126 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore V5

ba5tard
post Feb 8 2011, 07:39 PM

211 posts

hey guys... when i go ep online, i cant check my current status... only got last time pass status there which is already been cancel out... is there possibility dat the current employer did not submit my pass application?? i am a lil bit worry here... any1 can advice on dis??
klsingapore5800
post Feb 8 2011, 07:44 PM

QUOTE(ba5tard @ Feb 8 2011, 07:39 PM)
hey guys... when i go ep online, i cant check my current status... only got last time pass status there which is already been cancel out... is there possibility dat the current employer did not submit my pass application?? i am a lil bit worry here... any1 can advice on dis??
Yes, possibly they not yet submitted. Call your new company HR to follow up.
ba5tard
post Feb 8 2011, 08:03 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(klsingapore5800 @ Feb 8 2011, 07:44 PM)
Yes, possibly they not yet submitted. Call your new company HR to follow up.
damn... this aint very good to me... coz i submitted all the form back to them yesterday... haihz... i got an offer dis friday... i want to reject it but at least let this pass application got approved... haihz... thanks for the info...
SUSkl87
post Feb 8 2011, 10:51 PM

390 posts

something to share,

went to an interview 2 weeks ago, was ask if my degree recognized in "england" and worldwide ?

i said my degree is recognized by board of engineer malaysia and malaysia higher education.

then he keep pressing if my degree is some how related to england anot -,-' as his impression that england degree is the best and recognized worldwide. however, from my fren who is graduated from notthingham , his degree(3 years) is not recognized by engineer board, and he had to go for master , which is an extra 1 year. dun wanna piss him out, so didnt told him that....

ok, back to topic. then he ask me if i'm getting EP or S pass ? as EP will only issue to degree holder recognized by "singapore and worldwide" -,-' if the degree is not recognized, we can only get s pass even our salary is more than 2.5k~

dun knw is true or not , but just to share

a joke from one of my singapore fren :

anyone knw what DBS means ?
seantang
post Feb 8 2011, 11:21 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(kl87 @ Feb 8 2011, 10:51 PM)
went to an interview 2 weeks ago, was ask if my degree recognized in "england" and worldwide ?

i said my degree is recognized by board of engineer malaysia and malaysia higher education.
It's basically a question whether your degree (a local one, I presume) is recognised anywhere else outside Malaysia.

Malaysia's educational and professional recognition criteria isn't always... ummm, objective. Take the Malaysian Institute of Accountants for instance. It decrees that all foreign degree holders have to earn an internationally recognised professional qualification before being admitted as a member of MIA, but local accounting graduates (including MARA! which awards degrees based on race rather than results) are admitted directly from university after 3 years of work experience.

ba5tard
post Feb 8 2011, 11:22 PM

211 posts

something to share,

damn bloody slow bank??

starriebaby88
post Feb 8 2011, 11:26 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(ba5tard @ Feb 8 2011, 11:22 PM)
damn bloody slow bank??
harr? that bad meh?
ba5tard
post Feb 8 2011, 11:57 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(starriebaby88 @ Feb 8 2011, 11:26 PM)
harr? that bad meh?
juz a joke la... haha...
SUSkl87
post Feb 9 2011, 12:00 AM

390 posts

QUOTE(ba5tard @ Feb 8 2011, 11:22 PM)
damn bloody slow bank??
Nope tongue.gif

is : Dun Be Singaporean

DBS oso means something for those who wanna become Singaporean ~ keep guessing ~

Added on February 9, 2011, 12:04 am
QUOTE(seantang @ Feb 8 2011, 11:21 PM)
It's basically a question whether your degree (a local one, I presume) is recognised anywhere else outside Malaysia.

Malaysia's educational and professional recognition criteria isn't always... ummm, objective. Take the Malaysian Institute of Accountants for instance. It decrees that all foreign degree holders have to earn an internationally recognised professional qualification before being admitted as a member of MIA, but local accounting graduates (including MARA! which awards degrees based on race rather than results) are admitted directly from university after 3 years of work experience.
i dun knw tongue.gif but he keep pressing about my degree recognized by england or not -,-'

really dun knw what to answer him

hmm.gif may i ask , how to knw if my degree is internationally recognised professional qualification ????

This post has been edited by kl87: Feb 9 2011, 12:04 AM
ba5tard
post Feb 9 2011, 12:27 AM

211 posts

haha... dun be singaporean... nice 1...
chess_gal
post Feb 9 2011, 12:33 AM

1,006 posts

Hey guys,

I am looking for a room at Tampines/Pasir Ris (Near Ikea Tampines).
Single Professional Lady, Chinese Msian. Budget S$600 (Aircond & Broadband). If you guys got any rooms let me know.

Cheers.
Chessgal
seantang
post Feb 9 2011, 12:51 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(kl87 @ Feb 9 2011, 12:00 AM)
hmm.gif may i ask , how to knw if my degree is internationally recognised professional qualification ????
If it's regulated by law (ie. a profession) like medicine, law, teaching, accountancy, architecture, civil engineering etc. then it's whether your degree allows you to gain the right to work in other countries.

If it's unregulated (ie. a vocation) like other types of engineering (mechanical, electronics etc), sales, marketing, communications, HR, IT etc. then it's whether foreign employers will employ you, or foreign universities will accept your bachelors degree as an equivalent basis for a teaching position, a masters or doctorate. In short... it's up to the interviewer.
siberfriend
post Feb 9 2011, 09:46 AM

190 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Feb 9 2011, 12:33 AM)
Hey guys,

I am looking for a room at Tampines/Pasir Ris (Near Ikea Tampines).
Single Professional Lady, Chinese Msian. Budget S$600 (Aircond & Broadband). If you guys got any rooms let me know.

Cheers.
Chessgal
working @ ibm?
r1v3r
post Feb 9 2011, 10:07 AM

1,305 posts

i dun knw  tongue.gif  but he keep pressing about my degree recognized by england or not -,-'

This is IES for Singapore :

http://www.ies.org.sg/pageview.php?page_id=110

There is a link to BOE Malaysia, see if your degree was listed on BOM website.

ba5tard
post Feb 9 2011, 10:14 AM

211 posts

haihz... what a bad day for me... i called up my employer & they lied to me said dat they have already submitted the s pass application... but in real they did not submit it... cant do anythin about it... sad...
saiga
post Feb 9 2011, 10:30 AM

Fear of the Dark
584 posts

something to share,

then he keep pressing if my degree is some how related to england anot -,-' as his impression that england degree is the best and recognized worldwide. however, from my fren who is graduated from notthingham , his degree(3 years) is not recognized by engineer board, and he had to go for master , which is an extra 1 year. dun wanna piss him out, so didnt told him that....

ok, back to topic. then he ask me if i'm getting EP or S pass ? as EP will only issue to degree holder recognized by "singapore and worldwide" -,-' if the degree is not recognized, we can only get s pass even our salary is more than 2.5k~

dun knw is true or not , but just to share

Bro, about the degree thing, if u grad form public U in Malaysia, I can safely say 100% Singapore will recognized it. Did you register yourself with BEM?
By registering with BEM and stating it in your resume will surely give tumbs up as well nod.gif
mercury8400
post Feb 9 2011, 10:34 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(RedSiglap56 @ Feb 8 2011, 04:23 PM)
Hi, I'm new to this particular thread.  I cannot help but respond to your answer because I'm concerned that it might give a wrong impression.

If your answer is in the context of blue-collar/non-graduate/casual work then it's fair to compare with foreign workers in our country.  However, if you get a job as an executive or even as an auditor, you will be treated like other Singaporean workers, always providing you are adequately qualified or experienced or both.

For those interested to work in Singapore, the ideal strategy is to gain an acceptable qualification for your field of work plus some work experience before applying.  If you are not qualified and inexperienced, you'll be pushed around or bullied even if you work in our own country.

One should not blindly jump across the causeway because of stronger currency and/or brighter prospects because life may not be easy in Singapore.  The pace of work is much faster there and hence, the pressure will be heavier.  People under such pressure may not be friendly or patient. On top of that, coming 'home' after a hard day's work to find yourself in a small room in a small HDB flat may not be easy to adapt to.

Always find out as much as you can. Always be realistic in your expectations..
Spot on man. At first I was also thinking about the stronger SGD, brighter prospects, etc when I first reach SG. After 6 mths there, I found that life is not that easy. Housing is small and ridiculously expensive, very fast and hectic and very crowded. Try taking an MRT in the morning/evening or anytime during the day and it's packed. There are virtually no place to sit down and eat in restaurants in the CBD during lunch time. So I tarpau like 5 days a week.
nicvoo
post Feb 9 2011, 11:06 AM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

Nope  tongue.gif

is : Dun Be Singaporean
DBS oso means something for those who wanna become Singaporean ~ keep guessing ~

Added on February 9, 2011, 12:04 am

i dun knw  tongue.gif  but he keep pressing about my degree recognized by england or not -,-'

depending on wat degree u hav u can chk here http://app.peb.gov.sg/Html/pe_approved.html this is the uni recognized by the PE board

QUOTE(saiga @ Feb 9 2011, 10:30 AM)
Bro, about the degree thing, if u grad form public U in Malaysia, I can safely say 100% Singapore will recognized it. Did you register yourself with BEM?
By registering with BEM and stating it in your resume will surely give tumbs up as well  nod.gif
wrong....the only malaysian uni recognized is UM
SUSkl87
post Feb 9 2011, 11:07 AM

390 posts

QUOTE(saiga @ Feb 9 2011, 10:30 AM)
By registering with BEM and stating it in your resume will surely give tumbs up as well  nod.gif
QUOTE(r1v3r @ Feb 9 2011, 10:07 AM)
This is IES for Singapore :

http://www.ies.org.sg/pageview.php?page_id=110

There is a link to BOE Malaysia, see if your degree was listed on BOM website.
Didnt read wat i write doh.gif I did mentioned my degree is recognized by board of engineer malaysia to the interviewer, but some how he keep pressing whether my course is some how related to a england degree anot rclxub.gif he let me feel like being recognized by BEM is useless ~

however, thats not the main point , coz finally he ask me whether i holding EP or S pass, EP will only issue to people with recognized degree tongue.gif not sure is true anot ~

r1v3r
post Feb 9 2011, 11:25 AM

1,305 posts

Didnt read wat was on the page doh.gif

"IES is the Singapore signatory to the Washington Accord with effect from June 2006. The Washington Accord is an international agreement which provides a mechanism for mutual recognition of the substantial equivalence of engineering academic programmes in satisfying the academic requirements for the practice of engineering at the professional level."

Since BEM also signatory to the Washington Accord, as long as your course( and which year) was listed then you should be fine. Show your boss the print out or write email to IES to confirm.

This post has been edited by r1v3r: Feb 9 2011, 11:26 AM

126 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Top

0.0318sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:27 AM