LYN Breastfeeding Support Group, may u b bless wif abundance of supply~!!
nugget
Nov 27 2011, 08:43 AM
Syd,
I am looking for formula as well..cause due to the huge demand By the bb...
Last nite he cry once every half an hour !! But the mummy to mummy peer support group says don't add formula as the bb will be addicted to the formula and refuse BF... Still balancing the facts...
Nug
TSnicKit
Nov 27 2011, 05:06 PM
nugget, it's normal that he feeds abt every hr coz remember his tummy is just a size of a pea... if he eats only that much imagine how fast he can get hungry too... breastmilk is oso easy to digest therefore u'll get the "baby din eat enuf" "should topup wif formula" this n that... it's oso advised not to start bottle feeding in the first mth to avoid nipple confusion/preferance... if u survery for formula, check out their ingredients n price... how many of the names in the ingredients that u can easily understand? do u know wat's inside it? n how much is a can/pack of formula?
phythia79
Nov 30 2011, 09:54 AM
QUOTE(nicKit @ Nov 27 2011, 05:06 PM) nugget, it's normal that he feeds abt every hr coz remember his tummy is just a size of a pea... if he eats only that much imagine how fast he can get hungry too... breastmilk is oso easy to digest therefore u'll get the "baby din eat enuf" "should topup wif formula" this n that... it's oso advised not to start bottle feeding in the first mth to avoid nipple confusion/preferance... if u survery for formula, check out their ingredients n price... how many of the names in the ingredients that u can easily understand? do u know wat's inside it? n how much is a can/pack of formula?  nugget..i totally agree with nicKit..and..once your wife tops up with FM..it unconciously gives signal not to produce much BM.
budakhijau
Dec 1 2011, 12:05 PM

hi dear all mummy...
i hav a qeustion... 1) do u mix both boobies milk together when u pump? 2) how long does the milk can last after thaw n soak in hot water if baby cant finish it...can i used it for next session...do i need to freeze it back or just put in fridge...
tq tq tq...
hellokitty82
Dec 1 2011, 12:45 PM

QUOTE(budakhijau @ Dec 1 2011, 12:05 PM) hi dear all mummy... i hav a qeustion... 1) do u mix both boobies milk together when u pump? 2) how long does the milk can last after thaw n soak in hot water if baby cant finish it...can i used it for next session...do i need to freeze it back or just put in fridge... tq tq tq... answer to your Q: 1. yes. 2. soak in hot water??? normally i discard after 4 hours if baby does not consume. if baby cant finish, please discard it as well. do not freeze it back or put in fridge. discard.
phythia79
Dec 1 2011, 12:47 PM
1) milk from both breast can mix together 2) It's best to consume all after heating up as it's not advisable to refreeze again. Due to our heat..the most it can stand is about 1 hr. My advise if you are storing EBM. Try storing smaller quantity first ie...1 or 2 oz per bottle. Then you only need to reheat the amount that your baby drinks.
Eg...your wife pumps 6 oz per session. if your baby normally drinks 3 oz per feed, then it's best to store 1 oz or 2 oz per bottle. In case your baby want's more than 3 oz..then you just reheat the other 1 oz....something like that..so that the EBM isn't wasted.
TSnicKit
Dec 1 2011, 01:19 PM
or u drink the leftover
hellokitty82
Dec 1 2011, 02:11 PM

QUOTE(phythia79 @ Dec 1 2011, 12:47 PM) 1) milk from both breast can mix together 2) It's best to consume all after heating up as it's not advisable to refreeze again. Due to our heat..the most it can stand is about 1 hr. My advise if you are storing EBM. Try storing smaller quantity first ie...1 or 2 oz per bottle. Then you only need to reheat the amount that your baby drinks. Eg...your wife pumps 6 oz per session. if your baby normally drinks 3 oz per feed, then it's best to store 1 oz or 2 oz per bottle. In case your baby want's more than 3 oz..then you just reheat the other 1 oz....something like that..so that the EBM isn't wasted. agreed as i did the same.
budakhijau
Dec 2 2011, 11:52 AM

Orait...TQ all dear mummy...luv u guys... QUOTE(nicKit @ Dec 1 2011, 02:19 PM) or u drink the leftover  yes...i curik minum n my wife call me her step son...
phythia79
Dec 2 2011, 12:15 PM
You can even bathe your child in the bm..especially if he/she has rashes.
TSnicKit
Dec 2 2011, 12:52 PM
oh ya the latest craze is bm soap  or budakhijau, u can make into yogurt or bake into cakes, mix into ur juice, milo, teh, kopi, etc... hahaha... step son
TSnicKit
Dec 2 2011, 06:07 PM
sorry guys... have to let this go awhile...
i feel so frustrated n tired while cry a tear or two... feel like giving up n just tell hb that i wanna go back to work n tutup mata... wanna send to babysitter ke, daycare ke, mil take care ke i dun care liao... wanna give fm ke i oso dun wanna care liao... wat's the point? all my work seems unappreciated... hello... do u know how much work n research we do just to make sure we give the best for the baby? suka suka saja then give baby eat this n that... i dunno wat else the elders give... hb le sometimes will ask when r u going to stop bf... wat? am i that bad that u have to say that i'm a bad mother in front of the kids? when u ask if u can give prunes to the baby, i said no but did u stop there? nooooo... u still give it to the baby in front of me n said tell me wat's going to happen if i give it to him? n when i freeze baby food, u all say NOOOO... baby should eat fresh food... wat? i say no then u all ignore me... u all say no i must listen la... i dun understand... if u dun respect me then y should i respect u? then if i hide in my room whole day wif baby wat? i'm labelled lazy, rude... u think i wanna coop inside? how do i know wat r u going to say in front of baby n give wat to baby? sigh... i'm tired, really tired of all this... the only time i dun feel tired is when i c my boy smiling at me... oops... crying again... sigh... later dunno will effect my supply or not... sigh... will find a time these days n tell hb that i wanna go back to work n tutup mata on my boy... c wat he say... sob sob...
phythia79
Dec 3 2011, 10:08 AM
hugs hugs to you nickit... This post has been edited by phythia79: Dec 3 2011, 10:09 AM
Mommy_2011
Dec 3 2011, 10:36 AM
I feel the frustraion u r going thru nicKit... Be strong for yr baby yeah...
Syd G
Dec 5 2011, 07:06 PM
Mom. Servant of God.
Awwwwwwwww *HUGS* It's okay to rant and vent here. That's what support groups are for
TSnicKit
Dec 7 2011, 11:37 AM
thanks mummies~! luv u guys~! muahs~!!
this is the reason y i'm stocking up cream cheese... anyone has any cheesecake or cream cheese pls call me up... i'll b glad to help u sapu n forgot my frustration...
nugget
Dec 8 2011, 09:17 AM
Hi all Sorry for disappear for a while... Cause I sended my wife n bb back to hometown.
I just learn something new. Just wish to share with all. For breastfeeding mums..do not worry tht you are not producing enough milk... My hometown family doctor told me that our target is 1kg Per month. So if your bb is gaining weight with tht simple meter..don't ever listen to your mil,aunties and other pipol.
And don't ever ever drink DOM while u are still breastfeeding the baby...cause your baby will get drunk due to the acohol In the dom..Chinese likes to drink tht..
It's taxing for my wife cause ... Feeding then change diapers then he cry again hungry.. Then he poo again just after change diapers... Lao eh..
phythia79
Dec 8 2011, 09:52 AM
it's good sign that he's poo-ing often..which means he has sufficient milk intake ..and your wife is producing sufficient milk! yaay!!
Tell you wife to keep it up..she's doing an excellent job!!
TSnicKit
Dec 8 2011, 11:34 AM
nugget, that's a very good sign~! we're happy for u