52 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 >Bottom

Hobbies Amateur Radio User V2 !, HAM Radio

wiraone
post Apr 21 2018, 07:17 PM

Who cares about all the stars?
3,892 posts

QUOTE(hockwei123456 @ Apr 20 2018, 08:01 PM)
Definitely will call out once i get a digital radio, i just pass the exam few days  back what do i have to do next?
It's a Yaesu Fusion repeater, so, do get the correct digital radio. There are few digital voice mode out there, so they probably not compatible with 9M2RKL.

On your license (or AA they call it), you need to download the following form:

https://www.skmm.gov.my/skmmgovmy/media/Gen...E_v2018_ISO.pdf

Can't use other than the above since it has coded ref document on top left.

1) Fill up the following sections: 1, 2, 6, 7 (the rest can be left unfilled).
2) Appendix A - You need to get signatures from 2 - 9M2/6/8 or any authorised person from MARTS (I guess those who hold position in MARTS).
3) Appendix B - Go to either commissioner of oath, JP or magistrate to take your oath. Comm. of Oath will charge you minimal fee (RM4 if I'm not wrong).
4) Appendix C - Fill up callsign that you want, check if the callsign is not used. If you've android phone, download MY Callsign from google play and search any available callsign. Please be reminded, this app hasn't been updated for quite a while. Do check from the following website for latest database.
https://www.mcmc.gov.my/legal/registers/reg...=Callsign%20ASC

Good luck!

This post has been edited by wiraone: Apr 21 2018, 07:34 PM
hockwei123456
post Apr 22 2018, 01:06 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Apr 21 2018, 07:17 PM)
It's a Yaesu Fusion repeater, so, do get the correct digital radio. There are few digital voice mode out there, so they probably not compatible with 9M2RKL.

On your license (or AA they call it), you need to download the following form:

https://www.skmm.gov.my/skmmgovmy/media/Gen...E_v2018_ISO.pdf

Can't use other than the above since it has coded ref document on top left.

1) Fill up the following sections: 1, 2, 6, 7 (the rest can be left unfilled).
2) Appendix A - You need to get signatures from 2 - 9M2/6/8 or any authorised person from MARTS (I guess those who hold position in MARTS).
3) Appendix B - Go to either commissioner of oath, JP or magistrate to take your oath. Comm. of Oath will charge you minimal fee (RM4 if I'm not wrong).
4) Appendix C - Fill up callsign that you want, check if the callsign is not used. If you've android phone, download MY Callsign from google play and search any available callsign. Please be reminded, this app hasn't been updated for quite a while. Do check from the following website for latest database.
https://www.mcmc.gov.my/legal/registers/reg...=Callsign%20ASC

Good luck!
Thank you very detailed indeed, but just to get a regular ham radio license i need to get signatures from marts? And need to go to the com of oath? :0
wiraone
post Apr 23 2018, 08:16 AM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(hockwei123456 @ Apr 22 2018, 01:06 AM)
Thank you very detailed indeed, but just to get a regular ham radio license i need to get signatures from marts? And need to go to the com of oath? :0
That is the regulation here, nothing much can be done about it.
hockwei123456
post Apr 23 2018, 12:46 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Apr 23 2018, 08:16 AM)
That is the regulation here, nothing much can be done about it.
Alright thanks man, how am i gonna get 2 signatures? hahaha

This post has been edited by hockwei123456: Apr 23 2018, 02:10 PM
H.K. Lee
post Apr 30 2018, 10:02 PM

159 posts

Sifu, i bought a pair of pofung UV-6R, these are legal right?..sorry in advance, I know nothing about Amateur radio..

Specification:

Frequency Range

65-108MHz (FM Receive only)

136-174 MHz and 400-519.995 MHz (TX/RX)

Channel No.

Frequency Stability

±2.5ppm

Antenna

High gain Dual-Band Antenna

Antenna Impedance

50Ω

Operating Voltage

DC 7.4V

Mode of operation

Simple or semi-duplex

Dimension(W x H x D)

100 x 52 x 32 mm

Weight

500g (including battery, antenna)

Transmitter

Output power

5W / 1W (Max 5W)

Modulation Mode

16kΦF3E / 11kΦF3E

Maximum deviation

<5kHz(Wide) / <2.5kHz(Narrow)

Spurious Radiation

<7μW

Adjacent Ch. power

≤-65dB(Wide) / ≤-60dB(Narrow)

Pre-emphasis characteristics

6dB

Current

≤1.6A(5W)

CTCSS/DCS deviation

0.5±0.1kHz(Wide) / 0.3±0.1kHz(Narrow)

Intermediation sensitivity

8-12mv

Intermediation distortion

<10
aminpro
post May 1 2018, 11:12 AM

191 posts

QUOTE(H.K. Lee @ Apr 30 2018, 10:02 PM)
Sifu, i bought a pair of pofung UV-6R, these are legal right?..sorry in advance, I know nothing about Amateur radio..

Legal or not is according to what frequency you saved in the radio.

QUOTE(aminpro @ May 14 2016, 02:13 AM)
TL;DR if you have no license like pak guards, convoy, community policing etc, the allowed citizen band is

(a) 26.965000 MHz to 27.405000 MHz;
(b) 446.006250 MHz to 446.093750 MHz;
© 446.103125 MHz to 446.196875 MHz;
(d) 477.012500 MHz to 477.487500 MHz; or
(e) 477.525000 MHz to 477.987500 MHz.

Maximum is 5 watt but on 446 it is all max 0.5 watts only.
Refer to the table for more detailed explanation.
denver1347
post Jun 15 2018, 08:26 PM

252 posts

Anyone here using PlutoSDR ?

haki
post Jul 14 2018, 12:21 AM

546 posts

Im bought yaesu vx8r..izzit suitable for beginner?
wiraone
post Jul 29 2018, 11:34 AM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(haki @ Jul 14 2018, 12:21 AM)
Im bought yaesu vx8r..izzit suitable for beginner?
Should be okay. It seems most beginners start with handy talkie (me too, my first rig was FT60R). However, the output power is limited to 5W, so, you probably will have problem working on some distance repeaters. Just use it and upgrade later.

This post has been edited by wiraone: Jul 29 2018, 11:35 AM
haki
post Aug 1 2018, 10:17 AM

546 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Jul 29 2018, 11:34 AM)
Should be okay. It seems most beginners start with handy talkie (me too, my first rig was FT60R). However, the output power is limited to 5W, so, you probably will have problem working on some distance repeaters. Just use it and upgrade later.
What model you suggest for upgrade
wiraone
post Aug 1 2018, 10:52 AM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(haki @ Aug 1 2018, 10:17 AM)
What model you suggest for upgrade
It depends on what and how you gonna use it. If you're always mobile and would like to have a contact during driving, then, get a mobile rig. If you're in klang valley, we've two digital repeaters which use Yaesu Fusion. If you would like to have a conversation in digital and with DX station, you probably want to get a Yaesu Fusion rig (FTM100DR or FTM7250DR - new) probably will suite you. If you're not interested in digital voice, and want to stick with FM, then any other radios from Kenwood, ICOM or Yaesu will do.

hockwei123456
post Aug 11 2018, 08:50 PM

194 posts

Hi pros, i need advice, iam planing to get a Diamond MR77S mag mount for my bao feng and future upgrade (i-com moblie set). My question is the mr 77s antenna is only for 144 /440. So it means i can't transmit at 430? Since uhf hams are at that frequency
eddie_lim
post Aug 14 2018, 07:45 PM

You Never Walk Alone
4,024 posts

QUOTE(hockwei123456 @ Aug 11 2018, 08:50 PM)
Hi pros, i need advice, iam planing to get a Diamond MR77S mag mount for my bao feng and future upgrade (i-com moblie set).  My question is  the mr 77s antenna is only for  144 /440.  So it means i can't transmit at 430? Since uhf hams are at that frequency
144/440 mean 2m/70cm

or 144 MHz to 148 MHz / 430.000 MHz – 480.000 MHz (depend on your region)

Malaysia VHF/UHF by MCMC is 144-148Mhz/430-440Mhz

so 144/440 just to let u know support V/U
aminpro
post Aug 15 2018, 06:50 AM

191 posts

QUOTE(hockwei123456 @ Aug 11 2018, 08:50 PM)
Hi pros, i need advice, iam planing to get a Diamond MR77S mag mount for my bao feng and future upgrade (i-com moblie set).  My question is  the mr 77s antenna is only for  144 /440.  So it means i can't transmit at 430? Since uhf hams are at that frequency
Usually there are no problems and you can even get away with being off the center tuning/rating of the antenna if you are on UHF/VHF.
Don't worry so much about the antenna rating as long as it is rated for the correct band type.

The problem usually comes when you are playing with HF where the SWR(standing wave ratio; the signal that get bounced back into your transmitter if the antenna impedance does not match with the transmitter[1:1 means no reflection and balanced impedance]) gets pretty huge when you go off in which you are going to need an antenna tuner anyway.

You can read more on antenna tuning and SWR here:
https://www.rightchannelradios.com/blogs/in...derstanding-swr

The basic stuff you need to know about antenna tuning is however is going to be usually the length of the antenna.
If you buy an MC101, those can be cut into your desired center frequency. However, they are all tuned for HAM frequency anyway so don't bother so much about it if you are buying an off the shelf stuff.
Tuning on HF on the other hand usually involves adding or subtracting impedance values on your antenna. This is usually done by adjusting the capacitance and inductance values which is located in the antenna tuner(because you can't be cutting the antenna and adding length to the antenna every time you seek around different spectrum).

Hope this helps you.
jskhor77
post Aug 24 2018, 09:34 AM

Hi everyone, my name is Matthew Khor, I am a newbie in HAM radio, currently going to take RAE this August which I dont think I can pass lol. Anyway I'm currently staying in Butterworth, Penang so anyone know any club which I could joint to buff up my knowledge
on how to pass the RAE near my area?

Any advice will be much appreciated.
Thank you.
aminpro
post Aug 25 2018, 05:20 AM

191 posts

QUOTE(jskhor77 @ Aug 24 2018, 09:34 AM)
Hi everyone, my name is Matthew Khor, I am a newbie in HAM radio, currently going to take RAE this August which I dont think I can pass lol. Anyway I'm currently staying in Butterworth, Penang so anyone know any club which I could joint to buff up my knowledge   

Thank you.
Just go tru one set of past paper once. Confirm pass.
ktek
post Aug 25 2018, 06:47 AM

小喇叭
13,187 posts

QUOTE(jskhor77 @ Aug 24 2018, 09:34 AM)

Thank you.
im same area as u but i ady passed, im not pro ham at all. u need electronic knowledge that helps a lot.
jskhor77
post Aug 26 2018, 10:51 AM

QUOTE(aminpro @ Aug 25 2018, 05:20 AM)
Just go tru one set of past paper once. Confirm pass.
Thanks for the advice. Have read the exam sample paper and man, it's like SPM again lol.
jskhor77
post Aug 26 2018, 10:54 AM

QUOTE(ktek @ Aug 25 2018, 06:47 AM)
im same area as u but i ady passed, im not pro ham at all. u need electronic knowledge that helps a lot.
Thanks for the advice. I am jack of all thread but master of none, especially electronics XD. Wish me all the best.

jskhor77
post Aug 26 2018, 12:01 PM

By the way guys, where can i find the list of radio equipment which is legal to be used in Malaysia? Such as Brand, Model etc. as I cant find any list on the website. I am currently owning BAOFENG UV-5R & Btech Mini UV-25x2 which I think its not legal here and its super cheap. Was thinking of getting a YAESU FT-7900 but not sure its legal or not.

This post has been edited by jskhor77: Aug 26 2018, 03:35 PM

52 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 >Top

0.0198sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:38 AM