Hobbies Amateur Radio User V2 !, HAM Radio

eddie_lim
post Aug 6 2014, 01:35 PM

You Never Walk Alone
4,024 posts

Is anyone here kind enough to introduce some 9M-er guy as I just get my RAE passed this June.

Not intend to join any group like MARTS, MARES.

thank you very much
eddie_lim
post Aug 7 2014, 01:33 AM

You Never Walk Alone
4,024 posts

I am at subang area
eddie_lim
post Aug 7 2014, 10:47 AM

You Never Walk Alone
4,024 posts

OIC, could I know which site should I go? is there any active HAM operator like forum in other place except lowyat.net?
eddie_lim
post Aug 7 2014, 05:03 PM

You Never Walk Alone
4,024 posts

Sigh... I need to be quick if not later the desired call sign taken by someone else ...
eddie_lim
post Aug 8 2014, 10:23 AM

You Never Walk Alone
4,024 posts

Nowadays the commissioner of oath open only at 11am, really omfg !
eddie_lim
post Aug 8 2014, 12:56 PM

You Never Walk Alone
4,024 posts

Just want to optimized my 1/2 day leave so that I could finish everything before lunch, already done and pass those forms to SKMM Cyberjaya but being told that I need to wait for 3 working days, finger crossed that the preferred call-sign still can be obtained.

This post has been edited by eddie_lim: Aug 8 2014, 12:57 PM
eddie_lim
post Aug 12 2014, 09:31 AM

You Never Walk Alone
4,024 posts

Wiraone,

9Ms are currently playing with 1.2Ghz APRS? If a new 9Ws want to explore about the HF (28Mhz - 29.7Mhz), is the Yaesu FT-857D a good one? any commercial HF antenna that I could buy? prefer to use hf magnetic loop antenna
eddie_lim
post Aug 12 2014, 09:59 AM

You Never Walk Alone
4,024 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Aug 12 2014, 09:46 AM)
Nope, APRS is on VHF & UHF for now. I believe only Sion has tried using 1.2GHz for EME communication using moon bounce. On the radio, yes, FT-857D is the most affordable all-in-one radio and suitable for starter. There are lot of commercial antenna out there but if footprint is not a problem with you, I would suggest to go for a YAGI, a single bander 10m YAGI can be DIY-ed or even the 10m delta loop will be okay. HF magnetic loop, only source will be direct importing from US and they're not cheap. BTW, if you're using a multi-band dipole or long wire, do remember to get yourself a tuner.

This weekend, there will be an ILLW event, the nearest to KL will be at Bukit Melawati, Kuala Selangor run by MARES team.
Hi Wiraone,

I "s**ks" at DIY, and I've been youtubing all the antennas, for 10m, "the state" people are using monopole antenna but I plan to put it on my rooftop, afraid kena lightning. I am also not very familiar with the 1/4 length wave, 1/2 length wave thingy etc, that's why I am asking for opinion.

Maybe I will try to attend the event first before I go venture into the 10m.

What would be the exact time/date and venue for the ILLW event?

Btw, a stupid question, Is Malaysia affected by ionosphere radio propagation ? how far 10m can reach? Indonesia? Thailand?

This post has been edited by eddie_lim: Aug 12 2014, 10:02 AM
eddie_lim
post Aug 12 2014, 11:34 AM

You Never Walk Alone
4,024 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Aug 12 2014, 10:19 AM)
Oh, there will be few field day stations active during the Merdeka day too. I'll put a notice if I see one.

The first one that has been announced:
[attachmentid=4090589]
Orite Wiraone.
eddie_lim
post Aug 14 2014, 11:02 AM

You Never Walk Alone
4,024 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Aug 13 2014, 09:07 PM)
MARL - Malaysian Amateur Radio League
--
Rakan-rakan HAM dijemput hadir ke Majlis Perasmian ILLW 2014 sempena Hari Rumah Api Sedunia di Rumah Api Bukit Melawati, Kuala Selangor, anjuran Jabatan Laut Malaysia & MARL, pada Hari Jumaat, 15/8/2014, jam 2.30 petang. Pameran Radio Amatur dan ILLW 2014 akan dilaksanakan daripada 15 - 17/8/2014. Station Master 9M2SQL. Sebarang pertanyaan mengenai program, sila berhubung dengan 9M2YRS Pak Yop (0193317388), 9M2SQL Saudara Mutalib (0176391632). Kehadiran dihargai.
Interesting smile.gif any Ham vendor or HAM flea market there?
eddie_lim
post Aug 14 2014, 03:26 PM

You Never Walk Alone
4,024 posts

Ok, thank you wiraone, 9W2LWK , signing out, 73
eddie_lim
post Aug 19 2014, 09:32 AM

You Never Walk Alone
4,024 posts

I have found out that my APRS device does not work well on digipeaters
currently testing APRSDroid with my baofeng 5W via VOX.
VOX=3 , squelch=3
Any suggestion? getting external antenna will help?

eddie_lim
post Aug 19 2014, 05:17 PM

You Never Walk Alone
4,024 posts

I will try VOX until max today when I on my way home smile.gif
Shy to talk on repeater sebab malay tak bagus, so have to play digital signal on 144.390Mhz
eddie_lim
post Aug 26 2014, 05:59 PM

You Never Walk Alone
4,024 posts

wiraone

I am currently playing with this one, hunting SMA-BNC converters

This post has been edited by eddie_lim: Aug 27 2014, 04:09 PM
eddie_lim
post Aug 26 2014, 06:08 PM

You Never Walk Alone
4,024 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Aug 26 2014, 06:03 PM)
Wow, that is nice. Do you use the DVB dongle + upconverter? I'm eyeing for the HackRF + upconverter, no idea when will the HackRF will be available publicly. You can find the SMA-BNC converter at Jalan Pasar.
Yes I am currently playing with it. For HackRF, u can start pre-order via nooelec.com, but i do not know how's the driver will work with HDSDR/SDRSHARP/GNU Radio . I previously ordered the DVB dongle there, but only get this up-converter recently.
Yes, I just went back from jalan pasar to customize some of the cable, even though more expensive.

Now I do not have a good 10m bnc antenna ....

This post has been edited by eddie_lim: Aug 26 2014, 06:12 PM
eddie_lim
post Aug 26 2014, 06:23 PM

You Never Walk Alone
4,024 posts

FB 10m i am in already...
eddie_lim
post Aug 26 2014, 10:38 PM

You Never Walk Alone
4,024 posts

My new toy

I think I really need a nice 10m antenna ... doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by eddie_lim: Aug 26 2014, 10:39 PM
eddie_lim
post Aug 27 2014, 04:05 PM

You Never Walk Alone
4,024 posts

wiraone is Diamond CR8900 a good antenna?

This post has been edited by eddie_lim: Aug 27 2014, 04:08 PM
eddie_lim
post Aug 28 2014, 01:05 AM

You Never Walk Alone
4,024 posts

I need some antenna to plug in to my ham-it-up currently...
eddie_lim
post Aug 28 2014, 11:00 AM

You Never Walk Alone
4,024 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Aug 28 2014, 07:26 AM)
Just diy a dipole or even take a long wire, string it outside your house.
wiraone As I am not that good on DIY, that's why i am trying to buy a prebuild one tongue.gif
Any 10 meter antenna that can connect to BNC connector , which do not need ATU?

I found one Maltronix HFV6010A, but it needs ATU/antenna tuner

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0228sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:56 AM