PC logitech z5500/z680/z5450 thread, all about logitech speakers thread

justone
post Apr 20 2007, 12:45 AM

justone
1,067 posts

almost every feature on x-fi i tried...
IMO,for dts is best decoded by the z5500...thats wat my ears told me...
try Black Hawk Down...its awesome...too bad the dvd spoiled(weird, not even a scar on the surface,it jz wont read doh.gif)
xyzpace
post Apr 20 2007, 10:54 AM

90 posts

can z5500 speakers replace the home theatre system (ordinary receiver and speakers) for living room?

This post has been edited by xyzpace: Apr 20 2007, 10:54 AM
justone
post Apr 20 2007, 02:00 PM

justone
1,067 posts

depends on ur budget...
under RM2k and u wan everythn in a 5.1 speaker system den logitech or yamaha mayb ur choice...
if over RM2k...u might wanna visit some hi fi/electronic shops for audition and there are wider selections
andrewng88
post Apr 20 2007, 04:21 PM

Delighting You Always
805 posts

QUOTE(justone @ Apr 20 2007, 02:00 PM)
depends on ur budget...
under RM2k and u wan everythn in a 5.1 speaker system den logitech or yamaha mayb ur choice...
if over RM2k...u might wanna visit some hi fi/electronic shops for audition and there are wider selections
by the way , now market price z-5500 how much ? my friend kena poison from me ! brows.gif
justone
post Apr 20 2007, 06:10 PM

justone
1,067 posts

i guess is around RM1450...
spare urself more cash for optical & coaxial cable...
wondering is there any mod on the decoder for better sounding...but i think the bass is the problem when comes to music...too boomy...would wan it be tighter rather than wall shaking ah beng bass..
Serville
post Apr 20 2007, 09:03 PM

28 posts

Z5500 users, I need some advice because I'm thinking of buying this myself for my room's DVD.

Questions:
- Does digital connection improve the sound quality ? By how much ? In what area ?
- Does ditigal connection makes the bass less boomy (more accurate) ?
- Does Dolby Pro Logic for music only apply to digital connection ? What about in analog connection ? What mode is available to make the music play in all speakers ?
- What difference between Coax & Digital ?
- Do you know if there are many complaints about reliability of the product (being damaged/dead sub, etc. like S750) ?
- The subwoofer, is it backfiring/sidefiring , or floor-firing ?

So far that is it. Thanks.
justone
post Apr 21 2007, 02:03 AM

justone
1,067 posts

-bass from digital signal will be less boomy
-i never like the Dolby Pro Logics,sounded sux to me
-its Coaxial and Optical...both carries digital signals...
-there is a common popping issue,wont breakdown as s750 which is using BASH amp(popular in breakdowns sweat.gif)
-sub is sidefiring

u're pairing wif DVD...get a nice but not expensive coaxial cable for it...
andrewng88
post Apr 21 2007, 02:42 PM

Delighting You Always
805 posts

QUOTE(Serville @ Apr 20 2007, 09:03 PM)
Z5500 users,  I need some advice because I'm thinking of buying this myself for my room's DVD.

Questions:
- Does digital connection improve the sound quality ?  By how much ?  In what area ?
- Does ditigal connection makes the bass less boomy (more accurate) ?
- Does Dolby Pro Logic for music only apply to digital connection ?  What about in analog connection ?  What mode is available to make the music play in all speakers ?
- What difference between Coax & Digital ?
- Do you know if there are many complaints about reliability of the product (being damaged/dead sub, etc. like S750) ?
- The subwoofer, is it backfiring/sidefiring , or floor-firing ?

So far that is it. Thanks.
-been using optical & coax for connection to DVD ( music/movie ) , feel optical is more sharp ,less boomy, less loud compared to coax.
'- been using since early this year & everyday switch on for more than 5 hours, no problem so far ! the control unit display is very nice ! thumbup.gif no regret spending $1450 for it !

Added on April 21, 2007, 2:43 pm
QUOTE(justone @ Apr 20 2007, 06:10 PM)
i guess is around RM1450...
spare urself more cash for optical & coaxial cable...
wondering is there any mod on the decoder for better sounding...but i think the bass is the problem when comes to music...too boomy...would wan it be tighter rather than wall shaking ah beng bass..
i also bought it for $1450 ! so guess price no drop yet !

This post has been edited by andrewng88: Apr 21 2007, 02:43 PM
justone
post Apr 21 2007, 05:39 PM

justone
1,067 posts

speaker prices will not drop as fast as pc parts...
because the do not upgrade and replace each quarter...

most of the owner think that its worth...very seldom(but i never come across any) ppl will say it sucks...of course sound depends highly on personal preferences thus subjective...judge wif ur own ears if u hav the chance to audit a pair..
rayfoo
post Apr 22 2007, 12:02 PM

2,563 posts

when the power switch get turns on in my house , my logitech z680 will have some XXX sound, due to what?
justone
post Apr 22 2007, 01:38 PM

justone
1,067 posts

the logitech's famous popping issue
wizardboy
post Apr 22 2007, 04:27 PM

436 posts

u guys pair z5500 with which soundcard? mine x-fi fatality
jerren
post Apr 23 2007, 03:17 AM

888 posts

Audiotrak Prodigy 7.1, not LT version
using coax out directly to my Z5500
andrewng88
post Apr 23 2007, 06:00 PM

Delighting You Always
805 posts

QUOTE(rayfoo @ Apr 22 2007, 12:02 PM)
when the power switch get turns on in my house , my logitech z680 will have some XXX sound, due to what?
mine only when switching off light !
Serville
post Apr 26 2007, 02:00 AM

28 posts

Guys, as some people might have noticed, I just got my Z-5500.

But some questions:

I connect my Z-5500 to my DVD player with optical cable in my room sized around 3 x 4 meters. But I set up the 5.1 using only half of the room. Using DTS/D5.1 to watch DVD, I often have to set my volume 70-80% most of the time to get quite loud. But even at 70-80%, this is not considered VERY loud or insanely loud. I keep hearing that Z-5500 is doom loud, but I don't really see the case here. The fact that I have to set 70% volume to get quite loud on a 500W RMS speaker is not really that powerful, isn't it ?

What volume do you watch your DVD to get "quite" loud ? What is your room size ?

You must know that Z-5500 has another "BOOSTED" volume after the normal 100% volume, right ?
What is this ? Does the setting actually push the speaker beyond its rated power, or is it still within the rated spec ?
The fact that Logitech use the term "BOOSTED" is very ambiguous to what it really means, and the fact that this hidden setting is so easily found by users also becomes another question whether it may be used or not.

Anybody has better ideas ?
andrewng88
post May 8 2007, 06:06 PM

Delighting You Always
805 posts

QUOTE(Serville @ Apr 26 2007, 02:00 AM)
Guys, as some people might have noticed, I just got my Z-5500.

But some questions:

I connect my Z-5500 to my DVD player with optical cable in my room sized around 3 x 4 meters. But I set up the 5.1 using only half of the room.  Using DTS/D5.1 to watch DVD, I often have to set my volume 70-80% most of the time to get quite loud.  But even at 70-80%, this is not considered VERY loud or insanely loud.  I keep hearing that Z-5500 is doom loud, but I don't really see the case here. The fact that I have to set 70% volume to get quite loud on a 500W RMS speaker is not really that powerful, isn't it ?

What volume do you watch your DVD to get "quite" loud ? What is your room size ?

You must know that Z-5500 has another "BOOSTED" volume after the normal 100% volume, right ?
What is this ?  Does the setting actually push the speaker beyond its rated power, or is it still within the rated spec ?
The fact that Logitech use the term "BOOSTED" is very ambiguous to what it really means, and the fact that this hidden setting is so easily found by users also becomes another question whether it may be used or not. 

Anybody has better ideas ?
i never know got this BOOSTED volume ? but i do notice with Coaxial the sound is louder ! or my your DVD player setting also !
singleguy
post May 20 2007, 10:57 AM

relax lah!
1,090 posts

just wanna share.. who wanna be the first guy in KL to mod it?

z5500 in wood casing
justone
post May 20 2007, 01:54 PM

justone
1,067 posts

nice info...
1st time seeing people tried heavy mod on logitech speakers

liked d decoder he moded...but i dun think modding d sub is necessary as originally it was in woody...
wondering is there anyone modded d decoder board..

This post has been edited by justone: May 20 2007, 02:26 PM
singleguy
post May 20 2007, 11:19 PM

relax lah!
1,090 posts

QUOTE(justone @ May 20 2007, 01:54 PM)
nice info...
1st time seeing people tried heavy mod on logitech speakers

liked d decoder he moded...but i dun think modding d sub is necessary as originally it was in woody...
wondering is there anyone modded d decoder board..
tried to do sum searching on the net.. but zero
terencetoo
post May 21 2007, 12:29 AM

3,246 posts

guys...should i get the Z5500 to pair wit my Creative Audigy2 ZS PCMCIA card or...get a samsung HT-XQ100 (black 5.1 Hi-fi) to connect my laptop..which do sound better?

multimedia speaker vs hifi speakers?

103 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0386sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 02:09 PM