Oil & Gas Career v2, Job Oppurtunities & Technical Sharing

skycsh
post Jul 17 2011, 04:54 AM

40 posts

[quote=Frenzy0412,Jul 14 2011, 09:27 PM]
[quote=ashland,Jul 14 2011, 03:13 PM]
I hv frens worked there before. From what I've been told benefit and remuneration not that impressive however exposure is great depends on which dept u joining. Long term good prospect I would say coz all of my frens which left received various good offers from other co. But if I'm not mistaken they will sent all new staffs (regardless of experience) for training and there are terms & cond for that.
Totally depends on what you want to achieve but if u ask me since they called u for intw just give it a try and then evaluate the offer urself. Good luck.

huh?means got bonding once you get in?
Thanks for your info, ashland!

Anyone know more on chiyoda?

[/quote]
Chiyoda M'sia right?
All their O&G projects are onshore, and they also do industrial type project, like they are doing 1 project in Bintulu Tokuyama Polycrystaline, but minor involved only, most of things are under Chiyoda Japan, Taisei, Kandeko, Sanko Engineering and Sato Kogyo.......etc. Last 2 months i heard their engineering dept is quite free, now maybe they got a new project so recruit some man power.....
mikhael
post Jul 18 2011, 10:53 AM

118 posts

I read somewhere about there are 3 types of Gas Company.

Consultant - Technip, MMC
Operator - Petronas, Shell
Contractor - Schlumberger, Baker Hughes

From what I read, it says that consultant employees get paid least, but you are only doing office jobs - designing using AutoPipe, etc.
Contractors are paid the most amount of wages, but you will be working offshore, on the oil rif.

From contractor, its quite hard for you to jump into operator companies such as Shell, Petronas, but from consultancy companies, you will have a brighter chance of working with the operators
(I'm talking about jumping up the food chain, more convenient work place,no offshore life, more decent pay )

Any one care to explain n elaborate n correct what is wrong?
Im gonna graduate next year, trying to figure out with my life, where to work, and so on. Now I'm finishing my internship already, being here, make me realise, deciding field of work is not an easy choice. BTW I'm a Mechanical Engineering student.
jamaluddin4
post Jul 18 2011, 11:00 AM

236 posts

QUOTE(ashland @ Jul 14 2011, 06:15 PM)
During mine last time here how it goes;
Only one session interview but divided into 3 sub.
1. Usual session about urself/background/ education/experience etc.
2. They will give u one general topic of any global issue for you to elaborate and discuss your point of view on that particular topic.
3. They will give u one specific situation for u to solve. Basically they want to see how u think, react and manage the problem/situation.
I'm not totally sure if they have changed the method now but I believed it still remain the same.
Orait..Thanks ashland...already finished the Online Ability Test last night. Quiet tough because of the time constrain, especially for the numerical question... sad.gif
Frenzy0412
post Jul 18 2011, 11:24 AM

47 posts

skycsh, thanks for the information.
exp007
post Jul 18 2011, 03:27 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(mikhael @ Jul 18 2011, 10:53 AM)

From what I read, it says that consultant employees get paid least, but you are only doing office jobs - designing using AutoPipe, etc.
Contractors are paid the most amount of wages, but you will be working offshore, on the oil rif.

From contractor, its quite hard for you to jump into operator companies such as Shell, Petronas, but from consultancy companies, you will have a brighter chance of working with the operators
(I'm talking about jumping up the food chain, more convenient work place,no offshore life, more decent pay )

Im gonna graduate next year, trying to figure out with my life, where to work, and so on. Now I'm finishing my internship already, being here, make me realise, deciding field of work is not an easy choice. BTW I'm a Mechanical Engineering student.
You're right. Join Operators & save the trouble of realizing it later in life.
crispypork
post Jul 19 2011, 01:34 AM

All,

I am a mechanical engineering graduate and like everyone else, I am looking for a move into the o&g industry. I have done some homework, yet I am still quite lost and desperately in need of much advice. Obviously, I must admit that the financial perks does make this industry stand out but at the same time a career must not only be solely based on pay (for me at least). Questions:

1) In the world of O&G, where would be the ideal place to start for a person with a mechanical engineering background? Ideal, would probably mean good training/exposure/development, good career development opportunities (highly valuable in the market).

2) Have been considering working as a field engineer (slb etc.), couple of concerns:
a) Career progression? Would you have to be stuck offshore throughout your career if you want to continue enjoying the lucrative pay?
b) Is the job technically demanding (say in comparison to an office job working as a consultant)?
c) Career options? Could you branch out into something else with the skills that have been developed or you're almost stuck?
d) Job satisfaction? Do you feel you're doing something great/proud of your job? Do you feel your job cannot be easily done by others?
e) Individuality/differentiation? Is there room for your own input or do you follow a strict set of guidelines?
f) Do you do the same task everyday or is there something new to look forward to everyday?
g) Any other thoughts/advice?
h) Last but certainly not least: Would you recommend someone who sees all the above as important in a career to go down this route? smile.gif

Your time in reading (and hopefully responding to) this is very much appreciated.

Thanking you in advance,
Crispypork
HeReLiSm
post Jul 19 2011, 12:50 PM

488 posts

anyone have any experienced a internship interview with GE before?

I have this interview this Thursday and will be conducted in group of four candidates in 30 minutes. So I wonder how it'll be like.... hmm.gif hmm.gif
mikhael
post Jul 19 2011, 02:00 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(HeReLiSm @ Jul 19 2011, 12:50 PM)
anyone have any experienced a internship interview with GE before?

I have this interview this Thursday and will be conducted in group of four candidates in 30 minutes. So I wonder how it'll be like.... hmm.gif  hmm.gif
Lucky you. I applied for a placement December last year, and I was called for an interview on April, a month after I started my industrial training.
BTW, during my time, each candidate was given 3 topics (which were Malaysia Economic Transformation Programme, CSR, & Online Social Networking), and given 15 minutes to make a presentation.
Would really love to add GE's name on my resume. Well, blush.gif .
HeReLiSm
post Jul 19 2011, 11:31 PM

488 posts

QUOTE(mikhael @ Jul 19 2011, 02:00 PM)
Lucky you. I applied for a placement December last year, and I was called for an interview on April, a month after I started my industrial training.
BTW, during my time, each candidate was given 3 topics (which were Malaysia Economic Transformation Programme, CSR, & Online Social Networking), and given 15 minutes to make a presentation.
Would really love to add GE's name on my resume. Well,  blush.gif .
GE will come to my university to conduct the interview and will be held for 3 days..so luckily I was selected...

So we have to choose a topic and present anything about it right? Hope it will be the same for mine..kinda nervous for the interview.. unsure.gif unsure.gif

Thanks a lot mikhael.. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
mhyug
post Jul 20 2011, 01:16 AM

1,551 posts

is it normal to have an application "under consideration" for more the 2/3 months or is it just means that they have received the application and nothing new to revert back?or should the applicant contact them or wait them to contact back for an interview session?
ICDeadPeople
post Jul 20 2011, 07:57 AM

783 posts

QUOTE(mikhael @ Jul 18 2011, 10:53 AM)

Not entirely true I must say. Consulting in subsurface discipline (G&G, RE, PTech, etc.) can get you quite big pay. The work that they are doing is similar with working with operator, just the amount of work and pace is different.
waxppl
post Jul 20 2011, 08:35 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(ICDeadPeople @ Jul 20 2011, 07:57 AM)
Not entirely true I must say. Consulting in subsurface discipline (G&G, RE, PTech, etc.) can get you quite big pay. The work that they are doing is similar with working with operator, just the amount of work and pace is different.
I have been offered a job in oil and gas automation company. They do a lot of PLC automation in oil and gas industry. They take project from big companies like technip, mmhe, kencana, dialog. Is it under contractor category? What you guys think? Should I accept the job? I am still quite new to this industry rclxub.gif
mikhael
post Jul 20 2011, 12:16 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(HeReLiSm @ Jul 19 2011, 11:31 PM)
GE will come to my university to conduct the interview and will be held for 3 days..so luckily I was selected...

So we have to choose a topic and present anything about it right? Hope it will be the same for mine..kinda nervous for the interview.. unsure.gif  unsure.gif

Thanks a lot mikhael.. thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
Well we undergraduates are always nervous especially when attending to big companies.
Just be prepared, anticipate the questions to be asked from different perspectives, for example, say, on CSR topic, how CSR help businesses in Malaysia? That's a general question. Then, they asked how do you view GE CSR efforts such as Ecomagination, GE Volunteer, Healthymagination etc.
So, stand firm, all out confidence, show the personality that they want you to possess.

QUOTE(ICDeadPeople @ Jul 20 2011, 07:57 AM)
Okay. By subsurface discipline you mean working somewhere in departments such as Field Development, Well Planning, Reservoir Modelling, & Operations Geology? Can you guide us mechanical eng. undergraduates with some guidelines, such as go learn basic knowledge on certain softwares such as Landmark , Gocad , RMS, Petrel, OpenSpirit, or go take elective subjects such as computational fluid dynamics or anything else that would help us to catch the eyes of the consultant/operator employers for a kickstart in OnG career. We would really appreciate it.
HeReLiSm
post Jul 20 2011, 04:31 PM

488 posts

QUOTE(asdiqa @ Jul 20 2011, 11:21 AM)

I'm advertising opportunity for Internship with Tanjung CSI Sdn Bhd (subsidiary of Tanjung Offshore Berhad). The training will start immediately and it'll be based on first come first serve 9provided you pass the interview)
Can you tell me what is the main business of Tanjung CSI Sdn Bhd? I'm interested to apply.
rosemary
post Jul 20 2011, 04:37 PM

205 posts

QUOTE(HeReLiSm @ Jul 20 2011, 04:31 PM)
Can you tell me what is the main business of Tanjung CSI Sdn Bhd? I'm interested to apply.
They have many product and services.
U may visit their website to find out more.
figuremeout
post Jul 20 2011, 05:06 PM

~In another life, I would make u stay~
890 posts

Quick Question:
1)what about Civil Eng? what elective subjects should be emphasized on?Structural analysis,R.C,Steel design...?
2)so far im focusing on softwares such as staadpro and esteem. are these sufficient for an entry level?
3)apart from civil engineer position, what other appropriate positions should civil eng graduates are likely to expect?

thx for any further info. smile.gif
azraeil
post Jul 20 2011, 05:30 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(mikhael @ Jul 20 2011, 07:16 AM)
Well we undergraduates are always nervous especially when attending to big companies.
Just be prepared, anticipate the questions to be asked from different perspectives, for example, say, on CSR topic, how CSR help businesses in Malaysia? That's a general question. Then, they asked how do you view GE CSR efforts such as Ecomagination, GE Volunteer, Healthymagination etc.
So, stand firm, all out confidence, show the personality that they want you to possess.
Okay. By subsurface discipline you mean working somewhere in departments such as Field Development, Well Planning, Reservoir Modelling, & Operations Geology? Can you guide us mechanical eng. undergraduates with some guidelines, such as go learn basic knowledge on certain softwares such as Landmark , Gocad , RMS, Petrel, OpenSpirit, or go take elective subjects such as computational fluid dynamics or anything else that would help us to catch the eyes of the consultant/operator employers for a kickstart in OnG career. We would really appreciate it.
If you are an engineering graduates especially in Mechanical engineering, don't go for subsurface activities because you will be lost and the company will not even try to convert you to subsurface engineering skill groups. It's too difficult.

You seem to know your Subsurface software (I'm quite impressed) but knowing the software won't help you as you will need some fundamental applied science knowledge (Geology/Geophysics/RE etc) to enable you use the software properly.

For mechanical engineering grads I always point them towards the Facilities Engineering skill group (which is considered upstream still) where you will need to know about all the engineering basics of the upstream facilities (like the water injection pump, gas compressor etc etc, pipeline dimensions etc etc)

Hope that helps.
ICDeadPeople
post Jul 20 2011, 07:11 PM

783 posts

QUOTE(mikhael @ Jul 20 2011, 12:16 PM)
Learning basic usage of software wont do any good, because in the end you'll become button pusher. I never known anyone who work as G&G or RE who have Mech Eng degree. Maybe you can try something like completion engineer, or even driller.
akuler_14
post Jul 20 2011, 07:37 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(Hydrowires @ Jun 28 2011, 11:27 AM)
Hi there guys, I am currently attached with Technip Asiaflex. My company is looking for intern students now. Those interested can PM me and i can help to pass your resume to HR. Cheers~
Hi Hydrowires,

Is there any job for diploma holders in your company?BTW dun hav exp in o&g..
amin15
post Jul 21 2011, 12:50 PM

Guys,

If you had to choose between project engineer (turbomachinary) and rotating equipment engineer, which one is the best? I like technical/hands on but would consider management in the future.

144 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0320sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:29 PM