Hobbies Amateur Radio User V2 !, HAM Radio

wiraone
post Aug 27 2018, 05:26 PM

Who cares about all the stars?
3,892 posts

QUOTE(jskhor77 @ Aug 26 2018, 12:01 PM)
By the way guys, where can i find the list of radio equipment which is legal to be used in Malaysia? Such as Brand, Model etc. as I cant find any list on the website. I am currently owning BAOFENG UV-5R & Btech Mini UV-25x2 which I think its not legal here and its super cheap. Was thinking of getting a YAESU FT-7900 but not sure its legal or not.
The one available at MCMC website is obsolete already, hasn't been updated since 2004. We tried to help them coming up with updated list, but I have no idea which bin it went to. Anyway, buy from Yaesu, Kenwood, iCom and you'll be okay.
jskhor77
post Aug 28 2018, 07:54 AM

QUOTE(wiraone @ Aug 27 2018, 05:26 PM)
The one available at MCMC website is obsolete already, hasn't been updated since 2004. We tried to help them coming up with updated list, but I have no idea which bin it went to. Anyway, buy from Yaesu, Kenwood, iCom and you'll be okay.
Ok thanks. Will do.
jskhor77
post Aug 28 2018, 10:22 AM

Anyway, going for RAE this afternoon. Wish me luck>.<
jskhor77
post Aug 28 2018, 04:01 PM

QUOTE(jskhor77 @ Aug 28 2018, 10:22 AM)
Anyway, going for RAE this afternoon. Wish me luck>.<
YAHOOOO! Pass in 1 try. Now the difficult part.....where the heck to look for class A person to sign. Hmmm........Any advice?

This post has been edited by jskhor77: Aug 28 2018, 05:02 PM
MarHazK
post Aug 28 2018, 04:44 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(jskhor77 @ Aug 28 2018, 04:01 PM)
YAHOOOO!    Pass in 1 try. Now the difficult part.....where the neck to look for class A person to sign. Hmmm........Any advice?
lol great job bro hahaha
wiraone
post Aug 29 2018, 05:49 PM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(jskhor77 @ Aug 28 2018, 04:01 PM)
YAHOOOO!    Pass in 1 try. Now the difficult part.....where the heck to look for class A person to sign. Hmmm........Any advice?
Congratulations, where is your location?
piju
post Sep 19 2018, 06:04 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Aug 29 2018, 05:49 PM)
Congratulations, where is your location?
Hello sifu, can we change this thread topic from amateur radio user to amateur radio operator ?
thanks.
wiraone
post Sep 19 2018, 10:14 PM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(piju @ Sep 19 2018, 06:04 PM)
Hello sifu, can we change this thread topic from amateur radio user to amateur radio operator ?
thanks.
Sapa sifu? Ask the TS lah. Or create a new thread.
eddie_lim
post Sep 27 2018, 09:44 AM

You Never Walk Alone
4,024 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Sep 19 2018, 10:14 PM)
Sapa sifu? Ask the TS lah. Or create a new thread.
Who's the TS ?
wiraone
post Sep 27 2018, 10:24 AM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(eddie_lim @ Sep 27 2018, 09:44 AM)
Who's the TS ?
Go to the first page lah, the first person who created this thread, its the thread starter lor smile.gif

Anyway, I believe the TS already long gone and not interested in amateur radio. eddie_lim, go ahead create a new one smile.gif
cheahch
post Sep 28 2018, 01:24 PM

21 posts

Hi, just got to know about amateur radio and interested to join and to get a license. How to go about it, very new here. Another one can help will be appreciate, Thank, Cheah
whiztech
post Oct 1 2018, 10:12 AM

31 posts

Recently, I bought a RTL SDR dongle and I mainly interested in reading beacon and telemetry signals from amateur satellites and cubesats.

My question is, do I need to have an amateur radio license to receive those signals legally in Malaysia? The dongle don't have transmit capability.

aminpro
post Oct 1 2018, 02:50 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(whiztech @ Oct 1 2018, 10:12 AM)
Recently, I bought a RTL SDR dongle and I mainly interested in reading beacon and telemetry signals from amateur satellites and cubesats.

My question is, do I need to have an amateur radio license to receive those signals legally in Malaysia? The dongle don't have transmit capability.

In Malaysia, the law is a bit weird on this.
If follow 100% by the book, you can't even receive frequency you are not licensed for. However, there is such thing as SWL where people who don't have a HAM license yet to listen in and nobody got nabbed for that so far.
This is also why 'radio monitors/scanners' are deemed illegal in Malaysia.

This is why some people got nabbed for receiving Thai TV or Indo TV satellites because the only the frequency you can receive legally is the MEASAT ones with a Sirim legal decoder.

Of course, we all know that this is just one of those laws to enable monopoly to certain companies.

tl;dr don't cause any trouble that warrants people to go after you.
wiraone
post Oct 1 2018, 04:16 PM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(cheahch @ Sep 28 2018, 01:24 PM)
Hi, just got to know about amateur radio and interested to join and to get a license. How to go about it, very new here. Another one can help will be appreciate, Thank, Cheah
Few steps before you could get your license:

1. Sit for the radio amateur exam (RAE). Currently, two different RAEs organised by SKMM, the manual exam which is held biannually at few places around Malaysia and the other option is to go for computerised RAE (ORAE) which is organised monthly at selected centres around Malaysia. Information on taking the RAE can be found in https://sems.skmm.gov.my/sems/ which includes the registration for RAE, schedule etc. The cost for taking the exam is RM50/seating.

2. After you pass the RAE and receive your test result, you need to apply for your callsign and AA (apparatus assignment). The cost for processing the AA is RM60 and the cost for your license will be RM24/year (max 5 year per application).

3. You'll be able to transmit after getting your callsign/AA. On what frequencies and power etc, it is written in your AA.

To prepare yourself for the RAE, just search on the net, "Sample RAE" and you'll find many available on the net.

Important documents to read:

https://www.mcmc.gov.my/skmmgovmy/files/att...ervice_2012.pdf

wiraone
post Oct 1 2018, 04:22 PM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(whiztech @ Oct 1 2018, 10:12 AM)

QUOTE(aminpro @ Oct 1 2018, 02:50 PM)
If follow 100% by the book, you can't even receive frequency you are not licensed for. However, there is such thing as SWL where people who don't have a HAM license yet to listen in and nobody got nabbed for that so far.
If you go to customs's website, the following is a no-no! smile.gif

PROHIBITION/RESTRICTION OF IMPORTS

The following goods are absolutely prohibited from importation:
Broadcast receivers capable of receiving radio communication within the ranges (68 - 87) MHz and (108 - 174) MHz

This post has been edited by wiraone: Oct 1 2018, 04:24 PM
whiztech
post Oct 1 2018, 08:31 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(aminpro @ Oct 1 2018, 02:50 PM)
In Malaysia, the law is a bit weird on this.

This is why some people got nabbed for receiving Thai TV or Indo TV satellites because the only the frequency you can receive legally is the MEASAT ones with a Sirim legal decoder.

Of course, we all know that this is just one of those laws to enable monopoly to certain companies.

tl;dr don't cause any trouble that warrants people to go after you.
thank you thumbsup.gif

QUOTE(wiraone @ Oct 1 2018, 04:22 PM)
If you go to customs's website, the following is a no-no! smile.gif

PROHIBITION/RESTRICTION OF IMPORTS

The following goods are absolutely prohibited from importation:
Broadcast receivers capable of receiving radio communication within the ranges (68 - 87) MHz and (108 - 174) MHz
which is basically those cheap usb tv tuners based on RTL2832U + R820T2 chips sweat.gif
wiraone
post Oct 1 2018, 09:02 PM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(whiztech @ Oct 1 2018, 08:31 PM)
thank you  :thumbsup:
which is basically those cheap usb tv tuners based on RTL2832U + R820T2 chips sweat.gif
Senyap2 order, senyap2 guna smile.gif BTW, I will recommend the ones with TCXO so it will not drift when it becomes warm.
cheahch
post Oct 2 2018, 06:56 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Oct 1 2018, 04:16 PM)
Few steps before you could get your license:

1. Sit for the radio amateur exam (RAE). Currently, two different RAEs organised by SKMM, the manual exam which is held biannually at few places around Malaysia and the other option is to go for computerised RAE (ORAE) which is organised monthly at selected centres around Malaysia. Information on taking the RAE can be found in https://sems.skmm.gov.my/sems/ which includes the registration for RAE, schedule etc. The cost for taking the exam is RM50/seating.

2. After you pass the RAE and receive your test result, you need to apply for your callsign and AA (apparatus assignment). The cost for processing the AA is RM60 and the cost for your license will be RM24/year (max 5 year per application).

3. You'll be able to transmit after getting your callsign/AA. On what frequencies and power etc, it is written in your AA.

To prepare yourself for the RAE, just search on the net, "Sample RAE" and you'll find many available on the net.

Important documents to read:

https://www.mcmc.gov.my/skmmgovmy/files/att...ervice_2012.pdf
aminpro
post Oct 11 2018, 04:35 AM

191 posts

Anybody got news on UHF DMR repeaters in KL area?
Last I heard that it was being tested/setup.
wiraone
post Oct 23 2018, 06:58 AM

3,892 posts

For those who are interested in sitting for the RAE, there will be a class by MARTS. Details as per the FB link below.

https://www.facebook.com/events/319594425497327/?ti=as

52 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 >Top

0.0335sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:17 PM