126 Pages « < 84 85 86 87 88 > » Bottom

Nokia N900 V8 (More than 160 owners), All Maemo-ians check in!

DET_D5t
post Nov 16 2010, 05:42 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Nov 16 2010, 05:08 PM)
Yeah,that's one of my problem..Too honest.Maybe next bulk will have RM5 service charge hmm.gif

Proxy FTW!
Use proxy if sites were blocked.
sweat.gif Then, whenever u made a bulk order, i'll straightaway deduct RM5 from ur price..(Returning buyer discount..lol)

Yes..i do use proxy.. freegate one..

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Nov 16 2010, 05:22 PM)
Most of the highest end devices support 32GB eMMC + 32GB microSD only.
Need to use the space conservatively.
huhu People will never feel enough..
Then..1TB oso not enough..lol

I juz remembered when 1st tym i got, n91 with 4gb internal storage...
I feel like... shocking.gif WOW!! i can store so many thing is this phne..

But now..(sigh)
Zhao
post Nov 16 2010, 06:12 PM

1,267 posts

QUOTE(tabletennis @ Nov 16 2010, 05:40 PM)
the result from that :
user is not in the sudoers file.this incident will be reported.
gain root by typing " sudo gainroot "

Then type "rm -vf /var/lib/apt/lists/*"

then u wont get the funny report =)
ShrugsLova
post Nov 16 2010, 06:17 PM

zach of all trade
568 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Nov 16 2010, 09:47 AM)
My method won't remove python.It'll merely downgrade the python version to the previous version.
I've tested it & none of my applications removed.

All my python related apps working fine.
but it removed my apmefo, maegirl and swappolux (forget spelling) cry.gif
then when i install back..it don't run
before this, it still run but just cannot add apps into folder..
now what can i do? install back latest python? (kinda noob in python stuff)
by the way, which kernel i install? penguin one or without penguin one? icon_question.gif

QUOTE(meLi @ Nov 16 2010, 01:35 PM)
heheheh but last time when u this people ask me why use TV remote control  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

i have some moment with N-gage, friends ask me don't bring gameboy when we're out.

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 16 2010, 02:25 PM)
u go sell shruvloga RX8 then got money. Hahaha  Serious photography very costly 1. Somemore the weight and gear u need to carry
buy me one, RX8 please

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 16 2010, 02:29 PM)
Grandmaster got new name = SEA haha
QUOTE(zdentws @ Nov 16 2010, 02:32 PM)
i remember is shrugslova who started it... ;p
did i? TS like ur new nick?

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Nov 16 2010, 04:17 PM)
BTW you did get the balance RM7 + the invoice right?
Also this microSD comes with lifetime warranty.If you want to claim warranty just send the card for Kingmax Authorized SC.No need receipt.
you do bulking for microSD oso? why dont tell me SEA.

QUOTE(one1002 @ Nov 16 2010, 05:00 PM)
yep..and repartitioning the whole emmc for meego/nitdroid/ubuntu is better than installing those to microSD..

i might repartition the whole emmc after getting my phone back..for me, 32 GB...divided by 5GB per partition, i should get around 6Partitions.. wub.gif  wub.gif  wub.gif

mmcblk0p1 - 7GB - Home/apps/photos
mmcblk0p2 - 5GB - Nitdroid
mmcblk0p3 - 5GB - Neopwn
mmcblk0p4 - 5GB - Meego
mmcblk0p5 - 5GB - Ubuntu 10.10
mmcblk0p6 - 5GB - extra partition......

and i'll use the 16GB class 10 (if i have one..lol) for musics/movies/pictures/apps bla bla bla...
this is cool..was thinking to do partition for Nitdroid and Meego..but never know there are more OS
by the way..how to do partition for N900?

@Eiraku: don't watch pr0n but h-e-n-*** ROFL

+1 SEA
tabletennis
post Nov 16 2010, 06:27 PM

641 posts

QUOTE(Zhao @ Nov 16 2010, 06:12 PM)
gain root by typing " sudo gainroot "

Then type "rm -vf /var/lib/apt/lists/*"

then u wont get the funny report =)
after doing that,the problem still remain unsolved...
here's the log i get

--- 2010-11-17 18:36:23 ---
/usr/bin/apt-get -q update -o Dir::Etc::sourcelist=/opt/fapman-cache/sources.list -o Dir::State::lists=/opt/fapman-cache/lists -o Dir::Etc::sourceparts=""
E: Archive directory /var/cache/apt/archives/partial is missing.

firstknight
post Nov 16 2010, 06:28 PM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Nov 16 2010, 01:00 AM)
I'm still testing it.Even though it worked with my drives I need to test with other devices to make sure it's works fine.
Will share it once all the testing is done.

Anyway this mounting icon is just a temporary method.The h-e-n devs already mentioned that once the program matures there won't be any need to mount anymore.
nvm..i just bought one adapter so now wanna try... hehe... i go download the h-e-n from whre?
ccgenius
post Nov 16 2010, 06:31 PM

1,349 posts

QUOTE(firstknight @ Nov 16 2010, 06:28 PM)
nvm..i just bought one adapter so now wanna try... hehe... i go download the h-e-n from whre?
hmmm the repository got.. can be found in FAP o.o
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Nov 16 2010, 06:40 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(gyianz @ Nov 16 2010, 05:41 PM)
Which means SEA sifu gonna change all the permissions?
Sort off.

QUOTE(ShrugsLova @ Nov 16 2010, 06:17 PM)
but it removed my apmefo, maegirl and swappolux (forget spelling)  cry.gif
then when i install back..it don't run
before this, it still run but just cannot add apps into folder..
now what can i do? install back latest python? (kinda noob in python stuff)

you do bulking for microSD oso? why dont tell me SEA.
Download Python 4.7.5 from App Manager & try running the program again.

If you want to use OTG just follow my OTG guide posted before this.

I informed everyone about microSD bulk.Even changed the topic title.
You cannot expect me to PM 160 users & ask them whether they want to buy stuff.

QUOTE(tabletennis @ Nov 16 2010, 06:27 PM)
after doing that,the problem still remain unsolved...
here's the log i get

--- 2010-11-17 18:36:23 ---
/usr/bin/apt-get -q update -o Dir::Etc::sourcelist=/opt/fapman-cache/sources.list -o Dir::State::lists=/opt/fapman-cache/lists -o Dir::Etc::sourceparts=""
E: Archive directory /var/cache/apt/archives/partial is missing.

I'll get back to this later.
Eyes closing up now....

QUOTE(firstknight @ Nov 16 2010, 06:28 PM)
Sometimes I wonder why I even bother to write all these long guide if people keep on asking me again & again about same stuff.

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Nov 16 2010, 06:41 PM
one1002
post Nov 16 2010, 06:43 PM

617 posts

QUOTE(ShrugsLova @ Nov 16 2010, 06:17 PM)
this is cool..was thinking to do partition for Nitdroid and Meego..but never know there are more OS
by the way..how to do partition for N900?

@Eiraku: don't watch pr0n but h-e-n-*** ROFL

+1 SEA
there many OSes that can be used in N900..

to partition the flash, follow the guide here

http://wiki.maemo.org/Repartitioning_the_flash

i found that using Linux machine + GParted is the easiest because of the GUI..

Solution #6: Custom repartitioning from a linux PC

Taken from Using Rescue Initrd - MeeGo Wiki.

This way is only intended for users who have partitioned their systems before. Your files will not be affected unless you explicitly ask your partitioner to do so although there's nothing wrong with taking extra care and backing up your files

Install flasher-3.5 on your box.

Get the rescue kernel and initrd rpm and extract them in a directory:

CODE
mkdir n900-rescue-initrd
cd n900-rescue-initrd
wget http://repo.meego.com/MeeGo/releases/1.0/core/repos/armv7l/packages/armv7l/nokia-n900-rescue-initrd-0.1-1.3.armv7l.rpm
wget http://repo.meego.com/MeeGo/releases/1.0/core/repos/armv7l/packages/armv7l/kernel-n900-2.6.33.3-11.2.armv7l.rpm
rpm2cpio nokia-n900-rescue-initrd-0.1-1.3.armv7l.rpm | cpio -vid
rpm2cpio kernel-n900-2.6.33.3-11.2.armv7l.rpm  | cpio -vid

Now you're ready to boot the device:

Turn off your N900 by removing the battery.

Start flasher:

CODE
sudo flasher-3.5 -k boot/vmlinuz-2.6.33.3-11.2-n900 -n boot/initrd.img-rescue-2.6.33.3-11.2-n900 -l -b"rootdelay=1 root=/dev/ram0" --set-rd-flags=no-omap-wd --set-rd-flags=no-ext-wd --enable-rd-mode

Connect N900 to your PC.

Press U on the keyboard and keep holding it.

Put the battery back in.

Wait for the device to boot and press U to enable USB storage mode. The device is now added to the list of your storage devices as an increment of /dev/sd.

Partition it using your favorite partitioner (GParted recommended)

Don't forget to repeat the "Start flasher" procedure with sudo flasher-3.5 --disable-rd-mode to disable R&D mode.

This post has been edited by one1002: Nov 16 2010, 06:46 PM
gyianz
post Nov 16 2010, 06:46 PM

489 posts

@SEA sifu
That means can you use the chown command or the command that changes permission to 755?
Correct me if im wrong
firstknight
post Nov 16 2010, 06:49 PM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Nov 16 2010, 06:40 PM)

Sometimes I wonder why I even bother to write all these long guide if people keep on asking me again & again about same stuff.

aiyo.. soli la... the forum run so fast i cant catch up...
ShrugsLova
post Nov 16 2010, 06:53 PM

zach of all trade
568 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Nov 16 2010, 06:40 PM)
Sort off.
Download Python 4.7.5 from App Manager & try running the program again.

If you want to use OTG just follow my OTG guide posted before this.

I informed everyone about microSD bulk.Even changed the topic title.
You cannot expect me to PM 160 users & ask them whether they want to buy stuff.

missed that microSD bulk..darn it! how much u buy for it?
whoa! SEA on fire mad.gif
run run run
ok..try to download python later.

QUOTE(one1002 @ Nov 16 2010, 06:43 PM)
there many OSes that can be used in N900..

to partition the flash, follow the guide here

http://wiki.maemo.org/Repartitioning_the_flash

i found that using Linux machine + GParted is the easiest because of the GUI..
TY!
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Nov 16 2010, 06:55 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(gyianz @ Nov 16 2010, 06:46 PM)
@SEA sifu
That means can you use the chown command or the command that changes permission to 755?
Correct me if im wrong
I don't get what you're trying to say.
chown & chmod commands requires you to gain root access.
Meaning everytime you need to execute a chmod command you need to type like this:
CODE
root
chmod xxxxx

What I'm trying to do is getting rid of the need to type "root".

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Nov 16 2010, 06:58 PM
hengguowei
post Nov 16 2010, 07:11 PM

Embracing Android since the demise of Symbian
4,475 posts

Urm, Sifu SuperEvilAlien, know how to solve the Sygic Map installer problem already? smile.gif

Added on November 16, 2010, 7:17 pmLet me know when you know k? Thanks. Best PM cause I'm quite inactive now. Next week exam doh.gif

This post has been edited by hengguowei: Nov 16 2010, 07:17 PM
ccgenius
post Nov 16 2010, 07:56 PM

1,349 posts

http://www.engadget.com/2010/11/16/exclusi...re-tegra-2-and/

quite a perfect specs :/

gyianz
post Nov 16 2010, 08:05 PM

489 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Nov 16 2010, 07:55 PM)
I don't get what you're trying to say.
chown & chmod commands requires you to gain root access.
Meaning everytime you need to execute a chmod command you need to type like this:
CODE
root
chmod xxxxx

What I'm trying to do is getting rid of the need to type "root".
Oh ok.. i get what you mean now sifu.. that means you dont need to type root everytime you use these command?
is like you have auto login everytime you use xterm or etc?
aspire2oo6
post Nov 16 2010, 08:10 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

What problem you are having with the sygic installer?

The godlike thread having argument
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Nov 16 2010, 08:25 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(ccgenius @ Nov 16 2010, 07:56 PM)
Having a good spec is 1 thing but integrating the OS nicely in the device is another thing.

QUOTE(gyianz @ Nov 16 2010, 08:05 PM)
Oh ok.. i get what you mean now sifu.. that means you dont need to type root everytime you use these command?
is like you have auto login everytime you use xterm or etc?
Yup.That's the theory.

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 16 2010, 08:10 PM)
What problem you are having with the sygic installer?

The godlike thread having argument
What argument?
aspire2oo6
post Nov 16 2010, 08:28 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

The same argument lor who is more godlike than the godlike haha
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Nov 16 2010, 08:35 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 16 2010, 08:28 PM)
The same argument lor who is more godlike than the godlike haha
Experimental Device(N900) vs Consumer Ready Device(N8)
Still N900 kicking N8's @$$ all over...
aspire2oo6
post Nov 16 2010, 08:41 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

Like u know la godlike what they touch becomes godlike. What they dont like also they godlike what they love also they godlike. So they are godlike no matter what you say. So i recommend save your breath la grandmaster SEA.

126 Pages « < 84 85 86 87 88 > » Top

0.0278sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 04:03 PM