Micro Four Thirds (m43) User Thread V3, Panasonic G/GH/GFx & Olympus E-P/E-PLx

ben3003
post Feb 2 2011, 01:05 PM

10,859 posts

I saw about gf2 having problem in high ISO application. Does high ISO means low light condition? I scare the noise is unbearable >< review said that epl2 is better at high ISO.. so hard to choose...
jacklsw86
post Feb 2 2011, 01:19 PM

LYN spirit
1,662 posts

i believe now oly has improved by leaps and bounds, compared to pana who diverted from the vision of m43 enthusiasts to the hype of 3D.

P1000786_1 by jacklsw86, on Flickr

cars and photography == man's best interests hahaha (taken with my gf1)

This post has been edited by jacklsw86: Feb 2 2011, 02:28 PM
gisella
post Feb 2 2011, 02:39 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Feb 2 2011, 01:05 PM)
I saw about gf2 having problem in high ISO application. Does high ISO means low light condition? I scare the noise is unbearable >< review said that epl2 is better at high ISO.. so hard to choose...
how often u gonna shoot at high ISO?

if the high ISO noise will disturb you, u can consider the lens with big aperture.
faidz85
post Feb 2 2011, 04:53 PM

-=[ Stars ]=-
1,604 posts

The more technical reviews always made people worry unnecessarily.

ben3003
post Feb 2 2011, 10:48 PM

10,859 posts

oh.. so basically a low light lens like 20mm panny pancake should be good enuf for nice low light photography right?? Dunno how often i gonna use it for low light condition, but i am kinda annoyed with high noise when low light, especially most of the compact cam.. So actually if can be better than normal cam, not much noise then ok edi..
Wuahaha
post Feb 2 2011, 11:11 PM

哇哈哈 :D
1,528 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Feb 2 2011, 10:48 PM)
oh.. so basically a low light lens like 20mm panny pancake should be good enuf for nice low light photography right?? Dunno how often i gonna use it for low light condition, but i am kinda annoyed with high noise when low light, especially most of the compact cam.. So actually if can be better than normal cam, not much noise then ok edi..
Even with a bright lens such F1.4, I still can see a lot of noise in the pictures in low light. Some are acceptable but others have to PP it out using Lightroom or Photoshop icon_idea.gif
M43 system definitely has lots of noises compared to DSLRs ... depending how much you can accept it lor. wink.gif
If you are always shooting in low light, maybe m43 is not suitable for you. Just my 2 cents. rolleyes.gif

ben3003
post Feb 2 2011, 11:33 PM

10,859 posts

Oh... like tat maybe I have to look into dslr.. but the size factor I'd somehow a concern for me too... any low light sample u guys can share?

Off topic abit, how about next series? I saw tat they have larger sensor.
Do they perform as well as their dslr counterpart ?

This post has been edited by ben3003: Feb 2 2011, 11:36 PM
Bliz
post Feb 2 2011, 11:48 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Feb 2 2011, 11:33 PM)
Oh... like tat maybe I have to look into dslr.. but the size factor I'd somehow a concern for me too... any low light sample u guys can share?

Off topic abit,  how about next series? I saw tat they have larger sensor.
Base on my experience, the m4/3 is about 1 stop lower performance than SLR ( D90 iso 1600 is almost the same as GF1 iso800 )...but iso1600 is quite usable provided that u expose correctly, can do some noise reduction if u like.. now that i am already using full frame SLR i find it hard to accept the noise performance of GF1 doh.gif
hellfire8888
post Feb 3 2011, 12:27 AM

3,196 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Feb 3 2011, 12:33 AM)

at f1.4 inside building take pic without flash also ok la.. with fast aperture u dont even need iso1600

u sure ask if i dont have f1.4 how? here is an example using iso3200 at f3.5.. go ask your friend who use slr with bigger sensor and see this photo is acceptable or not at iso3200

and this foto is not taken under studio lighting at day time..it is taken at a restaurant at night with crappy lighting..the restaurant at kota damansara smile.gif now chapter eleven and take over by a hakka rest...

wanna view unedited ori file goto my flickr..

so in other word photography is not about noise noise and noise..
ben3003
post Feb 3 2011, 12:45 AM

10,859 posts

I see it wasn't that bad, it looked ok for such ISO for me.. how about the show girl photo? Taken with m43?
gisella
post Feb 3 2011, 12:55 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Feb 2 2011, 11:33 PM)

sony NEX and samsung NX have larger sensor size than m43.

the body size is still maintain at m43 size.
sniper on the roof
post Feb 3 2011, 01:37 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(gisella @ Feb 3 2011, 12:55 AM)
sony NEX and samsung NX have larger sensor size than m43.

the body size is still maintain at m43 size.
Problem with big sensor is that you'll need bigger lens too.
hellfire8888
post Feb 3 2011, 08:46 AM

3,196 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Feb 3 2011, 01:45 AM)
I see it wasn't that bad, it looked ok for such ISO for me.. how about the show girl photo? Taken with m43?
yup taken with m43 olympus ep-2

Happy CNY

this one also m43 ep2 taken from 1st floor mid valley to ground floor..quite far....at f2.8 iso800(first pic) and iso500(second pic) is all you need...

This post has been edited by hellfire8888: Feb 3 2011, 08:50 AM
kari_convention
post Feb 3 2011, 09:35 AM

586 posts

i'm sure KLCC will be full of Banglas and Indons today so guys, please stay out of it!!! More pictures in my blog. smile.gif
Happy cny!!!

SUSgogo2
post Feb 3 2011, 11:33 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

actually I own both Canon and m43 system. Noise is not a problem in m43 even if I pixel peep.

Important is take photo. Don't let anyone tell you otherwise.
ben3003
post Feb 4 2011, 12:26 AM

10,859 posts

Kk.. I should be getting compact interchangeable afterall, not fancy big black thing haha.. just need to decide between them... how about gf2? Still worth to get?
jasonkidd_87
post Feb 5 2011, 01:00 AM

68 posts

Went to Sepetang for seafood on chor1 =)
Happy CNY!

contreasjun27
post Feb 5 2011, 11:34 AM

542 posts

QUOTE(jasonkidd_87 @ Feb 5 2011, 01:00 AM)
Went to Sepetang for seafood on chor1 =)
Happy CNY!

wow what a great picture is this man! did you edit it?
idoblu
post Feb 5 2011, 01:46 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

interesting piece of news today rclxms.gif

German lens maker Schneider-Kreuznach has announced it is joining the Micro Four Thirds system standard established by Olympus and Panasonic. The company has not announced what it plans to contribute to the system - whether it will adapt its existing cine primes or develop entirely new designs for the system. The move follows Japanese maker Cosina joining in August 2010 which has resulted in the launch of the Voigtländer Nokton 25mm F0.95.

SCHNEIDER KREUZNACH now a member of the “Micro Four Thirds System Standard Group”

Bad Kreuznach, 04.02.2011, Schneider-Kreuznach has joined the “Micro Four Thirds System Standard Group” – a consortium of companies with the objective of improving the possibilities and quality of compact digital cameras. Developed by Olympus and Panasonic, “Micro Four Thirds” is a standard for lens mounts that is tailored to digital system cameras. “This standard has great potential. It simplifies and improves the options for compact digital cameras and offers an excellent opportunity for the industry as a whole, as well as for us as a lens manufacturer. We are working intensively on a corresponding series of lenses,” says Dr. Josef Staub, CEO of the Schneider Group.

The standard defines the sensor size, the lens mount together with the communication protocol, the aspect ratio and the flange back distance, as well as the optical requirements for production and construction. The industry standard has been developed deliberately without taking into account conventional lenses, cameras or sensor sizes. In this way, compatibility problems with older components are avoided as is the need to compromise when designing new components.

The forum standard policy means that any member company can make and distribute accessories for the system that meet the standard. It is therefore possible to combine components from different manufacturers.

faidz85
post Feb 5 2011, 02:45 PM

-=[ Stars ]=-
1,604 posts

Looks like the m43 standard is going to be around longer than expected.

Let's just hope that the lenses to be released by these 3rd parties will be affordable.

139 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0266sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:18 AM