post Dec 2 2010, 08:54 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(kian26 @ Dec 1 2010, 11:13 PM)
new boy here. just got to singapore and started working together

kian26, farrer road; choa chu kang

so lonely being here = ="

Added on December 1, 2010, 11:19 pm

dont think so, some are looking for cheaper salary like those from philipine,china,india and etc
malaysian,pr, singaporean are more on the high side. imho, i have gotten thru all the interviews,so far so good.
i guess its depending how good you communicate wth them
I agree boring...
Add me as well
Live-Aljunied. Work - Raffles Place
mercury8400
post Dec 8 2010, 08:33 AM

2,703 posts

I have a studio room for rent at S$900 p.m. fully furnished. Location The Accord Apartments Lorong 15 Geylang. 10 min walk to Aljunied station. No agents. Start in Jan. Interested pls call me at +65 83202544
mercury8400
post Dec 8 2010, 08:22 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(washabushi @ Dec 8 2010, 11:55 AM)
is it ok for me to ask an agent to help u find tenant?
no agent fee to landlord...only tenant need to pay

Added on December 8, 2010, 11:58 am

actually i dont even know how i manage to do it...
just had my stand chard half mara last sunday n did my personal worst timing...
which is only couple of minutes different from my previous full marathon sweat.gif
No agents. Technically its not my unit. I'm just a tenant but I've signed a 6 months contract and will forfeit my deposit if i move out now. However I am shifting in with my friends soon in end dec and the agreement was if I manage to find someone to rent the studio from me i will be reimbursed my deposit. So no agents
mercury8400
post Dec 10 2010, 08:13 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(GiNgEr^fIsH @ Dec 10 2010, 12:09 PM)
anyone here liverpool fan? maybe we can meet and watch the game together at harry's bar in city hall.
I am!!! I'm also looking for Liverpool kaki to eatch matches...
mercury8400
post Dec 11 2010, 08:35 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Dec 8 2010, 08:33 AM)
I have a studio room for rent at S$900 p.m. fully furnished. Location The Accord Apartments Lorong 15 Geylang. 10 min walk to Aljunied station. No agents. Start in Jan. Interested pls call me at +65 83202544
Hi Anyone interested? I need tenant by 1/1/2011
Good location especially if you work in city. 20 min only
mercury8400
post Jan 6 2011, 10:15 PM

2,703 posts

Very not use to the black pepper Bak Kut Teh and generally I find SG food a bit sweet for my liking. Coming from KL I like it saltier maybe but still cannot understand the black peper BKT! Anyone can find Klang type BKT in SG pls post
mercury8400
post Jan 22 2011, 09:09 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(giorgene @ Jan 21 2011, 07:30 AM)
SINGAPORE LOCAL FOOD SUCKS!
What you mentioned is just western food in Singapore not SINGAPOREAN FOOD
I totally agree. Went for this so called "best bak kut teh" in Sg. Didn't like it at all. Dunno what's the deal with the peppery soup??!!!. Nasi lemak is all fried chicken. No rendang.... hokkien mee is watery not like kl thick and solid. In summary hawker food though cheap is not tasty at all.... Now i miss kl food so much
mercury8400
post Feb 5 2011, 12:53 PM

2,703 posts

Hi, is it easier to quit my current job and look for another or quit only when I've found another job since I'm currently on EP and not a PR. If I choose the earlier options what will happen to my employment status?
mercury8400
post Feb 9 2011, 10:34 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(RedSiglap56 @ Feb 8 2011, 04:23 PM)
Hi, I'm new to this particular thread.  I cannot help but respond to your answer because I'm concerned that it might give a wrong impression.

If your answer is in the context of blue-collar/non-graduate/casual work then it's fair to compare with foreign workers in our country.  However, if you get a job as an executive or even as an auditor, you will be treated like other Singaporean workers, always providing you are adequately qualified or experienced or both.

For those interested to work in Singapore, the ideal strategy is to gain an acceptable qualification for your field of work plus some work experience before applying.  If you are not qualified and inexperienced, you'll be pushed around or bullied even if you work in our own country.

One should not blindly jump across the causeway because of stronger currency and/or brighter prospects because life may not be easy in Singapore.  The pace of work is much faster there and hence, the pressure will be heavier.  People under such pressure may not be friendly or patient. On top of that, coming 'home' after a hard day's work to find yourself in a small room in a small HDB flat may not be easy to adapt to.

Always find out as much as you can. Always be realistic in your expectations..
Spot on man. At first I was also thinking about the stronger SGD, brighter prospects, etc when I first reach SG. After 6 mths there, I found that life is not that easy. Housing is small and ridiculously expensive, very fast and hectic and very crowded. Try taking an MRT in the morning/evening or anytime during the day and it's packed. There are virtually no place to sit down and eat in restaurants in the CBD during lunch time. So I tarpau like 5 days a week.
mercury8400
post Feb 20 2011, 09:44 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(smartalec @ Feb 19 2011, 12:43 PM)
been working in sg for 4 yrs now. no doubt it is a good place to earn $$$, however with the ever increasing cost of living (esp housing, transport & food) most ppl here will not be able to afford a good lifestyle. lemme giv an example. a typical citizen/pr stays in a HDB flat and takes public transport. this applies for ppl from the jr. executive ranks all the way to mid level executive ranks. only those in the sr. executive ranks will be able to afford private housing a car etc.

back in msia, ppl within this range has so much options to choose from, they can choose to stay in either in a landed house or a condo. they can choose which car they want to drive. personally having experienced both ways of lifestyle, i prefer the msian way of lifestyle. in msia, with a car we have the freedom to go where ever we want with no inhibition, while in sg if you r dependent on public transport, the full flexibility is not really there unless u r willing to pay the taxi fare. personally i'd prefer to drive than take public transport due to the privacy and convenience. on a more personal side, if a guy wants to court a girl, i'd think u would stand a better chance if u r driving compared to taking public transport.

when it comes to food, i believe everyone here will agree that msia wins hands down. let's be truthful, sg foodcourt sells the same thing everywhere, and they are not nice. the only food that sg has that is consistently nicer than msia is fried rice. they hav an uncanny ability to make good fried rice as compared to msia. to get nice food, we need to go to restaurants. but how many times a month do we eat at restaurants?

as a single guy working in sg, a good chunk of my pay is already going into my rent, food & transport as well as fixed expenses back home in KL. with my savings, i wont be able to afford a house nor a car in singapore. thx to the new ruling, i'm no longer eligible to buy HDB as i've a property in KL, so it is purely private if i want to buy and they are hell expensive right now. i won't wanna forever be stuck staying in a rented room, hence am seriously considering moving back to KL. the only thing that is holding me back the the absolute amount of savings i can get by working in sg. perhaps a good alternative is to stay in jb and work in sg. something which i am still contemplating.

jz my 2 cents and a rant here...
Spot on man. At first I did not realise this and was dying to come to SG like most people, lured by higher income, way of life, etc but I am begining to regret it now that I'm in SG. SG is always crowded irregardless of time. Try taking the mrt or going out for lunch/dinner and chances are you have to wait even in the food court coz limited space/seats. Cost of daily necessities are indeed cheaper than M'sia but if you factor in yr rent, utilities and other expenses, it would amount to be the same as KL. There is virtually zero chance of you owning HDB or condo before you hit 35 if you are a salaried person. (unless you come from rich family or are running a business). The working hours are longer in SG compared to M'sia and the kiasuism of people in work sometimes hamper the greater good of the company. (Everybody here only thinks of covering their @$$ instead of what's best for the co) While cars are technically cheaper than in Msia, dollar to dollar, the cost of maintaining the car is way higher, especially if you work in the CBD. SO if you're single, young and earning <SGD5000 like me, I suggest you to REALLY reconsider your decision. The only benefit of SG is for family people who are already senior mgmt with decent earning power (at least >SGD10K) who craves better education for their children, security and a better environment for their family. But if you're single and not settled down yet with earning <SGD5000 again consider Wisely. M'sia ain't that bad after all
mercury8400
post Mar 26 2011, 10:40 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Mar 26 2011, 10:35 AM)
It only costs $2 for a big packet of curry rice. That should allow you to survive for a day or two. $60 will buy a packet a day, more than enough to survive. And Singapore's weather is great, mild enough to survive sleeping in HDB void decks at night. With food and a place to sleep, that's all you need to survive.
Wow. that's a pretty spartan lifestyle! U sure you guys wanna do that? unless of course yr really desperate
mercury8400
post Mar 27 2011, 12:33 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(Samuelton @ Mar 26 2011, 11:53 PM)

Anyone,

I am quite new here, and need to ask if anyone can provide some information to me,  currently in singapore working place, are there any job offer in related to audit and tax assistant from an accounting firm, singapore?

I will be appreciate if any expert on this field guide me the right way to work in singapore.

Thank you very much.
while I am glad many people want to expand there horizon by comming to sg to work I highly recommend those freshies to spend at least 2-3 years working in m'sia first before comming to sg to stand a better chance of being employed. The reason I said that is because the competition here especially for entry level job is very intense and furthermore preference will always be given to Singaporean and pr. And from what I know singaporeans employers do not have high regard for Malaysian unis. They even do not have high regard for proffesional qualification like acca or CPA unless it is accompanied by a degree. They always prefer the local unis coz that's where all the brainiacs are
mercury8400
post Mar 27 2011, 10:47 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(washabushi @ Mar 27 2011, 10:40 PM)
Every morning bread with peanut butter...make sure is smooth typenot chunky so u can spread a super thin layer on da bread...
Bread buy big size can last u for 3 - 4 days
Lunch go cafeteria...Bodek those Malay girl a bit they give u extra big packet for same price(Malay rice full of lemak give u extra energy)
Dinner eat 2 dollar chicken rice...I think u can still find chicken rice this price at most place...not to forget the free msg cabbage soup...
And for ur room...try sharing with lots of ppl...the more u share the lower the rental
After 3 years here...I still find it amazing how I can survive last time...
Additional tip for fast food lover
Just buy 3 double cheeseburger or mcchicken...Each at 2 dollar
More filling then going for mcvalue tongue.gif
Dude, I consider myself trifty but yr bordering on insane man. Seriously is it worth it? I think u can enjoy better lifestyle back in m'sia.

Added on March 27, 2011, 10:50 pm
QUOTE(ch_teo @ Mar 27 2011, 10:12 AM)
sometimes, some brains are too straight, do not know how to twist-turn. over law-abiding. sometimes, twist-turn also can comply with rules...
I always say the moral of the story is do NOT get caught. U can do what ever you want rob, rape, kill, etc as long as you do NOT get caught and if you could live with yourself after doing those things then who cares. If IF u do get caught, then YR SCREWED!

This post has been edited by mercury8400: Mar 27 2011, 10:50 PM
mercury8400
post Apr 2 2011, 12:31 AM

2,703 posts

If you think yr masters is gonna to make a difference in giving you an edge in empoyment in SG (wheter its investment banking or just banking in general, you are making a huge mistake. Every tom d*** and harry has a Masters in SG. Unless its from the top tier ivy league unis the rest just isn't worth having because the most of the guys fresh off the boat from India (and believe me there are tons of them here) all have a masters degree from one uni or another. Its about experience. And if you want an investment banking job why even consider a telecom industry? Taht would seriously limit yr options in the future. Investment banking specialising in telecom? How small is the market for that? Get yr exp from auditing 2-3 years of auditing background then jump into an investment bank as an entry level position or alternatively jump to corporate banking now then chalk up 2-3 yrs experience then jump over to investment banking (i think there would be some leverage of exp in Corp banking)
mercury8400
post Apr 2 2011, 11:26 PM

2,703 posts

If you are a malay Malaysian with a local malaysia degree and little(<5 years) /no experience and wanting the come to SG to work, I'm sorry to say that yr chances is more or less equivalent to ZERO! First yr not a PR or citizen which already put you at a disadvantage. Second yr non chinese and hence do not speak mandarin and that put's you even more to a disadvantage. Thirdly, our local Uni is not held in high regard by singaporean especially if yr a malay coz of the quota system and that puts you down at the bottom of the list alongside the other immigrants such as the Indian, Myanmar, and other 3rd world country people who come over to SG to find work. Fourthly, the perception here which is the same as in malaysia is that the malays in malaysia are lazy and unmotivated. So that puts you behind the indians, myanmar, thais etc. That would make yr chances of landing a job here more or less zero %.
mercury8400
post Apr 2 2011, 11:53 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Apr 2 2011, 11:47 PM)
actually indians are highly sought after... both for low level and high level jobs
Correct. That's why there are so many of them here. Just walked pass some cafes near my area in Eunos, there are so,so,so many of them out to watch the cricket match. I thought I was in India.
mercury8400
post Apr 4 2011, 12:10 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(azrink @ Apr 3 2011, 12:37 AM)
I m a Malay, working with SG company, been given the responsibility to manage/oversee the company projects abroad. If i m really that lazy, unmotivated and lowly educated, would the SG company dare to employ me in the first place? Just because of what race I am. Please do not generalize all Malay are the same. Statement like yours move me to go abroad working with Singaporean and other races. Just to let them and the world know that Malay can do well and fight equally on the same level too!!! Next time please consider when you thinking of making any statement. Don't judge the Malay because of what is happening in Malaysia. From your writing I know your frustration. I too am like you, ashamed of what is happening in Malaysia, but I will never judge and generalize just because of their colors. Shame on you.  sad.gif
First of all I wanna say that I'm happy that there are modern Malays like you who are forward thinking and realise the plight we as Malaysians are in right now. I like to clearify that the statement I make is not intended to be racist but the jist of the problem (as most of the other people already know) are as below.

I stand by my statement that "generally" the malays in Malaysia are lazy. You and a select few are the exception to this and I applaud you for that. Again unfortunately, the majority of the Malays are still lazy and unmotivated to work hard. ( P.S I did not mention they are lowly educated. I merely imply that the local/public Unis has lowered the std of entry so low just to cater and fill the quota). The concept of competition, efficiency and effectiveness just doesn't occur to them. The tidak apa attitude is so prevalent. While I do admit that this also applies to non malay people as well, however bearing in mind that Malaysia comprises 60% of malay population the no of malays with these type of attitude far exceeds every other race. Coupled with the NEP makes things worst and which is the main culprit for the breeding of this type of attitude. The non malays on the other hand, do not enjoy such luxuries and hence has to fight teeth and nail to preserve their wealth. This has been highlighted many times by Tun Mahatir but the majority of malays are still ignorant to this fact and cling on to their hard belief that this is their right. But this is definately a curse not only to the Malays but to Malaysia as a whole and effects all people in malaysia. Instead politician chose to turn this into a racial thing thus obstructing the view of the "big picture" for their own political mileage.

The reason why SG is so advanced is because there are none of these NEP or protectionist policies. This in turn provides a competitve place where most people/co work hard to differentiate their services/products from their competitors i.e. value add. This in turn brings in other investments from overseas namely the MNC. Coupled with their high standards of work skills, education, infrastructure, and open minded immigration policy to admit the best/most skilled people, it is a perfect opputunity for foreign MNC to set-up their operations. That's why there are so many regional/global operations in SG, which in turn benefits the people of SG. SG has also sucessfully migrated from a low cost services to one which is value added type of model hence increasing the GDP per cap of their people. They had a tough time during the 60s when they broke up with Msia but they soldiered on. Like they say when the going gets tough the tough gets going.

Now I'm sure Malays are a tough bunch of people. Afterall they also suffered the colonisation by portugese, english and dutch. However, with the current mindset and NEP is not going to help the cause. Get rid of it. Sure it hurts in the short term but like i said when the going gets tough the tough gets going. There is no doubt in my mind that Malaysia can do so much more than what it can right now. However, right now malaysia is so complecent whether politically or economically. That's why most people are off to somewhere else.

But believe me when i say this, the majority of malaysian overseas are still malaysians at heart and we love our country. I'm sure many will return only if they can effectively fix these problems.

mercury8400
post Apr 5 2011, 07:53 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(mcbarney666 @ Apr 5 2011, 11:17 AM)
I've finally made the jump and will be working in Singapore. I start work on 23 May 2011. smile.gif

Everything is in order except a place to stay. I'll be working at Raffles Place so I would like a room that is preferably on the green line. Max budget for room is 900SGD but has to be inclusive of internet, utilities and decently sized.

But I won't rule out anything just yet so please let me know of any rooms. smile.gif
What co are you working at? I'm also working in raffles place

0.0519sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:38 AM