LYN Breastfeeding Support Group, may u b bless wif abundance of supply~!!
nugget
Nov 9 2011, 08:13 AM
Hi all, This will be my first post here.many more will come...  Being rather worried because this will be my first baby.. Should I ask my wife to start eating mackerel now??or do the practice in the first page? Due date is mid of dec... I need to show this thread to my wife..because she refuse to use a pump(even to buy 1?)saying this and saying tht...u know..lady kind if nag Well..both of us do acknowledge the goodness of bm. Cheers Nug This post has been edited by nugget: Nov 9 2011, 08:15 AM
nugget
Nov 9 2011, 12:08 PM
QUOTE(phythia79 @ Nov 9 2011, 10:01 AM) Hi nugget! Welcome to parenthood! I do advise that you and your wife get first-hand knowledge in bf. Be prepared on the bumpy roads ahead as it will be tough at first. Do invest in a good breast pump. Last but not least..don't buy any FM as backup..so that this would make it more determine to bf. Every woman can produce milk..and it takes lots of patience and determination to bf. Hi Sis pythia Watt if milk isn't producing n baby keep on crying? I mean...well sorry for the noob question. As I will be working in singapore.and my wife will e at kedah for confiment...I am abit worry..  Cheers Nug
nugget
Nov 12 2011, 11:58 AM
QUOTE(nicKit @ Nov 9 2011, 11:52 PM) nugget, welcome to parenthood~! it won't b ez but it's worth it  i second to phythia - shove his or her mouth wif boobs when s/he cries... it should work... i oso do that hehe... it works most of the time unless dirty diaper la... will ur wife stay wif ur mum or her mum or got CL? she oso needs not only ur support but oso the ones who will b taking care of her... as a first time mummy she mayb overwhelmed by crying screaming needy baby... sometimes they mean well but it may just interrupt her bf journey e.g. mummy needs more sleep so better give baby fm ot water la, baby's crying coz not full la, no milk la, etc... just to give u the idea of wat ur wife may face... Thanks nickit, U know...I always see some parent tht scolded,butting their children in hawker centre or public area...I asked myself..man..am I gonna be like tht in the future? Izzit genetically caucasion baby n children are more "guai guai" lol... Still waiting for my days to come..cause my mum told me I am very naughty since baby...oh god pls dot let the baby boy follow his father...lol  Cheers Nug *** hi Sis snowee, Pls take note tht international flight now have liquid limitation. For Changi airport : as long as the liquid is solid ice cube and wrap with a special bag it should b fine. but other airport might differ. Hope this help
nugget
Nov 13 2011, 05:11 AM
Morning all I try to read all posts n gather info frm page 1 ( which I still haven't finish reading) Tht BM actually can be stored? I mean.I should go and buy the storage device and maybe the special bag and maybe heat pack or cold pack? This items can be found in jusco,parkson or I need to source them in some parenthood outlet? Many thanks for answering my noob question. Cheers Nug
nugget
Nov 21 2011, 08:51 AM
Hi all again
My wife had labored pre-due date on 36 weeks. Both baby n mummy are safe now. But baby weight is very light @ 1.65kg. So need to stay in hospital.( we were caught off guarded)cause everything were prepared back in hometown,kdh.but here it is!! He wanna bcome a johorean...gosh..u should look at my face when I drove her o the hospital..for instance I don't know which way Togo...
Izzit safe to bring my wife to bf in de hospital? U know with Chinese(d most pantang law in the history) which says should not moves during early confiment...
Also I had bought a fishing ice box instead of those keep cool box frm d nursing shop..cause more durable n cheaper. I never buy the cool pack too Bt swivth to the icebox re-useable ice.more solid,cheaper and will last longer...
Need to go hospital now..catch with u guys later...
Cheers
Nug
nugget
Nov 21 2011, 03:46 PM
Thanks guys
Baby is doing fine as now. No tube no nothing. D problem with gov hospital is they will ask u to discharge on the 2nd day.Bt bb still in n.I.c.u so for now.v are doing our best to bf the baby. Heart pain to c my wife had to go all the way to downtown jb (HSA) to bf... Just three days after labored...
1st attempt of bf : he is sleeping..so with no guidance frm the nurse..my wife took almost an hour trying to bf him...with no result offcourse..Coz v donno must wake d baby b4 bf...Wahahaha
2nd attempt : with abit result...hope he can get snuff colostrum
Today : finally with the request frm nug..a nurse help n teach ma wife rgd bf'ing..but baby very lazy..suck abit then stop..maybe not et hungry.
Again bout half an hour later : this time he seems to understand tht he need to cooperate..Not bad,as my wfe says.
We ha to give up cause dark clouds and starting to rain sign appears.so go home.
Well,gov hos is like tht..they lack of extra mile service. It is not fair to blame them..cause I know they have only two hands and lot of baby to take care.
Hoping for the best. Cause the doctor says : should b alrite to go home soon.
AND finally I had my breakfast in Mamak stall now..
Cheers
Nug
*** abit jaundice at face and chest ,informed nurse and thy says it's still ok...a big rock smashed at my face
nugget
Nov 22 2011, 03:16 AM
No bed avail anymore  so Now have to balance between my wife n bb. Coz it's not easy for her to travel frm home to hospital. Scared later part got some post confiment problem...but at the same time bb need to b bf too... May I ask something? I mean canv feed again after 30 minute ? I mean how long should b the time frame between feeding? Cheers Nug ** for those who are transporting the bm.have u tried dry ice? It works wonders in keeping the bm deep frozen !!! Added on November 22, 2011, 9:01 amErm, Anybody knows where to get fenugreek seeds? I m located in jb...heard tht Singapore mustard sticks them. But wonder if can get in jb ? Many thanks Cheers Nug nug Added on November 22, 2011, 9:01 amErm, Anybody knows where to get fenugreek seeds? I m located in jb...heard tht Singapore mustard sticks them. But wonder if can get in jb ? Many thanks Cheers Nug nug This post has been edited by nugget: Nov 22 2011, 09:01 AM
nugget
Nov 22 2011, 10:38 AM
Thanks Sis Pythia...was actually waiting your reply cause saw in the first post tht u shared d method of consuming.
nugget
Nov 22 2011, 11:06 AM
Tess,
When u transport the ebm...does it stay Rick frozen all the time? How u disinfect the case? I tried the pureen pils..but it smell like Clorox?!!
Many thanks
Cheers
Nug nug
nugget
Nov 23 2011, 10:16 AM
Anyone here uses pureen sterLize pil? Where u place the pil in the water. I tried it but it has a funny Clorox type of smell... Wonder how u guys dis infect /sterilize your bottles or baby item ?
nugget
Nov 24 2011, 06:04 AM
I bought the madela pump for 242.00 Can't afford the electric/auto pump as it cause double...
I realize 1 thing tht using hand u can actually squeeze more cause u know where it is. Or I am dead wrong bout it.
1thing tht I sure bout during this few days are : WOMEN ARE INCREDIBLE
They are strong enough to take the pain while delivering the baby. And more respect to those mum tht goto the NICU DAILY and long hours in oder to feed their baby knowing tht thy should not move Alot few days after lobored.
I salute every mum. And I spit to the gov hospital...
Added on November 25, 2011, 10:55 pmFinally !! My baby are being discharged today.
Being in the NICU for 8 says. Weight born : 1.6kg 3 days under UV for jaundice.
So my wife re-admitted to the wad for more frequent BF. Miricles do happen...1 day of constant feeding baby turn from 1.63kg to 1.95kg !!! As nickit says..nothing beats mummy's hug and her boobies.
Even the doctor does not believe it..and weight my son in diffrent weight machine.and ask me to return to the hospital this Sunday to confirm again.
My conclusion : Izzit miracle? I give 20% Izzit the nurse wrongly see the 1.9 and bcome 1.6 in the first place? Or In the NICU my baby were not fed fully for 7 days?
But whatever lah. Now my son are back at home safe n sound. Oh boy he had an big appetite !!
This post has been edited by nugget: Nov 25 2011, 10:55 PM
nugget
Nov 27 2011, 08:43 AM
Syd,
I am looking for formula as well..cause due to the huge demand By the bb...
Last nite he cry once every half an hour !! But the mummy to mummy peer support group says don't add formula as the bb will be addicted to the formula and refuse BF... Still balancing the facts...
Nug
nugget
Dec 8 2011, 09:17 AM
Hi all Sorry for disappear for a while... Cause I sended my wife n bb back to hometown.
I just learn something new. Just wish to share with all. For breastfeeding mums..do not worry tht you are not producing enough milk... My hometown family doctor told me that our target is 1kg Per month. So if your bb is gaining weight with tht simple meter..don't ever listen to your mil,aunties and other pipol.
And don't ever ever drink DOM while u are still breastfeeding the baby...cause your baby will get drunk due to the acohol In the dom..Chinese likes to drink tht..
It's taxing for my wife cause ... Feeding then change diapers then he cry again hungry.. Then he poo again just after change diapers... Lao eh..
nugget
Dec 8 2011, 09:35 PM
Well as u all faced before...the MIL,aunties constantly saying baby always crying ..not enuff milk.. So my wife like kena brainwash or she doesn't wanna offend her MIL...so she also now saying she produce not enough milk... I rang her up earlier and says " u feed formula to the baby..then I go out to pub and disco in jb.." Wahahaha...
nugget
Dec 11 2011, 01:11 PM
Ehh..how long a defrosted BF in room temp? Paiseh to ask...
nugget
Dec 16 2011, 04:02 PM
A good breast pump is consider at this point? - does not causes pain - easy to clean and disinfect - it can pump out milk...
Am I wrong or ...?
Ehh all sifus,
My bb now will be a month old @18th. His appetite had been....I would say hungry all the time? Well..my wife gave her 1oz of bm + 1oz of water ..and yet he is still sucking the nipple for more... Is this normal appetite for a bb?
Cheers
Nug
This post has been edited by nugget: Dec 16 2011, 04:03 PM
nugget
Dec 17 2011, 06:17 AM
He is now hungry every half an hour to an hour...I think my wife can't produce enough milk to keep up the rythm...tht's y she tried to mix with water to let he baby feels full...
Is it normal for a month old baby to ee aah ee aah whole morning till late afternoon without sleep? I mean....he is sleeping very less in day time... Or every baby has diffrent preferable sleeping pattern?
Haw a nice weekend
nugget
Dec 26 2011, 06:25 AM
Hey guys,
My wife is complaining tht baby wakes each half an hour and cry for milk... I know the importance of BF. but is it fair tht I keep on harping her to BF? because I am not being able to share her load cause she is in kedah and I am in jb...
Baby born in 18 nov 1.6 kg ..weighted last week at 3kg
Pls advice..many thanks
Cheers
Nug
nugget
Dec 26 2011, 11:06 AM
Cleaning everything being done. It just tht baby wakes up every half an hour and cry for milk...my wife can't take it I guess.. And she is thinking of mixing the formula as part of feeding. I do know tht once u mix the formula..u are telling your body to relax..and BM will sure decrease. Then the end.
It's hard to imagine what's my wife going thru daily cause he is 800+km from me.. I well explained to her..but I guess I need to go back for once b4 cny... See for my self then judge from there..
Any of you who are working and the same time giving BM to the bb..u guys are strong !
nugget
Feb 4 2012, 03:18 AM
It's been awhile guys...my wife resumed work after er maternity leave.. And sad to say tht I had to let go BF. Offcourse we tried pump and store method but it just don't work in my wife's line of work.. Had a serious discussion with my wife n mum..so had to say bye bye to bf'ing ...damn.