12:23 AM)
Cant wait for the movie
I watch furious 7 twice already haha

How about you hehe
skylinelover
post May 6 2015, 07:47 AM

11,244 posts

Haha syok ni laugh.gif laugh.gif
skylinelover
post Jun 12 2015, 08:35 PM

11,244 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Jun 11 2015, 10:16 PM)
After 2 diminshing sequel. how does the tird sequel hold up, compared with the original?
i find the lost world is not very bad like you think laugh.gif the 3rd one yeah is horrible junk laugh.gif

4 me is 1st 2nd and the 3rd non existent at all hahahaha...still not sure whether 2 try JW yet

my first jurassic movie in cinema was the 2nd while my first jurassic home video was actually in VHS that came together with new VCR my father bought over...good old days mang...awww rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

now is bluray era and i think it is gonna stay put firmly 4 another 10 years plus plus plus flex.gif flex.gif

This post has been edited by skylinelover: Jun 12 2015, 08:44 PM
skylinelover
post Jun 13 2015, 11:46 AM

11,244 posts

QUOTE(sinoffire @ Jun 3 2015, 12:06 PM)
Mov_freak maybe i should go muvi with u one fine day. hmm.gif
QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Jun 3 2015, 01:20 PM)
Why leh???

So you can verify, just HOW FREAKY I am?? laugh.gif
haha same here