131 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V9, Please read FAQ at 1st page! Yummy froyo

Narako
post Dec 6 2010, 06:16 PM

what?
705 posts

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Dec 6 2010, 05:56 PM)
Personally, I'll wait and see what's coming next year. I'll probably wait for Tegra 2. Rumours say that our GPU might be as powerful as a one core Tegra 2, which I think by next year we still can't fully use 2 cores. Meaning, SGS might stay in one of the top phones for as long as mid next year. But I'll still wait for early 2011, SGS is not a cheap phone and it's not easy to change phone.
hmm i have waited for very long edi lol...since the start of the year but i think sgs would suffice and last quite lonbg
Fornx
post Dec 6 2010, 06:17 PM

Zenith
758 posts

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Dec 6 2010, 06:14 PM)
I am not much on linux, but I did read that with ext2 loops, data is not written spontaneously, it is stored in buffer and not in physical files.
Hey guys, I've seen the patent files from Apple, I don't know the source though. It has 3 new patented features upcoming on the next gen iPhone 5 it seems. One of them is the Near Field Communication technology, it's a little bit different from the Google one. Next is, haptic feedback and fingerprint acknowledgement on the touch screen. And lastly, it's the RFID something something which I did not understand.  tongue.gif
ah ic.. i can see kmrdeva is using ext2 loops from his sig lol.. any comment kmrdeva? biggrin.gif
freakfingers12
post Dec 6 2010, 06:20 PM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

Oops, Fornx, I didn't complete my sentence tertukar topic d.

It improves IO efficiency. But I don't see any changes in quadrant and I prefer data to be written. So, I don't use it.
Fornx
post Dec 6 2010, 06:21 PM

Zenith
758 posts

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Dec 6 2010, 06:20 PM)
Oops, Fornx, I didn't complete my sentence tertukar topic d.

It improves IO efficiency. But I don't see any changes in quadrant and I prefer data to be written. So, I don't use it.
whats d difference between data to be written and data not written? aahhhh!!
freakfingers12
post Dec 6 2010, 06:24 PM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

EXT4 generally have more writes than EXT2. When there's more writes to be done, it's slower. When data not written, it stays in buffer the buffer uses more disk partition. Lol. Hope I am clear. So, it's give and take. That's why I say the experience is passive. It's no big deal, just experiment on each filesystem for a few days.
alifsaduri
post Dec 6 2010, 06:24 PM

182 posts

Hi All,

i've a question regarding buying apps from market.
If i buy any of apps overthere, then i do a flashing with other custom rom, is it possible for me to use back the apps that i've paid one without need to buy again..?

Anyone can help...
Fornx
post Dec 6 2010, 06:26 PM

Zenith
758 posts

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Dec 6 2010, 06:24 PM)
EXT4 generally have more writes than EXT2. When there's more writes to be done, it's slower. When data not written, it stays in buffer the buffer uses more disk partition. Lol. Hope I am clear. So, it's give and take. That's why I say the experience is passive. It's no big deal, just experiment on each filesystem for a few days.
yeah u've cleared my doubts.. ty biggrin.gif
Crossover
post Dec 6 2010, 06:28 PM

865 posts

QUOTE(alifsaduri @ Dec 6 2010, 06:24 PM)
Hi All,

If i buy any of apps overthere, then i do a flashing with other custom rom, is it possible for me to use back the apps that i've paid one without need to buy again..?

Anyone can help...
yup, as long as u use back the same gmail add..
mengsuan
post Dec 6 2010, 06:29 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

Hi All,

Anyone can help...
It is tied to your google account. Retrievable after you wipe data.
skydrake
post Dec 6 2010, 06:30 PM

XiiX
992 posts

Hi All,

Anyone can help...
normally paid apps is using unlock code, u just have to keep the codes. install/uninstall ur paid apps anytime anywhere.
michaelnct
post Dec 6 2010, 06:37 PM

85 posts

Sifus, I try to upgrade to Froyo but the KIES prompt saying that, "This Device's Version cannot be Updated"
Current Version:PDA:JF4/PHONE:JF4/CSC:OLB

Kies version: 1.5.3......82 (Latest Version)

I didn't root the phone or apply any lagfix. please help.

Thanks a lot
kmrdeva
post Dec 6 2010, 06:38 PM

4,790 posts

QUOTE(Fornx @ Dec 6 2010, 06:17 PM)
ah ic.. i can see kmrdeva is using ext2 loops from his sig lol.. any comment kmrdeva? biggrin.gif
I'm not noticing any issues, unless of course things are getting corrupted on my phone without my knowledge.. ohmy.gif

So far, having those ext2 loops has improved my phone's general speediness ever so slightly.

I use Linux at home (specifically Ubuntu and Mint) but I am not familiar with what these ext2 loops actually do. I think the feature is similar to the ext2 lagfix scheme in RyanZA's OCLF - I remember he had explained the loop thing very clearly in one of his old posts (before supercurio's voodoo kernel appeared, during the same time that mimocan had his ext2 lagfix released).

Found the info below on another site - http://androidforums.com/samsung-galaxy-s/...20-11-10-a.html

There are several fixes as of now (most of them require your phone to be rooted):
- Mimocan's lagfix (Android 2.1): Significant improvements in performance which can also be benchmarked. Requires an external SDcard formatted partly in fat and partly ext3 or ext4. Instructions for Android 2.2 can be found here.
- OneClick Lagfix by RyanZA (Android 2.1 and 2.2): Based on mimocan but using the internal SD card. It creates a virtual ext2 filesystem on the original data partition and loop mounts it. Results are better than with basic mimocan and it is a lot easier to install. This fix is applied through an application.

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Dec 6 2010, 06:44 PM
skydrake
post Dec 6 2010, 06:49 PM

XiiX
992 posts

guys, any of u heard of LAN games? like links with wifi for 2 players?
cradle0fFilth
post Dec 6 2010, 06:51 PM

666 posts

QUOTE(daryl020189 @ Dec 6 2010, 04:58 PM)
yeah i have this problem too..i have to go to my files there to view the photo 1st only will appear in gallery...
Mine worst..i have ti delete 1 photo,then only all the photos appear.. Any 1 know how to fix this prob? Or wats the better picture viewer apps out there? Thx ya..
kmrdeva
post Dec 6 2010, 06:52 PM

4,790 posts

QUOTE(skydrake @ Dec 6 2010, 06:49 PM)
guys, any of u heard of LAN games? like links with wifi for 2 players?
The Crazy Kart game (from Samsung Apps) supports WIFI gaming, I think. I raced with another SGS buddy before.
alifsaduri
post Dec 6 2010, 06:55 PM

182 posts

Owh..i understand now.thanks for all the answer:-)

Hm..im use hamster rom n using jpp modem...so far, i lov the performance n battery life..but, i notify the status bar n signal seems not so stable..is it related with what modem i've use?

Any recommended of what modem is suitable for this country?(malaysia)..
silentser
post Dec 6 2010, 07:03 PM

OH MAH ANDROID
3,177 posts

QUOTE(michaelnct @ Dec 6 2010, 06:37 PM)
Sifus, I try to upgrade to Froyo but the KIES prompt saying that, "This Device's Version cannot be Updated"
Current Version:PDA:JF4/PHONE:JF4/CSC:OLB

Kies version: 1.5.3......82 (Latest Version)

I didn't root the phone or apply any lagfix. please help.

Thanks a lot
go to dialer, key in *#1234#

and give us the info
Harddisk
post Dec 6 2010, 07:05 PM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Dec 6 2010, 06:52 PM)
The Crazy Kart game (from Samsung Apps) supports WIFI gaming, I think. I raced with another SGS buddy before.
Yes, and not.

Krazy Kart can be downloaded off the net.

I've played with a fellow Desire user. Problem was, I can't host the game, or if I host, he can't see my server. Whereby, if he host, I can join.

That's a bit of a problem now, since I've opened more tracks and I was hoping that if I hosted the game, we could play on more than just the basic 2 beginner tracks.

lch78
post Dec 6 2010, 07:09 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

I notice that battery drain fast when I am moving, for eg I am driving for 1 hour from KL to PJ and my battery drops as much as 5% sometimes. When I stay put at one place, it hardly drops 1% in one hour with wifi on.

settings: speedmod k10c with ext4nj on data. location on, gps on, 3g on.
Harddisk
post Dec 6 2010, 07:11 PM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Dec 6 2010, 07:09 PM)
I notice that battery drain fast when I am moving, for eg I am driving for 1 hour from KL to PJ and my battery drops as much as 5% sometimes. When I stay put at one place, it hardly drops 1% in one hour with wifi on.

settings: speedmod k10c with ext4nj on data. location on, gps on, 3g on.
In case you didn't notice. 3G/HSDPA drains battery like convicts just released from prison. biggrin.gif

131 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Top

0.0282sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:55 PM